• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 12, 2002
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 1 out of 101

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2013
    9
    This show is often compared to The Wire (another fantastic show worth picking up) but other than being cop shows they really have little in common. Whereas The Wire gradually built its story and developed its characters over the course of its five seasons The Shield starts quickly and never lets up. That’s not to say the story is lacking though, many of the episodes do have individual cases that need solving but the questionable tactics deployed by Vic Mackey and his strike team is a theme that runs throughout the course of this opening season and it is this that we really have you coming back for more. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Season 1 starts off with a bang and finishes extremely strong in the season finale. The acting is great and the storylines are very interesting. Its definently becoming my favorite show to watch.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    this is an amazing show...it was my favorite show until breaking bad came out.....for all of the people who love this show, i highly recommend breaking bad.
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    developed beautifully, one of the best series endings you will ever see. a story with no hero, really didn't expect to enjoy this as much as i did. dirty, dirty boys. great to have forest onboard for a season. only found out now, courtesy of reviewers, that this is based on some truth. and i have to add not really a fan of cop drama's at all.. that was until i watched this badass show
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    If you think "The Wire" or "The Sopranos" is the best TV series ever then sorry but your wrong. "The Shield" is the most gripping and engaging series I have ever seen. I think its strengths lye in the fact that its based on a true story so there's no crappy episodes every now and again, it consistently delivers every time right until the end. And WHAT an ending! don't want to spoil it but you'll tear holes in the sides of your armchair watching this. If your a fan of police dramas this ones for you. The fact there are only four reviews of this makes me sick. Bad cop with a good streak or Good cop with a bad streak? In the words of Spinal Tap "this one goesup to 11" Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    10
    un chef d'oeuvre sur tous les plans histoire personnages realisation une des meilleures series de ces 15 dernières années Une fin mémorable et bouleversante
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal! The Shield is the best show i have watched since the end of season one of True Detective! Everything is perfectly executed whether it be the characters, the stories, or the cliff hanger endings! It's all absolutely flawless! This is without a doubt what will hold me over until season two of True Detective arrives! Do yourself a favor, if didn't catch this show while it was running, go buy the series! I promise you won't regret it! Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    The best television series ever made. consisteantly brillant until the very last second of the very last show. Unbelivably good, blow all other Tv dramas out of the water. how can i be the first one commenting on this?
  9. gas
    Aug 16, 2011
    10
    One of the best tv series i saw, the plot is what really make the difference, as its uncommon to have a drama so believable without being too much predictable.
    Beside that, ofc its the mix of great acting, shooting, direction plus this impressive plot to make this series to be really one of the best ever made.
    Its addictive, you will end really caring about what is going to happen next.
    I
    hope to find more series with this quality. Expand
  10. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    This is seriously the best tv series I have watched to date. The acting is supreme, the style of shooting document-ish, there are no clues to guide your emotional reactions and you can basically react how ever you feel like. That's what I love about this show: there is no right or wrong, there are no clear answers, you have to actively interpret and decide for yourself. It shows the range of human emotions and the range of reality, in all its ugliness but also in all its goodness, which unfortunately is shadowed by the harsh reality. I wish more of tv was like this. Collapse
  11. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    The Shield is kinda like 'The Wire' but drunk and carrying a knife or something. It doesn't have anywhere near the depth of the aforementioned, but it fills that lacking with, well..... Vic Mackey.
  12. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite show by far. Everything from the plot to the actors was great. This show ruined all other shows for me. I could never find a show that is as good as this one.
  13. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Based on the real-life Rampart scandal, The Shield centers the Strike Team which is a four-man anti-gang unit based on the Los Angeles Police Department's real-life Rampart Division CRASH unit. As season one unfolds the crook dealings of the Strike Team becomes apparent along with the repercussions and consequences towards the Strike Team members and their fellow officers around them making the The Shield a great opener to a terrific police series like no other and a must for those who enjoy a good police & crime dramas Expand
  14. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simply the best Cop drama available today, the show simply has no weak moments at all! It manage give you many likeable actors instead of a bunch of extras like many shows tend to do. Plus it keeps away from many moral high ground cop Drama likes to hide behind. They even put you into hard dilemma such as liking or not the main protagonist who is a cop killer, a thief and who many times abuse of his power for personal gain but still makes him look like part of the good guy in the end. Vic Mackey is simply the best anti-hero ever seen in a Tv-Show. Expand
  15. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Just got done watching all 7 seasons of this show, and to me it was the most compelling tv I've ever watched. My biggest problem was the last 10 mins (of the last show)... it literally destroyed my whole opinion of 7 seasons.
    The characterization was so crisp and expertly wound, that you almost 'felt' for the characters, rooted for the bad guys, and thought strongly about the things that
    you'd seen.
    What they did in the end... the choices that they made... were so upsetting to me, that I was almost 'heart broken' that I was was roped into the show for so long.
    Very upsetting...
    Expand
  16. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    The Shield is simply astounding television. The writing, directing and acting are all sublime. Most of the time you forget you're watching a tv show. A cop show has never been so realistic especially in it's portrayal of inner city gangs and the influence they have on the police department. For many people, The Wire holds this crown but The Shield is far, far more personal. With one continuous story-line from the first episode to the last, the main protagonist being the antagonist, and the unfolding of an absolute breathtaking (and heartbreaking) finale, The Shield has it all. And with it now being on Netflix, you don't have an excuse to miss it. If you do, you will regret it. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    Astonishing. ... The Shield did what network cop shows have lately abandoned: it created a richly imagined world with continuing story lines, driven by L.A.'s roiling racial politics--achieving a payoff far bigger than solving the murder of the week.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    83
    Scratch the gritty surface of this new police drama and you'll find it's not a totally revolutionary contribution to the genre.
  3. Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Mar 19, 2013
    70
    Choosing to build a series around an antihero is one thing. But making it impossible to root for him doesn't bode well for repeat business. [12 Mar 2012, p.E1]