• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 1999
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 242

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohanneS
    Jun 10, 2007
    3
    For so long my family has been in tuned with the Soprano. We loved the show but the ending was a great disapointment. People are saying that there were 3 endings predone. The one that was chosen to end the show was not a good choice. I and my family was so frustrated. We lived and arranged our lives around this show and the last episode was a cop out.Was very disapointed. What happens For so long my family has been in tuned with the Soprano. We loved the show but the ending was a great disapointment. People are saying that there were 3 endings predone. The one that was chosen to end the show was not a good choice. I and my family was so frustrated. We lived and arranged our lives around this show and the last episode was a cop out.Was very disapointed. What happens with Pauly Walnuts? What happens with Sil? What happens with the soprano family.? I know that you want us to end it, which is a cop out. It should have been completed instead of the ending you showed. Too many loose ends. Thios is my opinion. Expand
  2. PaulW.
    Apr 20, 2008
    2
    Oh my dear Jesus. To do such a thing to a decent series. It was like watching a horse with a broken leg try to walk, but the man with the shotgun takes 20 episodes to finally put it out of its misery. I damn you David Chase. The stories sounded like they were written by a bunch of 16 year old girls while the dialog sounded closer to five monkeys on four typewriters. Just ouch.
  3. EdJob
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    I thought this was the WORST Soprano's season. I am very dissapointed.
  4. junestugots
    Mar 20, 2006
    2
    Not half as good as the past seasons. Was NOT worth the wait
  5. dustyn
    Jun 11, 2007
    0
    With all due respect, the Sopranos' final episode deserves none. It was disgraceful. Nothing happened for the first 55 minutes, and then a buildup over four minutes (as mobsters follow the four Sopranos into a restaurant)leads to not-fade-to-black, but an unplugging of MY cable. If they have a committee who sits roundtable and reviews copy before its produced, they should pass out With all due respect, the Sopranos' final episode deserves none. It was disgraceful. Nothing happened for the first 55 minutes, and then a buildup over four minutes (as mobsters follow the four Sopranos into a restaurant)leads to not-fade-to-black, but an unplugging of MY cable. If they have a committee who sits roundtable and reviews copy before its produced, they should pass out guns and whack one another. This was the worst fiasco in TV history. But it serves the purpose of a late 2008 HBO or feature film. Overall grade: F Expand
  6. Michael
    Mar 12, 2006
    4
    Was i watching the same show that all the critics that gave it a 100 were? This once great show lost its spark midway through last season and ended on a dull note. Other then the first episodes final 5 minutes, the dullness has not gone away!!!!
  7. VitoG
    Mar 19, 2006
    2
    I must be missing something. To me this is, and has always been a long drawn-out soap opera with a little bit of violence added to relieve the boredom.
  8. RonaldW
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    Poor show. What a waste of time. Certainly one thing is true. Tony is on life support and the show is right there with him. No Tony...No SHow. The rest of the crew can;t pull his weight.
  9. EricK.
    Mar 21, 2006
    3
    The Sopranos is a series that has become far too aware of itself and self-important. It has ruined what started as a good series and a revolutionary approach to crime drama. As the accolades rolled in so did the swelled ego and puffery which manisfested itself in awful self-indulgent 'artistic' daliances like preposterous dream sequences for example that really became painful The Sopranos is a series that has become far too aware of itself and self-important. It has ruined what started as a good series and a revolutionary approach to crime drama. As the accolades rolled in so did the swelled ego and puffery which manisfested itself in awful self-indulgent 'artistic' daliances like preposterous dream sequences for example that really became painful for the viewer to endure. The first episode of the new season, while not being bad per say, was really quite arbitrary. If you like shows like CSI and Law and Order, then you might have found it appealing. The cliffhanger was a cheap gimmick meant to set tounges wagging and to ensure return viewership. To do it a second week running was pitiful. The second episode was laughable, mainly because it was relying on the two children to carry the emotional brunt of the acting. The mom is capable of this, but it became painfully apparent how out of the touch the producers of this show have become when they allowed these two so much screen time. You could almost smell the stench of contract negotiations and leverage being used by their agents to make sure they had episodes of a certain amount of screen time. The sad fact is that the girl is barely a decent actor but the boy is atrocious. His efforts onscreen were as wooden as a pair of Dutch clogs. When they stopped showing After School Specials, I thought a certain breed of actor had died out, but he has proven me wrong. His acting made the alleged personal moments between him and his father in the hospital make you want to either cry because it was so bad, or bust a gut laughing for the same reason. The kids were initially meant to be bit-part players but subsequent storylines have thrust them to the fore at times. The truth is they are only bit-part caliber actors and their attempt at the actual craft have left them horribly exposed. Turning AJ from worthless, spoiled, nihilist, pot-head to hippie raver was a particularly heavy-handed and contrived effort from the writing staff. We get it-- he is a disaffected, dissatisfied kid who is hurt by what his father does and is in awe of him at the same time. Thank you very much for that. Finally if you want to see brilliantly realized characters and real inspiration in a crime drama, you only have to look as far as The Wire. It is the truly most underrated show I've ever watched. American viewers are so attracted to the familiar, in the case of the Sopranos, the mafia genre. The Wire deals with a city that is not a popular city. It isn't pretty and the problems are real and ugly. The characters are amazingly realized and the storyline is breathtakingly complex, weaving good and bad politicians, police chiefs, street criminals, drug king pins, hustlers, good cops and bad cops into one amazing fabric that shows us in original ways how sometimes these people are the same people. I'll admit, it is hard to get up to speed on the Wire, but do yourself a favor and rent the first couple of seasons, you'll be rewarded with an amazingly satisfying television experience. It is a show that actually lives up to it's hype. Expand
  10. JulianM.
    Mar 26, 2006
    2
    Dream sequences??? That's been around since tv began. It's jumped the shark. I loved this show and I have been bored to death with these 2 episodes. The acting is out of control. I love Edie Falco - Oz, etc. But she is terrible in this b/c it's so worn out to begin with. the realtionships between normal life and crime, family anf friend ties - all that is now a saccharine Dream sequences??? That's been around since tv began. It's jumped the shark. I loved this show and I have been bored to death with these 2 episodes. The acting is out of control. I love Edie Falco - Oz, etc. But she is terrible in this b/c it's so worn out to begin with. the realtionships between normal life and crime, family anf friend ties - all that is now a saccharine sob fest about poor Tony. Expand
  11. JeffC
    Jun 12, 2006
    0
    I can't believe what this show has turned into since it's beginning seasons. This '06' season was as bad as anything I have seen on TV never mind comparing it to the first few seasons. The list of disappointing, wastes of time that run rampid throughout the episodes this year are astounding. The wastes of time are the storylines that go nowhere, the useless time spent I can't believe what this show has turned into since it's beginning seasons. This '06' season was as bad as anything I have seen on TV never mind comparing it to the first few seasons. The list of disappointing, wastes of time that run rampid throughout the episodes this year are astounding. The wastes of time are the storylines that go nowhere, the useless time spent on Carmela, the son, Pauly, etc., that amount to nothing. The poorest follow through on potentially great storylines, is the crux of the Sopranos. I am not one who is looking for a gun fight, killing, beating, etc. every episode, but for the love of god, RESOLVE something!!! Complete a story on someone!! Stop giving all the good characters diseases, sicknesses, cancer!! What the heck!! This season had so much potential and so many directions it could have gone, and they blew it big time. And how fitting they wasted the whole last episode on Christopher doing drugs...again and nothing happening.....and what a shock that Phil had a heart attack. So let's wrap up the season: Pauly-prostate, Sil- Asthma, Tony-shot, Vito-gay, Phil-heart attack, Chris-drugs, J.Sak-arrested, Bobby B- eye patch, and on and on. Could they "woosify" this show anymore?? Bottom line...waste of time and waste of a great show. I hope a director out there in Hollywood is watching and will make a spin off of the Sopranos and do it right. It would be so easy to make a great 5 years out of all the storylines that died in the Sopranos. Expand
  12. PabloG
    Sep 4, 2006
    3
    EASILY the worst season of the series. I'm guessing the critic's ratings came from the first episode which was fantastic, but the season as a whole was very mediocre. You would get one great episode, then a couple of duds, then another good one, then three more duds with one good storyline in them. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. I really hope the Final 8 aren't as bad as these were.
  13. kyndrac
    Jun 10, 2007
    0
    i can not belive that you could actually end a show that everyboby has been watching for years. If they make a movie I will never watch it or or rent it ever
  14. RM
    Jun 10, 2007
    0
    I was thoroughly disappointed in the finale. I was so hyped.... what a let down
  15. EdmundK
    Aug 16, 2009
    0
    First, it's NOT the best or most important show on television, The Wire is. It is a brilliant show, but season six part is a ridiculous letdown. The thing with Christopher came from nowhere, (spoiler alert), Tony had no more reason to kill him than he did in season one, Chris hadn't been messing up any more than he ever had, and their relationship was as good as ever when they First, it's NOT the best or most important show on television, The Wire is. It is a brilliant show, but season six part is a ridiculous letdown. The thing with Christopher came from nowhere, (spoiler alert), Tony had no more reason to kill him than he did in season one, Chris hadn't been messing up any more than he ever had, and their relationship was as good as ever when they went on their road trip just a few episodes beforehand. The way they "concluded" Meadow's story after not covering her properly for years was ridiculous, bringing Parisi's hitherto unmentioned son into the forray as a last minute attempt to wrap things up with her. The war with New York made even less sense. With Leotardo's constant changes of heart, (I'm out of the game, I'm back in the game! Why? Who knows? Maybe it's because there's nobody else in New York with enough profile to lead against Tony). What makes less sense still is his war hungry consiglere going from backing the absorbtion of New Jersey to betraying his Boss Phil. What's more, why would New York want to reconcile with what they can easily annex? By all accounts, Jersey is little more than a "glorified crew". Agent Harris' U-Turn was laughable too. I can't even begin to fathom an explanation for it...a Sopranos fan told me before that he was being groomed all the way through the show to be an inside man. I've watched all six seasons in the last month and can say with certainty that his turning was a season six part two phenomenon, at a streatch, maybe, a six part one aswell. Even still, apart from some, bizarre friendship, maybe, there's no reason for Harris to work with or for Tony. He doesn't like Phil? OK? He'll risk federal indictment for it. The final two episodes I did like, despite AJs hopscotching from government hating, to wannabe Marine, to depressed, to happy...it was dizzying. Still, I thought the last two episodes were good and am a big fan of the final scene. I didn't like how readily Chase seems to have bought into the 'War on Terror' idea, an issue for most of the show, but particularly for the final season. Although occasionally showing glimmers of enlightenment, (eg: when AJ points out that the government/military allowed Al Qaeda to escape the Tora Bora mountain system, only to consider further plans to bomb Iran), he then plays on US zenophobia by using AJ's viewing of Al Jazeera as a method of showing just how far he has fallen, despite the various accolades it has received for it's independent nature, (including a Webby award, and one from the Index on Censorship). It seems, Chase is willing to use what I assume he is more intelligent thn to believe is true, that an Arab news site, even if it is the only independent, (ie:non-governmentally controlled) one in the Arab world, must, by virtue of being Arab controlled, be extremist, fanatical and fundamentalist. (What'smore, a well-read, politically minded girl like Meadow would know more about Al Jazeera.) I still think even this season was far far better than the vast majority of what's on television. It obviously doesn't deserve a zero, but casual reviewers and critics alike seem keen on bowing down on bended knees before the monolithic creation of David Chase and insist on giving it as many thumbs up as they can muster without any sort of critical analysis, especially in comparison to the earlier seasons' brilliance. I feel that this zero is a necessary counterbalance. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. There's enough classic "Sopranos" action -- some of it involving extreme physical violence -- to remind the average person that where the Sopranos are is not where most of us want to go. Yet at the same time, these episodes repeatedly return to the ways in which the Soprano clan, in its desperate, sometimes twisted and sometimes touching way, seeks to embrace family values.
  2. 75
    This is the best the drama has been in some time.
  3. 100
    The Sopranos unfolds at a more absorbing and imaginative level than TV's strongest series, from ABC's Lost and Grey's Anatomy to Fox's 24 and House.