• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 10, 1999
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The extended sixth and final season of the hugely popular HBO series will air in two parts: 12 episodes beginning in March 2006, and eight more starting in January 2007.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 100
    Mozart wrote finales for his operas by focusing on a theme sounded in the opening notes, then expanding and building upon it through repetition and the amplification of other voices for a glorious ending. So is David Chase, creator and executive producer of The Sopranos, writing the finale for this landmark TV series - and if this isn't art, then neither is Mozart.
  2. 100
    The Sopranos unfolds at a more absorbing and imaginative level than TV's strongest series, from ABC's Lost and Grey's Anatomy to Fox's 24 and House.
  3. This season's "Sopranos" is quite simply dazzling in its inventiveness, its reach, and one other aspect -- its capacity to pound audiences emotionally as the series has never before done.
  4. 100
    The show is back in magnificent form, with all its humor, psychological thorniness, and bleak tragedy intact. It remains the highest peak of series TV.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    100
    Was it worth the wait? Was it ever!
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    90
    Not all "The Sopranos'" flights of fancy pan out... but it never fails to fascinate, creating a completely organic world in which it's easy to forget the art and artifice that go into realizing Chase's vision.
  7. 75
    This is the best the drama has been in some time.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 83
  2. Negative: 14 out of 83
  1. JackM.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    There are TV dramas. And then there's The Sopranos.
  2. JohnC
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    may be one of the slowest and most contemplative seasons but it nevertheless packs as powerful an emotional punch as the rest of them.
  3. JohnT.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Not only the best television show of the last 50 years, but the most important one of all time. An extraordinary mix of violence, humour and Not only the best television show of the last 50 years, but the most important one of all time. An extraordinary mix of violence, humour and profound family insights your ever likely to find on american television. Or antwhere else for that matter. Expand
  4. AndyB.
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    As they said in the NY Times, the new series has started with a bada-bang! We've got conflict and dilemas galor, just the way Sopranos As they said in the NY Times, the new series has started with a bada-bang! We've got conflict and dilemas galor, just the way Sopranos fans like it. I can't wait to see more. Expand
  5. romanmc
    Mar 13, 2006
    9
    Should have listened to Janice, Tony.
  6. JenniferH
    Mar 27, 2006
    6
    I love the sopranos . I am glad he is not on support anymore, the dreaming was getting a tad boring. My only comment is how they have I love the sopranos . I am glad he is not on support anymore, the dreaming was getting a tad boring. My only comment is how they have portrayed nurses is terrible. I wish one of the nurses would get wacked. It is embarrassing to be a nurse and see how they treat family and patients. Expand
  7. RonaldW
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    Poor show. What a waste of time. Certainly one thing is true. Tony is on life support and the show is right there with him. No Tony...No Poor show. What a waste of time. Certainly one thing is true. Tony is on life support and the show is right there with him. No Tony...No SHow. The rest of the crew can;t pull his weight. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.