The Sunset Limited : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 12, 2011
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 14, 2011
    50
    Granted, the acting in this two-man play is brilliant, but the film itself is strictly for master thespians on the loose--and people who are desperate to get into restaurants that won't take their reservations.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Feb 14, 2011
    50
    I imagine it is a challenging acting exercise and a fascinating debate. But like Jones' character, I just can't bring myself to care.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Feb 14, 2011
    40
    Everyone involved with this production obviously meant well--this TV movie doesn't have a cruel or ignorant moment--but good intentions aren't enough.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 11, 2011
    40
    The two actors do everything they can to make [it] a tolerable situation, but they can never entirely distract us from the fact that they're trapped in Mr. McCarthy's dorm-room argument masquerading as a drama.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 11, 2011
    40
    You say potato, I say dramatic arsenic. This actors' exercise is what it's like finding yourself trapped in a pretentious, self-important off-Broadway "experience," wishing you'd chosen to go to a movie or stay home with TV instead.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 10, 2011
    40
    All the early signs were right--this is an exercise in verbal gymnastics and no matter how famous the two leads are, it's difficult to embrace their characters, because they have that air of stagey self-importance, as if the goal was to be viewed from seats in the distance, not welcomed into your living room.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how this film is always engaging and that is thanks to the strong performances by both Tommy Lee Jones and Samuel L. Jackson.It's amazing how this film is always engaging and that is thanks to the strong performances by both Tommy Lee Jones and Samuel L. Jackson. Regardless of what you believe in this film is a real treat for people on either side of this argument. Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    I like this film a lot. It takes place in one apartment the whole movie, but the acting is great, and I got sucked into the movie. I like theI like this film a lot. It takes place in one apartment the whole movie, but the acting is great, and I got sucked into the movie. I like the quotes and arguments thrown around from both parties in the film. I would recommend this film to anyone who can watch a serious film without action. Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    This is definitely and unarguably brilliant act.
    I love both actors, that's exactly why I grabbed it, despite the indifference expressed by
    This is definitely and unarguably brilliant act.
    I love both actors, that's exactly why I grabbed it, despite the indifference expressed by sales assistant when I asked for his opinion. And I was not wrong when just began watching, throughout the whole act I couldn't care less if they ever get of this apartment, it really didn't appear to be of any significance, surprisingly. I listened to every ward, at times rewinding, looking for answers. This is the kind of conversation you get everyday, only this time I thought it would be something new, but alas, the white is unconquerable. The reason I left one star is because of the ending, I really was hoping for an answer, for a miracle, but it turned out no different to any other argument regarding this issue.
    All in all it is interesting to watch, great acting, amazing performance, but in essence nothing new, and a pretty heavy ending.
    Full Review »