The Tomorrow People : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    The atmosphere is bland, the special effects and fight scenes are underwhelming, and the tone is mostly humorless.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 9, 2013
    58
    With so many powers, the Tomorrow People seem near invincible, and the measures Ultra uses to thwart them seem flimsy. The idea that a prohibition against killing could be genetically encoded seems both convenient and implausible — and also lessens the stakes.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    Even though the fate of the world is presumably at stake, as tends to be the case in these fantasies, this one just doesn’t feel very rousing.
  4. Reviewed by: Margaret Lyons
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    Teen shows and sci-fi shows often get a bad rap for being ridiculous or campy or stupid, and Tomorrow People isn't any of those things. Unfortunately, it's just boring.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Yet another in the assembly line of fantasy/sci-fi shows, it offers little in the way of thrills, suspense or drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    Like all the CW series, The Tomorrow People has a gorgeous, young ensemble and a fresh (though not original) premise. But it's going to have to significantly broaden the scope of the story and the size of the cast if it hopes to succeed as an episodic.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    It’s competently assembled and has a bland stylishness. What it lacks, at this point, is any kick in its storytelling: There are alienation, daddy issues and a looming love triangle, but they’re all pro forma.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 8, 2013
    58
    There’s enough set in motion here to perhaps lure a small, loyal audience from week to week.
  11. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    Indifferently acted and badly plotted, Tomorrow cries out to be ignored.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 8, 2013
    40
    Tomorrow People simply feels too much like a knockoff of more familiar genetic superhumans.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 47
  2. Negative: 11 out of 47
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    All of the negative reviews read like they were written by children, I enjoy the characters and support Mark Pellegrino as a prominentAll of the negative reviews read like they were written by children, I enjoy the characters and support Mark Pellegrino as a prominent television actor and unlike those that simply read the title or perhaps watch the pilot and then claim insight into the quality of the series I respect any shows development phase and understand that one cannot justly review a series until it has at least two seasons under it's belt and has been renewed for a third because up until then it isn't a series, it's still forming it's characters and story. The first season is shaping up quite nicely if you had actually checked it out. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    10
    I am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that isI am a person who generally doesn't like a TV series, but The Tomorrow People is simply an amazing series. I really enjoy each episode that is aired, and i always look forward to the next week, just to watch the next episode. This series is by far the best series i have come across, as it has drama and sci-fi, consisting of twists and turns. The story as well the characters is amazing, and the actors who play the roles are great at acting their part. I hope that the series is continued with the same characters. I Love This Show and Look forward for it to be continued! Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    0
    Very disappointed. I was so excited to see a new Sci Fi series. It was painful to watch. The acting was sub par. The story had potentialVery disappointed. I was so excited to see a new Sci Fi series. It was painful to watch. The acting was sub par. The story had potential but the characters were just boring. Complete waste of time. Full Review »