• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Tomorrow People Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A remake of the 1970s British sci-fi series (which was previously remade in the 1990s), The Tomorrow People centers on a group of young adults who represent the next stage in human evolution; each one possesses special powers, such as teleportation and telepathy, and they are caught in a battle between good and evil forces. Robbie Amell, Peyton List, and Mark Pellegrino are among the stars, while Greg Berlanti (Arrow) and Phil Klemmer (Chuck) produce. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 9, 2013
    75
    Silly as the set-up may seem, it works because of competent writing and convincing performances.
  2. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Oct 8, 2013
    75
    It’s an episode of television that exists at the intersection of Marvel’s superpowers-as-puberty metaphors and the half-baked cultural upheaval of True Blood—with a Whedon-esque anti-authoritarian streak thrown in for good measure. The show could devolve into a grab bag of familiar themes and tropes down the line, but its pilot does a remarkable job of synthesizing a cohesive introduction out of those disparate parts.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 9, 2013
    70
    Although predictable in predictable ways, there are enough twists and turns and, relatively speaking, complexities of character to keep things interesting, and a pivot at the end that I did not see coming. Which bodes well.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    50
    Derivative of sci-fi and superhuman dramas we’ve seen plenty of times before, up to and including the slo-mo 'Matrix' bullets flying out of a gun.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 8, 2013
    50
    They’re remaking The Tomorrow People and the results are just kind of “meh.”
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 9, 2013
    40
    There's nothing in the pilot that feels particularly like today, much less like tomorrow.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    It has a stupid title and a stupid premise and, among its many transgressions against watchable entertainment, it really doesn’t make much sense (you know, on top of the acting and the writing and whatnot).

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    THIS is one of my favorite new shows of the the 2013/14 season. They show has a lot of emotion in it and they characters are ones that you actually care about, especially Cara. Poor Stephen is a hero and is a selfless person that is pretty much Clark Kent of Smallville. Jedikiah is one that you love to hate. GREAT SHOW! Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Absolutely love this show. So many people expect TV shows to be perfect and lose interest after the first episode. Pilots aren't usually the best of the series, and TTP keeps getting better and better. Characters are far from boring, and the main characters are pretty well developed. Obviously this takes time, as many people seem to forget. The people who want to instantly get to the main point of the entire series should just watch a movie. This show has lots of potential and certainly deserves a second season, especially if you consider other shows that are up for renewal alongside it. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    The beginning part may seem predictable as well as "familiar" in any Teen Drama, but the transition from that genre begins the moment we move from the familiar "Daddy problem" plot to the next part where the show achieves a change in the main character. While the maturity from "punk" to "benevolent person" may seem to be unbelievable, but after being given enough evidence to support either or sides, I can believe the main character's choice after some big reveals and ending sequence. I am glad it doesn't have Teen angst, but I would like to see more development. People don't like having new things shoved down their throat in the span of ten minutes after revealing one thing. Robbie Amell does have the family talent, in my eyes, and I can hope that the character he is portraying will continue to shine under his care. Also, I would like to know a little more about the Tomorrow People before I can care to make the connection between the title to these guys who are apparently "the good guys" in the story. But, it is possible that under their desire to be free of persecution by the people who hunt them could be less than friendly towards the other species and that would probably be a huge conflict within the show. There is plenty of evidence to support that idea. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    What better than to accompany one beautiful Amell with another? With "Tomorrow People," we get that double dose....and what a double dose that is! "Arrow" was easily one of the best new shows of last season and if the season premiere of "Arrow is any indication of where this show could go, it could be up there this season. Great action, great special effects, good humour, good writing...and this is just the pilot. Looking forward to see where this show will grow as the cast and writers progress. Too bad it's only a thirteen-episode season! Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    This show is not as horrible as viewers are making it out to be. From what I've seen it is pretty cool. The majority of episodes are action packed and keeps me on the edge of my seat. There have been a few episode where I think what were the writers thinking, I find Steven the main character annoying, but besides that I hope the show continues and the tomorrow people step up and stop hiding underground and use their powers for good! Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    4
    You call this a remake? How come those idiots at The CW making a reboot of one of my favorite British TV shows of the 1970s? I remember when The Tomorrow People aired on Nickelodeon in the early '90s (although it's not a remake of the TV version). But in 2013, I think this reboot of a whole needs to be canceled for good. Just like Knight Rider, Bionic Woman, and Charlie's Angels, no one wants to see classic TV shows turned into reboots. I think I'll see Arrow and Nikita instead. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    This show is so bad, it is like a bad version of Alphas and Jumper. Too cliche, bad writing, bad acting. Makes me sad because I liked the original Tomorrow People it had substance this doesn't Expand

See all 34 User Reviews