• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Walking Dead Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 535 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scott M. Gimple takes over as showrunner for the fourth season of the zombie drama.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 10, 2013
    100
    Disgusting--but in a good way.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 8, 2013
    88
    The premiere feels a bit slow coming on the heels of last season’s wild ride, but the second episode will leave you hungry for more
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Dead's latest new showrunner, Scott Gimple, carefully attends to the vast supporting cast, but the premiere doesn't skimp on the splatter or tragedy.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 30, 2013
    80
    The Walking Dead clearly appears bigger than any of its expendable parts, and unlike those zombies, has a whole lot of life left in it.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 11, 2013
    70
    The challenge with any extended zombie narrative is striking the right balance between gut-munching action and undergraduate philosophy seminar, and the first two episodes this season are pretty talky.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 11, 2013
    67
    While all of the moments when civilization retreats in the face of the apocalypse are nicely handled, the overall plot is filled with pointless mystery, simply there to obfuscate whatever the season’s real story is.
  7. Reviewed by: Gregory E. Miller
    Oct 11, 2013
    50
    The Walking Dead rewards patience and loyalty with the occasional arresting visual and edge-of-your seat intensity.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 104
  2. Negative: 27 out of 104
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    The best show on TV. Scary, dramatic, disgusting, romantic...........perfect!!!!! Don't miss it!!!!! Season 4 is gonna be amazing!!!!! Can't wait for the next episode!!! Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best TV shows ever. I absolutely love The Walking Dead, everything is perfect in it. The characters, the storyline,... all the actors work so well together, all the crew and the result is magnificent! I never felt like this about a show.. I get so involved and this last season was the best in my opinion. The 1st was also too good, the second and the third were too, because we're talking about TWD!! But the season four was too damn awesome! They explored things they never did before, the way they presented us that and they did surprise us! Mostly the Season 4B had a structure we've never seen before! I'm speechless, this series are the best! I hope we can have it for a lot of more seasons. Can't wait for october, so excited!! Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    The storytelling was slower than it was last season, but in this case it's not a bad thing at all. The show is as intense as it has been since season one. This season wasn't perfect, but it did manage to stay interesting for 16 episodes. The acting was great as always and the writing has improved from last season. There were interesting new characters, as well as moments that kept you on the edge of your seat. From beginning to end there was solid dialogue, great acting, cool zombie moments, complex moral situations, and nice little breather moments thrown in. Overall, it wasn't perfect, but it was still pretty good. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Most overrated show on TV, being said its still a good show. This is a review more for all the seasons so far as a whole then for this season. Season 1 and 3a were great, 2 and 3b were incredibly bad. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    I was waiting for something more from season 4. I didn't really enjoyed season 3 and all that governor storyline and now he's back again this season. boring! I don't get why the ratings are so high neither, season 1 and 2 the best seasons so far: more suspense/mistery and less useless shooting around. Expand
  6. May 3, 2014
    4
    Plodding and dull, Season 4 marks the beginning of the end for the Walking Dead. To give an example, episode 11 contains a scene where Carl describing his dislike of soy based products. While better shows have been cancelled, I imagine another series will be commissioned. However, if it retains the lack of quality, it shan't be worth watching Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    The Walking Dead Season 4 is the first season which does not have ANYTHING going for it, but a distant hope that maybe it might get better. The gore isn't as good as it was; it's way too CGI and frequent and just looks like a bad video game. They've either killed off all the good characters or effectively killed off my interest in them. This show is pretty much entirely filler, and it rewards patience with nothing. I have been watching this show for 4 season (I really enjoyed season 1) and have been waiting for 2 season for it to get better, but each time it's just wasted my time. This is garbage TV disguised as a good drama. My Walking Dead journey ends here. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Finale Image
    Published: April 1, 2013
    Critics found last night's episode of The Walking Dead a bit of a disappointment compared to previous season finales. Find out why--and give us your own take--inside.
  2. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 3 Midseason Finale Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    It has been a strong season for The Walking Dead so far, but did last night's midseason finale continue the show's winning ways? Find out what critics are saying.
  3. Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: The Walking Dead Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: March 19, 2012
    What did critics think about last night's season-ending episode of "The Walking Dead"? Find out inside.
  4. The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2

    The Walking Dead: Critics Re-Evaluate Season 2 Image
    Published: November 28, 2011
    Last night's episode of "The Walking Dead" marked the midpoint of the show's second season. Do critics still feel as highly about the series now as they did at the beginning of the season? We sample their latest opinions inside.
  5. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  6. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  7. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.