The Walking Dead : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 31, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2466 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This first taste is damn near perfect.
  2. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Bloody brilliant. Amazingly paced, extremely well-acted, and wholly consuming. "The Walking Dead" will have me nailed to my couch for the next five episodes. Hands-down the best show or movie to feature zombies in a long, long time.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    I read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it offI read the comics. I saw the trailers. I watched the pilot. AMC's adaptation of The Walking Dead was truly mindblowing. The first series follows the events of the first 8 comic books. From Rick awaking from his coma up until the attack on camp. Now when they changed bits, some drastically such as the CEDA encounter for the final two episodes I was worried but they pulled it off spectacularly and have given the TV show its own special place in an alternate setting to the comics (even if it does have a lot of the same characters). The cast are largely unknown to me but all are amazing at the role they play, bringing across the best interpretation of those well established characters possible. The Walking Dead is for any zombie fan or even people who like a good drama. A must watch by any means. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    The Walking Dead is engaging, it's intense and overall very entertaining. Although a short season, this is definitely a strong one. It sets the atmosphere and story really well, has some good characters, and some annoying ones but overall it's a good start to the show and way better than season two.
  5. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    The first part of the season is a well crafted, almost shot-for-shot adaptation of the original graphic novel. The second half strays away but maintains the excitement and terror you'd very much expect from a zombie apocalypse.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    AMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloodyAMC's "The Walking Dead" is an epic zombie series. It combines the scare everyone is after in a good zombie movie or show. While at the same time shows the hardships the characters go through living in a world where the dead have taken over, and now inhabit. It is bloody and brilliant, while at the same time having twists in the story leaving the viewers wanting more. "If you like bloody horror with plenty of zombies and suspense I would say this is the show for you!" Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    9
    By far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, byBy far, one of the best shows on currently on cable, season one of 'The Walking Dead' manages to bring out the vibrant characters, set pieces, and palpable tension of the graphic novels, while not loosing the appeal in the transition to the medium of TV. Week after week we may find ourselves returning, not solely for the promise of zombies and gore (which are delivered in spades here, by the way), but for the lived-in, realistic drama of these troubled characters and their plights. Its a shame that the vast dramatic territory explored through the post-apocalyptic universe hasn't been charted yet (if it has, it hasn't been given justice apparently), and The Walking Dead makes for a great argument for the continuation of the horror genre. A great show that should please everyone (save for the squeamish, maybe). Expand
  8. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Simply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than manySimply the best series I have seen in a long time. The pace is fast, which I like. I actually care about the characters. The zombie makeup is stellar. The plot, borrowed from a comic, is riviting. This series is the Gold Standard against which other action series should be held. It exceeds my expectations in every area (except maybe musical score) and is far and away better than many theatrical releases on the zombie genre. I also watched season two, and the progression of the character development during this and the next season is truly amazing. HATS OFF TO ALL INVOLVED IN THIS PRODUCTION. Expand
  9. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the firstThe First Season of amc's the walking dead, blew me away, i was so surprised when i first sat down and watched the first episode i honestly wasn't expecting anything like this: A zombie drama that focuses more on the survivors and how they cope with the changing of their environment, The first season of the walking dead was so good, the Past was good, the action was great, the first episode was amazing followed by 6 other will down episodes, AMC's the Walking Dead is truly worth your time. FINAL VERDICT 10/10 Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    People who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. ThePeople who give this show a bad score don't understand it or what it's trying to do. Please ignore any criticism of its pacing, the show is supposed to be slow (and yes the first half of season 2 is extremely slow), you can't crate tension by zipping through everything the way an action movie would. I have personally found the characters to be likable, if at times a bit stereotypical. The show has fantastic camera work, plot, direction, and most importantly, unlike most entertainment today, it gives itself time to breath, to get a hold of itself. People complaining about the pace probably aren't used to this, and think a show about a zombie apocalypse should be about zombies instead of the survivors. This show is simply fantastic, and one of the best shows on T.V. Expand
  11. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically
    Easily one of the best shows on TV at the moment. The show delivers massively intense scenes with each episode. The danger surrounding our characters in everything they do keeps you on the edge of your seat. The acting is fantastic. The make-up and effects department are probably the best I've ever seen.
    The one downside to the show is the writing of certain characters, specifically females, however the majority of characters are brilliant. The Walking Dead not only refers to its realistic zombies AKA Walkers, but the minds and soul of our characters and how the world around them effects their declining morality.
    Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead &This is one of the two best shows on TV. This first season was great and it keeps getting better & better. The 3rd season is starting off to be a hell of a ride. I dont know what some of these reviewers are talking about not caring about the characters; I like the show because of the character development! I was not into watching TV shows every week until I got into The Walking Dead & Breaking Bad. These shows are like having 30+ hour movies! Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    Honestly, I have never seen a movie with a zombie apocalypse that is more interesting, thrilling, breath-taking than this TV Series. AMC really did succeed on bringing entertainment through the film. I haven't seen the comic books. Maybe that's why I got thrilled all the time. Talking about actors and their performances, one word: Legitimately magnificent.
  14. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    I am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlesslyI am SHOCKED that anyone has anything bad to say about this show - and I am a VERY critical person when it comes to television. The first season of this show has action and heart, and something sorely missing in modern storytelling - a hero. There's plenty of action and gore, heartfelt moments and incredible storytelling and character development, and incredible graphics that seamlessly mix old world prosthetics and makeup with new world CGI, There is not a single weak link in the incredible ensemble.cast. The storytellers who are writing the plot keep things just twisty enough so you never know what will happen next - but not so twisty that you can't easily keep track of what's going on. The only reason this first season has a 9 instead of a 10 is that there are a lot of characters to keep track of, and in only 6 episodes, you don't have quite enough time to get really attached. Keep up the good work, Walking Dead!!! Expand
  15. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    If TWD had been only one season long, it would have been a classic. Less episodes and a budget you can see where it went. Before the days of TWD becoming a soap opera with no sense of direction, Season One was great. Recomended.
  16. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I usually don't stick with TV series (sometimes movies are already too long), but after I saw the first episode I got hooked. I'm watching the second season at the moment and it's even better than this one.
  17. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This show is amazingly written. Like other series they are messy and loose their storyline but with the Walking Dead ABSOLUTELY IMPRESSED! LOVE IT MUST WATCH
  18. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorite shows!!It has had me on the edge of my seat quite a bit!Ya never know what will happen next and the effects and graphics are phenomenal!!The cast is perfect...especially Hershal and Carl....well ok so I like all of the cast but those two are my favs...and Darryl...ya all are fabulous and hope it doesn't end soon...Thanks for the awesome show:)
  19. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This series is toats amazeballs ive never watched anything better i honestly say ive never watched anything better its SOOOOOO good. WATCH do it now NOW
  20. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Better than any zombie movie I've ever seen. The performances, the effects, everything about the first episode is sheer brilliance. I, personally, can't wait to watch the rest of this amazing series.
  21. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action andThis is an excellent new and refreshing take on the zombie genre. Rather than trying to scare the audience it attempts to have the audience connect with the characters and the story and it succeeds. There has been a lack of good zombie movies and an increase trend in making zombie comedies lately; but The Walking Dead emphasizes character development and suspense rather than action and laughs (although a bit of both can be found). Although amc is extremely **** about the quality of their shows, they have good reason to be. Expand
  22. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    Just finished watching it. Wow, it was just as good as I expected it. Never was bored, I cared for the characters, the zombie effects were way better than I expected, I cant wait for the new episodes
  23. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    I'm not a fan of the horror genre but was pretty impressed by this show. Well acted, well-directed, well-written but could afford to move along at a little bit faster pace. More gore than I think I've ever seen on a basic cable show too. Looking forward to upcoming episodes and hope they utilize the twists and turns in the writing that AMC shows are known for.
  24. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilersI am a zombie kind of guy. I love the genre, even the pseudo zombie films like Resident Evil and 28 Days Later. Some are cheesy and enjoyable in their own right while others are marvelous. I am perhaps a "heretic" by saying that the remake of Dawn of the Dead was so much better than the original yet I think the original NoTLD is still the best. With Walking Dead I kind of had spoilers going in because I had read the Kirkman books, but I was also apprehensive. When I heard a TV show was being developed I thought okay showtime or HBO, because they will be the only ones that can pull off the REQUIRED headshots, so I was worried that AMC had it. Not their rep for quality, just the reality of their audience. But wow, its gorgeous, and it had done a heck of a good job staying faithful to the source material. In the books the zombies are NOT in every frame, in fact they are ultimately secondary participants, and the fact that the show has followed this same blueprint is what makes the show superior. If the show continues keeps faith with the source, even if only 50%, we have some great television coming. Romero build the genre and the rules that go with it, but the Walking Dead will be looked upon as DEFINING the genre. Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best series from AMC. They did well with Mad Men, even better with Breaking Bad, and now completely outdone themselves with The Walking Dead. A perfect opening season for an amazing zombie show. The zombies on the show have to got to be the best I've seen in a while.
  26. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    To be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. ApocalypticTo be truthful, i havent read the comics. I dont think its fair to right off a series based on how well they have copied the comic from which it is adapted from. The Walking Dead is a an excellently filmed series with accurate characters. The series may have suffered in terms of popularity in the first and second season because the plot and the story was still developing. Apocalyptic series or films have been known to take long to develop a story, like the film Resident Evil which has along sequel. The plot is great and I think we'l get a good 10 seasons Expand
  27. Oct 31, 2010
    9
    The best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies andThe best zombie apocalypse TV show so far. In the vein of Romero's "Dawn of the Dead" (large quantities of slow-walking, entropy-like zombies, destroy the brain, don't get bit or scratched); very graphic, but mostly very serious (questions of race, gender, humanity under stress...), emotional, played straight and not afraid of slow, quiet moments. These are thinking person's zombies and all hail AMC for another excellent series for adults. This and "Rubicon" should be getting some Emmies. Expand
  28. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    The perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back withThe perfect way to spend a Halloween is to sit down and watch a horror show. This show is well paced, well designed master-piece of a show that is thrilling and touching at the same time. The zombies walk with realizm and combines the horror of the fast and intelligent zombies of "Dawn of the Dead" with the slow yet terrifying ones of "Night of the Living Dead". They didn't hold back with the gore, showing the gruesome splash of blood for a gunshot wound, which some shows are editing so they appeal to larger audience, but lessens the feeling of connection with the bullet. I recommend this to those who love a story driven horror adventure, and to those who aren't faint of heart. Expand
  29. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable show, guns are nice, atmosphere is amazing; and this was actually like a zombie apocalypse. The only downside is that there weren't that many episodes for this season and it ended too quickly. They should have made more. Instead of just putting it in front of you for 5 minutes, then you'll see it next year.
  30. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire,With top notch performances from Andrew Lincoln, Jon Bernthal, Laurie Holden, Sarah Wayne Callies and Norman Reedus, what's not to love about The Walking Dead? Due to a great ensemble cast and some of the best writers and directors in the game (most of them are responsible for writing and directing for some of the best shows on television, including: Breaking Bad, The Sopranos, The Wire, The Shield, Rescue Me, and Sons of Anarchy) The Walking Dead has became a mega-hit and due to a large fan base (Although some of you don't appreciate the Walking Dead's brilliance as much as others) a rating's juggernaut. Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    Darabont uses the TV-series format to break convention not only by defying the predictabilities of the horror genre (boo!) but also by infusing the recipe with more storytelling elan.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 7, 2010
    70
    I was encouraged that the character-driven third episode was stronger than the zombie action-heavy second, and perhaps the producers will be proven right--that the longer this saga goes on past these initial six episodes, the more it will set itself apart from the zombie canon.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    The Walking Dead, like any good horror tale, still believes in the importance of monsters, perfectly balancing the struggle of basic human decency with those palsied four-in-the-morning moments when we are convinced that everyone around us is trying to eat us alive