• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 2, 2002
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
The Wire Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The crime drama returns in its final season with the hot seat applied at creator David Simon's previous occupation (journalist).
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. The fifth and final season of David Simon's peerlessly acted, stunningly scripted, revolutionary drama of 1,000 moving parts kicks off Jan. 6.
  2. 100
    This new 10-episode season boasts the same high quality of production that this series has always exhibited.
  3. 90
    Every single scene of The Wire is meticulously scripted and dramatically riveting.
  4. While I'm thrilled to have something as deep and juicy as The Wire back after so long a break between seasons, I'm afraid that the show's very best years may be behind it.
  5. 88
    It's really quite good and oddly entertaining, as cynical as it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    80
    Despite occasionally expressing Simon's concerns about journalism too pedantically, The Wire continues to deserve its accolades as the most remarkable drama series in television history.
  7. 70
    While the police story line has never been stronger, the first seven episodes made available for preview contain nothing that matches the emotional power and sociological insight of the show at its best--namely the classroom scenes from Season 4.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. AndyI.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    From the first 7 episodes, this season is every bit as amazing as the first 4. Funny that the lowest score comes from the Baltimore Sun, From the first 7 episodes, this season is every bit as amazing as the first 4. Funny that the lowest score comes from the Baltimore Sun, being that this season closely follows the inner workings of that very paper. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Since most said that it was the weakest season, I lowered my standards. And while I was within that mindset, I saw the concluding season.Since most said that it was the weakest season, I lowered my standards. And while I was within that mindset, I saw the concluding season. Just marvelous. These characters will be sorely missed. Collapse
  3. KM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I am not a fan of TV - I've never seen one episode of 'Cheers' 'The Simpsons' 'Soparanos', etc. When my I am not a fan of TV - I've never seen one episode of 'Cheers' 'The Simpsons' 'Soparanos', etc. When my son from college brought us 4 DVDs of 'The Wire' and recommended that we watch it, I was skeptical. After the first episode, I continued to be skeptical, 'It's so real it's not entertaining' I told my husband. Two episodes later, I was hooked - hooked on the character development, the gritty, humorous dialogs, the all-too recognizable plight of the city, the eye-opening realities of the drug world and the bungled maneuvers of the 'good guys'. Better than most movies, the Wire is entertainment at its finest. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    simply the standard by which all other shows are judged. i have the sopranos slightly higher, but the wire holds quality quite well throughoutsimply the standard by which all other shows are judged. i have the sopranos slightly higher, but the wire holds quality quite well throughout and the quality is simply incredible. this is the story of a city told from the ground up. the first season is a dive into an immense world that just keeps getting deeper and deeper until you realise we are all part of the world beyond the wire and yet the city rolls on.

    this first season is judged on its own merits, easily a 10, and no amount of idiot middle class who love it because they were told to, despite never seeing the show, or counter counter culture descreditors are going to make me forget that.

    1 is a ten based on its own merits.
    the series is a 10 based on its own merits.
    the weaker seasons are a 10 based on the fact they are that much better than anything else on tv, at what they do, with a very few key exceptions.

    a worthy end to the series. slight issues with the press story and some real butthurt in the plots callous disregard for audience satisfaction.

    goes out ganster style on its own merits, an incredible and almost peerless piece of work.

    9.5 rounded up.
    Expand
  5. briank
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This is the best show on TV PERIOD Nothing comes close, the Emmy's should be ashamed on themselves for snubbing this show. It crushes This is the best show on TV PERIOD Nothing comes close, the Emmy's should be ashamed on themselves for snubbing this show. It crushes every other show on TV even Sopranos because unlike the Sopranos the Wire gets better with each season NOT WORSE! Season 4 was the best and no doubt season 5 will deliver too, so far it is great! Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    9
    The Wire peaks in season four, which is flawless, and then it takes a slight dip in its fifth and final season. Don't get me wrong. ThisThe Wire peaks in season four, which is flawless, and then it takes a slight dip in its fifth and final season. Don't get me wrong. This season is still better than almost anything else on television, but there are some unbelievable plot twists, and it feels more rushed than previous seasons. Still amazing, but not perfect. Expand
  7. Aaron
    May 26, 2009
    2
    It was the worst season EVER season four was much better.

See all 68 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  2. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.