Tin Man

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2007
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 98
  2. Negative: 26 out of 98

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JosephA.
    Dec 2, 2007
    6
    By the end I liked it and am looking forward to the second installment. If the whole series grows on me like the first episode has, then it should wind up being a very good fantasy adventure. story.
  2. lb
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    The idea of a "re-visioned" "OZ" is very compelling since the original series of books by l. Frank Baum are dripping with imaginary images and interesting themes. That said, I was not impressed with the latest attempt to bring back a childhood classic in "Tin Man". Zooey Deshanel's acting has much to be desired; ok, so she can open her eyes really WIDE and come off as clueless. The idea of a "re-visioned" "OZ" is very compelling since the original series of books by l. Frank Baum are dripping with imaginary images and interesting themes. That said, I was not impressed with the latest attempt to bring back a childhood classic in "Tin Man". Zooey Deshanel's acting has much to be desired; ok, so she can open her eyes really WIDE and come off as clueless. Richard Dreyfuss...man oh man. He is the "King of the Over Actors" and presently very deperate for a script...any script. The impossibly handsom Neal McDonough is perhaps the most compelling as the title role of "Tin Man" which we learn is a term used for Police Officer. I suppose the small details throughout the movie bugged me most: tornado near house doesn't destroy house, yet debris somehow ends up in "OZ", "Tin Man" fights bad guys and literally throws his cowboy hate at them like James Bond's nemesis "Odd Job", to no effect. The flying monkeys aren't nearly as creepy as the monkeys in the '39 film! My kids pointed out that the monkeys in the classic film were creepier because they were dressed up as porters. "Tin man" has a lot of potential, but I could not help feeling like I was watching a soap opera. So far "Tin Man" feels really flat. Expand
  3. MichaelE.
    Dec 5, 2007
    6
    To call it "good" would be absurd, but there's a certain guilty pleasure to be found here even if it bears the same relationship to its source material as 1993's "Super Mario Bros." does to its. . And man does Kathleen Robertson look good in that bodice!
  4. TaraB.
    Dec 8, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to this because it looked so unique in the ads. It wasn't. I thought Deschanel was too old and miscast. Her voice droning on with barely any inflection was annoying. With the exception of Cumming and the actor playing the Tin Man, the acting was terribly flat or just plain terrible (see: Evil Sister). The idea of who the Tin Man was was clever and could I was really looking forward to this because it looked so unique in the ads. It wasn't. I thought Deschanel was too old and miscast. Her voice droning on with barely any inflection was annoying. With the exception of Cumming and the actor playing the Tin Man, the acting was terribly flat or just plain terrible (see: Evil Sister). The idea of who the Tin Man was was clever and could have lent the story a creepy edge - which is what I thought they were going for from the ads. Unfortunately, they failed miserably. I want to bill the producer for the time I spent watching it. -- And that lion thing was HORRIBLE! Expand
  5. NickB
    Jan 16, 2008
    6
    If this hadn't been an Oz remake, I might have just found it to be average adventure sci-fi TV fare. But as an Oz remake, I kept being taken "out of the scene" by what felt like fan-boy fanfic moments. This was an interesting yet painful reimagining of some very entertaining books that felt like they were forced in to a modern day adventure plot-formula Star-Wars-esque mold, and I If this hadn't been an Oz remake, I might have just found it to be average adventure sci-fi TV fare. But as an Oz remake, I kept being taken "out of the scene" by what felt like fan-boy fanfic moments. This was an interesting yet painful reimagining of some very entertaining books that felt like they were forced in to a modern day adventure plot-formula Star-Wars-esque mold, and I just didn't feel that it fit all that well. This could have been much, much more interesting, if it had properly embraced the source material and avoided the pulp-noir Gaiman-esque influences, as well. But ymmv, and younger friends of mine seemed to enjoy it more. Expand
  6. JeffS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    5
    They had a good idea but failed to execute. The "Got to get to the special item before the bad guy does" has been done so many times before this that left Tin Man with the difficult task of character development in this scenario crucial to keep it interesting. Unfortunately, the acting was monotone and without much emotion. Although DG is a beautiful girl, that beauty was spoiled by her They had a good idea but failed to execute. The "Got to get to the special item before the bad guy does" has been done so many times before this that left Tin Man with the difficult task of character development in this scenario crucial to keep it interesting. Unfortunately, the acting was monotone and without much emotion. Although DG is a beautiful girl, that beauty was spoiled by her placid ho hum emotional state throughout the film. Rarely a smile or frown or any indication that the circumstances were dire. The dialog had a lot to do with this as writing could have been much better. Visually, the movie was appealing but I wouldn't watch it again because once you get used to the scenery the boredom takes over. The anticlimactic ending just added to the disappointment. Expand
  7. Steve
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    I was really looking forward to this one, and it did let me down a bit. Just too long and it had a dialogue and flow like computer games from the 1990s (MYST, anyone?). Semi-lame adaptation of the old elements, in that some things were lazily altered. Calling Oz the O.Z.? Of course Dorothy Gale is now D.G. Sort of laughable that they did it twice to two different things. It'd have I was really looking forward to this one, and it did let me down a bit. Just too long and it had a dialogue and flow like computer games from the 1990s (MYST, anyone?). Semi-lame adaptation of the old elements, in that some things were lazily altered. Calling Oz the O.Z.? Of course Dorothy Gale is now D.G. Sort of laughable that they did it twice to two different things. It'd have been a lot cooler had the sister been truly evil and not mind-controlled. We're starting to get away from Shakespearean responsibilities, and now letting our evil-doers off the hook. That needs to stop, especially with such classic tales as Wizard. Had the potential to be fantastic. Just didn't quite deliver. 4 points go to the performance of the Scarecrow. 1 point for effects. Negative 5 for laziness. Expand
  8. BiffP.
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    Not great/Not horrible. Way too long. If they'd done this in 2-3 hours vice 6 it may have even been watchable. As is, I'd recommend a TIVO so you can get through the commercials and slow parts.
  9. CurtC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    Is there someone at Sci Fi to whom I can call and complain?
  10. HeatherC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    I had so much expected from it. But it failed to deliver. The plot was a bit too contrived and everyone looked too serious. And Rawr was just freaky. The dialouge was contrived and the plot was too cheesy for me. But brilliant special effects and a nice twist on the classic tale. Too bad it just didn't live up to my expectations.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 25
    The execution of "Tin Man" is flat, flatter, flattest. The dialogue is utilitarian, except when it's "Dungeons and Dragons" cliche.
  2. 70
    Tin Man’s heart is in the right place, even if the execution of the story evokes, from time to time, creakiness of the metal man’s limbs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    58
    Unfortunately, Robertson's heaving bodice is her most expressive aspect; this miniseries needed a villain with a wicked sense of humor, but she and the rest of Tin Man are dour and punitive.