• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2007
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 98
  2. Negative: 26 out of 98

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Okay, let's give them a break. It's not a remake, but a re-invention of a great story with some really intriguing characters. While Azkadelia falls short of providing the menacing presence I had hoped for (I keep comparing her to Jadis in Narnia and am, admittedly, disappointed), the rest of the cast has won me over and I can't wait to see how it ends. So at the end of the Okay, let's give them a break. It's not a remake, but a re-invention of a great story with some really intriguing characters. While Azkadelia falls short of providing the menacing presence I had hoped for (I keep comparing her to Jadis in Narnia and am, admittedly, disappointed), the rest of the cast has won me over and I can't wait to see how it ends. So at the end of the day, isn't that "mission accomplished" for a made-for-tv movie? I really have loved it and will proudly commit to one more night. Expand
  2. Brad
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    Great story telling, imaginative, excellent
  3. WillS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I honestly enjoyed it. The characters were endearing and entertaining. Up until the last minute where it ended rather abruptly I was fully with them. The end didn't change my perspective, and I fully hope that it becomes a series.
  4. RyanI
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    I'm too young to remember the 1939 movie fondly. I have watched it once or twice and found it pretty boring and uninteresting. This that in mind, I have to say I found Tin Man a much better version of the story. The acting isn't the best, I found the acting of DG to be pretty lacking early in the series.However Glitch and Cain are pretty good. The story itself is really where I'm too young to remember the 1939 movie fondly. I have watched it once or twice and found it pretty boring and uninteresting. This that in mind, I have to say I found Tin Man a much better version of the story. The acting isn't the best, I found the acting of DG to be pretty lacking early in the series.However Glitch and Cain are pretty good. The story itself is really where the story shines. It is very interesting and the writers put alot of thought into it. Tin Man is well worth a watch. Just remember that it's not a remake, it's a re imaging. Expand
  5. JackB
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    "The Wizard of Oz" was for little kids that grew up during the Great Depression. "Tinman" is for post-Matrix adults who can't help but pause whenever someone mentions "deja vu". My only question is, why call it "Tinman" if you're not going to make it about him? We all love Zooey Deschanel, but imagine how much harder edged it could have been if it had really been about Neal "The Wizard of Oz" was for little kids that grew up during the Great Depression. "Tinman" is for post-Matrix adults who can't help but pause whenever someone mentions "deja vu". My only question is, why call it "Tinman" if you're not going to make it about him? We all love Zooey Deschanel, but imagine how much harder edged it could have been if it had really been about Neal McDonough's character? Expand
  6. JohnR
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    This is a captivating rewrite. It is worth watching again. Those looking for a Wizard of Oz musical will be disappointed. This isn't a musical. But it is a story about a girl finding her ways through a strange land of magic and an evil sorceress chasing after her. The sorceress in this story was very well done. She makes evil a fashion statement. I like it. :)
  7. JoeM
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    What you think of this miniseries has a relationship with your outlook. If you watch it expecting to see a Judy Garland-esque portrayal of Dorothy, you will be sadly disappointed. This is not written for kids, "Wizard of Oz" was. If you watch it with an open-mind, and not putting Sci-fi in 'a box', then I think you will like it. There are several allusions to "Wizard of Oz" What you think of this miniseries has a relationship with your outlook. If you watch it expecting to see a Judy Garland-esque portrayal of Dorothy, you will be sadly disappointed. This is not written for kids, "Wizard of Oz" was. If you watch it with an open-mind, and not putting Sci-fi in 'a box', then I think you will like it. There are several allusions to "Wizard of Oz" which made it even more enjoyable. Open your mind and clear your thoughts and you will be pleasantly surprised. This is an adult sci-fi. Expand
  8. digitalaaron
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    If you watch Tin Man assuming you will see a brick road with a shade of yellow you will be disappointed. It was an interesting take on a timeless classic.
  9. TS
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Best remake/remix of an old story EVER. As a fan of the original, I actually prefer this version.
  10. FloR
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    Was I the only one who paid attention when the Sci Fi channel stressed "reimagining" and NOT remake. I thought it was smart and brilliant. It held a very clever twist to a tale that has perhaps passed its luster. If you don't have a stick up your backside about being an Oz purist, as they call it, just sit back and enjoy the show. It really is quite interesting. I hope for a series Was I the only one who paid attention when the Sci Fi channel stressed "reimagining" and NOT remake. I thought it was smart and brilliant. It held a very clever twist to a tale that has perhaps passed its luster. If you don't have a stick up your backside about being an Oz purist, as they call it, just sit back and enjoy the show. It really is quite interesting. I hope for a series or sequel. Expand
  11. BrentM
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    Good adaptation with some very good acting. I liked the tie-ins to the original Wizard of Oz and the story line was engaging. It could have been shorter, but with all the reality garbage on most network stations, this was a welcome respite. It seems like most of the negative reviews were written by pompous a**es.
  12. PamelaP.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great show! It had the exciting darkness of the book, 'The Wonderful Wizard of Oz', but kept the charm of the movie, 'The Wizard of Oz'. Well Done!
  13. Mark
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Very Good movie. I really enjoyed it.
  14. BillyH.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    It's not the Wizard of OZ. It's a re-imagining, a different story, based very loosely on elements from the original. I found it very compelling, cute, funny, and enjoyed the subtle but evident elements from the original story. Those of you comparing it the original missed the point of it.
  15. Peter,N.VA
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi fantasy with tongue-in-cheek parallels and references to it. Sooe of the reviewers are slower than they claim that this plot was. "Tin Man" is reminiscent of Sci Fi's "Flash Gordon" series in that it's about the characters: personal It's incredible to me how many viewers apparently didn't :get" it! It was not a re-telling of the "Wizard of Oz;" it was a sci-fi fantasy with tongue-in-cheek parallels and references to it. Sooe of the reviewers are slower than they claim that this plot was. "Tin Man" is reminiscent of Sci Fi's "Flash Gordon" series in that it's about the characters: personal relationships set in a visually stunning backdrop of a dark, often threatening theme. ` I "got it," and I loved it! Expand
  16. MisterMac
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    I think that the original WoO was a fairy tale type of story (no insult intended), this is a more realistic and specific adaptation of the story. The part where Azkadeelia is trying to force DG to remember by charming was an impressive scene. She was pretending to be caring to DG, but when she turned her back her face contorted just slightly to show frustration, but she never lost cool. I think that the original WoO was a fairy tale type of story (no insult intended), this is a more realistic and specific adaptation of the story. The part where Azkadeelia is trying to force DG to remember by charming was an impressive scene. She was pretending to be caring to DG, but when she turned her back her face contorted just slightly to show frustration, but she never lost cool. The actress did a perfect job, but its a shame the sister was no longer evil, because her menacing good looks are unacceptable for a loving sister. Expand
  17. TomC.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    I have to say that I thought it was fantastic the storey-lone was nicely played out and the acting was good. The characters were well portrayed and the effects were decent. People were expecting this to be a cut and dry sequel to the Wizard of Oz, and I think if you expected that you would be dissappointed but I thought for the story they did it was fantastic.
  18. LisaW.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed the variations of the WOZ theme. The characters were allowed to shed some powerlessness. WOZ fans understand that Oz is really about trials in life, every journey is different. I really hope that these producers plan some stories for all the principle characters. Who knows ,more plot development could take us on a wider scene of the O.Z.. s yellow brick trek.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. 25
    The execution of "Tin Man" is flat, flatter, flattest. The dialogue is utilitarian, except when it's "Dungeons and Dragons" cliche.
  2. 70
    Tin Man’s heart is in the right place, even if the execution of the story evokes, from time to time, creakiness of the metal man’s limbs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    58
    Unfortunately, Robertson's heaving bodice is her most expressive aspect; this miniseries needed a villain with a wicked sense of humor, but she and the rest of Tin Man are dour and punitive.