• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 8, 2012
    100
    They've added a new element that makes it something I can finally (I'm sorry) sink my teeth into. They've added politics as blood sport.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 7, 2012
    100
    Summer TV at its witty, riveting best.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A densely packed, well-paced gothic horror soap with surprisingly funny twists placed at the worst.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 14, 2012
    83
    What starts out lean and mean can grow flabby and sentimental, and flaws can turn into handsome plot twists. Which is one reason to just bite down hard and go with the show.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    5
    There are still too many characters to care about. This is what season 4 suffered from. I think they need to slow down a little bit and cutThere are still too many characters to care about. This is what season 4 suffered from. I think they need to slow down a little bit and cut the number of storylines because the show has become too fast paced. Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    0
    An utterly unwatchable episode, filled with cheesy dialogue, recycled plot twists, and tired characters that no amount of gratuitous nudity onAn utterly unwatchable episode, filled with cheesy dialogue, recycled plot twists, and tired characters that no amount of gratuitous nudity on the part of the comely cast can overcome. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    2
    This Show is based off a really good series of books. Season one was fantastic in sticking to the storyline. Now 4 seasons later in season 5 iThis Show is based off a really good series of books. Season one was fantastic in sticking to the storyline. Now 4 seasons later in season 5 i use the therm "based" loosely. The Series has strayed from the original storyline and flew off in it's own direction. I'm NOT happy about it and don't wish to continue watching something that has gone so far from the original story. If you have seen the show but not read the books, don't read past book one. Full Review »