• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
True Blood Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The return of presumed dead vampire leads the Vampire Authority to pay a visit to Bill and Eric.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 8, 2012
    100
    They've added a new element that makes it something I can finally (I'm sorry) sink my teeth into. They've added politics as blood sport.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A densely packed, well-paced gothic horror soap with surprisingly funny twists placed at the worst.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 7, 2012
    100
    Summer TV at its witty, riveting best.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 5, 2012
    75
    The show is still crazily entertaining. [11 Jun 2012, p.41]
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 8, 2012
    75
    While politics come into play later, it is human emotions such as grief, regret and loss that fans can look forward to sinking their teeth into at the start of the season.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 8, 2012
    70
    It's with much appreciation that I report that Season 5 of True Blood is not about the introduction of any new magical creatures (though the fairies are up to some B-story shenanigans), but the long-discussed Authority, the seven-member governing body of all vampires everywhere.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jun 11, 2012
    25
    The first four episodes of Season 5 find True Blood at its most directionless and meandering.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Great first episode, opening new story lines and solving past ones, this could be one the best seasons yet love the new characters and I cant wait for the rest of the season Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable first episode, a lot of story arcs were set up for this season and I can't wait to see them fleshed out. Some story arcs were a bit weaker (Steve Newlin, what the hell?) than others, but I'm sure they will be explained and unfold nicely. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    8
    Season 5 is far better than season 4 and is one of my favourite seasons yet. Though their were too much story lines to follow, this season was jaw-dropping, action packed and contained some of the best episodes in the series! I can't wait for Season 6 Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    this whole season was as bad as the fourth season was, but this season had a good ending that I did not give up yet of true blood despite being bad and annoyng. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    After watching this whole season disappointedly, I kind of regret spending my time on it. I enjoy the books and this storyline is getting way away from the books. There are too many irrelevant characters creating too many different stories that don't make much sense at all. Religion and politics? No thanks, lets enjoy the guilty pleasure for what it is - a vampire romance. Haha. Expand
  6. Jun 23, 2012
    2
    This Show is based off a really good series of books. Season one was fantastic in sticking to the storyline. Now 4 seasons later in season 5 i use the therm "based" loosely. The Series has strayed from the original storyline and flew off in it's own direction. I'm NOT happy about it and don't wish to continue watching something that has gone so far from the original story. If you have seen the show but not read the books, don't read past book one. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. I am so tired of all those story lines that is never connected in anyway and that dam lock-down is driving my nuts. I love the books and the fact that the characters stays in the same storyline and that it actually follows true to a great ending but this series it has become one of the most annoying one I have ever seen. HBO easily create beautiful thing but this is just pitiful Collapse

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.
  2. Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer

    Summer TV Preview: 20 Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 12, 2011
    Who says there's no good TV in the summer? Learn about the season's most interesting new and returning shows, from "Curb Your Enthusiasm" and "Louie" to "Falling Skies" and "Wilfred." We also have a full calendar of premiere dates for all summer shows.
  3. Ranked: Vampire TV Shows

    Ranked: Vampire TV Shows Image
    Published: June 9, 2010
    HBO's "True Blood" returns for a third season this weekend, but it's far from the only vampire show on television. We rank 10 of the most vampire-centric shows in TV history, from the best to, well, the suckiest.
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.