• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 84
  2. Negative: 25 out of 84

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    I was skeptical when the new show runner Brian Buckner said that this final season would return back to how it was when it first started but after seeing the premiere all of the skepticism was gone. This feels exactly like season 1 and 2. There are some things that they can't go back to but for the most part it's almost exactly like the earlier seasons. I'm so excited to see how the restI was skeptical when the new show runner Brian Buckner said that this final season would return back to how it was when it first started but after seeing the premiere all of the skepticism was gone. This feels exactly like season 1 and 2. There are some things that they can't go back to but for the most part it's almost exactly like the earlier seasons. I'm so excited to see how the rest of this season plays out. Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Wow. Just wow. I am blown away. I can't believe how great the premiere episode was. The fact that they killed off a main character in the first 5 minutes is unbelievable to me. The character has been in every episode since season 1. (don't worry no spoilers) it really makes you feel that no one will be safe this season. Not even Bill, Sam, Alcide or pretty much everyone else. Can't waitWow. Just wow. I am blown away. I can't believe how great the premiere episode was. The fact that they killed off a main character in the first 5 minutes is unbelievable to me. The character has been in every episode since season 1. (don't worry no spoilers) it really makes you feel that no one will be safe this season. Not even Bill, Sam, Alcide or pretty much everyone else. Can't wait until next week. If you haven't seen the episode yet go watch it now. You'll do yourself a favor. Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Strong season premiere. Didn't disappoint me like I thought it would. Best season premiere since season 3. I hope the rest of the season is this good.
  4. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I felt that true blood really lost it's edge in season 5 with all of the side stories and I felt that it got a lot better in season 6 as far as side stories, writing, and characters go but I was still not sure if I would like this season but I'm here to tell you that I loved it. Everything in this episode was perfect. From Tara finally biting the dust after she should have died years ago to Lafayette, James talk about death, and pain to Bill and Andy walking through the creepy deserted slaughterhouse. Kept me on the edge of my seat. My only complaint is the lack of Eric. Fingers crossed that he'll be back soon. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing that makes this different from any of the past few seasons is that there's a real sense of danger. Main characters are dying, or are in danger of dying. We're only one episode into this season and main characters are dead, and I'm sure that the body count is going to keep piling up all season long. It makes a show that was on the brink of becoming boring now is new and fresher than ever. Also the side stories seem more connected to the main plot unlike in season 5 with Sookie hanging out with fairies or Terry's smoke monster. Excluding Pam's search for Eric. Jason and Violet searching for the Hep-V vampires or Bill and Andy doing the same thing. James talking about his best friends death gives him more depth as a character. I think he had more lines of dialogue in that scene than what he had all of last season. This season definitely looks promising. Can't wait for more. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2018
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is no doubt that the excess of plotting has hampered the story from the third season onwards, but in this case things have become simple again by focusing on the dramas of Bon Temps residents. Although the apocalyptic climate caused by vampire hepatitis has reached the city, the plots have remained in the psychological of their characters, creating a climate of isolation from the rest of the world. This is how the uprisings erupt between the villagers themselves and Sookie and her troupe's realization that the surrounding towns were devastated. It was necessary to start over. Finally, it was a season that managed, even by leaps and bounds, to finalize the plots of its characters and celebrate the life existing in the small town. It wasn't the best series finale in TV history, but it was consistent with the spirit of the series. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Larson
    Jun 23, 2014
    50
    True Blood seems to have exhausted its stores of surprises.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 20, 2014
    40
    HBO's True Blood opens its seventh and final season on a rather anemic note.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jun 19, 2014
    70
    The potential definitely is there for a bloody good finale. The setup is intriguing enough.