True Blood : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 7, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 671

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoelL.
    Sep 8, 2008
    2
    Not funny, not thrilling, not sexy, very hokey and very badly acted excepting Paquin.
  2. AntonioM.
    Sep 13, 2008
    2
    Boring, lame. slow paced, terrible acting. PAris Hilton scary House of Wax was a masterpiece compared to this. we were 4 in a room and we all agreed, that it sucks... Very disappointing
  3. KathrynM.
    May 23, 2009
    0
    I HATE this show. I'm sick of being hit over the head repeatedly with what bigoted, homophobe I am and America is. Nothing like the books. They were fun. Too bad the director can't tell a story without bashing America and overloaded with sex and profanity.
  4. JennyT.
    Jun 30, 2009
    0
    This show was really, really bad. The characters aren't interesting, and the dialogue is overplayed. The overdone stereotypes certainly don't help give credibility to th storyline, and the whole show feels like a failure.
  5. LaurenS
    Jan 28, 2010
    3
    I saw one episode, and didn't like it at all. But i understand that others do like it, i just couldn't get into it. I'm not blaming the actors, storyline, or the writer, but i just found that it was boring.
  6. CryseC
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical I'm so disappointed with this. Being a big fan of a lot of vampire books and movies, I was really looking forward to this and there was so muc hype before the series started. I'm not sure how they could even compare it to the likes of such great shows as Dexter or the Sopranos. The acting is cringe-worthy to watch, the accents are terrible, the characters are generally comical even though I don't think they should be.I've heard the books are really good, which I can believe; I think this is just a very badly made show. I laugh every time the fangs pop out. They make this weird mechanical sound and the fangs look so fake, I don't know how the vampires can possibly appear scary. I'm hoping it'll get better so am still watching. It can't possibly get any worse. Expand
  7. JannyS.
    Sep 9, 2008
    1
    Bleah! Did no one else think that Paquin's performance was bug-eyed bizarre? Overacting, much? As a fan of both Alan Ball and Charlaine Harris, I was appalled. I made myself sit through the first episode in hopes it would get better. I won't be watching any more.
  8. AnandG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    2
    I've seen 4 complete episodes only because people keep telling me this show is really interesting. after 4 episode I can honestly say there are about 5 minutes where it didn't suck. terrible dialog, acting, storyline, and uninteresting characters. they need a nuclear bomb to go of in that down and move Bill, the only with some potential, somewhere more interesting. this show is I've seen 4 complete episodes only because people keep telling me this show is really interesting. after 4 episode I can honestly say there are about 5 minutes where it didn't suck. terrible dialog, acting, storyline, and uninteresting characters. they need a nuclear bomb to go of in that down and move Bill, the only with some potential, somewhere more interesting. this show is less interesting than john from cincinnati and that should say it all. Expand
  9. StephanieS
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the Quite possibly the worst adaptation of book to show I've ever seen. The story line is not even close and major changes are made to the lore Harris created in the book. About the only similarities are the overarching thread of season one to book one (murders of fangbangers and vampire enthusiasts) but other than that the only things that are the same are the characters and the settings. Sookie is nothing as I imagined to her to be (and the acting is terrible) except for blond. The only accurate casting was possible Eric and Pam but acting still leaves something to be desired as does the special effects. C'mon people! Buffy didn't have great quality graphics but yet they were more believable than this show's. I am truly disappointed. Expand
  10. RichieV
    Sep 13, 2008
    0
    Probably the worst HBO show ever made! I was extremely disappointed with this show because I had high hopes. It played out like a really bad B horror movie...that wasn't scary. Horrible. Period!
  11. FrederickS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    3
    I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their I cannot believe this made it on HBO. Trying to sound cool by using terms like "fang-banger" and phrases like "out of the coffin" are just stupid. (Spoiler below) I understand they are trying to make it seem real, but I can't take a series very seriously if the opening scene is a girl feeling "bored" enough to give her boyfriend some ...assistance in the pleasure department in their car. I don't care for sex, but sometimes, HBO makes it decent. I was bored to tears with all the random sex in this show, and there were so many scenes of it. Is this seriously what HBO thinks will beat Dexter and Californication? GEEEEEZ. They are way off. Don't waste your time with this piffle. In the words of Niles Crane, it's "piffle light." Stay away if you want to leave your brain cells intact, and lose them not to vampires but just ignorant TV-making. One final thought: the acting is TERRIBLE. Characters going from pissed off to happy randomly annoys me constantly. I could do a better job! Expand
  12. TomC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the This show is the most pretentious dribbling sappy excuse for drama on television. The premise is trite with casting that scrapes the bottom of the barrel. I'd give this a zero if I wasn't such a die hard fan of Six feet Under (well at least the first two seasons). I've never read the books and after watching two episodes I don't think I ever will. If I was from the South I would be offended by the portrayal of hedonistic, judgemental, one dimensional caricatures portrayed here. Also, absolutely no chemistry with any of the cast members. I really want to know who is blowing the reviewers that are giving this show scores above a 5 (LA Times seems to be the last bastion of sanity.) Expand
  13. JoeB.
    Sep 22, 2008
    1
    This show is absolutely terrible. It is beyond corny, the acting is terrible (especially the fake southern accents), the sad thing is is that there is enough funding to keep this show on the air. To see this show get good reviews baffles my mind and I hope people begin to realize how ridiculous of a show this is. I keep laughing when I see fangs! THIS SHOW IS A JOKE
  14. KateS.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    High school drivel. Really terrible puns-they should be fined. Why do people put up with this crappy kind of tv?
  15. CyndeeB.
    Sep 24, 2008
    1
    I was really looking forward to this show being a huge vampire fan. The first episode was ok and I was looking forward to seeing more. The second episode was ok but slow and left me wondering what was the point of this series. The third episode really took a turn for the worse and makes me wonder what they are trying to do. I think the show has a lot of potential to be good or even great I was really looking forward to this show being a huge vampire fan. The first episode was ok and I was looking forward to seeing more. The second episode was ok but slow and left me wondering what was the point of this series. The third episode really took a turn for the worse and makes me wonder what they are trying to do. I think the show has a lot of potential to be good or even great but right now comes across as pornography with an attempt at a plot thrown it because it is expected. I have not read the books and this series does not make me want to read them. A friend of mine has read the books and stated they are very different from the show and cannot believe the author ok'd what they did to her world. Expand
  16. DianeM.
    Sep 29, 2008
    2
    Loved the books, Hate the show! Really disappointing, not anything like the wonderful Southern Vampire Mystery books. This could have been so great, what a bummer!!
  17. DustinC.
    Oct 28, 2008
    0
    Terrible acting. Terrible production values. Simply TERIBLE!
  18. FirstLast
    Nov 9, 2008
    0
    This piece of garbage series is nothing but a low grade soap opera veneered with pop vampire lore. It's not funny, it's not scary, nor is it even thought provoking. The shallow, crass character development reduces its characters to boring stereotypes. A complete and utter waste of time.
  19. MichaelEmersonFan
    Apr 3, 2009
    0
    The first episode of "True Blood" is an absolute train wreck. Where do I start? 1- The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and every word- instead of advancing the plot and allowing for character development- is astronomically expensive filler. Gratuitous F-bombs fizzle damply in every other line, although it seems as though the audience is supposed to be shocked by these fu-nannigans. Yes, The first episode of "True Blood" is an absolute train wreck. Where do I start? 1- The dialogue is unbelievably stupid and every word- instead of advancing the plot and allowing for character development- is astronomically expensive filler. Gratuitous F-bombs fizzle damply in every other line, although it seems as though the audience is supposed to be shocked by these fu-nannigans. Yes, we know.. it's HBO. People say "F-" and don't get bleeped out. What's new? 2- The actors take the most cliche interpretations imaginable, resulting in lifeless performances. In spite of this, the actors still manage to overact each sequence so painfully that it makes me want to shove forks into my eyes. 3- Above, I had mentioned such trivial things as "plot advancement" and "character development." I'm sorry. 4- I would have to say that the melodramatic musical sequence that plays whenever Suckie sees the vampire must be what they refer to affectionately as "comedic relief." Every show needs it. And this show needs something. Like an axe. Expand
  20. EmilyS
    May 22, 2009
    2
    This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even This show seemed like it might be good, but it just seems to have gone down hill with each episode. The writers apparently have no idea how to deal with problematic characters other than just killing them. It follows Jason for much of the show simply having hallucinogenic dreams and sex and being far too stupid to live. There was no foreshadowing as to who the murderer might be, even though the main character can read minds- it seemed like they just picked him as the killer in that episode and made it obvious in the first couple minutes of the episode. Now it seems for the next season Jason has joined an anti-vampire church and so will continue being more stupid than ever and taking up time where we could be doing so many better things, like throwing salt in our eyes. Expand
  21. AndrewN
    Jun 14, 2009
    3
    This show is painfully weak in character and dialogue, nothing close to the powerhouse that 6 Feet Under was. I watch because I have nothing better to do and it gives me confidence in my own writing abilities that something so poorly crafted as this can actually get produced.
  22. BartH.
    Jun 23, 2009
    0
    I'm all for suspending my disbelief to enjoy a good story, but I honestly felt like the plot was starting to make me stupid. Time after time the I was forced to push the "I believe" button to overcome some scenario which defies any common sense logic.
  23. Martit
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    Worst thing i've ever seen , accents are terrible , storyline is very poor , i watched first 4 eps to see if it got any better but will never watch anymore , chop it before it gets any more embarrassing.
  24. DinaW.
    Jul 26, 2009
    0
    Totally sucks. I am from the south. not from louisiana, though. i am very disappointed at the quality of acting, script, and story line. i have a lot of "stories" for sale that are much more entertaining and more specifically written like someone with a brain. Sorry, hated it!!!!!
  25. debbiep
    Sep 2, 2009
    0
    Not at all impressed with this show, it's sort of weird. The acting is not that great either. Won't watch again!
  26. Jan 13, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After hearing rave reviews from friends I decided to check the show out for myself. Now at the 8th episode and I'm quitting. I gave it a fair shot, but this show is hugely disappointing. The acting is very poor, there's an extreme reliance on sex/drugs to make the show seem "bad ass" and most of the plot/storyline seems to be pretty boring. There have been a few moments that gave me some hope and convinced me to continue watching but they ultimately fail in the face of all the other things that are wrong with this show. I've got nothing against a good Vamp film/novel, but when you start getting into Vampire blood being used as a drug ("V", really?) its a sure sign you need to come up with a new series... Expand
  27. May 23, 2011
    0
    A bunch of vampires now live in a small southern townâ
  28. Jul 18, 2011
    3
    Absolutely do not get the appeal of this show. Tried watching season 1 at many friends' insistence and found it to be extremely.....strange is really the only word I can come up with. This show is strange. In an after-viewing feeling of "what the hell just happened to the last hour of my life?" kinda way.
  29. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Seriously aimed completely at women. It felt slow and as if ever happened it was just cutting from scene to scene with mediocre acting. Worst bits for me were the constant music telling you how you should be feeling and the story line where they could just make up ridiculous solutions to problems scenarios they had created in the plot. My girlfriend however loved it .
  30. Dor
    Sep 27, 2011
    0
    I can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sadI can not believe how badly they mutilated a wonderful book series just for hollywood crap and ratings they change so much its not even close to brilliance the books are I wish that charliane Harris had gotten more control of how her books were going to be adapted to tv the only people who love this are people who do not read and have not read the books once you do you will see how sad the show is unfortunately since there are more tv watcher out there than readers you will find fans of this lame excuse of a show I hope this show ends soon Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    This series is idiotic I can't believe i watched most of it. It's a waste of time.
    I realized people see it just because the actors are kind of hot but nothing else.
  32. Sep 17, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The writers created too much chaos and too little for the audience to latch onto and care about. I don Expand
  33. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    True Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested inTrue Blood is sexy in some parts but in all seriousness, this movie is such a wasteful act. It sexy in a way that it brings you into a world of more darker premises, a lot more darker than twilight. However, this show also lacked something that twilight had, genuine love between a human and an immortal. Twilight had love. True Blood has nudity, sex and lust. Unless If you are interested in watching the contents that I mentioned for about 45 minutes or so which is like porn. Its so degrading and so utterly disgusting that I stopped watching on the 3rd or 4th episode of this season. This show is so sick. Its like lying in a bed after a long night of sex and heading for the shower. Expand
  34. Nov 23, 2012
    0
    I like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becamesI like a lot of good US series like Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Mad Men....but for some reason I never liked True Blood. The characters are unlikable, the story starts out OK but quickly goes downhill and with every new episode I think "how many more clichés of the Vampire genre will they come up with now". If you compare it to The Walking Dead, then True Blood really becames very pale (just like those vampires I guess). Expand
  35. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    this is the worst tv show of all time in my opinion

    there is no sense in it
    it is probably the worst writing, the worst directing, and the worst everything!!!
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    42
    I'd say that the author is more vivid, subtle, and funny in her portrayal of Southern life; I'll be surprised if her fans aren't disappointed by this adaptation. The best thing about Ball's shows is their opening credits.
  2. Vampire fantasy, murder mystery, star-crossed love story, political satire, True Blood is all and none of the above. Not quite funny, not quite scary, not quite thought-provoking, the show's attempt to question the roots of prejudice is continually undermined by its own stereotyping.
  3. The core characters, including Sookie's best friend Tara (Rutina Wesley), Sookie's brother Jason (Ryan Kwanten) and bartender Sam (Sam Trammell), who has a thing for Sookie, all have interesting features and are well-played. The rest of the locals don't come off so well, mostly having few brains and a big shortage of couth.