• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2014
  • Season #: 1
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1026 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Just another lover of "True Detective". Yes, it does remind me of several other detective/procedural series on TV but it is so much more subtle, so much better acted. Harrelson and McConneghy are far from being among my favorite actors but on "True Detective", they simply show how it is done. Excellent!
  2. JJJ
    Feb 27, 2014
    1
    Could be a good show; unfortunately it pitifully degrades the subject matter by hacking better writers and taking itself way too seriously. The women (including a dead woman) are propped around as decor and are solely defined by what they do with their 'girl parts'. People think that makes the show 'deep', 'dark' ,' grim' and profound. Nothing profound or fun about male brutality and female victimization except writer and director indulged a little too much in their own porn, fetish and power fantasies. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    Louisiana, two dysfunctional cops, a fiendish killer, a psychobabble script….may I suggest that James Lee Burke get a screen credit and a fat royalty. Speaking of credits, I’m certain there is a production designer, but you can’t tell from watching. Of course there is a scriptwriter, but unfortunately, the script is as poorly constructed as the wigs that serve as visual time machines, and the dialogue between Cohle and Hart is so poorly conceived it is painful to hear. I know that I am swimming against the tide of public opinion, but unless this series gets infinitely better, I think you will find that the tide will turn and my review will be the first of many that will suggest that you meet your need for entertainment elsewhere. For example, if you are looking for a good mystery, set in Louisiana, featuring two dysfunctional cops, read a James Lee Burke novel. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    3
    Incredibly slow moving and sullen, dark...very depressing. Lots of drinking by the detectives, makes you wonder how they function to solve this crime. Good acting but the story doesn't move fast enough for me.
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    True Detective may just be the best pilot episode that has aired in recent memory. Like the Dexter's pilot, I was completely absorbed with the show's dark nature. It absolutely had me hooked for an amazing (commercial free!) hour of television.

    Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson put on breathtaking performances as Louisiana Police detectives hunting down a serial murder with a
    disturbing MO. McConaughey has the more interesting role as Rust Cohle, whose ideals in life make him an oddball with possible psychopathic-like tendencies. Harrelson plays Martin Hart, who would be the good cop, if this show played to its genre's clichés. No, Hart doesn't seem dirty, but he's far from one dimensional.

    A bold direction style shows us Rust and Martin 17 years later, getting interviewed by the current Louisiana Police. The investigation we see is actually a flashback from the duo's interview. We also learn that Rust and Martin have been out of contact for years thanks to some sort of non-specified dispute. This gives the show not one, but two great unanswered questions that I can't wait to see unravelled in the future.

    If the pilot is any indication, we're in for one hell of a ride. Suburb acting, scripting, and directing give True Detective a real shot at becoming one of HBO's best shows of all time.
    Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    4
    I wanted to like this show, but as the episodes went on I became extremely disappointed. There is nothing particularly original about it. Two macho detectives who drink and have sex with women are on the hunt for a serial killer with weird fetishes. That's it. Besides the two main characters, everyone else are film noir clichés. Moreover, the women in the show are paper-thin characters who are mainly there for the obligatory boob shot. The pacing of the show is a problem as well. I don't mind slow-moving story lines, but True Detective really pushes it. I guess I will be one of those few people who will go to my grave trying to understand why this show is getting high praises. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2014
    3
    It kills me to write a mixed review, given how rare it is to find such a well-written show anywhere on television. The acting is superb, and everyone's rightly praising Matthew McConaughey (though I get so distracted by his reliance on puffing away on cigarettes - I'd love to see him do the role without them.) Woody Harrelson is every bit as good, in a less 'dramatic", less darkly philosophical role. Which brings me to my two problems. One: It takes itself way too seriously. Never mind plot points that are completely ludicrous, which we're not supposed to question because this is SERIOUS. Look, even Shakespeare's tragedies were leavened with a dash of humor now & then! Second: If I were a woman, I'd be horrified by how women are portrayed here. I've kept on watching, but that first episode couldn't get enough of those grotesque shots of a desecrated dead woman from behind .... And what about the ones who aren't dead? Hysterics, nags and hookers. Someone else here said HBO needs some female feedback. I'll second that. Expand
  8. Feb 27, 2014
    1
    After seeing all the positive raves for this Twin-Peaks-meets-True-Blood clunker, I start to understand why TV gets away with being as bad as it is. Come on people, there isn't anything here that isn't both pretentious in its take-the-time-to-appreciate-my-brilliance pacing and cliched in its every creaking suth'n gumbo plot and dialogue. Isn't there some National Association for the Advancement of Swamp Folk that can sue this thing off the air? I used to be a huge Matthew McConaghy fan, but 59 ways to product-place a friggin cigarette does not a characterization make. I gave it two episodes to see if the pilot was just a stumble out of the gate, but it seems to be tapering off. Enough already. Expand
  9. Jan 25, 2014
    2
    Slow as a slug this show. I can't believe all these good reviews? What am I missing? I get set up the first for the first few episodes but unless this makes a drastic turn by bye bye!!! Cast means nothing without good writing and plot line. I am so lost with these 2 characters. Their back and forth banter does nothing for me. I'd rather watch paint dry.
  10. Feb 12, 2014
    3
    i know i have good taste in TV shows. i loved Breaking Bad, The Wire, Homicide: Life on the Streets, E.R., The Sopranos, The Cosby Show, Cheers, All In The Family, Gunsmoke, Bonanza, Perry Mason, I Love Lucy -- so i know good TV when i see it -- right now i'm really having a hard time reconciling these reviews. this show freaking drags and i don't see the ill chemistry between Woody and Matthew everyone is talking about. i just don't get the hype. Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Very good first episode. Everything is in place. Let's kick back and enjoy the rest of the season. Casting is great, story very good. In one word AWESOME. My score is pure 10.
  12. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Upon hearing of the casting of Matthew Mcconaughey and Woody Harrelson in this series, I was instantly excited to begin watching. Fortunately, my expectations have been met.

    With True Detective, the foundation for the series' enjoyment is the central characters of Rush Cohle and Martin Hart; the performances by these two characters are vital for the show to succeed. Luckily, these
    performances are flawless, with both Harrelson and Mcconaughey producing performances that will certainly be the talking point at next award season. In the pilot episode the main thrust of the characterization is placed upon these new characters, which is nice because the characterization is excellent but I hope to see more expansion of the supporting characters - particularly that of Maggie Hart and the detectives interrogating Hart and Cohle. However, I do understand that this is only the first episode and it is more than likely the outer characters will be expanded.

    Another thing I enjoyed was that the first episode didn't end with a huge cliffhanger, which I find plagues other shows like Sherlock. In my opinion it is great writing that makes the audience want to come back due to the quality of the show, not due to mere intrigue and wanting to be in on local pop culture.

    One thing that helps to solidify True Detective as a triple-A series is the immensely satisfying production values typical of a HBO show. These production values are brought to the limelight with the cinematography that really cements the setting. The editing, with particular mention to the interrogation scenes, is flawless.

    This is an especially promising pilot with the potential to become the best show of the year. However, if it is to reach a classic status, Like HBO's biggest success 'The Sopranos', it has to have a palpable persona and sense of style, which it has the full potential of having.

    One more thing - the villain better be good.
    Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2014
    4
    In a word: riveting - like a rivet straight into my forehead. I gave this a "4" because of the visual imagery and the acting.
    But ... wow is it slow. I suspect some 90 year olds on walkers go faster than this piece of crap storyline.
    For example, the most substance so far in the script is the tacit substance abuse of the McConneghy detective.
    To be fair, its visual appeal and to a large
    extent, the acting, is very impressive.
    And it starts out interesting enough, but about halfway through the second episode I had to ask myself things like: "Do I care?" and "Why are they spending so much time on... NOT THE MURDER."

    So if you want to watch something visually appealing, but completely intellectually vapid and focused almost exclusively on the lives of people who just incidentally happen to be detectives, then this might be great to watch!

    For me, unless it starts actually spending some time on the murder (or murders) in the next episode or two- instead of the banal lifestyles of the two main detectives- I'd have to conclude that this is not anything more than a very boring drama, with a bit of drinking and sex to keep it only slightly interesting.
    I just cannot fathom how people can hail this show about "6".
    Expand
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Why is this show so popular? Who are the people giving it positive reviews?! Are they the people who watch Fox News? This is the first time I was sooo disappointed with a show that I just have to create an account to rate this.
  15. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This is an easy 10/10 show. The only 'critiques' on here are from imbeciles who want their plot lines spoon-fed to them, or they want explosions every 15 seconds to hold their 'Michael Bay' level of attention-span.

    The pacing of this show is superb, mixing between brutal violence, incredulous character development and writing so sharp it puts Breaking Bad (which is one of my all-time
    favourite shows) in the shade.

    Ignore the peons who dismiss this (every negative review contains the revelatory line 'I didn't get it...') - if you know what you want from TV, and what you want is brilliant character development, pinpoint dialogue and murky character traits then look no further.

    This show is easily an instant classic and to the naysayers I simply state: "go back to watching Transformers, Two and a Half Men and The Big Bang Theory or American Horror Story".

    That people have to think on their feet, listen deeply to the dialogue and piece together what is being said compared to what is being shown will put the casual observer, unintelligent bozo and/or ADHD 'explosions = goodness' viewer (rightly) in the shade.

    To be filed alongside your other HBO classics like OZ, The Sopranos, The Wire.
    Expand
  16. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    This was pure dreck. Were they adlibbing the dialogue? No character development. A plot without focus. An ending that defied any logic. More holes in the story than can be sorted and explained. The final episode was so ridiculous that I laughed through most of it, "Slingblade" meets "Close Encounters" meets "Texas Chainsaw Massacre'....... Thank heavens it is over. More psychobabble would leave me in a catatonic state. One star for some very good music, the rest is just crappola. Expand
  17. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    In one word: riveting. More so than any other premiere I've seen. It will be difficult to carry that throughout a season, but I'm excited to see it try.
  18. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    True Detective is a show that I wish I didn't start until the season was over. This is the type of show that would be perfect for binge watching over a Sunday or rainy weekend.
  19. Feb 24, 2014
    4
    Have been fans of Matthew and Woody for years, so was very excited about this series. After four episodes, I have decided to move on to another series for my weekly entertainment, and it pains me to do this. I don't get the high reviews and all the "amazing" ratings for this show. It is so slow, and after an hour episode, I don't feel excited about the next show. I mean, a ten minute diatribe about the fourth dimension and round flat circles? It just hasn't grabbed me. I finished last night's show and thought "I gave it my best shot - I really want to like it - but I don't - so I am moving on". Expand
  20. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Too much talk and not enough..... ACTION....It lacked depth and detail about the killer himself.
    I was left waiting for something big to happen and was left hanging... Not DARK enough for all the TALK leading up to search for this Inbred Psycho.
    Just wasted 2 months of my time... I expected soooo much more!
  21. Jan 20, 2014
    5
    It's absolutely all there: great performances by leads and supporting actors. Terrific directing. Incredible photography. Producers, writers, and the director should be congratulated. And yet...sometimes, no often, with certain television series especially on HBO, one can feel that it just isn't OK to express doubts. Like Treme' this is so intelligent, so grown up. How can it NOT be entertaining? How can it NOT be great? Indeed, most of the critics will tell you it IS great. Maybe I will be sorry later for writing this, but, this is a beautifully executed, atmospheric, serial killer story, too heavily influenced by Henning Menkell's work (without saying so) but without Wallander at its center. And that's what it is, a story about ritual serial killing and two cops playing the Wallender role. It does not make me love it or even care about its protagonists. I will keep watching because it is so intelligent but never look forward to it..oh and one slightly spoiler snark: the cops drive out to a burned out church in the middle of nowhere and there is the iconography of the killer and it is supposed to be what, a moment of insight? a thrilling but terrifying reveal? I lack the rhetorical power to say what happened there but I think, just maybe, at its simplest, it was unoriginal. Expand
  22. Jul 19, 2014
    1
    Having seen the entire series twice, I am obliged to give it a low score to balance out the obnoxious super-fans.

    Good: some of the acting, the shooting/editing, the design, the opening song and credits. The show is stylish and addictive.

    Bad: when the writing is bad, it's terrible. Like F terrible. Some of the writing is off in a line or a moment, and some of the bad writing
    pervades the show. It reminds me of "The Killing" in this regard, and the showrunner on True Detective was a staff writer on The Killing. Expand
  23. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Oh please let the rest of the season be as great as the first episode! This doesn't feel like a TV show. It has the production value and acting quality of an Oscar film. Love the concept & execution of going back and forth between 1995 and 2012. Time really does change people, and that was superbly displayed with our two main detectives in this story thanks to the writers and acting of Harrelson and McConaughey. This show instantly has me hooked, and I can't wait for next week's episode. Expand
  24. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I very rarely watch dramas, especially crime dramas. I watched the first 10 minutes of the first episode and was hooked. Acting is amazing (as expected with this cast). The story is entertaining...it doesn't move to fast or too slow, just right in my opinion. If you haven't started watching it, do not hesitate, it is a great show!
  25. Jan 27, 2014
    5
    Great potential to be a winner. McCon's acting is fantastic, his paralytic pain, and detachment. My rating would be a lot higher if the show didn't shove male masturbatory material in my face. As the mom says to her daughter in ep 3, "It's ugly. It makes something that should be nice ugly." Well, the story is not a pretty one, I concede, however the female characters could have more depth and dimension than the same old, sexually available (ass in face), dead and naked, happy hooker and nagging wife. Spread legs and shots of female body parts, even in opening credit sequence, are what hinders my experience of the show. What a shame. Expand
  26. Feb 21, 2014
    5
    The acting is superb, visually it’s stunning and atmospheric, and storyline is ok. What I think lets its down is the depiction of women. They are cast as the prostitute, nagging wife, sexually available needy mistress, weak desperate confidential informants and feckless and irresponsible mothers. Even the female victim was bound, naked, mutilated and an abused sex worker. It is also gender skewed on men with the cock fighting in the squad room, moody, selfish, gratuitous behavior. Only Matthew Mc character balances the two extremes and I would say he holds the series together. I feel it may be better with one lead detective (Matthew Mc) working through his angst and more focus on the storyline. I think its trying to be Nordic Noir with a commercial interface Expand
  27. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    This is an amazing show. The acting and direction are absolutely stellar. Everything from the cinematography to the music is done perfectly. It manages to be creepy, philosophical, funny, viscerally exciting and supremely unsettling within the span of each episode. Lock down all of the acting awards for McConaughey now.
  28. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    BRILLIANT. The first season of True Detective is SOOOOO POWERFULL. I'm not the only one here who thought the vacuum left us by Breaking Bad would be filled so soon.

    Matthew McConaughey it's officially one of the best actors in the moment. And Woody Harrelson is really good too.

    Moments like the last 10 minutes of the fourth episode, define not just a series, moments like that defines
    define series history.

    Thanks HBO.
    Expand
  29. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    Woody Harrelson and Matthew Mcconaughey are superb as cop duo in this great crime drama that is well acted and well written. I don't like Matthew Mcconaughey very much but in this he and Harrelson are flawless i don't want to give away any spoilers but this is TV at its a great opening for 2014 can't wait to see more of this show.
  30. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    I write this too late already: after watching the second episode.

    I should have come here sooner to say to you that if you enjoy good things, you can't miss this.
    It's like missing Seven, that movie, but eight hours long, which means it can become even better than such classic.

    12 out of 10
  31. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    woow that is amazing show...i watched it almost in one breath for me this show also will be masterpiece in tv series history and the cast two off the most charismatic actors in the world Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson and b the way amazing theme musics
  32. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    This show is incredible. Probably the best crime drama since "The Wire". The acting, writing, scenery, language and characters are all amazing. I can't wait until the next episode!
  33. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    I find a couple of the negative POV's rather interesting about the fact they find True Detective "slow." As slow as watching "paint dry," I believe one person said. All I can say is that you guys must live outrageously interesting lives where there is something is going on constantly, every moment in your waking hours, nothing contemplative or quiet ever, not even for a moment. Wow!. Frankly, the fact that there are no "quiet" moments/times in your lives indicated to me that you may have some significant psychological problems. Must be the significant increase in ADS in our populous these days.

    Great show, visuals and the fact that the there is no assault on the ears every moment it is on the screen, that alone makes it worth watching - makes one think!
    Expand
  34. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    The first two episodes have been simply sublime - the writing is so good it sometimes takes your breath away. The acting from Woody Hartelson & Matthew McConaughey is rich, subtle and suggesting so much more beneath the surface. It moves at a slower pace than many other noir series, giving it time for the themes to be explored and developed, and it stays in your head long after you've stopped watching it. The wonderful music and photography are integral in building up the atmosphere which is both disturbing and hopeful at the same time. Expand
  35. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Yes, serial killer with trademark ritualistic style is not new. Detective genre surely is not either. But this just isn't some series that rely upon the stimulation that this premise provide. Not only does it qualify as one of the best made crime drama, it also depicts relationship, philosophical meaning in general, even better than those deal with relationship directly. It is hard to believe that in less than a year, a series that arguably better even than Breaking Bad has been shown. It's just unbelievable. Expand
  36. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    What a pleasure to watch McConaughey's sublime performance as Det. Rustin "Rust" Cohle. He's a law man with a past, which at times haunts him, and at others plunge him to so deeply into an investigation we as viewers begin to question what the driving force of such a peculiar character is. It's a testament to McConaughey's skill as an actor that his portrayal of an eminently disagreeable character comes across as so nuanced, so richly textured that we're drawn into the gravitational pull of his on screen persona.

    The two detectives discovery of one another plays like the tale of two totally committed actors. In many ways the same old story: the sleepy incumbent and his brilliant, new upstart partner "shaking things up." We've all seen it before, and seen it done badly. Where True Detectives shines is in the script letting us get to know Cohle and Hart intimately, while creating a story which fits their characters personalities, their strengths, their weakness, their motivation; perfectly. The pacing is spot on, and keeps gathering momentum with every revelation of the characters and plot.

    True Detectives has every right to the great Meta score it has garnered. McConaughey and Harrelson breathe life into Nick Pizzolatto's script in a way that every director and producer in television should take note of: more of this please.
    Expand
  37. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    I have edited my previous review to make it shorter.
    The series lacked substance and was full of talking and unnecessary cinematography which went on for far too long. There was no real feeling of suspense or intrigue. The series attempted to be deep and meaningful with metaphorical and unrealistic dialogue, but instead lacked a sense of direction and focused solely on the uninteresting
    and unlikeable characters, their personal lives and companionship. Expand
  38. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Hands down one of the bests overall seasons of any show I've ever watched. The acting, the characters, the gloomy/creepy story. It sucks you right in and you can't help but stay hooked all through the eight episodes. It's a shame the story ends after only eight but it never gets dull and comes to a satisfying conclusion. I can't believe anyone could give this show a proper review before watching it all the way through. Though, I was impressed right from the first episode. Highly recommended! Expand
  39. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is simply brilliant television, The writing, the photography and the acting is simply sensational. How freaking amazing is Mathew Mconaughy? And woody harrelson is brilliant as well. Episode 4 was absolutely gripping, the sort of TV that only comes around once and awhile. It reminds me of particular episodes of the Wire and more recently Southland where you are watching and on the edge of your seat. I'm just worried they won't get 4-5 seasons out of the premise because I just want this series to go on and on. Get on it! Expand
  40. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    By far one of the greatest seasons of television that I've ever had the fortune of watching. Every moment was griping and it succeeded in providing interesting and philosophical dialogue but also contrasting that with heavy actions (including the famous 6 minute long tracking shot). This is one of those seasons of television where every aspect comes together perfectly and really demonstrates how well made this television show truly is. Expand
  41. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Depressing, yes. Slow, yes. Boring? That depends on whether you have the mental acuity of the average television viewer or of an actual human being. If you want a cop drama that ties up neatly each weak with the good guy outwitting the bad guy into confessing his crimes, this is not for you. Beyond that, it's hard to say exactly what it is, as it seems to be charting its own course somewhere between the 'man against the system' theme of The WIre and the 'man against himself' theme of The Sopranos or Breaking Bad. No doubt it could still fizzle, but the acting, the cinematography and the dialogue thus far have been so fantastic that the journey will have been worth it even if the destination disappoints. Expand
  42. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    True Detective is without a doubt the best show on tv at the moment. All the people who rated this show with a negative rating don't know what a good drama is. This show has it all, great writing, great direction, & great acting. The 6 minute scene at the end of episode 4 is enough by itself to prove what a great show this is. The only reason people rate this show negatively is probably because of the pacing. It is a little slow. It's a slow burn that is growing hotter with each episode. I can't wait for the blu ray to watch the episodes back to back and catch things that I missed. Definitely give this show a watch! Expand
  43. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    An excellent and brilliant series, it's a unique and innovative show, everything is awesome, the atmosphere, the creepy scenes and the themes that are addressed, all is perfect.
  44. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    A beautifully shot, suspenseful and above all dark detective show. The setting is used to every advantage in the cinematography and contributes to the feeling of dread the show evokes. Both Harrelson and McConaughey give a lot to their roles, and especially McCaunaughey's characters at times bears more than a passing resemblance to Apocalypse Now's Captain Willard, a man spiraling deeper and deeper into the darkness he's supposed to hunt. Add to that a semi-mythological background, the bleakness around these characters and in their own lives, and you arrive at this well-crafted show. Expand
  45. Mar 21, 2014
    3
    Curious about my 3 out of 10 rating? No, its not a joke, read on.

    There are so many things wrong with True Detective as a tv drama. Let's begin with raising some important questions that define a show. Who are the characters? True Detective has unique, original characters that are well defined, interesting and well-developed. Are those characters likeable? No. No they are not. Matthew
    McCaughnahey plays an anti-social introverted, depressed anarchistic rogue of a detective who is painted to be brilliant at what he does. But he never does anything ... that anyone else with a badge couldn't do. And listening to his crazy ramblings about how people suck, and why everyone sucks, is amusing at first, but serves no point and gets old really quick. Woody Harrolson plays a more normal, cheerful detective. Who we soon discover is cheating on his wife, treats her poorly, has a big ego and looks down on others. Now I understand that not all characters have to be saints, and likeable in every way, but these two are the main characters, the protagonists of a weekly series. If you can't understand why they do things, and support and get behind them, then what can you do?

    Next question. Why do we care? Well, True Detective is a short series about these two detectives solving one case. It jumps back and forth between the past and the present, as they had thought they solved the case, but maybe they got it wrong. Is this interesting? Well, it could be, but its not, and it's really quite pointless. Now, if you're going to have an entire series dedicated to solving one case -- shouldn't that case at least be interesting? Yes it should, and is it? Well, parts of it are -- the art director does a good job with the Hannibal-like crime scenes, unlike hannibal, where we get to see the minds of the killers, and delve into their delusions and philosophys and learn what makes them tick. We don't learn anything about this killer. Why does he do it? All we're given is the murder scenes, and they aren't so original that they make us want to see more of them. By the end of the series we do learn the killers movie. Spoiler, his motive is that he's a crazy killer. Dissapointing? Yes, I think so. If you're going to go through the trouble of artistic, satanic ritual killings, shouldn't you at least have a motive for doing so? Yes... you should. So now we are devoting an entire show about 2 detectives whom we dont like, solving a boring case by a killer with no purpose.

    Next Question. Is it exciting? No. Actually, its quite the opposite. a 60 minute series airing with no commercials, True Detective has all the non-stop suspenseful action of a Bus Stop in the Grand Canyon, during the winter. It moves at SNAIL pace... and NOTHING happens... and when something does happen, ITS NOT INTERESTING. You can fast forward through McCaughnahey's rambles, and Harrolson's extramarital discressions, and what are you left with? A weak show, with no action, and no intelligence to support its strong cast and well-written script.

    I don't recommend this show, to anyone.

    Who am I? Why should you listen to what I have to say?
    Well, I have been watching TV dramas since 1998, and have thus far seen
    188 dramas from start to finish. Over 10,000 hours of TV. Including shows from other countries.
    I've seen more TV, likely, than anyone you know, and anyone they know. So I may just be some guy, but I'm not speaking from my ass with this review. I do know what I'm talking about. And I DONT LIKE TRUE DETECTIVE. And Niether should you. Watch Hannibal instead.
    Expand
  46. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Breathtaking genius. A gripping story, amazing cast, and a journey into existential crisis. I'm blown away by the quality and pacing of this show, it's the best TV show of at least the last five years.
  47. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Now I got a new favorite show, everything about is so great, the mystery has me hooked in, the acting is great, I'm really hooked, and now I have a replacement for Breaking Bad.
  48. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    True Detective features a murder investigation, but the show's central inquiry settles on its two leads. McConaughey portrays a philosophical, nihilistic skeptic and Harrelson a run-of-the-mill by-the-book cop, husband, and father. However, the two characters surpass their archetypes, guided by strong (if a bit on-the-nose) dialogue and outstanding performances. Furthermore, the setting and environment are hauntingly beautiful. The plot is slow-burning much like Sundance's Rectify, and its steady pace of development has benefited it three episodes in. Expand
  49. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Wow, this is what I've waiting for so long. Finally a serious captivating and addicting detective tv series. An outstanding performances by Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson, great characters with their own little dramas, great music, slow paced story telling allows you to focus on very minor but essential details. Definitely the best tv series of the season, simply the one to watch.
  50. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    I started this show after seeing some screencaps on Tumblr, and was hooked from the first minute of the first episode. Most TV series take a while to get strong, yet from the very first episode True Detective deployed excellent writing, engrossing characters and brilliant visuals that are made exceptional by their subtlety. McConaughey is the strongest I've seen him; in fact, all of the acting is top-notch. I almost don't want the series to end, I like this cast too much! Expand
  51. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Having watched through episode 4, I am convinced this is a groundbreaking show.

    The conventions are well done, including the use of Louisiana as a tense theme with wide angled shots, the use of religion as a foil and possible future salvation, great actors delivering thought-provoking dialogue, and the buddy movie. But the unconventional are done well too. The use of a single director
    maybe why I feel such continuity through the moments and episodes. The tempo change from the slow conversational first 170 minutes to an intense and thrilling action show with charged racial tensions and complete thuggery seems to have occurred during Cohle's personhood monologue. And the American Horror Story framework, changing themes and characters from one season to the next will prove very interesting. Then there is that one-shot scene. How many minutes was that?

    Perhaps Tarantino and John Travolta will do a season? Or better yet, Wes Anderson and Bill Murray. It could go from a deep psychological split time framework down in the bayou to a (add the opposite of irreverent) showcasing of Bill Murray as a Parisian Detective. Maybe the Coens with Clooney and Turturro could do a prohibition era take on Feds and Mafia. It can be anything.

    My point is, this is so well done and well thought out. McConaughey's use of language to make the audience look at what it does not wish to see and Harrelson's dramatized violence and physical presence has left me awe-struck. And Potts, Kittles, and Monaghan put up solid performances. That is all that can be said when McConaughey and Harrleson are such show stoppers.
    Expand
  52. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Some of the best acting i have ever seen and the story is fascinating. Not a show for stupid people or people who lack basic empathy skills that make the acting shine. A delicious dark show.
  53. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    I would often look at the time remaining on the episode when it starts, only to ensure it ran for a little longer, it is so mesmerizing and intense.
    It has an amazing cast and screenplay, definitely looking forward to the next season already and the continuity.
    Truly better than the best crime thrillers in a very long time.
  54. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This show is easily one of the best shows I have ever seen. It has fantastic acting and great writing all wrapped up in a fairly original murder mystery. It also has many deeper philosophical implications and ideas that, while extraordinarily dark, are incredibly thought-provoking, and provide a view on our lives and the universe that i have never seen portrayed in a TV show before. I have often found myself agreeing with many (not all) the points Rust makes about the universe and religion (though i don't think that they are all idiots like he does) and i find it fascinating how much this has changed some of my views. i also just have to give Matthew McCounaghey credit for saying all the **** he says about religion, while at the same time being a very religious person; he seems to completely abandon some of his religious views for the role which i have to give him props for. Expand
  55. Mar 11, 2014
    4
    After being fascinated by 6.5 episodes (it was clear something was wrong by the middle of the 7th), I was very disappointed in the 8th and final one. All that suspense lacked a coherent third act. I'm not going to quibble about what threads in the elaborate plot went anywhere -- few paid off. The finale was lacking even on its own terms: It was badly paced, haphazardly plotted, and sloppily scripted. Ignore the hype, set expectations low and enjoy the first 6.5 episodes. Expand
  56. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    Words I thought I would never say - Matthew McConneghy is a great actor. This is easily my favorite show on Television right now. So much subtlety going on Ive had to watch every show at least twice, there are always little secrets to be figured out. Bravo HBO, another winner.
  57. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    I loved this from start to finish. The writing is good throughout and has a lot of philosophical and emotional depth to it. There is also a constant mass of things you`re not really told about as a viewer, forcing you to pay attention but also to think for yourself, for all the good it`ll do you. There is no clear bad guy to focus your antipathy toward, except in the last episode, and the protagonists are far from easy to sympathize with in their own right. And even at the end you are left unsatisfied because most of the really bad people were not caught, just the demon Harrelson and McConaughey had been trying to find for 17 years.
    Critics think this is True Detective taking itself seriously, when it`s really just an intelligent writer not trying to pretend the world is better than it is, and choosing not to joke it away. In the end this makes it not so much depressing as simply neutral, but with a lot of emotion in it regardless. It dares to not explain important things to its viewers, perhaps expecting them to be able to figure some stuff out by themselves, while it deals with enormous subjects almost effortlessly, as if it`s the most natural thing in the world.
    Which brings me to the acting, which is some of the best I have seen from both Harrelson and McConaughey. They both look and act as if they have utterly disappeared into their well written roles. The supporting cast is also good and along with the southern setting and atmospheric sound of the series it really does transport you as if it was a novel and not a television program. My only problem was that I had to turn the volume really high to be able to make out what McConaughey was saying a lot of the time, what with his throaty way of talking.

    I marvel at the criticism of "feminists" regarding the female characters, when it`s a show about two men, one a single alcoholic with at least a couple of serious personal issues, and the other middle aged and cheating on his wife. And in a show in which all the men are either alcoholics, adulterers, child murderers or religious hypocrites, how does this criticism even begin developing in tiny minds? Perhaps I should complain about how True Detective treats the male characters and if anything it would have been sexist to portray women in a good light next to all these despicable men. You notice that the deranged serial killer and all his friends were men. Perhaps they should have been rewritten as female characters instead. In fact basically every single murderer, serial killer, rapist, drug lord and evil person in every TV series and movie made over the last few decades have been men. I demand reparations!
    You don`t have to like the women in the True Detective but how else was the betrayed wife supposed to have behaved? And which woman should have been artificially introduced into the life of the other man who was single by his own choice? The other female characters were all either children, prostitutes or witnesses, and all looked about right for the part. And even if they didn`t, is there some law now that all men must love and respect all women and pretend they are perfect saints, no matter how they behave? And if there is why isn`t there a corresponding one saying that all women must love and respect all men, even if they are exposing themselves in the park or are wife beaters? This hypocrisy is just enough to make my head hurt. Anyway, if this law does exist allow me to break it immediately by voting ten.

    In reality of course, True Detective is not about men and certainly not about women. It is about good and evil, life and death and a broken man finding light at the end of a very very long tunnel. Call it presumptuous, but I liked it!
    Expand
  58. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I'm pretty sure this is the best show I've ever seen. I don't understand how after watching the last episode anyone can give this show a negative review. The setting is so spooky! It really reminds me of some of the best old x-files but with better acting, better character development, and a wicked immersive setting.
  59. Jun 11, 2014
    1
    Absolutely dreadful: pretentious, preachy, faux-knowledgeable, trite, dumb.
    Everything that Fargo is not.
    Amazing that two outstanding actors could be talked into delivering some of the most cringeworthy monologues in the recent history of television.
  60. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    I am through four episodes, yet it is without a doubt cemented as one of the best shows I have ever watched. The slow cooking feeling of the show is phenomenal and now everything is starting to boil, will be interesting to see how the meal winds up tasting. McConaughey and Harrelson are phenomenal and wow is the writing from Nic Pizzolatto and the directing from Cary Fukunaga phenomenal. Just absolute perfection. Expand
  61. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Great writing juxtaposing the arrogance of atheism with parochial attitudes. From the show runners of the killing and they took the idea of the killing upped the reading level and turned the time line upsidown. Or at least that's what it seems to be. It would be kinda cool if they turned it into a Friday the 13th kinda deal.
  62. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    The rather banal hunt for a particularly deranged serial killer is not what drives this series, which is basically a character study of the two cops investigating the case and the development of their relationship during 17 years.

    "Character study" can be the kiss of death in a cop story, but here we have two interesting personalities. Especially Rust Cohle, the character played by
    McConaughey. Cohle is a pessimist cop with a nihilist approach to life. He thinks that most of humankind is trash, an idea probably shared by most cops, but he is extremely clever and articulated in expressing his opinions. He speaks in an annoyingly low, flat monotone, uttering long and complex sentences that exasperate his colleague Marty Hart, played by Harrelson.

    Sadly enough, Cohle may have a good point. However, his wisdom, fundamental decency and dedication to his work do not bring him any satisfaction. Despite understanding well the flaws of humankind, Cohle is leading a depressing life, like the people he despises.

    Hart is a more conventional character, but his "normality" plays well against Cohle weirdness. It is ironic how Cohle and Hart coming from different places at the beginning of their collaboration are shown as living in the exact same way at the end: lonely and alone.

    Unfortunately quite a few things do not work in the show. Among which, the need to explain Cohle nihilism with a personal tragedy, as if his misanthropic nature needed to be rationalised. Then, almost all the women in the story are whores, stupid and needy. Several young and extremely hot girls throw themselves at Hart, which is weird since he is not that attractive. Many others are for sale or would be, if not too old for business. Even Hart wife, played by Monaghan in the only female role of minimal substance, seems able to use only her sexuality to prove some sort of point.

    Finally, the monotone used by McConaughey, although effective to prove the emotional flat-line of his character, is extremely annoying and almost inaudible. Effective in the first episode, by the time I reached the last I could not stand it anymore.

    Eventually, this is a show where men use their brains and end up as heroes and women use their sexuality and end up – as usual – as victims.
    Expand
  63. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    This is NOT what you call "Television". This is an 8 hour movie one could consume in one sitting; If it were a movie it would be worthy of a Best Picture Oscar....With tension on the scale of Silence of the Lambs, and superior character development. Definitely better than the other 2013 detective shows I watched like Almost Human, Sherlock, and Hannibal...not that those are horrible...True Detective is just way less boring, far more entertaining and intellectual, and more realistic than all those other shows. If you consider the amount of bullets flying or fights in the first three episodes, TD can be called slow in its pacing, yet the character developing and the character development are addictively riveting. The gruesomeness is somewhat akin to Hannibal but the atmosphere of despair, tension, and reality is far better suspending through the impeccable acting and phenomenal script writing. Major props to McConaugahey, Harrelson, and their team. They are truly adept at their art. Expand
  64. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Beautifully shot, superbly acted with an utterly enthralling plot introduction, I think this is the beginning of a love affair. Like the opening pages of a book you can't seem to put down, the first episode of True Detective wholly captured my attention. Of course with two Hollywood heavyweights like Harrelson and McConaughey I expected no less.

    Episode 1 introduced us to the main plot,
    an occult murder which the detectives must attempt to solve. The show moves between two time frames, an excellent touch, transporting the audience to and from the initial date of the crime in 1995 and a more modern day setting. This certainly adds to the drama and provides the story with a distinct sense of momentum. Most of the screen time was taken up with character development, painting a solid environment for the two protagonists and giving the audience an intimate look at their developing relationship. Taking the time to do this was admirable, allowing the viewer to get under the characters skin and really get to know them. On the flip side of that point, I felt the main storyline took a bit of a back seat which at times caused a bit of lag in the narrative. Perhaps it could have been a little more balanced in this regard but my intuition tells me the groundwork was being laid for what could be or what I hope will be a set of intricately woven and well thought out plotlines.

    As I look forward to episode two, I'm left attempting to unravel this murder mystery in my own mind while easily placing myself in the shoes of the two men laboured with such a difficult yet intriguing case. Highly recommended viewing.
    Expand
  65. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    So far, so good. Oh, and by "good", I mean that this show made me remember what it was like to watch really great television. I'm impressed, and can't wait to watch more!
  66. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Very good show. MM plays such a tortured spirit with a touch of narcissism. However, unlike most humans he is keenly aware of his faults, knows we're he's been and knows where he's going. EMMY!
  67. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    A worthy replacement for the closing Boardwalk empire and newsroom era, surprisingly great acting from Matthew McConaughey even worthy of an Emmy and golden globe........Oproblem though, Where is the plot going?
  68. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    The plot is good, but it's the acting that's worth the watch. There are truly fine performances in this miniseries.The pacing is part of the amazing stuff. It's atmosphere just works. I'm glad they came to the small screen for a bit and gave us this little gem. You can't watch it like a TV show, you've got to watch it like a movie in a theater. or at least understand that's what it films like. It;s brilliant! There have been perhaps other shows with similar themes but this one is leading much more so than following. It's smart, slick and with performers like these guys honoring us on the small screen? You can't get any better. Thank god and just in time too. I thought all was lost when "Breaking Bad" ended. To bad it's only a miniseries and one can only hope it ends with a big bang!

    .
    Expand
  69. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Judging from the first episodes, this could be another milestone in the modern TV drama wonder so far. It's lovingly crafted in every aspect, from the visual and directing to the writing and the acting. Sure, it's slow and brooding but never unnecessarily so. In fact, the low tempo makes it all the more enjoyable. There is a confidence, a knowingness to it. True Detective is aware of it's own strengths and plays them to very max. Let's just hope they keep it up throughout the season. Expand
  70. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Worth watching. Great plot development and excellent casting. Nobody is perfect in this and that is what makes it a good story. The locations make the plot richer. Really impressed.
  71. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Not since the premiere of Breaking Bad have I been pulled into a series so quickly. McConaughey and Harrelson are at the top of their game with True Detective.

    The first season kind of takes a weird turn around episode four, but only proves that things are never quite how they seem in a story that makes you question every revelation each week.
  72. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    This show has received such good reviews but I don't understand why. It has great actors and their performances are very good. The writing though is just OK, I feel the show is very slow and takes a long time to develop into something worth watching. So far I kind of have to force myself to watch the show, its not terrible it is good, just very slow, not nearly as interesting as Banshee or Black Sails as some examples. I think the show will turn into a great show very soon though. Expand
  73. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I just have watched the last episode of the show and felt the strong urge to watch it over and over again - al least another 2 times. Here´s why: This show is just a superbly written, ferociously performed and incredibly directed TV-series. It´s unconditional love for detail, slow pacing and making the viewer feel for each and every one of the characters (maybe except of the killer), while blurring the edges between good and evil makes it a chilling experience straight to the bone. There´s is no plot hole but always some room for letting your fantasy unravel. Finally closing the story after episode eight protects the series from dying the "Dexter-dead" (you know what i mean ... that lumberjack stuff). Good! Not to mention Harrelson and McConaughey reaching new heights... oops I just did. Hate it without any good reason or give it a serious try and get your mind blown. Expand
  74. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The best season of television ever. The tropes of story-telling, life, death, balance, and time hit the nail right on the head. Never before has a show attempted such large scale thematic elements with such a condensed story. It speaks many truths about the lives we lead every day and how they contribute to the overall meaning of purpose. It is going to be a difficult challenge for HBO to follow-up with a second season. I hope that writer Nic Pizzolatto has awesome ideas for the show’s future. Hat’s off to everyone involved for helping me get through this terrible winter with such unbelievable entertainment. Expand
  75. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    Just when I thought there weren't going to be any more excellent series tv shows, here came a hurricane of great acting, plots and suspense. Matthew & Woody are both astonishingly good - what a fantastic treat for tv fans & what another coup for HBO.
  76. Mar 20, 2014
    1
    una de las peores series del mundo el que escribio esto nisiquiera vio la ley y el orden monk sci nsci algo por dios es malisima!!!!!!!!! esta serie y ray donovan deberian ser prendidas fuego por que? porque el que escribio esta basura ni siquiera vio una serie ni busco ni nada solo hiso algo comercial y me parece que se nota que no sabe nada los tiempos para que es the office la series esa de mierda un asco!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  77. Mar 29, 2014
    2
    The amount of positive reviews for this clunker is staggering. What am I missing here? I get it. McConaughey. Harrelson. Those guys can flat out ACT. But when I'm forced to watch them play out the most arduous script I've ever heard, time to move on. Seriously, every episode is constructed around a diatribe containing exhausting amounts of gravitas and psychobabble. This show takes itself way too seriously. The pacing is annoyingly slow to the point of feeling like it's a chore to get through the first few episodes. The plot is wayward and gets sidetracked by even weaker subplots before ever really establishing ITSELF! No direction. I especially love the lack of character development beyond these two. After half of the first season, I knew nothing of the victim or the killer and moreover, didn't care! I also enjoyed how the director helped me out by slapping a wig on the actors to show me that time had elapsed or jumped back. Thanks! This show is ASININE! Expand
  78. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    It's too early to say much about the plot, the story, etc. However, the writing/dialogue is superb. I've replayed the church tent scene at least ten times, and have added some of the dialogue to my all time greatest quote lists, up there with Nietzsche and HL Mencken. "“If the only thing keeping a person decent is the expectation of divine reward, then brother, that person is a piece of **** -Rust I'd paste more of the brilliant dialogue, but let's just say you should see it and judge for yourself. This show is written by a thoughtful person. Of course, the acting is top notch. I hope there's a second season and that Woody Harrelson and Matthew McConaughey can continue. Thank you to everyone involved in this show for putting some thought into it, and keeping me thoroughly entertained. Expand
  79. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    One of the most effective slow burns I've witnessed in TV history. An impeccable performance by the two leads and perfectly matched music created a dark, disturbed look into the life of a serial killer.

    Excited to see who and where will be included in the next season!
  80. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    I've never reviewed a show after only two episodes, but I think that I need to say that if you are not watching this show then you need to start now before you miss too much. So far everything about the show is near-perfect. Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson are playing characters who are incredibly complex and human, and they are doing amazing jobs at their performances. That praise is extended to the whole cast.

    I cannot get over how believable everything feels. The case is complex, deep, dark, and mysterious. I can't wait to see where they take it from here. By far the best part of the show are the moments outside of the case, that help make these characters feel like real people. The dialog here is amazing. I truly believe that these are things that real people would say. The whole thing is just amazing and excellently shot.

    Like I said it has only been two episodes, so if I feel that my opinion has changed as the show progresses I will update my review. As of right now 2014 has only just started and we already have what will probably be one the best shows of this year. All I can say now is that if you are not watching it I highly recommend that you start. I am completely blown away at how excellent this whole show has been after only two episodes, and I can't wait for the next.
    Expand
  81. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Sometimes I will watch a tv show and from the beginning I will have to force myself to push through boring dialog. From the start of this show to the end I WAS GLUED! I wanted more and more and more. The characters were amazing the story was very clever and kept me thinking. I really hope if they continue with new detectives they sit down and think very hard about how they can top this. This is one of my favorite series thank you HBObasedgod Expand
  82. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    I did not have high expectations for this series, but it surprised me. Is it totally original, no. Is it very well done, yes. The show is has a real feel to it. None of the characters are clean. Everyone has flaws and make bad choices. I think both McConneghy and Harrelson deliver great performances, which is saying something considering some of their worst films. Well written with a decent pace.
  83. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    True Detective is a true "Two-For" We get the show and also a Tour de force performance by Matthew Mcconaughey. If the writers can restrain themselves from waisting time with the unnecessary i.e. children in the bathtub. This show will be the best TV effort ever.
  84. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    From what I'm seeing now, this may very well be one of the best shows on the telly in 2013. You've got recent Golden Globe winner (and now Oscar nominee) Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson in the lead roles, and they both do superbly. The supporting cast is brilliant, and it's got a great premise and story so far. And, even though aforementioned story and premise is slightly cliche', they get around that by having a new take on the idea. The show has atmosphere, great writing, great performances, great everything. Let's hope they keep it up, ay? Expand
  85. Jun 9, 2014
    8
    Great acting from the two leads, better than in any other TV show I can think of, including Mad Men, including Homeland, including anything on the BBC. Great cinematography, great style. Intriguing, if somewhat familiar, story. Until episode 8, the finale of season 1. The entire plot completely unravels in the last hour leaving ten thousand hanging threads. So what you have here is a fine season of TV with a badly rushed last hour. I think they needed a good 14 episodes, maybe 20. But for whatever reason they shortchanged us all at the end. Expand
  86. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    What a great, great show...a slice between twin peaks , crime procedural set via a murky and mysterious louisiana background . while still mainly focusing on how this case is actually effecting the lives of the two central characters...the deeper we go, the deeper we go inside their souls....fantastic writing and Mr.McConaghey does the finest work of his career here...im hooked
  87. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    With only one season under it's belt True Detective has already proved it's greatness and is already in my eyes one of the great series we have on TV at the moment. Spectacular acting by McConaughey and Harrelson. Their characters are interesting,complex and their banter and interplay is endlessly riveting. The cinematography is in few words:Spectacular. Moody,atmospheric and extremely well-realized. A particular scene in the 4th episodes is one of the most impressive scenes I've ever seen on a TV show, its that good. The show feels realistic, sincere and it never feels artificial or derivative. It takes its time in telling it's compelling story and you are there for the ride. The idea of this being an anthology series is very interesting, cant wait to see where the show goes from here. Expand
  88. Mar 13, 2014
    6
    I literally just finished watching the final episode about 20 minutes ago, and the first thing I want to say is this show is pretty slow, and the two main characters are both quite unlikeable. Through the whole thing, I was expecting to see a real evolution in the characters worse traits, but Cohle stuck to the "quite crazy guy" trope and Marty stuck to the "big brutish family man" trope. Maybe I've just heard too much about this show before I got into it, about it's cults and the powerful story arc, how realistic it's characters are, but ultimately I felt underwhelmed by where they took this story. One thing this show *really* does well, however, is the technical side of things. I'd say the top moment for me was the end of episode 4 (season 1, for all you future-dwellers), and people who are on the fence about watching this show should at least get to that point before judging it. This probably isn't for me, but who knows, maybe I just need time to dwell on it to really understand the "greatness" of this show, and catch the second season next year if it comes out. Expand
  89. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    True Detective has captured my attention. It's unfortunate HBO didn't really advertise the series, I only found out about it by watching Ellen DeGeneres, by this time three episodes have already passed. I hope to see more of it and look forward to Season 2 (if there is going to be one). I don't know if the show would be as good as it is without Woody and Matthew, but the suspense and story line has me spreading the word about it, got to get those ratings up for a renewal! Expand
  90. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    First off, this is more of a character study than a police procedural. The thru line is the relationship between the two leads. The serial killer hunt is more of a sub-plot. So, you have lots of dialogue and personal drama going on. When there is some action (Ep 3 or 4) you can see what this show might have been. The ending is trite and more of a "we have to wrap this up somehow" resolution. Is it worth watching? Sure, just keep in mind what to expect. Expand
  91. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    One of the better plots i have seen, the cast is simply fenomenal. Episode left me wanting for more, definitely looking forward to the rest of the season.
  92. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    So far it's been the most intriguing new show I've seen in a long time. Great characters and performances throughout, especially from Matthew McConaughey. The intensity went off the charts in ep. 4 and it'll be amazing to see where things end up. If you've stayed away somehow, treat yourself to this gem. It turns the genre on its head.
  93. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    This isn't just yet another crime show. It is deep, thought provoking and full of mystery. It also displays the dichotomy between the two character's and then how different they seem, may not be so.
  94. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    I had high hopes for this, but in the end it failed.......big time. Too Weird and Unbelievable......and Too Bad. Have no desire to watch a second season.
  95. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    Matthew McCougnaughey and Woody Harrelson are equally fantastic. Their relationship, rather than a so-so mystery plot, is what makes this one of the best TV shows in years.
  96. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    not bad...Beautifully shot, superbly acted with an utterly enthralling plot introduction, I think this is the beginning of a love affair. Like the opening pages of a book you can't seem to put down, the first episode of True Detective wholly captured my attention. Of course with two Hollywood heavyweights like Harrelson and McConaughey I expected no less.
  97. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    This show began so slowly, I was a bit nervous. Then I realized i was so absorbed in the show that it was already over. The care put into the characters is mesmerizing, particularly how they've changed over the years.
  98. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    It doesn't look like TV-series, more like AAA full-budget movie title. The script, the actors, the visuals -- everything is of highest quality as far as 1st season opening goes. Be warned thought that story is not so much about your usual criminal investigations but a journey into somewhat of men's darker side set in creepy Southern US scenes. Haunting and intimidating -- could be one of the best in TV series so far. Expand
  99. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Really enjoyed this HBO production. everything from the layered character development, the exceptional acting, and steady building of the plot. Pizzolatto has created a show that absorbs the viewer into this procedural - this show is one of few that can be compared to settling into a good book.
  100. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    This is what happens when writers are allowed to fulfill their vision. Finally, we get to watch a drama that hasn't been written to be stretched out to 5 ridiculous seasons or to fill auditoriums with 13-year-olds. So far, it stands up there with the best dramas in any medium. Superb writing and Oscar level acting.

    Mike Hale of the New York Times called the dialogue "writerly." Read
    some of Mr. Hale's other tv reviews and you'll understand how ironic and cheap that shot is. Hale would have whined about Flannery O'Connor being "too obvious" because he's the kind of critic who won't let anyone forget he writes for the New York F***ing Times. He should write for Pitchfork. If average folk have already found it, it can't be good. He panned Breaking Bad, so that should tell you something. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    The drama is quite riveting.
  2. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Mar 27, 2014
    30
    Whatever the length of the show’s much admired tracking shot (six minutes, uncut!), it feels less hardboiled than softheaded. Which might be O.K. if True Detective were dumb fun, but, good God, it’s not: it’s got so much gravitas it could run for President.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    100
    HBO's program is not just an actor's showcase for two greats. It is dense, complex, rewarding storytelling, heightened by a sense of location from its writer and director that is mesmerizing and a character-driven storytelling aesthetic that brings to mind great films like David Fincher's "Zodiac" and Bong Joon-ho's "Memories of Murder."