Under the Dome : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 402 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    4
    Watched it for whole 13 episodes and I must say I am very disappointed. There are two plus sides to this show:

    1. The dome concept 2. CGI effects Other then that it is a ride downhill from every week, ending with a really stupid cliffhanger. If you think that acting is off, that script is strange and that some things and events do not make sense wait for last three episodes of
    Watched it for whole 13 episodes and I must say I am very disappointed. There are two plus sides to this show:

    1. The dome concept
    2. CGI effects

    Other then that it is a ride downhill from every week, ending with a really stupid cliffhanger. If you think that acting is off, that script is strange and that some things and events do not make sense wait for last three episodes of season one.

    The show is ridden with B soap opera cliches and plot points. Did you see a movie or a show where somebody does something for a long time only to have the crucial thing randomly happens when major character just goes by to say hi? This seems to be a major tool for people writing this. Do you hate movies where people do not use obvious tools like using phone to call for help only so that such an act does not interfere with some weird plot twist? This TV Show will make you pull your hair out. Do you hate when characters have totally pathetic and meaningless exchanges like this one?
    .
    A: "You have to follow his car"
    B: "Why"
    A: "Because it can be important for the future of the city"
    B: "OK"
    .
    Then prepare yourself for quite a ride. Honestly I am so surprised that I managed to watch this until the last episode. That is the testament of a good idea and the setting that really hooked me up. This is also the reason why it has such a high score by critics who probably rated it after just seeing first episode. But in case you are a little bit more demanding after watching some pretty good shows please do yourself a favor and pass this one. You will save yourself from a disapointment.
    Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Under the Dome seemed to have a fresh new idea but it has many flaws that made it just OK. Basically it means that the same drama have been seen thousands of times before but with a little twist.

    First of all it is strange how one small town contains so many maniacs and lunatics. Not a single person seems to have any sense in their behavior. It's like people in this town have no conscious at all. They are just greedy bastards. And as it is with many TV-series with same genre, no one is able to solve conflicts by negotiating or talking. Problems are always solved by beating the crap out of someone or simply killing. And oh boy, this series does prefer killing as a viable solution to everything.

    Of course there were the "good guys" but they also resolved everything with violence. And you would think that democracy existed but the opinion of common people is never asked for anything. They didn't even vote for any big decisions. No matter how bizarre the leaders were, people were always OK with everything. And this can be seen very clearly at the very end of the season finale.

    How about the science fiction side then? Well, the idea was nice and there are many unopened questions for the next season too. However, I'm disappointed that the mystery of the dome was left as a kind of side note in the series. The insane drama gets the most attention. The mystery is of course pondered and such but I was hoping to see more interaction with the dome and deeper investigation of the mystery itself. Now puzzles are mostly solved by "I just know"- or "let's try"-type of thing.

    So, in overall, this is just an OK TV-series.
    Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    4
    The premise of the show, being locked under an invulnerable dome, is pretty cool. Unfortunately the show is just kinda dumb after that... the scripted dialogue ranges from generic to awful; the characters are pantomimes, you know exactly whether they're good or bad right up front, and the show lacks any sort of organic development or growth, you just don't get into it like you would on aThe premise of the show, being locked under an invulnerable dome, is pretty cool. Unfortunately the show is just kinda dumb after that... the scripted dialogue ranges from generic to awful; the characters are pantomimes, you know exactly whether they're good or bad right up front, and the show lacks any sort of organic development or growth, you just don't get into it like you would on a better created and wriiten show.everything is so predictable that by the time big jim kills his nth person it's just sort of "meh whatever" time. The actors are fine, im sure they must be desperatre for better dialogue and it sort of shows at times, the cast seems to mail it in in the more recent episodes. havent completely given up on the showas I can think of innumerable examples of shows that get much better once the creators and actors settle in, but a serious overhaul is in order. Frankly the deepest character is the dome itself. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    Not impressed by far. The characters seems rather one sided and clichéd. We already know who will be bad (Junior, 'Big Jim' Rennie etc...) and who will play the good ones Linda, Joe McAlister etc.) in my opinion. I think there will be many romance added to the show. People behaved irrationally so far (throw a party next to a giant energy field?!?!?). The story might progress, but I thinkNot impressed by far. The characters seems rather one sided and clichéd. We already know who will be bad (Junior, 'Big Jim' Rennie etc...) and who will play the good ones Linda, Joe McAlister etc.) in my opinion. I think there will be many romance added to the show. People behaved irrationally so far (throw a party next to a giant energy field?!?!?). The story might progress, but I think I have already seen the bad vs. good people, and who joins which side story already. Seem to me it will be a soap-opera wrapped in a science-fiction "dome". Not happy with this, but it might become good later. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    4
    Teen drama overshadows a decent plot.
    The show catches your eye with the brilliant special effects and gripping narrative but fires blanks in the following episodes. The characters seem very one dimensional and fall short on likeability. The focus is set on unsatisfying micro storylines instead of the juicy macro one.
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    4
    I'm a Stephen King fan and a sci-fi fan so I gave the show a good chance. I never read the book. I'm on episode 11 of season 1. Sadly I think I've gotten to the point where my curiosity about the dome no longer outweighs how badly I feel about the boring story, the dull characters, the poor acting, and the unimaginative writing. Under the Dome is bad television and I expect that if II'm a Stephen King fan and a sci-fi fan so I gave the show a good chance. I never read the book. I'm on episode 11 of season 1. Sadly I think I've gotten to the point where my curiosity about the dome no longer outweighs how badly I feel about the boring story, the dull characters, the poor acting, and the unimaginative writing. Under the Dome is bad television and I expect that if I force myself to finish watching it for the sake of finding out what the dome actually is, I'll probably be disappointed anyway. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    5
    The premise of the show is interesting but it is spoilt by some very poor characters played by B grade actors. Also the CGI is woeful. The various storylines are very cliched.
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    I haven't read the book yet but I'm already disappointed on how the show delivered suspense and thriller (I heard the book has a darker tone). Although the plot is unique, the characters failed to justify it. I'm not saying they're badly acted. I just hated how the character's behaved. On a brighter scale, Under The Dome has good visual effects and a lively atmosphere. I hate to say thisI haven't read the book yet but I'm already disappointed on how the show delivered suspense and thriller (I heard the book has a darker tone). Although the plot is unique, the characters failed to justify it. I'm not saying they're badly acted. I just hated how the character's behaved. On a brighter scale, Under The Dome has good visual effects and a lively atmosphere. I hate to say this but I'll still watch the 2nd season because I'm just dying to know what will happen next. Expand
  9. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    I got addicted to Under the Dome because I had read the book, but mainly because I thought that the whole series would be complete this summer. I was very disappointed at the finale tonight. Apparently it will drag out through next summer too. The show is not good enough for me to waste my time watching the rest of it next summer. I predict that it won't even make it back on. It wouldI got addicted to Under the Dome because I had read the book, but mainly because I thought that the whole series would be complete this summer. I was very disappointed at the finale tonight. Apparently it will drag out through next summer too. The show is not good enough for me to waste my time watching the rest of it next summer. I predict that it won't even make it back on. It would have been a fun complete summer mini series. I'm done with it. Expand
  10. Oct 10, 2013
    6
    Under the Dome is NOT a very good show, but it's not the worst. It's a million miles from being as god as The Event or Flashforward were, and yet somehow, it managed to get renewed when they didn't. Don't get that.
    Anyway, for a show about a mysterious and unexplainable dome that appears one day over a small town, its pretty un-epic. The plots are more about the lawlessness and panic that
    Under the Dome is NOT a very good show, but it's not the worst. It's a million miles from being as god as The Event or Flashforward were, and yet somehow, it managed to get renewed when they didn't. Don't get that.
    Anyway, for a show about a mysterious and unexplainable dome that appears one day over a small town, its pretty un-epic. The plots are more about the lawlessness and panic that occur from being cut off from the rest of the world more than the potential alien dome and its mysterious happenings. You get some of that, but it feels secondary. The characters aren't that interesting and often the show feels pretty boring and very rural. It's basically a podunk town that just happens to be under a dome. And yet... I watch it. Why? It's really not that bad... It's just... not worth netflixing. Watch it if its on, but don't go seeking it out.
    Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2013
    6
    I'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that the story would become a TV show. I was hoping to find a replacement for an other TV show I really enjoyed (Stargate Universe) but that got canceled a few months ago, I was kind of hoping Under the Dome would take its place in my heart. The first fewI'm a big fan of Stephen King's work, I've been since I was a teenager and I really enjoyed his book so I was quite happy to see that the story would become a TV show. I was hoping to find a replacement for an other TV show I really enjoyed (Stargate Universe) but that got canceled a few months ago, I was kind of hoping Under the Dome would take its place in my heart. The first few episodes were good and most of the characters were there (with a few differences if I compare with the book) but the last few ones were a bit disappointing in my opinion. It's a bit slow and it looks like they are taking parts of the original story to create each episode. I know some stuff in the book might be to graphic or too violent to be put on TV but it's very different from the original story. The book was sooooo good, I'd love to see more fidelity. I'll keep on watching just to see what will happen next but I'll keep comparing with the book. If you were planning on reading the book, wait until the season is over, you'll enjoy it a little bit more I think! Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2013
    4
    Bad acting, bad dialogue, bad CGI. Maybe i'm too spoiled with shows like Mad Men/Game Of Thrones/Breaking Bad, still doesn't excuse the pure dreadfulness and it's cheap cliches
  13. Jun 29, 2013
    4
    Unlike others, I don't think this is the show to watch this summer. It's got great potential (mostly because of its eccentric base), but I don't see this lasting. The show conveyed the same idea for an hour, we're trapped in a dome. It certainly has mystery, but not enough to keep me watching.
  14. Jul 7, 2013
    4
    Lame. Any scifi fan worth their salt can should be able to figure out where the dome came from in the first 20 minutes (or les). Except for the overall situation (being trapped under the dome), all the major scenes have been lifted directly from some other series. Examples: Charming accidental murderer being taken in by the victim's red-headed reporter wife. Too-good looking psychoLame. Any scifi fan worth their salt can should be able to figure out where the dome came from in the first 20 minutes (or les). Except for the overall situation (being trapped under the dome), all the major scenes have been lifted directly from some other series. Examples: Charming accidental murderer being taken in by the victim's red-headed reporter wife. Too-good looking psycho boyfriend stalks waitress ex-girlfriend. Jeff Fahey in a beard. You get the idea. Expand
  15. Oct 6, 2013
    5
    Under the Dome was a passable schlock fest of lowbrow plotting and silly dialogue up until the final episode. I can't express strongly enough how ripped off I feel that the story didn't end or the story arc wasn't at least wrapped up in some way. Sleazy and greedy on the part of the producers. Sadly, I can never get those 13 hours back and I will not return
  16. Apr 26, 2014
    4
    We had this "mini-series" on our DVR for months and just finished it last night (about 9 months after it broadcast). That should tell you how much it held our interest after the first couple episodes. Generally it's another one of those shows that **** out a mystery to keep the audience coming back. That rarely works for me. And to turn King's book into a multi-season series after theyWe had this "mini-series" on our DVR for months and just finished it last night (about 9 months after it broadcast). That should tell you how much it held our interest after the first couple episodes. Generally it's another one of those shows that **** out a mystery to keep the audience coming back. That rarely works for me. And to turn King's book into a multi-season series after they saw the initial ratings was a mistake. Under the Dome is boring, plodding and rife with unlikable characters. I'll not be back for "season" 2. Expand
  17. Jul 14, 2013
    6
    I had a feeling it will be like this. B grade actors so that makes them shallow and emotionless bad writing makes the characters stupid but they can work on it, dreadful CGI...blah after 3 episodes i don't think il be seeing it anymore.
  18. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    While not the best show on TV this is worth watching. Stephen King wrote the book several years ago that this is based on. The special effects are good and the main actors do a good job.
  19. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I find myself rooting for this show to be better than it has been so far. There are so many unanswered questions, which keeps interest high. Let's hope they eventually get answered.
  20. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    A very promising show with some good actor like Dean Norris (playing Hank Schrader in Breaking bad) but some very cliché character. A good Tv series for the Sundays afternoon.
  21. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    I was expecting better after the good pilot, but the following two episodes were very mediocre. I only like the Big Jim character, really, but maybe that's just because I'm a Breaking Bad fan. I am not going to waste my time watching this when I can watch other shows, maybe The Bridge or previously-established shows like Dexter. I'll just read reviews and maybe if it improves Under theI was expecting better after the good pilot, but the following two episodes were very mediocre. I only like the Big Jim character, really, but maybe that's just because I'm a Breaking Bad fan. I am not going to waste my time watching this when I can watch other shows, maybe The Bridge or previously-established shows like Dexter. I'll just read reviews and maybe if it improves Under the Dome will be resurrected. As it stands, this show is Six Feet Under (The Dome). Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2013
    6
    I'm not in the mood to write a very long review, so I'll just be quick with this one and say the maximum I can in few paragraphs. To start with, this show does some really heavy adaptations based on the book, it cuts the huge staff of over 100 characters the book had, into at least a dozen or two of them, and it completely changes every single character, every single one. Some had theirI'm not in the mood to write a very long review, so I'll just be quick with this one and say the maximum I can in few paragraphs. To start with, this show does some really heavy adaptations based on the book, it cuts the huge staff of over 100 characters the book had, into at least a dozen or two of them, and it completely changes every single character, every single one. Some had their names and roles changed, some had a few backstory changes which is the case for Barbie, and some had their characters COMPLETELY changed, I mean it, completely, they have nothing to do with the ones in the book, some of them feel like nice changes, but some... well... some are hard to get into. The backstory behind the Dome changed also and it's most likely that we're gonna have some surprises even for the ones that have already read the book, and these changes were approved by the master himself, Stephen King, so I'm ok with it, but I'm not basing my score on that, I'm basing it on the impressions I had till now, Episode 5 of Under the Dome.
    To start with, the characters in the city seems to understand what the "Dome" is, way quicker than the ones in the book, it actually feels kinda weird, and some of the problems the community of Chester's Mill suffers in the first episodes are kind odd too, like the meningitis plague that happens on the city, and the fail dramatic scenes that come with it, they're just fail attempts to get you worried with the people in the town and more interested in what should come next in the series. About the acting, I was not really impressed, they try to bring this "romance" factor into the series that didn't really existed in the book, and it also feels a bit odd. Overall, if you read the book before watching the series, you may not get that excited, but for a newcomer, it might be a good interesting series to watch while bored.
    Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    This is a fine mini series if you had not read the book. This is poor translation of what I consider one of Stephan Kings best works.

    As I watch each episode I wonder why they changed it.
  24. Sep 13, 2013
    5
    While the whole concept is of course totally preposterous the most preposterous bit of all was when the citizens voluntarily turned in their guns "so they could feel safe". LOL Only in Hollywood could such an idea float, the people of Maine all know that to be safe you absolutely NEED a gun, or several.
  25. Sep 17, 2013
    6
    The 'Script' and 'Feel' of this potentially interesting show smack of 'cheap soap opera' acting not because the acting is particularly bad, but because the show is poorly written and gives the actors nothing to hold onto, it is also poorly directed and produced.
    It would have been better to end the pain with a two-part finale instead of the tortuous ending we were presented with.
    New
    The 'Script' and 'Feel' of this potentially interesting show smack of 'cheap soap opera' acting not because the acting is particularly bad, but because the show is poorly written and gives the actors nothing to hold onto, it is also poorly directed and produced.
    It would have been better to end the pain with a two-part finale instead of the tortuous ending we were presented with.
    New Season? New writers and Directors PLEASE!!
    Expand
  26. Oct 1, 2013
    5
    Although I love Steven King as a writer, I was very disappointed in this series. I wish I had not read the book because the series didn't follow it. Too many liberties were taken and it was just spoiled.
  27. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    This show had real potential, but the dramatic element was overshadowed by unlikable characters. Sure, there is a bit of suspense and action every now and again, but at least three quarters of the characters are unbearable to watch. I did enjoy the visual effects and the plot, yet everything was poorly delivered. Maybe it will get better as the show goes on.
  28. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Honestly, I am at the point in the show where I question why I keep watching. The plot has been rather slow and uneventful, No where near as dramatic as I hoped it would be. Solid acting and it holds promise but I will be incredibly annoyed if the show doesn't pick up until the final episodes of the season.
  29. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Pilot does prove that the show has some potential, but I did feel that the acting was pretty poor. I think it's worth checking out a few episodes, especially because there isn't much competition during the summer.
  30. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    While the plot of the show is intriguing, the characters of this show are sub-par and lack real talent. It will be interesting to see how the characters grow and mature. For the summer, this should be a mid-level show..
  31. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    It started out with a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to it. The first two or three episodes were very good, but it gradually went down hill. The acting, for the most part, was average, with a few very good performances and some bad ones in the mix. Same can be said for the writing. And now, instead of being a mini-series like it was supposed to, they've decided toIt started out with a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to it. The first two or three episodes were very good, but it gradually went down hill. The acting, for the most part, was average, with a few very good performances and some bad ones in the mix. Same can be said for the writing. And now, instead of being a mini-series like it was supposed to, they've decided to milk it for a second season (and maybe more, who knows at this point?), leading to an awful season finale. I'm all for cliff hangers, but only if they're well done. This finale was just anti-climatic, and frankly, I'm not sure if I'll tune in next year. Expand
  32. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    As a fan of the first season, I am very disappointed with season 2... 3 episodes in, likable familiar faces have been killed off, while some other old characters have become inconsistent and incoherent. eg. Ep 1, I believe only Jesus can forgive and forget Big Jim's treachery and hostility so quickly. Norie has become unnaturally hostile and jealous when she should be more curious andAs a fan of the first season, I am very disappointed with season 2... 3 episodes in, likable familiar faces have been killed off, while some other old characters have become inconsistent and incoherent. eg. Ep 1, I believe only Jesus can forgive and forget Big Jim's treachery and hostility so quickly. Norie has become unnaturally hostile and jealous when she should be more curious and helpful to the newly introduced teen character, especially after seeing her actions and personality in season 1. O yeah, and the handful of newly introduced characters as replacements... Expand
  33. Jun 17, 2014
    4
    I thought with such a great heritage, Stephens, King & Spielberg, this might be worth a look. I should have continued painting the house, I wouldn't have wasted my time and the little woman would be happier.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  2. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    Based on just one episode, it’s hard to tell how the series will unfold, but the mood, threatening, uneasy, a little kinky, is there, and that just might be enough.