• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Under the Dome Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A small town in Maine is cut off from the rest of the world in the miniseries based on Stephen King's book of the same name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 24, 2013
    88
    We could all use a good summer TV diversion around now, and if tonight's entertaining, intriguing premiere turns out to be a fair guide, Dome could be just what we've needed.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Smart, funny and utterly intriguing, it sucks us in better than any procedural with an four-letter acronym.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    Not only is it creepy, suspenseful and full of splendid special effects, veteran actors and fresh young faces, but it's laced with big thoughts about environmentalism and the future of the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 20, 2013
    75
    The pilot establishes an eerie claustrophobic dread, and well-budgeted special effects add intensity. [1 Jul 2013, p.35]
  5. 70
    You don't immediately sense how all of the characters are connected or how they might eventually become connected--most of the pilot is scene-setting and mood-building--but what's onscreen is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 24, 2013
    70
    It remains to be seen whether either will merit watching for a full season but the pilot does exactly what it should: It intrigues and makes the case for viewers to come back next week for more.
  7. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 11, 2013
    38
    Series creator Brian K. Vaughan's adaptation is yet another tepid melodrama, in the tradition of the recent Bates Motel, in which every creative decision appears to have been made in a trendy bid to appeal to the viewer's crotch.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 113
  2. Negative: 56 out of 113
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    Under the Dome was the series that I waited the most and hoping to be good, after being disappointed with Bates Motel, Under the Dome pleased me, it was well written, well directed, well acted and the dialogue is good, everything is good so far, I think it is going to be a blast. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I have not read the book. My sister has and she won't give me any hints about future events. I have watched every episode and I am super hooked. I am looking forward to next season and hope it's as good for better as this season. Since the book has a "last chapter"......it will end. How many season will it take to get there is my questions. "Big Jim" is sure a cold fish. Barby is hot I give this a 9 out of 10 Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I find myself rooting for this show to be better than it has been so far. There are so many unanswered questions, which keeps interest high. Let's hope they eventually get answered. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    It started out with a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to it. The first two or three episodes were very good, but it gradually went down hill. The acting, for the most part, was average, with a few very good performances and some bad ones in the mix. Same can be said for the writing. And now, instead of being a mini-series like it was supposed to, they've decided to milk it for a second season (and maybe more, who knows at this point?), leading to an awful season finale. I'm all for cliff hangers, but only if they're well done. This finale was just anti-climatic, and frankly, I'm not sure if I'll tune in next year. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You Stephen King fans out there: "Under The Dome" Spoiler Alert! Don't expect the excellent translation to the small screen like they did with "The Stand" or even "Salem's Lot". Hollywood took this masterwork of Mr. King's (his best next to "The Stand" and shoved it through the shredder. Then they patched up all of the holes with new characters and added a completely altered story-line. They basically just kept the title. Why tamper with perfection? SKIP THE TV!!! READ THE BOOK! Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    2
    I admit, there's a certain satisfaction in watching this series disintegrate over the last few months. The initial premise was more than interesting enough to make up for the deficiencies, but over time as essentially nothing happens to advance the plot--and it's taken 11 episodes to get 8 days into the story--you can no longer ignore the problems. I'm not on set, of course, but you have to lay blame at the feet of the director.

    The worst problem is probably the wooden acting. Even the kids, for whom this could be a breakout performance, are so clearly phoning it in that it's laughable. But without any acting to distract you, the innumerable issues with the plot and continuity are just that much easier to notice. It's just full of fundamental logistical and environmental inconsistencies which you could ignore, except they supposedly play a role in the plot. Where is the water coming from? Why is the power still on? Remember the giant bomb? Were there no consequences? Aren't there like 5,000 people in this town? Where are they all? Do their toilets still flush?

    It's a complete train wreck, almost unbearable to watch as it progresses.
    Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2014
    0
    awful awful show. cliche characters, predictable plot, poor acting. Its a shame that truly creative shows like hello ladies on HBO end after one season and tripe like this nonsense lurches on.... Expand

See all 113 User Reviews