• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 9, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Waterloo Road Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Denise Welch, Angela Griffin, Jason Merrells
  • Summary: Waterloo Road Comprehensive isn't doing very well. Many of the teachers feel that their job is pointless, and the pupils couldn't care less about their education. When the Headteacher of the school has a nervous breakdown, Jack Rimmer is promoted to the position, much to his dismay. He knows that if the school doesn't clean up its act soon, it could mean the end. So he decides to hire optimistic teacher Andrew Treneman, who gives up his private school teaching job, in order to improve the situation of Waterloo Road. Andrew is certain that with strict discipline and a house system, things will get better. Together with lively Guidance Head, Kim Campbell, the three teachers begin the process of turning around the failing school, painful step by painful step. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I have watched Waterloo Road since March 2012, and now, unfortunately end of series, i am desperate to see what happens next, starring George sampson (britains got talent) and loads more, this programme is an drama every week, LOVE IT! Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    ITS BRILLIANT! YOU HAVE TO WATCH IT! Waterlook Road is a well acted drama series that really makes you love and hate the various characters that come and go. I swear you'll become addicted to it, its plots and what happens to the characters. Waterloo Road is set on a comprehensive school, called Waterloo Road where teachers sturggle to keep a stable school. The first main character, Andrew Treneman, is employed as deputy head and though his first days and weeks are not so succesful, he manages to turn the school around but there are still many more problems. The series focuses on the difficulties for teens and single parent families and really is full of laughs and cries. I watched the whole first series in under a week and i am starting on the 4th one this week. The series really is brilliant! Collapse
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    All in all, this program is incredibly addictive. Every week, you can't wait to watch the newest instalment. As a student myself, I can relate to some of the scenarios. Many however, are incredibly far-fetched, and unrealistic. However, I suppose this is required to keep the show interesting. In my opinion, the show's content has dwindles as the series have went on, however not so much that you lose interest. A great series and I recommend you try and get hooked to it the next time a series is advertised... you won't regret it. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    An excellent drama. The storylines are always very different, unique and nearly all are interesting. Although it may be unrealistic parts it's still really good and I always look forward to it. If you're a teenager then you'll love this. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    A consistently interesting program. Well written, well acted, well presented. An all-round hit, this show covers many controversial issues with teenagers and teachers alike. Well worth a watch to get you hooked. It's definitely worth its hour long episode length. Give it a try; you never know, its open-to-discussion plots might capture you into becoming a regular viewer.
    9/10. Why? As for the amount of likeable characters, there is also a considerable amount of annoying and irritating characters. The programs about a school though, so, expect this.
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    waterloo road, is one hell of a show and not a bad one at that, it has good writing and fun bits of comedy and drama and tragedy that will make you cry. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    7
    Waterloo Road is a drama set in a secondary school which in the first few seasons, it was failing because of poor behaviour and poor exam results. There is a lot of drama going on in the school which includes bullying, violence, accidents, death etc. The show has it's good episodes and it has it's more boring episodes but on the whole, it is an nice TV show. I have been watching Waterloo Road since 2011, because a friend at school introduced me to the series. I have watched a bit of the older seasons of the show on other TV channels. This show may not be the best show on the BBC, but it is a good enough show to be watched. Expand