You're the Worst : Season 1

  • Network: FX , FXX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 17, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 143

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    This show definitely meets my sense of humour, and that doesn't happen very often. In my eyes it is the best discovery since "New Girl" and if this show can not make it, both leads (with their characters) should join the cast of "New Girl". Chris Geere's character as a love interest for Zooey Deschanels Jess - that would be fun. Anyway, I hope "You're the Worst" gets more seasons.
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Aya Cash is the real discovery here. I've seen her in many other shows but for some reason she's made this one all her own and does an incredible job with it.
  3. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I watch watch alot of comedies and if you enjoy raunchy tv this is by far one of the best shows on tv atm. I enjoy it as it is very refreshing from what is currently out there and its pretty funny. Im sure it will lean more towards a younger crowd or people with their minds in the gutter. I would def recommend giving this a watch as I think its funnier then two and a half men ever was andI watch watch alot of comedies and if you enjoy raunchy tv this is by far one of the best shows on tv atm. I enjoy it as it is very refreshing from what is currently out there and its pretty funny. Im sure it will lean more towards a younger crowd or people with their minds in the gutter. I would def recommend giving this a watch as I think its funnier then two and a half men ever was and its pretty on par with big bang theory as enjoyable tv in my opinion. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    great tv show.smart plot.but somethings missing.but i gues that FX can cancel it after onlo one season because ratings are very-very- bad even for FX.
  5. cll
    Sep 22, 2014
    10
    I have saved every episode of this show and have watched each at least three times. The quality of the main characters and supporting cast all the way down is just terrific. Well written and unique. I hope that You're The Worst is around for a long time.
  6. Oct 30, 2015
    8
    Clever writing which is uncommon in TV sitcoms is abundant in this series. That and the quirky characters and off-beat situations make it fun to watch.
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    It's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it" who would probably be better off watching Little House on the Prairie or the gods forbid Big Bang Theory. *gag*
    The best romantic show on TV right now. The show captures the lifestyle and feelings of the age group. My husband and I really love this show and relate to it and the characters very well. We really
    It's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it" who would probably be better off watching Little House on the Prairie or the gods forbid Big Bang Theory. *gag*
    The best romantic show on TV right now. The show captures the lifestyle and feelings of the age group. My husband and I really love this show and relate to it and the characters very well. We really relate to the emotions and story lines and have found it to be extensively hilarious. It's only vulgar to prudes and is only stupid to people who "just don't get it."
    Expand
  8. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    This a very funny show. They've experimented with melodrama unsuccessfully but otherwise it's well written, and includes very strong performances. Jimmy pretty much carries the show, but his strength as a lead only bring out his co-stars' talent.
  9. May 3, 2017
    8
    You're The Worst deliberately puts an unbelievably uncomfortable near pornographic sex scene in its first episode to scare off the prudes and sit com ites. This isn't a show for the fainthearted...We get to observe horrible people being horrible to each other in strangely funny ways. It's odd but it works...
  10. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is insanely brilliant. It truly mirrors quirks and nuances of real life that most TV shows don't really touch upon because it's too dark to deal with. While the reactions can come across hard to stomach (such as actually forgetting/leaving a child behind in a store that wasn't even your child to begin with or cat-napping), it shows a side that many people think of doing but won't. The issues seem zany, but life tends to hit you that way and it most certainly makes for good comedy to see it happening to others as well. Expand
  11. Jul 19, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed both Married and YTW pilots, but YTW is the one that feels like the ultimate winner. The female lead is like a raunchier version of Zoeey's New Girl and the male lead makes me think of Hugh Grant at his comedic best. This show strangely felt more About A Boy (better, funnier) than the terrible NBC version of the same name. This feels like a show Michael Cera could have beenI enjoyed both Married and YTW pilots, but YTW is the one that feels like the ultimate winner. The female lead is like a raunchier version of Zoeey's New Girl and the male lead makes me think of Hugh Grant at his comedic best. This show strangely felt more About A Boy (better, funnier) than the terrible NBC version of the same name. This feels like a show Michael Cera could have been cast in as well. The premise is great and I love it when raunchy, edgy comedy has a heart. This one does. Both leads do a great job of presenting themselves as one version (unlike able, mean) yet non-verbally they convey two people who really want to be on some level ...loved, kind, and like able. Expand
  12. Aug 4, 2014
    7
    You're the worst tries really hard to be edgy and can be a bit hit and miss, especially through the first episode. By episode three however, the show looks stronger and stronger, the characters grow on you and while it can still be "too much" at times, it seems the show has potential to become a good comedy.
  13. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    Hey, this wasn't the worst. I wasn't expecting much, but there were a few good laughs in there. I could've done without the British accent, but the actor had enough charisma and chemistry with the lead actress to keep me tuned in next week, so I'll definitely check out episode 2 to see if it's still as funny.
  14. Sep 21, 2016
    10
    I have to say, I'm honestly surprised as to the low ratings for this show. I've only heard nothing but praise and my friends have been hooked after watching an episode or two. It's a comedy/drama that follows two pretty messed up individuals navigating the pitfalls and struggles of daily life.

    The show leans on the comedy side, and I rarely feel enlightened from watching it, but there
    I have to say, I'm honestly surprised as to the low ratings for this show. I've only heard nothing but praise and my friends have been hooked after watching an episode or two. It's a comedy/drama that follows two pretty messed up individuals navigating the pitfalls and struggles of daily life.

    The show leans on the comedy side, and I rarely feel enlightened from watching it, but there are some honestly tender moments and the scenes with Sam tend to be hillarious. Rarely do I binge watch a show, but You're the Worst is one of them. I'd recommend it for people who like Shameless (US), Love, and Master of None.
    Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2016
    8
    With a rushed Pilot, You're the Worst's Season 1 started out feeling like any other average comedy show with a lot of sex scenes and dark humor, but as it developed itself, the season finished feeling way better than it started. Captivating characters with such original personalities combined with good acting, great sense of humor and a good story development as the season goes throughWith a rushed Pilot, You're the Worst's Season 1 started out feeling like any other average comedy show with a lot of sex scenes and dark humor, but as it developed itself, the season finished feeling way better than it started. Captivating characters with such original personalities combined with good acting, great sense of humor and a good story development as the season goes through made it feel like and 8/10 for me. Expand
  16. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    It's like a funnier, and dare I say, dirtier British Romantic Comedy turned into a TV show. And who knew that'd be such a great idea? It's got really funny moments. It does not compromise the story or the writing though as it gets better and better as the show progresses. It also helps that there's a nice believable chemistry between the leads.
  17. Dec 10, 2016
    8
    I wanted a "romantic" comedy in which the protagonists do not get together. I was really hoping You're the Worst would have been it, but nope, at the end of the 1st season they end up becoming girlfriend and boyfriend. Booo!!! Such a fantastically well written and well acted show otherwise, I just really really didn't want them together. I wanted them to stick by their convictions and notI wanted a "romantic" comedy in which the protagonists do not get together. I was really hoping You're the Worst would have been it, but nope, at the end of the 1st season they end up becoming girlfriend and boyfriend. Booo!!! Such a fantastically well written and well acted show otherwise, I just really really didn't want them together. I wanted them to stick by their convictions and not fall down the relationship trap. I hate relationships, I thought You're the Worst would have agreed, but I guess not. lol Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This dark and occasionally raunchy comedy is definitely worth a watch. The two leads are good comedy actors, but it is Aya Cash who stands out the most. The supporting cast shows their comedic chops more and more as the season progresses.

    The characters have clear development and you find yourself liking them, despite the fact they aren't very good people. The first season is bookended
    This dark and occasionally raunchy comedy is definitely worth a watch. The two leads are good comedy actors, but it is Aya Cash who stands out the most. The supporting cast shows their comedic chops more and more as the season progresses.

    The characters have clear development and you find yourself liking them, despite the fact they aren't very good people. The first season is bookended very well, as themes mentioned in the first episode have parallels in episode 10. Making it a very thought-out season.

    Overall, You're the Worst is a great show, with a perfect first season.
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 10, 2014
    90
    Gretchen and Jimmy's story, which acquires surprising emotional weight as the season progresses, is highly addictive on its own merits.
  2. Reviewed by: Jason Lynch
    Aug 22, 2014
    80
    The show grows ever more confident each week. As Jimmy and Gretchen grapple with their relationship, their conflicts seem authentic and not contrived.
  3. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 17, 2014
    30
    It should be noted that Geere and Cash are very, very good--they just need better material. (Unfortunately, the rest of the cast, even though they don't get much work, grind the show to a halt--an almost insurmountable problem except that Worst's penchant for trying to shock with crassness is really the stumbling block here).