• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 14, 2013
Zero Hour Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Hank (Anthony Edwards), runs the magazine Modern Skeptic with his friends, Rachel (Addison Timlir) and Arron (Scott Michael Foster). They finds themselves involved in a dangerous, centuries-long, worldwide conspiracy after Hank's wife (Jacinda Barrett) is kidnapped.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 8, 2013
    80
    It's a measure of the skill brought to this script by Paul Scheuring that a first episode so awash in multiplying complications manages to maintain its coherence and even a significant measure of suspense.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 13, 2013
    67
    Ambitious and intermittently entertaining, Zero Hour--and its celebrated lead--don't quite hit all their marks. But at least the mystery's a hoot.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 13, 2013
    60
    It takes a while for Hank and his assistants Rachel (Addison Timlin) and Arron (Scott Michael Foster) to grasp all this, even with the unwanted help of FBI agent Beck Riley (Carmen Ejogo). Once they have, and we have, the setup is solid.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 13, 2013
    40
    Zero Hour is entirely dispensable, its silliness matched by its comic-book solemnity.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 13, 2013
    30
    Zero Hour, while initially tantalizing (priests, Nazis, Anthony Edwards, an unholy birth, a secret map--I'm in! I'm in!), is more than a little disappointing (flat-footed dialogue, absurd plot machinations, cardboard main characters, ludicrous historical leaps--I'm out! I'm out!).
  6. 20
    Without Anthony Edwards's unpretentious intelligence anchoring Zero Hour, I doubt I could have gotten through ten minutes of the pilot without gnashing my teeth in annoyance.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Feb 4, 2013
    0
    The first 12 minutes are enough to bury it, though given the shoddy acting, overwrought dialogue, and poor production values, it's easy to imagine that 12 full episodes would in fact bring about the end of time itself.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 29
  2. Negative: 12 out of 29
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    It is sad that a show with with an interesting story line gets tossed aside because, people can't rap their heads around it. Honestly this wasIt is sad that a show with with an interesting story line gets tossed aside because, people can't rap their heads around it. Honestly this was a great show that mixed religion with history and technology. It had a similar feel to the short series revelations. It involved an ancient society protecting religious secrets and the re-emergence of the devil trying to gain the secrets. Sadly between people either couldn't understand the show or expected it to be something it was not. Also it didn't help that ABC debuted the show on a Sunday put the next episode and a Thursday then canceled it because not enough people watched a Sunday show on a Thursday. I believe this show was set up to fail and that is so disappointing. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I do not understand all the negative reviews on this series. When my wife and I watched the first 3 episodes, we were glued to the screen fromI do not understand all the negative reviews on this series. When my wife and I watched the first 3 episodes, we were glued to the screen from all the mystery and intrigue. I didn't mind the cast since naturally the characters will grow over time as with any show. It's been a long time since I felt this much craving to watch the next episode in a series. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    The Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this willThe Zero Hour is a cerebral thriller which requires background knowledge and an enjoyment of history. If you are under 50 then this will probably not be a story line that you can relate. The premier is a good warm up and I hope like a lot of shows that once the cast works together for awhile and the writers get comfortable with the story line that both will improve. I liked the cliff hanger ending of the first one and hope that each week it leave me wanting more. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    6
    Questa la migliore serie che abbia mai visto, non posso credere che venga interrotta. Mi piace l'ambientazione, gli attori, la storia poiQuesta la migliore serie che abbia mai visto, non posso credere che venga interrotta. Mi piace l'ambientazione, gli attori, la storia poi veramente affascinante. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    I was looking forward to a good conspiracy program and this is NOT it. The acting is terrible and the story line isn't great either. Even ifI was looking forward to a good conspiracy program and this is NOT it. The acting is terrible and the story line isn't great either. Even if you love the sort of "Da Vinci Code" stuff you would not enjoy this rubbish. I have to be honest and say this show have nothing redeeming apart from that it's not longer Expand
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    2
    bad writing and bad acting. i normally a sucker for mysteries kind of tv show, but the writing is so bad that you can laugh on it. forbad writing and bad acting. i normally a sucker for mysteries kind of tv show, but the writing is so bad that you can laugh on it. for example, ep3, the main char follows a lead from what he pick up from the ground. then the female detective call him on phone asked him where he is. he said 28th street. then the detective ran out of the police station looking nervous and shouting right away HANK" HANK".... omg, he just talk to you on the phone, u just cant wait until you get to 28th street and go nuts.. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    Cheesy, over-dramatic, mediocre acting, and the typical type of series where the audience will be permanently kept on the hook without anyCheesy, over-dramatic, mediocre acting, and the typical type of series where the audience will be permanently kept on the hook without any actual plot progress or significant revelations. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews