Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 21, 2012
    50
    Wreck-It Ralph does some things right. The voice work is a lot of fun and the sound effects and 3D are impressive, especially for fans of the film. At the end of the day though, it just doesn't offer enough. It's a pretty basic side-scroller with little in terms of depth or length.
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    40
    Just like Fix-It Felix, Wreck-It Ralph on 3DS is short, plain, and not a lot of fun to be around.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    40
    Wreck-It Ralph could have been so much more. Disney clearly spent a lot of time injecting the film’s world with strong gaming influences and tons of variety, and it’s baffling that the developers didn't build upon this. Instead, it feels like nothing more a half-hearted attempt to cash-in. It looks and feels like a retro game in some ways, but it’s simply far too shallow and devoid of fun to draw you in. As a result, you should probably save your quarters for a more worthwhile effort on 3DS.
  4. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    Apr 27, 2013
    30
    Simply garbage. [May 2013, p.87]
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    30
    As a $1-title in your favorite app store, it might have passed - but Wreck-It Ralph is actually so boring that even that might be too much to ask from us customers.
  6. 30
    Bad movie tie-ins are hardly a new phenomenon but never before has so much potential been wasted on so uninteresting a video game.
User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2017
    2
    So disappointing. An awful cash-grab of some of Disney's best work created into this below-average steaming pile of garbage... Do not get thisSo disappointing. An awful cash-grab of some of Disney's best work created into this below-average steaming pile of garbage... Do not get this game, there are many better platformers for the 3ds. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2015
    0
    Imagine the deepest depths of a firey raging hell. Now, imagine having to play the exact same boring, unimaginative puzzles over and overImagine the deepest depths of a firey raging hell. Now, imagine having to play the exact same boring, unimaginative puzzles over and over again. Were they high when the made this? No creatures have idleing animations, The bosses don't even show up until after the game, and the "cutscenes" look like they were made by a nine year old as their first foray into Photoshop. Don't waste your time. **** STEVE! Full Review »
  3. Apr 17, 2020
    1
    There was so much potential for this game based on the movie Wreck if Ralph to be great. It's a game, based on a movie, that's based on videoThere was so much potential for this game based on the movie Wreck if Ralph to be great. It's a game, based on a movie, that's based on video games from the classic arcade era of gaming. The movie does a pretty great job of representing the source material, and doesn't come across super corny and lame like most movie representations of gaming tend to be. They could have done so much with the game Wreck It Ralph, but did they? Unfortunately... No. No they did not. Movie games have a reputation for being pretty stale and uninventive, but this... I mean... Wow. Did they find a flash game that a fan created for the film and just print it to cartriges to try and promote the movie? I don't know, but this is easily one of, if not THE most bland and boring movie tie in that I have ever played. You bounce back and forth between playing as Ralph when you need attack power or the ability to move objects, and Felix when you need his trusty hammer to fix objects that allow you to progress through the levels. And that's... well... That's about it. The game has a total of 3 different worlds containing 4 levels a piece, and you easily finish the entire thing in an hour and a half. Now, I can hear you... "But reviewer... this game is meant for kids!!!" Sure, you're right. But my 6 year old who LOVES the movie tried this game, she's who I bought it for in the first place... And she was done/bored in less than 15 minutes. Personally, so was I; but I really wanted to see just how a game with so much potential ended up landing itself in the proud spot of the 10 lowest rated 3DS games of all time. As I said, there are a total of 12 levels. Honestly, I just finished the game and I couldn't tell you where one ended and one began. Yes, there are 3 worlds, but there's little to differentiate them other than a bit of texture changes. The levels themselves are basically just as much of a bland set of platforming sessions as you could imagine. They end literally out of nowhere every single time. No flag to hit, no door to run through... You just get to an area somewhere in the level, and it pops up letting you know that you've reached the end of the stage. The first time that it happened I said to myself, "okay? I guess that's it huh?" And thought surely that wouldn't be how they all wrapped up... But yeah, it is. Through those levels you'll see some characters and platforms that look worse than just about anything I've seen on the 3DS, and hear some short "cut scenes" that are mostly just still images with voice actors that even my 6 year old could immediately tell weren't the originals from the movie. The bosses are all about as boring as could be, and tend to just be the exact same as the normal bug enemies just requiring a few extra hits to finish off. The last boss does have you swapping between Felix and Ralph in order to fix some switches that you use to drop his shields so that you can deal some damage, but that's the only one that shakes things up at all. The biggest issue really, and I can't stress this enough... This game is just insanely boring and bland. You can do like I did and get it for like $3, but it's not even worth that. It's tough to pull off "not being worth your time" when it's under 2 hours long, but this game does. Often times when I try a super low rated game I end up thinking, "oh come on it wasn't THAT bad was it?" Well for once I totally agree with the numbers. This game, is just flat out terrible. Full Review »