Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Mar 28, 2019
    91
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn is a near perfect port. The improvements Nintendo and Good-Feel have incorporated into the game should appease fans that wanted a more faithful Kirby title the first time around, while also giving players more reason to stick with the game after the credits have rolled. Unfortunately, the 3DS hardware just isn’t up to the task of faithfully converting the charming visual aesthetic of the Wii original. Still, those who have never experienced the game before will find Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn‘s relaxing pace and gorgeous soundtrack more than worth the cost of entry; it’s just a shame this wasn’t released on Switch.
  2. Mar 22, 2019
    90
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn is a well-crafted sidescroller that gamers of all ages can enjoy. The 3DS port patches in a new difficulty and a novel take on traditional Kirby power-ups. They’re not as seamlessly stitched as they could have been, but they reveal the developer’s efforts in threading an ideal experience that improves upon the source material. With utterly charming visuals, memorable levels, and lighthearted platforming, Kirby’s spin-off knits together a worthy farewell to one of Nintendo’s longest-lasting handhelds.
  3. Mar 13, 2019
    90
    Sure to be one of the final, first-party, big games on 3DS, as it slowly winds down into retirement, but at least it's going out with a bang. As this is definitely the best Kirby game to hit the platform to date, and easily one of the best platformers. Yoshi may be the star of the woolly show at the moment, with Yoshi's Crafted World landing on Switch soon, but Kirby did it first and did it best. This is an utterly charming patchwork that's absolutely impossible not to get tangled up in.
  4. 90
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn certainly has a home on the 3DS. Unfortunately, the co-op mode in the Wii version is gone and the “fuzziness” of the visuals here makes it suffer a bit, but it’s still good wholesome fun. Even though we’re all about the Switch now in 2019, it’s nice to see one last quality title from Nintendo make its way to the handheld. This is as good of a sendoff as we could hope for.
  5. Mar 11, 2019
    90
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is by far the best version of a game that first debuted nearly ten years ago. The aesthetic has managed to hold up thanks to its charm, while the gameplay has been improved with additional transformations and a new difficulty mode.
  6. Mar 5, 2019
    90
    Whether you're looking to relive Kirby's adventure into Patch Land or want to pick up the game for the first time, Extra Epic Yarn provides hours of good fun, all wrapped up in charming, craft-influenced visuals. This 3DS port is the best version of the game, hands down.
  7. Mar 4, 2019
    90
    A new difficulty mode and unknown minigames are some of the new ingredients for this great adaptation for Nintendo 3DS. An innovative and solid platforming game that shines when you play with the threads that Kirby launches during the adventure.
  8. Mar 4, 2019
    90
    Nine years on from the original release, Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn displays how focused gameplay design, creativity, and strong art direction are timeless qualities that can keep a game enjoyable and relevant for years to come. This design is then made even stronger by the inclusion of all the ‘extra’ elements, such as Ravel Abilities, new mini-games, and optional harder difficulty, which range from being harmless to actively changing the base game for the better. For those of you that never got the chance to play the original Kirby’s Epic Yarn, this is certainly the best way to experience it, while those of you that have played it will find this to be a solid portable version that loses none of the quality of the original. Either way, Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn is a fantastic and standout addition to the deep software library of the 3DS; we’d highly encourage you to give it a go.
  9. Mar 11, 2019
    87
    Although it doesn't take full advantage of what the 3DS is capable of, Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is a must-have portable version of a top-notch Wii game complete with plenty of impressive extra content that complements an already great 2D platformer.
  10. Mar 18, 2019
    85
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is a great port of one of the most charming and successful entries in the Kirby franchise.
  11. 85
    Funny and inventive, free from challenge or punishments and with just enough content and collection to keep you engaged, Epic Yarn is one of the prettiest and finest stress-free platformers around. The 3DS version makes some sacrifices, but it's just as heart-warming.
  12. Mar 7, 2019
    85
    The strong gameplay design from Kirby’s Epic Yarn still shines a decade later, and the carefully-crafted additions in Extra make the original feel threadbare in comparison. While some of the new features may feel a bit “extra,” that is the name of the game. A couple of addicting new minigames and added higher-difficulty game modes for more advanced players make Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn a game anyone could enjoy.
  13. 85
    Even with my misgivings with the port, don’t dismiss Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn, as it still is a terrific title with an amazing soundtrack and creative use of platforming. I enjoyed my time coming back to it, and all the joy that the Wii version has is brought over, minus co-op. The stellar soundtrack, adorable art style, creative contextual levels, and new ideas are all welcome. It just doesn’t feel definitive by any means. I could tell they were trying to address the difficulty complaints, and they definitely delivered on giving the player the tools to make a harder experience. But ultimately, it comes down to how hard you want to make it for yourself. I wouldn’t call it Extra Epic, because of these shortcomings.
  14. Mar 4, 2019
    85
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is a title with a great artistic design, replayability and with tons of content. Its new features are interesting and therefore it is highly recommended game for all fans of platformers and Kirby.
  15. Mar 4, 2019
    85
    Kirby Extra Epic Yarn follow the steps from other recent 3DS ports like Luigi's Mansion: pick up the original game, add minor extras... and enjoy a second life. An idea that seems fair to us, if it's nicely done, as is the case. Maybe the new content falls short, but the original game was very enjoyable... and it keeps delivering.
  16. Mar 4, 2019
    82
    Nine years after its initial release Kirby's Epic Yarn still is a very special platform game. The worlds are beautiful and creative. We also welcome the new Devilish Mode, which makes the game more challenging.
  17. Apr 22, 2019
    80
    Almost nine years and Kirby's Epic Yarn is still one of the cutest platforms ever made. And it works very well also on the Nintendo 3DS.
  18. Mar 29, 2019
    80
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn helps players remember the elements that let them enjoy the title back in 2010, and gives the opportunity to new players to experience the joy of playing in a woolen world. The game is a mix of traditional and modern gameplay innovations that have been encountered in the Kirby series all over the years, and manages to be fun, but ultimately fails in persuading players to spend hours on it. The final Kirby adventure on the 3DS is a reminder that, sometimes, it’s wiser to invest on a new idea, rather that trying to revive an idea on a dying system, no matter how innovative it is.
  19. Mar 26, 2019
    80
    If you played the original game on the Wii, you’ll have to ask yourself how much the new extras, admirable though they are, trump the missing multiplayer. However, for those yet to experience it, it’s certainly worth picking up Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn on 3DS. It’s a high-quality package with charming aesthetics and a good amount of content for the price that should keep you playing.
  20. 80
    Nearly a decade after its original release and Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is still an absolute joy to play. It oozes charm and style, and its gorgeous visuals, excellent soundtrack, and creative use of platforming make up for the lackluster new content.
  21. Mar 13, 2019
    80
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is still a cute and enjoyable game, but although it's seen some improvements, it's more of a lateral move than an upgrade. The portability and Devilish mode are welcome additions, but the loss of co-op and the lackluster implementation of Ravel abilities drag down the game. It remains a delightful and charming title for young players, and the strengths and charm of the original game remain apparent. It's absolutely worth playing if you like Kirby titles and don't mind the low difficulty level. Whether it's on the Wii or on the 3DS, Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is still one of the cutest games on the market.
  22. Mar 11, 2019
    80
    If you missed out on Kirby’s Epic Yarn the first time around then the 3DS version is a great way to experience it even if its two-player option is sadly absent. While the newly added features fail to add an awful lot to the overall experience, the core gameplay and striking visual style still shine. Undoubtedly one of the most joyful and wonderfully charming games Nintendo has produced and worth digging out your old 3DS for.
  23. Mar 10, 2019
    80
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn brings one of the Wii’s most underappreciated gems to a new audience on 3DS. In and of itself it remains a great game and the new features are mostly successful additions. The lack of 3DS specific controls does beg the question as to why this isn’t on Switch, but if you do still have a 3DS, Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn stands up as a system highlight and deserves more success than it found in its previous incarnation.
  24. Mar 7, 2019
    80
    Those craving a challenging platformer are still better off getting their fix from Mario or Donkey Kong in spite of the new Devilish Mode, but those looking to unwind, collect and explore a creative and imaginative world will find a journey worth taking with your 3DS at least one last time.
  25. Mar 6, 2019
    80
    For those that missed out on the original, Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn is a solid 3DS port, albeit with a few lapses in usability. While the main campaign can be completed in just short of ten hours, both newcomers and returning fans alike can share in the joy of the opulent worldly textures, adorable animations and a beautifully simple storyline to ‘bobbin’ and out of.
  26. Mar 4, 2019
    80
    This beautiful adventure still works great on 3DS. Yes, there are some changes, and none of it would justify buying it again, but if you haven’t yet, it’s a good option to enjoy Kirby on the go.
  27. Mar 16, 2019
    79
    It's a bit paradoxical to think that the weakest point of a remake are the newest features, but that’s the case with Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn: the new abilities break that perfect balance of the original game. Fortunately, that game is still there and if you want you can appreciate it exactly as it was conceived.
  28. Mar 18, 2019
    77
    Although this is not Nintendo's best enhanced port for 3DS, Kirby Extra Epic Yarn is a fun and cute platformer, which addresses the major complaint about the original, the difficulty. Still, we would have liked to see the co-op even in this version.
  29. NF Magazine
    Aug 28, 2019
    75
    This feels like pants that are pre-ripped for some reason, as opposed to the charming comfort of what came before. [Issue #39 – May/June 2019, p. 70]
  30. Mar 22, 2019
    75
    How did Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn stack up against the original? Well being a port with some added features and missing the co-op from the original it’s not really definitive. It’s just here on a handheld and not the Switch. So if you’re not planning to play with a friend then it might be a good bet, but it also reminds me how much I enjoyed the original and both have their merits. But for what we got it’s in a weird place that makes me wish we got a ground-up sequel or remake instead.
  31. Mar 17, 2019
    75
    Although the willingness to add several extra content types is appreciable, some questionable choices in this regard betray an unpleasant “cut and sew” effect that sometimes threatens to stain the precious dress made by the virtual artisans of HAL Laboratory and Good-Feel.
  32. Mar 14, 2019
    75
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn is a solid 3DS port that both builds upon and takes away from the original Wii title's charm.
  33. Mar 14, 2019
    75
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn is an easy recommendation for anyone looking for a new adventure on their 3DS as it provides an adequate challenge for all sorts of different gamers. It’s also the better use of yarn than that pair of knitted socks your grandma made you for Christmas when all you really wanted was another 3DS game.
  34. Mar 7, 2019
    75
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn does not manage to improve as much as it was expected but, at the same time, it still is in optimal conditions and provides a slight upgrade on its visuals. Furthermore, it is a delightful experience on the Nintendo 3DS.
  35. Mar 6, 2019
    75
    Kirby's Extra Epic Yarn may be a bit forging for die-hard platforming fans, but it still manages to offer a fun adventure for gamers of all ages. While minor control issues hold that game back from the greatness typically associated with Nintendo platformers, its more laid back approach and focus on straight-forward fun is the perfect entry point for those new to the genre.
  36. Mar 5, 2019
    75
    The cherished basic formula is still there and it’s as charming as ever. Most of the new content only adds to what is otherwise a fantastic experience, but the Ravel Abilities lack refinement, and ultimately, have no place in a game they were never meant to be in.
  37. Mar 5, 2019
    75
    This Kirby shines from a great artistic direction, pleased by a gameplay that often use the interactivity with the background. Unfortunately, the game is short, and too easy for hardcore gamers who will find this 3DS portage less convenient than the original Wii version.
  38. Mar 4, 2019
    75
    Still a good game, but as a port it could have done better in terms of keeping the original game's spirit alive.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 11 out of 41
  1. Mar 11, 2019
    0
    Really? Yarn? Kirby is the best video game franchise in history and the series resorts to making games aimed at kids where the characters areReally? Yarn? Kirby is the best video game franchise in history and the series resorts to making games aimed at kids where the characters are made of yarn? Who came up this garbage? The game is way too easy and boring. No fun at all! Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2019
    8
    My God this is soo fun. Probably one of the last great 3DS games that we will remember. Modes are great. Amazing artwork. One of the moreMy God this is soo fun. Probably one of the last great 3DS games that we will remember. Modes are great. Amazing artwork. One of the more unique Kirby games.

    8/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2019
    0
    Kirby’s Extra Epic Yarn. Is consider one of my LEAST favorite Games out of my entire life. Out of any remake Games on the 3DS, THIS IS ONE OFKirby’s Extra Epic Yarn. Is consider one of my LEAST favorite Games out of my entire life. Out of any remake Games on the 3DS, THIS IS ONE OF THE WORST REMAKE GAME THAT I EVER PLAYED ON MY ENTIRE LIFE SO FAR! I don’t even know how to start this off with. For One, they took away the easy parts and challenges in Kirby’s Epic Yarn, for starters I really like the game (I’m talking about Kirby’s Epic Yarn one of my favorite). Two, they didn’t have Multiplayer, of course just like Poochy & Yoshi Woolly World (Which this game actually is a good remake). Three, They added Ravel Ball which is like Kirby Copy Abilities, Expect they make this WAY to easy. Because This Game is practically a Joke. And I really like Kirby’s Epic Yarn Challenges. But now, getting all of the collectables make this WAY too easy. Four, They also Added Devilish Mode, Which is a Terrible Idea. They Expected for you is to get as much lives as possible to get some rewards (Which I’m NOT Getting them all). Five, It was the only Kirby Game That I dislike the most so far, and the sad part is, it’s the only Kirby Game that I hated it, and it’s one of my favorite series. And Six, This Game is kinda of just like Paper Mario Sticker Star (Which I don’t actually hate this). For the record, This Game is Pretty Bad to any other people who’s play a Kirby Game and if you played Kirby’s Epic Yarn, DON’T PLAYED THIS GAME! And if you actually like This Game. That’s Fine. But I really Wish I could of Liked this Game too. For Now, it will be My Paper Mario Sticker Star, til people started to get mad at me. 0 out of 10, consider this my least and only Kirby Game that I ever played on my whole life. This Ruined My lovability to Kirby's Epic Yarn. THANK GOD THE 3DS IS DEAD!?!?! >:( Full Review »