Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 6, 2016
    100
    Fantastic gameplay can take you to wild places and whoever was skeptical of this game before playing it will quickly be converted. Funny, fun and frenetic, Pocket Card Jockey is a charmer that never lets up. Combining elements of “Pokemon,” “Monster Rancher” and Solitaire, it’s a game that will steal you away from your next generation console.
  2. May 5, 2016
    95
    I never want to stop playing Pocket Card Jockey. This game hit me the same way Tetris hit millions around the world back in the 80s.
  3. May 15, 2016
    90
    Spend some time with the mechanics and you’ll be frighten[ed by] just how addictive it is.
  4. 90
    Overall, Pocket Card Jockey is a surprisingly fun title that is definitely worth picking up if you’re a fan of either solitaire or horse races.
  5. May 12, 2016
    90
    As a low-cost title and with a demo on the eShop, Pocket Card Jockey is a fun way to pass the time.
  6. May 5, 2016
    90
    This is the kind of thing I love about quirky little gems like this: They can either fall entirely flat, or they can be the diamond you know is easily lost in the dark recesses of the cheap-o games section of your online retailer of choice.
  7. 90
    If you’re looking for a solitaire game with a bit of pizzaz and a novel wrapper, Pocket Card Jockey is straight-up magic. The cartoony, goofy setup hides a deep, complicated experience filled with a variety of minute details. Just let yourself get washed over by the bright zaniness and enjoy clearing cards, moving horses, and ideally, winning all the races.
  8. NF Magazine
    Jul 11, 2016
    85
    Great art style, great challenges and hours of racing fun – Game Freak's won the Triple Crown. [Issue #22 – July/August 2016, p.23]
  9. Jul 21, 2016
    80
    For those who enjoy Solitaire and always wanted to suit up in a ridiculous outfit and take the reins at a prestigious derby, your game has finally arrived. Pocket Card Jockey is a stalker in the pack, waiting to Sea Biscuit its way to your heart.
  10. Jun 29, 2016
    80
    Pocket Card Jockey may have a strange concept but the way it's implemented is certain to leave players holding to their 3DS for a very long time. Its originality, comical plot and artwork will capture the players' attention and its structure will make it seem like a perfect game for short sessions, which will eventually grow into very long sessions as the player goes back and forth between horse racing and Solitary games, with the development of the horse's characteristics in between.
  11. May 25, 2016
    80
    Pocket Card Jockey turns a crazy combination between horse races and solitaire into a funny and addictive game. The game is complex, but if you use Horse Off Course, tune into your strategic skills then you should have a blast playing this game.
  12. May 16, 2016
    80
    Pocket Card Jockey sounds like the kind of game which just shouldn't work. But it says neigh to those disbelievers, as it's easily one of the most addictive games of 2016 to grace the Nintendo 3DS.
  13. May 5, 2016
    80
    Like any horse race, your success in Pocket Card Jockey relies on luck -- a little too heavily for some players, maybe. Nevertheless, once the game sinks its big, horsey teeth into you, it won't let go for a long time.
  14. May 16, 2016
    70
    Playing cards in connection to successfully racing a horse is a bizarre overlap I did not expect to enjoy.
  15. May 6, 2016
    70
    Pocket Card Jockey is absolutely worth consideration and will hook many gamers with its irreverent and addictive gameplay, but beneath its charming veneer is a cruel world of lost bets and unfair odds.
  16. May 3, 2016
    70
    Its complexity can be overwhelming, but once you hit your stride, it's entertaining all the way to the home stretch.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. May 7, 2016
    10
    It's rare to see a game as ambitious as something like this game AND succeed at the same time, but Pocket Card Jockey nails it. The game isIt's rare to see a game as ambitious as something like this game AND succeed at the same time, but Pocket Card Jockey nails it. The game is unique, refreshing, and feverishly addicting. Heck, I don't even like solitaire that much yet I've found myself loving this game and playing it constantly. Once I finish writing this review, I'll probably be playing it some more. Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2016
    10
    Super fun! Never played this solitaire before and now I'm hooked, lol. Bought it because my wife likes to play these kind of card games andSuper fun! Never played this solitaire before and now I'm hooked, lol. Bought it because my wife likes to play these kind of card games and thought I'd try it out. Full Review »
  3. May 6, 2016
    9
    This is addictive. I need to keep my self control; I felt like snapping my 3DS pen, and I jabbed at the screen a couple of times. However,This is addictive. I need to keep my self control; I felt like snapping my 3DS pen, and I jabbed at the screen a couple of times. However, like an authentic gambling addict, when I'm winning I love this! My partner also loves the idea that we can share and breed horses, we have not done that yet but it seems cute. To me this game is a 9 or a 10. I went with 9 because of the chance I might break my 3DS at some point in the near future.

    Finally I feel like the price point for this game is tipped in the consumers favour for once.
    Full Review »