Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 87
  2. Negative: 0 out of 87
Buy On
  1. Apr 8, 2017
    100
    Pokémon Sun and Moon make terrific changes the twenty-year-old formula, allowing new fans and returning ones back into the series with a wonderful lively and colourful world. It's just a little too easy for us who have been here from the start - but it's easy to forgot that when you're having such a blast.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 12, 2017
    100
    Trip to Hawaii after twenty years was a great move, which shows that even after so long time there is still will to make quality games and offer new experiences. The new Pokémon game doesn´t need to worry for the players’ attention at all. The new game can entertain for the countless hours. [Issue #270]
  3. 100
    Pokemon games are in a unique spot. They have to change significantly from game to game in order to keep casual fans engaged, have to stand on their own enough to entice new players in and also have to maintain a certain degree of continuity so that dedicated players' collections of monsters work in the new game and will continue to work beyond. Sun and Moon are the first games in several generations that I've honestly felt have nailed them all, and should provide hundreds of hours of entertainment for fans new and old.
  4. Nov 23, 2016
    100
    Pokemon Sun and Moon does more than just appeal to players’ nostalgia; it harnesses and combines it with new experiences to provide something that feels both familiar and fresh. The new experiences are bursting at the seams with new content and creatures, and it’s undoubtedly one of the best experiences available from the 3DS’ library, and the best Pokemon games to release since the beloved era of Gold and Silver.
  5. Nov 15, 2016
    100
    Pokémon Sun and Moon is the ultimate Poké adventure. It manages to introduce a lot of new features that greatly enhance the gameplay experience, but retain enough of the original DNA to make sure it doesn't feel totally alien to players who have been Pokémon trainers since 1996.
  6. Nov 15, 2016
    100
    Simply put, Sun and Moon are best Pokémon games that Game Freak has ever produced. Poké Pelago, the side quests, the absolutely stunning nature of the presentation, it's all a sheer joy from start to finish. Game Freak hasn't missed a beat and has managed to carefully balance the inclusion of new mechanics without totally ruining things for the most hardcore fans. It's got content coming out of its ears, a much more interesting story, and rewards exploration in a way no other title in the series has. Whether you're a Pokémon fan new or old, this is an absolutely essential purchase.
  7. Dec 8, 2016
    98
    The very best, like no one ever was.
  8. Nov 15, 2016
    97
    Everything we love about Pokémon is back in Sun and Moon. The best story in the whole saga, the seventh generation creatures and lots of game modes that bring back the essence of the first games.
  9. NF Magazine
    Jan 4, 2017
    95
    Pokémon Sun & Moon aren't absolutely perfect – but they are absolutely amazing, and I'm perfectly prepared to argue that they now represent the best generation the series has ever seen in its 20-year history. [Issue #25 – January/February 2017, p.66]
  10. 95
    Ultimately, Pokemon Sun and Moon feel like a familiar experience refreshed and renewed. I’m back in love with a series I’ve been treading water with for a little while now. It feels damn good.
  11. Dec 7, 2016
    95
    By taking the well known tried and reliable recipe of the old games, tweaking some of the original ideas and adding a few new ones, Game Freak delivered the best Pokemon game we've seen in years.
  12. Nov 15, 2016
    95
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are filled with so much you’ll be absorbed in every facet from the moment you begin.
  13. Nov 15, 2016
    94
    Pokémon Sun & Moon is an amazing experience for fans of the franchise thanks to a renewed focus on narrative and many tweaks that make gameplay much more enjoyable than before.
  14. Nov 23, 2016
    91
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Mar 19, 2017
    90
    If you’re a newcomer to the series, this is an excellent opportunity to learn the fundamentals in a laid-back setting. If you’re a pro, you’ll relish the new options in place for making your Pokémon all they can be. Sun & Moon is a Pokémon vacation we’d gladly take again.
  16. Mar 8, 2017
    90
    These games exceeded my expectations by a mile. Pokemon Sun and Moon are games that every Pokemon fan and every 3DS owner needs to own. Nintendo and Gamefreak did an awesome job creating a great story and the changes they made for the format make the game feel fresh and exciting more so than ever before. The game has its minor issues like the end game and some performance issues on Old 3DS models but the soundtrack, the story and the new features more than make up for it, to make an unforgettable experience.
  17. Jan 26, 2017
    90
    Ultimately, Sun & Moon feels like one of the first legitimately necessary Pokémon adventures in some time.
  18. Games Master UK
    Jan 1, 2017
    90
    A wonderfully warm and refreshing summer holiday. [Christmas 2016, p.78]
  19. Dec 15, 2016
    90
    Both a spectacular jump-on point for newcomers and a strong entry for series veterans, Pokémon Sun and Moon is everything you’d expect, and maybe even a little more. I’m happy to say that, even 20 years after it’s inception, Pokémon remains one of the best RPG series’ out there.
  20. Dec 6, 2016
    90
    Whether you're an old Pokémon fan or a brand new one, there's loads to love about Sun and Moon. These might just be the very best mainline Pokémon games ever.
  21. Dec 1, 2016
    90
    These new games take things previously thought to be untouchable elements of the Pokemon experience and turns them on their heads, delivering a completely unique experience from its predecessors.
  22. Nov 30, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon is a safe and enjoyable entry in the franchise. It doesn't reinvent the wheel but focuses on polishing the rough edges and making the entire thing shine. It has enough new features to make it a fun adventure without feeling too familiar, and that's important. Some nagging flaws, like a poor frame rate and annoying Pokémon reinforcements, drag down the experience a little, but die-hard fans and curious newcomers alike should still have a great time. Pokémon Sun and Moon offers over 800 monsters to collect, so you'll be catching them all for a long time.
  23. Nov 30, 2016
    90
    The Pokémon franchise is one that has been consistently good throughout its twenty year history, but Pokémon Sun & Moon aren't just good, they're fantastic
  24. Nov 30, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are the best Pokémon games since Gold and Silver. Game Freak has built a solid ground for the future.
  25. Nov 30, 2016
    90
    Pokémon has been a classic series for twenty years and with 2016 being its 20th, Pokémon Sun and Moon is a perfect way to celebrate such a milestone. It still holds all the charm and fun from the original titles yet creates an entire new world to explore. It’s a must-have for fans and a worthy place to begin for newcomers. The future of the Pokémon series shines bright like Pokémon Sun and beautiful like Pokémon Moon.
  26. 90
    Pokemon Sun and Moon are a fantastic new addition to the storied franchise. They make improvements in a ton of key areas, shaping the experience so that it is more fun, less frustrating, and just overall more enjoyable. The new mechanics, such as Z-Moves, range from good to great, but the lack of some older features might annoy a few players.
  27. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    I loved playing Sun and Moon and despite the fact that this is he umpteenth Pokémon game released, it’s still incredibly compelling and brilliantly paced. The story and characters are very nicely done too, though the Team Skull grunts are wonderfully cheesy in their attempt at being hip-hop infused gangsters.
  28. Nov 28, 2016
    90
    Sun and Moon may just be another iteration of the Pokemon formula, but it's the best we've seen so far. So many subtle quality-of-life changes, as well as tweaks to old features and helpful new features add up to make Pokemon's final hurrah on the 3DS one to remember. Just don't go expecting anything fantastic out of the story.
  29. Nov 27, 2016
    90
    Aside from some disappointing story elements and frame rate dips in battles, Sun and Moon encapsulate 20 years of series strengths and introduce enough freshness to keep the series running strong.
  30. Nov 23, 2016
    90
    While this is a pretty great RPG, it’s still not for everyone.
  31. Nov 23, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are the most refreshing and exciting updates to the Pokémon franchise to date. Having found an impressive balance between old and new, providing both nostalgia and innovation, Pokémon Sun and Moon are a must-play for any Pokémon fan. With depth which is surprising and not obvious early on, a new path to becoming the best, and entirely new ways of getting around, there are plenty of reasons to explore the Alola Region.
  32. 90
    Ultimately, Pokemon is a coming of age story, as told through the analogy of monster collecting and battling. This new game loses none of that, but in building a greater sense of narrative into the action, has given it a greater resonance and purpose. This is also the most creative that Game Freak has been with the franchise in quite some time, and players who had grown tired of the iterative approach the developer had been taking may well find this one a Renaissance for the series.
  33. Nov 23, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon prove that with steady innovation an old dog can certainly learn new tricks. The developers should be applauded for being consistently brave in making changes to the series that appease both newcomers and series veterans alike. With so many new things to do as well as a whole new journey to embark upon, this is an excellent entry and one that no fan should miss.
  34. Nov 23, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon offer a lot of improvements and serve as foundation stone for a new generation of Pokémon games. A must have.
  35. Nov 23, 2016
    90
    Pokemon Sun and Moon are the best possible way that Nintendo had to celebrate the 20th birthday of the series.
  36. Nov 21, 2016
    90
    Pokemon Sun and Moon are solid entries into the Pokemon series. While there are a couple of things to nitpick here and there, as any Pokemon game will have, the difficulty is easy enough for new players to get into the series, while more experienced players might find things a bit too easy at times. The trials are also a nice change from the standard gyms and no longer needing specific Pokemon for HMs was a welcome addition.
  37. Nov 21, 2016
    90
    With a zest for life and a fresh impression, Pokemon Sun and Moon feels like a new introduction to the series, and not a weary inclusion to simply capitalize on the brand. Whether you are devout follower, a jaded former trainer, or a fledgling enthusiast, now is the perfect time to embrace the Pokemon splendor, pause the real world, and take a paradise vacation to the Alola region.
  38. 90
    Pokémon Sun And Moon feel like the freshest new iterations of the series in a long time. They're not complete reinventions, but they do finally fix a number of problems that have plagued the franchise since its inception.
  39. Nov 21, 2016
    90
    After 20 years of memorable Pokémon experiences, Game Freak has brought out something that feels completely new, while still delivering on the core Pokémon experiences people crave.
  40. Nov 18, 2016
    90
    While Sun & Moon doesn't change the basic Pokémon formula, it definitely freshens up the experience in welcome ways. With a great world, appealing graphics, reduced nuisance elements, and more opportunities to connect with your critters, this feels less like "the latest Pokémon game" and more like "the next Pokémon game."
  41. Nov 18, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are the best “Pokémon” games in years. “Alpha Sapphire” and “Omega Ruby” were great entries in the series, but they were largely re-skinned versions of “X” and “Y.” For the first time in ages (or at last since I uninstalled “Pokémon Go”), “Pokémon” feels like a new, exciting experience. If you’re a fan of the series, you’re going to love “Sun” and “Moon,” and if you’ve been gone for a while, you’ll be happy to come home.
  42. Nov 17, 2016
    90
    There’s a huge focus on all the new features, but there is still a lot of nostalgia here. This is the 20th anniversary of Pokémon after all, and Pokémon Sun and Moon celebrates by boldly reinventing the wheel. This will go down as a huge success with returning players and it’s easier than ever for newcomers to enjoy after the success of Pokémon Go. Fans are in for a treat, and if you’re new don’t hesitate. There has never been a better time to play Pokémon.
  43. Nov 16, 2016
    90
    Pokémon has never felt more alive to me than it does in Sun, and while I did have high expectations coming in, I can't say I saw that coming. This series is catching up with our imaginations.
  44. Nov 16, 2016
    90
    Sun and Moon are the biggest changes that the core Pokemon series has ever attempted. Removing gyms, Hidden Machines (HMs), and altering original Pocket Monsters was a huge gamble – and all of it has paid off. Honoring the franchise’s past while looking to the future must have been a difficult ideal for Nintendo and The Pokemon Company to nail down, but the end result of this undertaking is a pair of lovingly-crafted, must-haves for fans new and old. Truly, this is the celebration of Pokemon that gamers have been waiting for.
  45. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokémon is back with a great RPG 3DS owners shouldn't miss. Without breaking the core experience of the series, this episode feels fresh and new, and manages to prove itself once again as one of the most solid franchises of the industry.
  46. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    The result is a vibrant, energetic game in a manner Pokemon hasn't managed since Gold & Silver. Sun & Moon have clearly been made with a love and reverence for the series' past but also, crucially, with an eye on evolution. It's all the better for it.
  47. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    This is spectacular from a graphical standpoint. It has an interesting story. The gameplay has no limits: the end-game is superb. This is the best Pokémon ever? No, but it's the Pokémon game best balanced for both experts and new gamers. A game created for not frustrate anybody. A game created to celebrate 20 years of a paradox: change everything and don't change anything.
  48. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are best Pokémon games released yet for the 3DS. While the framerate still takes a dip whenever there’s multiple Pokémon in battle, the engine suits the swaying trees and sunny beaches of the Alola region wonderfully. The music, characters, and story are some of the strongest in Pokémon history and the core gameplay is irresistibly rewarding.
  49. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  50. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun & Moon is a magnificent work from Game Freak. This renewed aspect looks great and the exotic region of Alola has lots of surprises for the fans. Every detail has been polished and the new gameplay mechanics are great.
  51. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokèmon Sun is everything we wanted from this pokèmon generation. New mechanics, Alola Forms and Z Moves are the new great changes to the metagame and make this game excellent.
  52. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    The best Pokémon game yet, that expertly combines the best elements of the old games with a mountain of new features and wonderfully odd creatures.
  53. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun & Moon are undeniably a superior evolution to previous Pokémon games overall. It’s a little too much to handle for the 3DS at times, and steps away from certain innovative features, but the fact that the series has changed itself some much 20 years after its debut is as refreshing as sipping the water from a freshly opened coconut. If you can avoid any spoilers, difficult as that may be, Pokémon Sun & Moon eclipse all expectations.
  54. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    A couple technical issues aside, Sun/Moon might be the best Pokémon game yet. It freshens up a formula some of us PokéManics might not have realized was growing stale until now. Trials and Grand Trials provide variations on familiar gameplay, and the removal of HMs and telling players how effective their moves are rejuvenates battling.
  55. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    After 20 years of slow but steady evolution, Pokemon gets a bit of a reinvention in Sun and Moon. An engrossing and rich new region makes the Alola journey — along with all the changes Sun and Moon make to the existing formula — enjoyable throughout the main adventure, and small interface and variety of upgrades along the way make a few of the things that stayed the same feel better than before.
  56. Nov 15, 2016
    90
    Pokémon Sun is simply amazing. Alola is beautiful and offers a balanced mix between old and new Pokémon. The many new features help keep the gameplay fresh and there's no need for HM slaves anymore.
  57. Dec 21, 2016
    89
    Despite my gripes (including a few frivolous ones I didn't mention), Pokémon Sun and Moon are great games that take X/Y's base and create a vivid new world with its own special culture and unique features.
  58. Nov 20, 2016
    86
    So after smashing out this game over the weekend, I found myself quite engaged with the gameplay, story and fun characters. Sure it’s Pokémon but there’s a true sense of progression that when linked to the entertainment factor creators not the best Pokémon experience but one that succeeds with both newcomers and fans alike.
  59. CD-Action
    Jan 13, 2017
    85
    Despite some major issues (e.g. single player campaign is disappointingly easy and AI desperately needs improvements) the game is still wonderful. It makes up for its shortcomings with its world, exploration, atmosphere of grand adventure, loads of secrets, online battles and most of all with its lasting charm. [01/2017, p.72]
  60. Dec 5, 2016
    85
    Don't dismiss the Hawaiian atmosphere and old gameplay core right off the bat. Pokémon Sun has some cool improvements and is diverse enough to make it feel almost as good as legendary Pokémon X, Y or Black and White. Fans of the series don't need convincing but everyone else should give the new Pokémon game a chance - Sun is made for playing.
  61. Dec 1, 2016
    85
    Pokémon Sun and Moon may take its sweet time getting you hooked on its battle monster formula, but once they’re in they’re never coming back out again. Even after twenty years of Pokémon games, Game Freak still has a few surprises and tricks up their sleeve with their most vibrant Pokémon game to date.
  62. Nov 27, 2016
    85
    Despite my grumbles, I have to admit Sun and Moon gets its hooks in even if it’s tough to get into at first. Once it clicks, it can instill obsession as well as any prior game, and that’s before getting to the new minigames and features that only serve to make the adventure more rewarding.
  63. Nov 23, 2016
    85
    Pokémon Sun and Moon is full of welcome innovations that make the Pokémon formula feel new and fresh. It’s a perfect way to celebrate Pokémon’s 20th anniversary.
  64. 85
    Overall, Pokemon Sun and Moon take two generational steps forward, but also take one step back. Small new intricacies like battle enhancements and a refined presentation vastly improve the moment-to-moment experience of playing Pokemon. However, a sparse catalog of new Pokemon, shallow end game, and lack of launch Pokemon Bank support hold the titles back from being truly exceptional.
  65. Nov 16, 2016
    85
    Pokémon Sun & Moon are a glorious try to change the ancient recipe of the Game Freak series. The game can be seen as more straightforward but this makes the narrative part and the screenplay only better. And Alola is a great new region to discover.
  66. Nov 15, 2016
    85
    The newest pair of games prove that the series is ready and able to make big changes without sacrificing that original spirit. Without the heaps of content of series-defining entries like Red, Silver and X, Sun and Moon don't quite stand as endlessly replayable classics, but they're a wonderful testament to why Pokémon is still so special all these years later.
  67. Nov 15, 2016
    85
    Although the design of the new creatures does not shine, and the 3DS starts to show some limitations, Sun and Moon can be seen as the ultimate experience for any Pokémon fan.
  68. Nov 25, 2016
    84
    Pokémon Sun and Moon brings a lot of changes to the main series. It’s easier to play and gives new users yet another chance to be part of a 20 year old franchise. Having said that, the story is dull ─Team Skull makes the anime Rocket Team look like a superior enemy─. Online multiplayer, on the other hand, is well organized but the local variant feels too simplistic. This is a typical case of "one step forward and two steps back." Some of adjustments are a success but the game also has many imperfections the developers should learn from in order to make a better Pokémon game.
  69. Dec 20, 2016
    83
    Pokémon Sun and Pokémon Moon offer a great many new things, making them a must have for newcomers and fans alike. The younger audience will appreciate the lower than average difficulty level, while hardcore fans will like the endgame and its tough challenges.
  70. Edge Magazine
    Jan 5, 2017
    80
    It promotes a message of kindness and understanding that's never felt more vital. [Jan 2017, p.121]
  71. Jan 4, 2017
    80
    Basically, still the same game for twenty years, yet terribly catchy and entertaining – that’s the new Pokémon game. It is however a pity that the authors removed any challenge from story campaign, and that while some minor updates are welcome, other are rather annoying.
  72. Jan 4, 2017
    80
    A much more upbeat entry chock full of streamlining that lets its new ideas really shine, Pokemon Sun and Moon are the most friendly and modern-feeling games the series has put forth in a long time. Though it shifts away from the exploratory aspects I've loved in past games to focus more on a main quest, S&M have some of the most memorable parts I've seen in the series in a while. It feels like Game Freak finally took cruise control off and are willing to try something new, and I just hope they expand on some of the more offbeat ideas in the future.
  73. Dec 12, 2016
    80
    The visual overhaul makes this the best looking Pokémon yet. Naturally, the amount of Pokémon on offer is almost insurmountable and will have you catching them all for quite a while, but be aware, they are a needy lot.
  74. Dec 1, 2016
    80
    Info on what skills are effective on an enemy is proudly displayed on the battle screen, you can use your last-used poke-ball without diving into the menus and so forth. Lots of time obviously went into making Pokémon feel more convenient and less tiresome to play.
  75. Nov 23, 2016
    80
    Despite the awkwardly linear path through Pokémon Sun and Moon's sumptuous tropical setting, the breadth of content, refreshed design and breezy humour make this sunny Alolan holiday one to remember. With the Nintendo Switch on the horizon, the latest set of Poké-adventures would make a tremendous swansong for Nintendo's dual-screened handheld, with Game Freak proving you can always teach an old Rockruff new tricks.
  76. Nov 22, 2016
    80
    Pokémon Sun and Moon are all about change. The world of Alola is great, but comes with technical issues and a guide that is a bit too hands-on.
  77. Nov 22, 2016
    80
    Pokémon Sun and Moon clearly want to change some aspects of a long-standing series. The new features actually bring some of the mechanics up-to-date and, at last, there's a good level of challenge. A deeper plot makes the whole adventure even more enjoyable, too. Unfortunately, there are also some flaws: Alola is definitely too linear and the Pokédex has very few new entries. Overall, the graphics are good, but the frame rate drops dramatically kinda often.
  78. Nov 18, 2016
    80
    For better and worse, Sun and Moon is essentially the same Pokemon experience that comes out every few years, just with enhancements to make it feel more modern.
  79. Nov 16, 2016
    80
    There are so many beautiful touches to the game, and it’s so different to what’s come before, that it will keep blowing you away, surprising you, and delighting you. It’s clear how much the team behind Sun and Moon care about their players and their experiences, and it really makes a difference.
  80. 80
    While I had a good deal of fun with Pokemon Moon, I couldn't shake the feeling that not everything was sound about it. The story didn't keep my attention as much as I would have hoped, the journey was easy to get through and some of the battles had slowdown. Despite that, I just kept pushing forward and wanting to more see of the world that Game Freak has built.
  81. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    Pokemon Sun and Moon is another winning adventure with good ideas and oodles of charm, but a focus on making everything easier just robs the game of any real challenge or tension.
  82. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    A comfort blanket of a game that appeals if you’ve played none or all of the series’ entries. Sun and Moon’s mix of classic callbacks and cheerful changes are super-effective.
  83. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    Pokemon Moon and Sun are very good Pokemon games. Everything you can expect and more from a Pokemon video game is inside these new cartridges. Alola forms and Z-moves are a great addition to an already good formula. However, it's still not the huge renewal of the franchise we were waiting for.
  84. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    While it can feel a little linear at times, there is something magical about the start to any Pokémon adventure, and that’s what makes Pokémon Sun so great.
  85. Nov 15, 2016
    80
    Pokémon Sun & Moon are among the best entries in the series and while it doesn't break any significant new grounds, Game Freak's latest opus adds an additional layer of strategic planning to the gameplay and features a beautiful audiovisual environment topped with the series' best plot so far. It's not very clear where Poké Finder fits in and the performance is less on par in the original 3DS but the Pokémon series is definitely showing that it's still alive and kicking...and worthy of the players' attention.
  86. Nov 21, 2016
    74
    Visually this is the best mobile Pokémon adventure yet. And while the new pocket monsters with their final forms are creative as always the island hopping lacks the challenge of older Pokémon games.
  87. Nov 18, 2016
    60
    It is not the blow-away game of 2016, nor does it seem to have the staying power of Ruby and Sapphire, but it’s enjoyable. Pokémon games are their own beasts, and hopefully Sun and Moon is a show of further changes and things to come for the franchise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 19, 2016
    Longtime Pokémon fans can buy without hesitation. New or lapsed Pokémon fans will have an easier time picking up Sun and Moon than any other main series Pokémon game in recent memory.
  2. Mar 7, 2017
    The world of Pokémon is finally, exactly that: a world, with charming, textured characters not just in the named friends and foes you meet, but the random people on your journey, the region you live in, the music, the Pokémon themselves and the very soul of the journey. At long last, Pokémon is not just back. With Sun and Moon, it feels fresh again. [Essential]
  3. Nov 19, 2016
    For 20 years now, Pokémon games have presented fantasies where people live, battle, and grow alongside powerful monsters. In Pokémon Sun and Moon, that wistful reverie invites you take a holiday, leave your worries behind, and grab yourself a lei. As it happens with all good vacations, Pokémon found itself again.
  4. Nov 20, 2016
    It manages to keep the core gameplay of battling and trading magical monsters intact, while weaving in ideas that were vital to the television show and to the idea of Pokémon in general.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 912 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 912
  1. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    Pokemon Sun shines brighter than any predecessor in the Pokemon franchise. The graphics are fresh and lush. The story is entertaining. AbovePokemon Sun shines brighter than any predecessor in the Pokemon franchise. The graphics are fresh and lush. The story is entertaining. Above all, it's the most lively Pokemon adventure yet. Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    El mejor juego de pokemon de toda la historia, ademas de una evolucion grafica, presenta opciones de jugabilidad distintas, y ahora se vuelveEl mejor juego de pokemon de toda la historia, ademas de una evolucion grafica, presenta opciones de jugabilidad distintas, y ahora se vuelve muchisimo mas atractivo para cualquier jugador tanto en la historia como en la jugabilidad Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Alright, I already wrote a review for Pokemon Sun and Moon, however, I originally gave them a 6/10. I thought they were pretty decent games, but also took huge missteps as well. Well, as you can clearly see, I'm writing a second review. Overall, looking back on the 2 games, I have to say...

    My opinions on this game have shifted for the better. I suppose I just needed to adjust a bit. Don't misinterpret what I'm saying; I don't think they're perfect now, I have just grown more fond of them. Anyhow, I'm not here to be an ass-kisser, I'll keep this review as objective as possible.

    I'll start with what I liked. Firstly, I thought the Pokemon designs in the game were, for the most part, very good. There are exceptions, of course (*glares at Dhelmise*), but on the whole, I liked them. Hopefully they can keep this up.

    Another thing I though was very interesting were the Alolan forms of the older Pokemon. I liked the idea that certain Pokemon have to adapt to different regions and areas. Most of their designs were very good as well, with the only exception being Dugtrio, but I can't say that its original design was all that mesmerizing either.

    The soundtrack has grown on me as well. I originally thought it was quite sub-par, however, it has gotten better the more I listened to it. I especially like Guzma's, Lusamine's, Red's/Blue's, The Elite Four's, and the League Title Defense's themes. The credits theme is pretty damn good too... except for the amateurish vocals.

    The graphics in the game are damn good as well. The 3D Pokemon models look astonishingly good, the environments look very pleasant, an they overall appear less "Gamey," as I said in my previous review. I WILL mention one issue some folks came across, and that is the framerate. I won't lie- I was playing on the new 3DS, and the only time I encountered slowdown was during double battles. If you have a new 3DS, the framerate shouldn't be too much of an issue, but if you have a standard 3DS, you should probably be wary of this when you think about purchasing these games.

    All of that is really good, but the thing that REALLY changed my mind on the semi-negative rating...

    Was the story. I honestly didn't expect my opinion to shift as much as it did, but the more I thought about it, the better it became.

    The story in this game is easily one of the best, if not THE best, story in the entire series, only rivaled by Black and White. I am SO glad this game wasn't like X and Y with its shallow characters, non-existent emotions, and muted tone. The story in this game is really good! You feel actual tension as things start to happen, the protagonists are very down-to-earth and view you as actual FRIENDS and not battle buddies like those 5 caricatures from X and Y (shows how great they are when I can't even remember their names), and best of all, YOU FEEL ACTUAL EMOTIONS AS IT PROGRESSES. There are some genuinely touching moments in the game!

    The driving force behind this story is Lillie. Lillie is the best character in the Pokemon franchise since N. I'm not exaggerating, she really is a great character! She's not an obnoxious damsel in distress, nor an edgy 'I hate everything and everyone' if you know what I mean. She's a very grounded, yet emotional young woman with a ghastly upbringing. Her mother is a Ultra Beast obsessed lunatic, and her father is a street thug. After being through all of this, she ends up meeting the player, and as the journey goes on, she grows more autonomous and cheerful.

    The only issue I can highlight is that she CAN seem kinda cliched at times, but overall, she's a fantastic character, and a great motivation to progress through the game. I really hope she appears in another Pokemon installment.

    With all of that out of the way, it's time to talk about the negatives.

    Unfortunately, the biggest issue I had with the game is still present. The new Pokemon may have great designs but their stats are incredibly "Second-rate." The most common complaint about them is that they're too slow... and yeah, I empathize with that. Tip: When you get to the battle tree, DON'T USE GEN 7 POKEMON. THEY SIMPLY CAN'T COMPETE WITH OLDER ONES. Yes, there are exceptions, but the majority of them just can't hold their own against anything but themselves.

    The only other huge issue I have is the pacing. Not only does the story take a bit of time to gain some traction (despite its quality), but the opening tutorials like the trainer school last way longer than they should. Sorry, but taking 2 hours to tell me stuff I already know isn't acceptable.

    At the end of the day, I'm very happy that I played these games. GAMEFREAK has shown to me that even though they will always stick with the winning formula, they at least had a bit of ambition while making these games.

    I will recommend this game to any Poke-fan out there, maybe even most folks who own a 3DS. Here's hoping for a sequel of some kind.

    8/10
    Full Review »