• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    I've logged 70 hours on the game so far, and I'm nowhere near quitting. Sure, I've finished the game many times already, but the game's structure of almost endless goals keeps me coming back for more every single day. [Jan 2003, p.82]
  2. 94
    Sonic Team has done so many things right here that it's hard to wrap my head around everything simultaneously.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    93
    A masterpiece...PSO will, ever so slowly, sink its addictive claws into your brain, never to let go, even after you've beaten it once. Or twice. Or more... [Dec 2002, p.93]
  4. The best RPG the GameCube has to offer, and it is the only online game the GameCube has to offer, not to mention that it is a damn good one.
  5. It gives players a large variety of options for both online and offline play and provides hours of gameplay with two long quests, numerous side-quests and several multiplayer modes. [Import]
  6. GMR Magazine
    90
    Unhealthily addictive. [Feb 2003, p.96]
  7. Sixty hours is barely scratching the sun beaten and twisted surface of this game. Sixty hours in PSO is nothing.
  8. Those that criticise and vindicate the linearity of the one player game are misunderstanding the central theme. Atmospherically, the game is without rival and the sense of community is absolutely charming.
  9. AceGamez
    90
    Atmospherically the game is without rival and the sense of community is absolutely charming.
  10. 90
    Online, I can tell you, the experience is completely different and the sense of being in a whole new world shines through brilliantly.
  11. The addictive gameplay is still here as well, even if it is the same levels and stages over and over again at times, and new areas just means more hours sunk into sitting in front of the console.
  12. The only real flaw that I saw is the tendency for lag to creep in during a four person game, as the Gamecube does get a little stressed by the amount of processing required.
  13. A gloriously realised futuristic Gauntlet-style playground where you can chat, trade, cooperate and do battle. Pure magic. [NGC]
  14. Simple addicting gameplay and graphics ranging from nice to outstanding are wonderful to behold, but the absence of a keyboard seriously hurts the online play and community.
  15. 90
    To say that Sonic Team has added a lot of new stuff to PSO would be the understatement of the century.
  16. Abandons exterior features and special effects to deliver an addicting Action/RPG with an intriguing story and noticeable Japanese influences.
  17. It's simple, it's easy to learn, and it's fun. I declare the GameCube's first online game to be a success... However, I cannot stress enough that it isn't worth your time and money if you're not going to play online.
  18. Addictive personalities will no doubt find themselves caught up in the game to the exclusion of all else. There's always one more quest to undertake, one more rare to find, one more level to grow…it's these elements that keep people coming back.
  19. But even if you only go online with this game for a month or 2, it will be wholeheartedly worth it.
  20. Note: This review was written by a moron that was too cheap to go online (that and the fact all the &*%$#*@ adapters were sold out) and play it. So he had to opt out and go for the less-than-perfect split screen option with his smelly, fat, and hairy, best friend.
  21. Game Informer
    80
    The design is light years behind the PC market. [Jan 2003, p.101]
  22. 80
    If you're already a PSO vet, there's little reason beyond character-leveling to re-play the first episode, but for one and all, there is a new, engaging and entertaining experience here, provided you can pay the online piper.
  23. 80
    Not only a great game, but also a terrific online RPG that is an ideal ambassador for the GameCube's online hardware.
  24. When you start to dream about how pissed off you are that the game target locked your lv12 Rafoie spell to the item boxes to your right instead of the 6 enemies walking towards you to your left you know it is time to call it quits for a while.
  25. Despite the game's flaws, it's still as addictive as ever, and you'll find yourself playing it for hours on end.
  26. Nintendo Power
    78
    Provides an involving offline experience for up to four players. [Dec 2002, p.218]
  27. The game can be fairly tedious sometimes, but it has enough good moments and great multi-player to be a fun game.
  28. Whilst we're still deeply enthused by Sonic Team's opus, all of this means that to enjoy this game costs an awful lot of money. Perhaps too much money.
  29. Edge Magazine
    70
    For those willing to invest in all of the paraphernalia required to experience it, Phantasy Star Online remains a beguiling prospect. [May 2003, p.104]
  30. GameNow
    67
    Paying $8.95 per month is a crapload, right? Well, it is, considering what the game doesn't give you - a persistent world (like in "Everquest"), or any sort of ranking system. [Dec 2002, p.74]
  31. Admittedly better value for money than the rather uninspired "version 2" Dreamcast release, but for a game which has seen as much development as this to suffer from fundamental flaws and dodgy design decisions in so many areas is bizarre.

Awards & Rankings

18
12
#12 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
20
#20 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 73
  2. Negative: 10 out of 73
  1. AdamG.
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    I have only played offline with my friends, but it was still a dazziling experiance, one for me to enjoy.
  2. AndyE.
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played and all is great, offline, online, multiplayer, all modes too, normal, challenge and specially This is the best game I've ever played and all is great, offline, online, multiplayer, all modes too, normal, challenge and specially battle. I curse everyone who doesn't likes it, well that was just a joke but anyway. And those who say: You fight bears? pinguins? Well I guess those haven't even leveled up more than lv. 20 and they get killed. That's called a non-challenging person. Full Review »
  3. MikkoA.
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    Its a good game! I can go with it for hours!! And the multiplayer is great!!!