User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 907 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 907
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it As soon as I first popped Twilight Princess into my Gamecube I fell in love with it. The Hyrule of this game is arguably my favorite out of all of the games, as its huge expanses and beautiful visuals make it truly epic. While the story is somewhat odd at first and the side quest system is a little lacking, the locales, gameplay, and amazing visuals really complete the game and turn it into an excellent title. While it is good on the Wii, the game just seems made for the Gamecube. The mirrored world and odd controls of the Wii version, as well as the subtle but annoying (annoying to a true Zelda fan, that is) fact that Link is right handed in that incarnation, make the Gamecube the best system to play this amazing game on. Expand
  2. ShawnA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda Excellent game with great graphics and control, the different skills you learn are great and help imensely at some points of the game, for example, the "Mortal Draw" is great for removing the Darknuts' armour while the "Back Slice" is good for when the armour is off. If you are just starting with this series, you will probably enjoy yourself very much. If you are a Legend of Zelda veteran, you will instantly see the resemblances to Ocarina of Time, But thse ill be more in the story than the graphics. Those are much better than any other 3D Zelda game out there. The action gets greater and greater to an eventual climax...and then the credits begin. This is a game that will surely go far and Zelda fans are sure love it. Expand
  3. AlexV.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    This game is really incredible. The graphics for the gamecube version really surprised me and the storyline was fantastic!
  4. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    A beautiful outro to an unforgettable video game console. Pros: Excels beyond Ocarina of Time with its stunning graphics, control, camera, and audio; varied gameplay. Cons: The Wii's excellent fishing controls is missed.
  5. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    This is not only one of the best Zelda games but one of the best games ever made. Just brilliant, fun with a great soundtrack and amzing story and characters. A masterpiece without doubt!
  6. Sep 3, 2020
    10
    easily my favorite game of all time, near perfect game. would've liked a tiny bit more side quests and a little more deeper combat but thats me knitpicking cause i cant think of anything to dislike. Story is 10/10 one of the only stories i've cried for
  7. Jul 12, 2020
    9
    The larger, grander scale version of Ocarina of Time. Whatever limitations were in place due to the N64, have been worked on for the last game from Nintendo for the Gamecube. Larger world, longer story, better music, dark story both thematically and literally. Easily one of the best Zelda games, and one of the best Gamecube games. Masterclass of game design.

    .
  8. Mar 22, 2021
    10
    This game is my favourite Zelda game of all time alongside BOTW. This game has arguably the best dungeons and bosses in the Loz franchise capturing that sense of epicness and atmosphere. The atmosphere is apparent in every dungeon you go to. Places like the city in the sky blow you away in terms of how beautiful it looks whilst places such as the palace of twilight give you that sense ofThis game is my favourite Zelda game of all time alongside BOTW. This game has arguably the best dungeons and bosses in the Loz franchise capturing that sense of epicness and atmosphere. The atmosphere is apparent in every dungeon you go to. Places like the city in the sky blow you away in terms of how beautiful it looks whilst places such as the palace of twilight give you that sense of disturbance as if your in a completely different world you don't belong in. The dungeons are hard but not particularly frustrating or over complicated unlike majoras masks great bay temple which is just pure frustration.The bosses whilst not particularly hard are just fun and memorable to fight. Bosses like stallord, Zant and the final boss are just brilliant because of their large variety in phases, attacks and different types of arena's. The gameplay diversity is great as well. Whilst Ocarina of time may just surpass it in terms of gameplay down to the fact it makes a greater use of all its items. TP brings in some newer items such as the spinner and the ball and chain which makes the dungeons even better to progress through. Wolf link also makes the gameplay more diverse than it already is. By giving the player the opportunity to explore and cleanse the twilight. Then you have the story. Great characters, great cutscenes, great diologue, a great villain, the mystery of the twilight and past events and an epic finale followed by and emotional end. This game only gets better and better the more you play it and to this day it is one of my most memorable gaming experiences I've ever had. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2021
    10
    just perfect. bigger world than ocarina of time, the music, story, gameplay is amazing and theres so many things that you can do!! personally i like to go fishing.
  10. AB
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is not a single word to describe the latest Zelda. The game is simply a masterpiece. It truly transcends each game in the entire series and stands as the greatest video game of all time. The puzzles are perfect, the graphics are gorgeous, and the story is fascinating. Unlike other Zelda games, Twilight Princess is not a simple collection of dungeons amidst a few traveling missions. There is an excellent progressive story that leads the player through a breathtaking experience in a spectacular fashion. Each moment of the game is exhilarating; the characters are amazing, and they develop an emotionally effective plot. The Zelda series is arguably the best in gaming, and Twilight Princess makes it even better. Expand
  11. MarkusE.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    Attn: Robert K. did you only get halfway through the game or something? Beat the whole thing before you vote. Beginning with dungeon #4, you get fresh, new items that were never before seen in OoT and TWW. The dungeons have completely new puzzles.
  12. ZacR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by [**SPOILERS**] I really loved this game. I've never been a HUGE Zelda fan but I did enjoy ocarina of time and wind waker alot. This game definately throws even some of the oldest Zelda fans in a loop. The puzzles are harder and The bosses are more bloodthristy than ever. It was interesting to see what happened after Wind Waker (if you notice you get the tunic of the hero chosen by the gods. The Wind Waker link was chosen by the gods. The Ocarina link was chosen by fate.) I was sad to see there weren't any deku trees but I guess they all died out after wind waker. I guess drinking all that water can do that to you though. I was really excited at the end when Gannon actually DIED. Before we have only seen him turn to stone or vanish. (He turns to stone in Wind Waker. In Ocarina of Time you never see a body. I suppose he runs off and trys to get his strength back. Which after happening he trys to take over hyrule only for it to be flooded and then him imprisoned untill later) It was really amazing to see that when the water leveled out that they actually tried to have him executed. The entire game was simply amazing. I can't stop trembling with excitement for the next installment and an even deadlier foe! Expand
  13. KevinB.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess easily nailed the game of the year. Thats not really the question. The question I really had to ask myself was whether it was the greatest game of all time or not. After alot of soul searching I concluded that Yes, it is by far the greatest game of all time.
  14. NickC.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    Great graphics, great gameplay, good replay value, and just plain awesome from start to finish. If you like Zelda, you have to play this game. If you DON'T like Zelda, you should still play this game.
  15. MelodyC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    A very fun game to play. The plot is really good and it connects with one another. It's a long adventure game and totally fun!
  16. UweP.
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed What a massive game this is! Took me just shy of 60 hours to complete, and that's excluding a lot of the optional stuff you can collect and secret areas to explore. Like previous Zeldas, though, it's the dungeons which are the main focus of the game, but this time there've been paid much more attention to unexpected, thrilling events occuring in the exquisitely designed world of Hyrule before you gain access to the next dungeon. Only during the opening 10-15 hours of the game does it feel slightly padded out with a couple of collecting tasks, but then the game really ramps up the pace and doesn't stop until the jaw-droppingly spectacular finale. Expand
  17. BrianS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run I agree with Jeff and Matt, this game has some brilliant scenes and controls are up to par with any game. However, most of this game just leaves you feeling pretty empty after defeating extremely easy bosses and solving the slightly difficult puzzles. The storyline just doesn't fit with ocrina or wind waker, but trys to hint at it with several scenes. Overall a solid game to run through, but just not really ground breaking on any level. Expand
  18. Megan
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the I think almost everyone here is overating the game. It was good yes but there were quite a few problems with the game. 1st. Grahpics- I had no problem with most of the graphics, they were very detailed and amazing. 2nd-Gameplay- I was glad they finally made Link leanr moves, that was a very good improvement to this game. Some of the controls were a bit irritating and every boss in the game was immensly easy. but other then that I didnt have to much of a problem. 3rd- music This was a big dissapiontment in certain ways. some of the music I was so happy to hear because it was from OOT. It gave me old memories, but then the rest was just annoyingat times. They could have had time to make it orchestrated. 4th-Storyline- Now The storyline was the big part that cause me to have a problem with the game. mostly the ending. Of course the last boss is easy, your expecting this great ending and it starts off alright and then you see something and link runs to it and its all a nice suprise, and then the credits come. half of them are so pointless and annoying I was telling the game to hurry to the good stuff. Then It shows a cutscene and its pretty good. and then its goes bakc to credits and you see *spoiler* Ilia waiting for him, and link riding Epona back to his home town. you never find out what happens to Link or Zelda ever again as in each Zelda. There could have been so much more and this is why I gave this an a 8. Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    i picked this game up the day i got my wii and man i enjoyed the hell out of it. i spent some days staying up till 4 in the morning playing it its that fun.
  20. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    I loved Twilight Princess, it had some dark themes just as Majoras Mask did which i would like to see more of. The boss fights were fantastic in this one, they had a very epic feeling to them and the dungeons were modestly challenging too
  21. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wantsThe amount of hate over the years for this game is incredible. I can't understand why so many people didn't like it. Although, I do admit the Wolf sections were pretty lame... but unique. The rest of the game shines, easily making it into my top 5 Zelda games of all time. The longest game in the series, and the darkest, Twilight Princess is a must-play for any Zelda fan or anyone who wants to get into the series. (The GC version is apparently regarded as superior to the Wii version by many... Sure, superior... because of the controls... Anything else? No? Ok then...) Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles! This
    Wow! Just wow!

    If you're looking for a great Zelda experience, this is it! Never have I played a more amazing Zelda titles since Ocarina of Time! This game takes the elements that we loved about Ocarina of Time and mixes it up into something completely different whil still retaining what we loved so much from the N64 masterpiece. This personally one of my favorite Zelda titles!

    This is one of the Gamecube's masterpieces! It is a must-have, and superior to the Wii version!
    Expand
  23. May 25, 2014
    10
    This is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. ButThis is the best Zelda game I've played, Wind Waker and Ocarina of Time (Some of the best in the series according to others) just weren't as good compared to Twilight Princess in my opinion. The dungeons were creative and fun and the puzzles weren't to easy or extremely hard. The boss battles were also not to easy or too challenging. The NPCs had personality instead of feeling bland. But mostly the game had a great story line and focused the game around it. I've ranked this game #2 in my Top games list, it was just that good Expand
  24. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    This is an awesome game, it has some of the strongest dungeons and bosses in the series. Midna is a character you actually care about and the story is great. The game-play is probably the best there has been and the music is as fantastic as always. I recommend this game to anyone who a Game-cube or a Wii.
  25. May 30, 2015
    10
    This version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. ItThis version is so much better than the Wii version just for the fact you're able to use an actual GameCube controller. I'm a big time fan of the Zelda series and this game is one of the best Zelda games aside from OOT, Majoras Mask, Wind Waker, and Skyward sword. I liked how the hyrule field was 20x bigger than the original zelda games. The actual gameplay itself is a masterpiece. It starts off with a slow pace in the beginning but once you pull the Master Sword out, uncover the plot and what's going on in Hyrule that you'll actually love the game for what it's worth. It has one badass ending and Gannondorf is finally back with one of the best endings for a Zelda game. I've personally liked the showdown with Gannondorf/Gannon aside from the N64 classic. I like this version better because the Wii motion controls for the game just feels very gimmicky. Expand
  26. Aug 19, 2020
    10
    Melhor jogo que já joguei.
    Praticamente não consigo vê nenhum defeito no jogo. 11/10
  27. Aug 11, 2018
    10
    C'est l'un des meilleurs jeux que j'ai joué dans ma vie. Vous en aurez pour plus de 40-50 heures à compléter la quête. Les graphiques sont magnifiques pour un jeu de Game Cube. Voilà, ce jeu mérite sa moyenne de 96%
  28. Jun 26, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece. Everything was unique, amazing and great entertainment. If you’re looking for a game almost as good as ocarina of time, this is for you!
  29. Apr 24, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A solid entry to the 3D Zelda series, but not without its caveats.

    OPENING
    Twilight Princess features what is essentially a double opening - one to introduce you to Link, the Hero of Twilight, and another to display the best (which admittedly isn't much) of his new wolf form. While it appears to many to be a slog, I am of the opinion that it opens the game near-perfectly, balancing the two forms while making an opening still better than the pain that was Skyward Sword's opening hours.

    STYLE
    Twilight Princess's more somber and muddled atmosphere is a knee-jerk reaction to the negative attention brought to The Wind Waker's cartoon cel-shading. It's a love-it-or-hate-it, controversial style, and while it accurately reflects the game's tone, it remains drab and colorless sans a few dungeons and hidden areas. The GameCube-realism style has also aged quite awfully.

    OVERWORLD
    Hyrule is more packed than ever before, with enemies left and right, Epona combat on a new level, a bustling Castle Town area, and puzzles scattered all around. Unfortunately, the grass textures are boring and lame, somewhat remedied by the standout and memorable Field theme. There's not much to do as Wolf Link, however, which seems to be a trend throughout the game. The Tears of Light are too abundant and tend to miss their point (introducing the player to a new area), instead becoming a bit boring and tedious.

    DUNGEONS
    Link adventures through several of the series's best dungeons - Lakebed Temple showing off a surprisingly complex interconnected spinning staircase puzzle, Arbiter's Grounds uniquely using the Wolf form for a Poe hunt and the underappreciated Spinner to ride around the dungeon, Snowpeak Temple and City in the Sky displaying new mechanics with excellent atmosphere, and Hyrule Castle tying each mechanic together in a great tie-up to the game. The other dungeons, while less notable, are still stellar for the most part despite getting a bit caught up in the Zelda formula.

    ENEMIES and BOSSES
    Twilight Princess is NOT difficult. Despite this, it has excellent enemy variety (a nice compliment to Breath of the Wild's bland "Bokoblin, Moblin, Bokoblin, Moblin" pattern) showcased just by the mere presence of the Bulblins, enemies that appear only once more (in the often neglected Spirit Tracks). Most enemies are creatively designed to fit with the game's more realistically textured atmosphere while using attack patterns that bring out the best of Link's expanded combat capabilities - my favorite example being the Darknuts. On the topic of bosses, while not very difficult, the designs are stunning and unique. Stallord, Blizzeta, Zant, and the many phases of Ganondorf, while (again) not difficult make up for it in just how darn fun they are. Unfortunately, there are Morpheel and Diababa, who flop. The minibosses are great as well, my favorites being Death Sword (for his use of Wolf Link) and Skull Kid.

    COMBAT
    Link: Awesome. Wolf Link: Meh, okay. Link sports many Hidden Skills that he can learn from his Ocarina of Time ancestor throughout the game that are fun to use and fun to watch unfold. They're more interactive than Wind Waker's "skills," thankfully. Wolf Link, on the other hand, sees some nice use with scents and Poes, but otherwise feels a bit too cheesy and forced in. He's never really given a time to shine.

    STORY
    This is where Twilight Princess distinguishes itself. The devs ditch the annoying companions for Midna, who has a real and tangible character arc and isn't annoying. Zelda, while serving as a key character who brings on some tear-jerking moments midgame, serves as more of a Triforce-obligation as Midna takes center stage. While I won't spoil every detail, the story of Twilight Princess is highlighted by memorable characters and memorable enemies. The big bad seems to be the outcast Twili dictator Zant, who wishes to take Hyrule for his own and cast a twilight shadow over the land. However, halfway through the game it is revealed that Zant is being manipulated by none other than Ganondorf, the King of Thieves himself. This is a very widely criticized plot twist, often cited as happening at the end of the game and for ruining a perfectly good villain (Zant). I disagree entirely, with the former claim being untrue (Ganondorf was shown as early as the Arbiter's Grounds) and the latter being misguided - Zant's manipulation is a key part of his character, just as his shift to insanity was (an equally criticized and controversial move). While some say the Twilight Palace scene makes Zant look like a "manbaby," I say it shows his true character - a lunatic, a fanatic, and someone who knows that he is done for and only tries to use the last of his power - but fails, as always. Plus, he gets some redemption at the end by snapping his own neck to kill off Dorf for good!
    Expand
  30. Jun 25, 2019
    10
    A masterpiece, one more from the greatest saga ever created, now whit more challenging dungeons, epic enemies and whitout zelda this time, a really cool refresh to tloz games and a must to play for any gamer, a truly masterpiece.
  31. Jun 21, 2020
    9
    Unique setting, cute characters, dark fairytale atmosphere. Probably the best story in the Zelda series. But backtracking in this game is really frustrating.
  32. Jan 29, 2020
    10
    One of my favourite Zelda games. Love this game so much! I really enjoy the design and the colors. It's so mysterious and dark in the best kind of way.
  33. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    This is a great dark themed Zelda game, though it is definitely not very original for a story other than Midna. Still a great experience that was well worth my time.
  34. May 3, 2021
    10
    Indeed, this is a "must to play" game, i feel this chapter like an "ocarina of time 2" because use things like the music and some areas that remembers (to the player) the ocarina of time fields. This is an awesome game.
  35. Aug 24, 2021
    10
    In my opinion, the best Zelda experience, perfectioning the Ocarina of Time formula.
    Beautiful dark art style, nice soundtrack and a great narrative. Probably with the most challenging puzzles of the saga. The combat system gets more enjoyable as you progress through the story.
    Simply one of the best videogames of history, will leave you marked.
  36. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Best Legend of Zelda Game! Twilight Princess is not only creative but fun and addicting. The story is great and is easy to dive into while the whole mechanics of the game flows perfectly!
  37. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game,I have no idea why people say its bad for Zelda game! It had outstanding graphics for a gamecube game. The fighting style in this game is so much better than any other game and made me feel so bad ass. It's definitely a great new adventure and has cool new weapons and armor you wouldnt expect. The wolf parts couldve been alittle more fun but it was still an interesting addition the game, especially when you got to choose to be the wolf whenever you want. I'd say this is the most amazing zelda game out there, next to Oot. Expand
  38. Nov 5, 2020
    10
    Very good legend of Zelda game. In fact, I’d consider it the best out of all of them.
  39. Apr 28, 2017
    3
    This game is my least favourite Zelda game, it has too many flaws to be enjoyable. I didn't enjoy the fact that items were only used in the dungeon they were found in (the spinner in arbitrer's grounds for example). The story is okay, the soundtrack is disappointing (it's not even orchestrated), the graphics have aged less well than Wind Waker's graphics, and the Wolf Link sections areThis game is my least favourite Zelda game, it has too many flaws to be enjoyable. I didn't enjoy the fact that items were only used in the dungeon they were found in (the spinner in arbitrer's grounds for example). The story is okay, the soundtrack is disappointing (it's not even orchestrated), the graphics have aged less well than Wind Waker's graphics, and the Wolf Link sections are long, tedious and boring. Also, the Boss battles are extremely easy and the AI is stupid, and for a game that's supposed to be "more mature" that's a letdown. The overworked may be huge, but it's empty. I'd rather play a game with a small but interesting overworld than spend hours crossing an emptying boring overworld. Do yourself a favour and skip this game, play Skyward Sword, or Ocarina of Time, those are much better. Expand
  40. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    For me Twilight Princess fells like a not as good as expected, clone of OoT. Everything reminds me of OoT expect that it is not made as good as in OoT. Its comes out of the short end.
  41. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Twilight Princess is one of my all time favorite games period! Even though the Zelda franchise has multiple masterpieces, Twilight Princess defines that word in a newer more unique way that sets apart from the others. Many of its dungeons, bosses and minibosses are arguably some of the very best in the entire series. It undoubtedly has the best fight mechanics for example you being able toTwilight Princess is one of my all time favorite games period! Even though the Zelda franchise has multiple masterpieces, Twilight Princess defines that word in a newer more unique way that sets apart from the others. Many of its dungeons, bosses and minibosses are arguably some of the very best in the entire series. It undoubtedly has the best fight mechanics for example you being able to bash enemies in the face with your shield or swing your sword while on horseback. And you can even ride giant boars in some places! It has likely the most breathtaking landscapes and sceneries. One of the largest and most immersive worlds in the series, filled with plenty of secrets. It literally has the best items as well as the easiest & quickest way to equip them. It has many of the best minigames. Most of all it has some of the best characters and Midna is UNDENIABLY the best companion to Link out of all the Zelda games. Best of all you get to turn into a wolf for a long list of reasons and uses that I won't go into. I could go on and on about what I love about this game. This game will truly stand the test of time. And let it be noted that whatever nitpicky problems anyone has with this game, they can expect them to be fixed in the remake. Which substantial evidence shows is almost certainly being made, despite Nintendo neither confirming or denying it. If only I owned a Wii U I would say that I can't for them to make it. Expand
  42. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    After years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If youAfter years of taking mediocre zelda games like Wind Waker we finally get to see a Zelda game the way it was meant to be seen. The game is just as epic as Ocarina of Time, including great dungeons, puzzles, atmosphere, and an incredible story. The game is also very long, possibly the longest Zelda game of all. The music is incredible and match with it's beautiful environment. If you are a fan looking for a game that meets the expectations of Ocarina of Time, then this is a must own game. Expand
  43. CraigD.
    Jan 6, 2007
    6
    Decent is the perfect word. Not something you would expect from Zelda. I think most people who give this game a 10 are just way too excited that a new Zelda game was released. No matter who you are, you have to admit that the creators could have been a little more creative on this one. I hope there will be much more to the next Zelda game.
  44. Mar 6, 2017
    0
    This game is one of the worst Zelda games, it's not even a good game. The wolf link sections are SO boring. Hyrule field may seem massive, but it's actually empty.
  45. DanW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    4
    Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has Zelda needs to mature. Repitition, uninspired design and twisted storyline that reminds me off a bad disney movie make this game fall flat on its face. The wolf segments were a shameless Okami ripoff without the joy or creativity and the gamein general just felt like if OoT had lost its lustre. A pathetic attempt. To be honest, I've lost faith in Miyamoto, Shadow of the Colossus has made me remember that fantasy games can be good, and don't have to have an overblown ego. You know you've seen everything when Sony starts making better fantasy games than Nintendo. Expand
  46. RobertK.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the The game feels like an Ocarina of Time remake with only a quarter of the charm. The good things about this game are the same things that made OoT so compelling - good dungeons, a fun story, interesting items and a decent story. However, the game falls down on two main fronts that make it an absolute bore to play. The items are the same as OoT. It is no longer exciting to use the boomerang. We did it in OoT and WW. Let it retire. The puzzles in the dungeons are the same. Lighting spider webs with fire is now second nature, not problem solving. And finally, the story is the same, even down to smaller details like Zora's Domain freezing over. Even the locations are the bloody same. It is a rehash, but without the fun of time travel or the ocarina. The fun is gone - even playing OoT now is still as fun an experience as ever and all the games since just seem to be lacking the spark that made it so good. To truly enjoy a new Zelda game it needs to be distinct from OoT, like WW, but TP just feels so similar, but so much less. Also, the game environments are unnecessarily big. Traveling around involves traversing miles of boring countryside. This is annoying at best, but if you are engaged in one of the games many collect-a-thon's it is excruiating (especially when doing the third tears of light misson). I feel like Nintendo's boasting about the game taking 70 hours to complete is accurate, but I'd wager at least 30 of those hours are spent getting from point A to B rather than actually doing anything captivating. My final complaint about the game is that the pacing is off - despite starting with Epona, it takes far too long to get items and acquire skills. As a result of the pacing, TP takes hours (literally) to get anywhere significant in the game - for the most part you will feel handicapped by the lack of things at your disposal. Oh, and playing as a wolf is totally boring. Having no items severely limited the amount of puzzles Nintendo could think of and as a result it got old after about 20 minutes. All in all, I can't understand why it took Nintendo 4 years to make the same game over. It was probably programming the overly filtered graphics. PS, Link runs like his back is braced by a steel rod. Motion captured my butt. Expand
  47. JefF.
    Dec 10, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and [***SPOILERS***] It is a good game, and a horrible Zelda game. Half of all the other Zelda games involves talking to people and helping them. In this game there are very few people and the only time you need to help them is to keep the main plot going. Very few distractions (heart pieces, fishing, bugs, poes, thats it) and the distractions are tedious. It was easy and fast to finish and my biggest dissapointment was that I was hoping for fierce diety to be in here somewhere. Its the twilight and the darkness, why couldn't they have put in a quasi evil link - it would have been perfect! I was even hoping that zant would bE some kind of incarnation of oni link, but no, hes just a wierd guy that has gannon's power. and why did Gannondorf die at the end. He can't die if he is in the wind waker. The ending didn't make sense. The plotline was banal. Very few twists that were exciting. Very few new opportunities in this game (though fighting that guy on the bridge on top of epona was cool) overall, step up your game Nintendo! Your getting lazy! Expand
  48. BenL.
    Mar 12, 2007
    0
    I have played this game before haven't I? You wait years for them to come up with a new Zelda game and they use the same story as they have used before! Surely they can come up with some new ideas? Waste of Money.
  49. ZachL.
    Nov 6, 2007
    6
    I am a huge Zelda fan, i have all of them, but with TP I think they could have done better, my number one complaint is that you get an item like a slingshot, use it for one dungeon and then get a bow and arrow that used for the rest of the game, you find yourself never using that first item again, same with the rod that controls statues, i only used it in that one dungeon (temple of I am a huge Zelda fan, i have all of them, but with TP I think they could have done better, my number one complaint is that you get an item like a slingshot, use it for one dungeon and then get a bow and arrow that used for the rest of the game, you find yourself never using that first item again, same with the rod that controls statues, i only used it in that one dungeon (temple of time), which was the easiest dungeon ever (hate to say it). Another thing is that this game took 4 years to make. It took Oblivion for the 360 only 3. And look at the difference between the two. I still like playing it it is good fun, but it is a let down in my opinion. It became to si-fi such as a city in the sky and a twilight world with monsters that explode into squares when they die. The colors of the world were way to muddy and gritty, no deep blue water and dark green forests. There were a few good music soundtracks, but the rest still sounded like i was playing a super NES zelda. I hated the red suit of armor that you could only wear for a few minutes because you ran out of coins so fast. Dumb idea. What about a zelda with like six different tunics (green, red, blue, yellow, black white whatever) each with special abilities and consequences much the zora outfit of TP, and a bunch different swords(fire,ice) and so on. Expand
  50. RytangoM.
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    I love all the bad reviews of this game, because well, they are right. my biggest disappointment was how HUGE the world is, but there is very little to do. also Zelda being a surprisingly minor character was a let down. i liked the swordsman idea, but i rarely used any of the special moves i learned. there were so many dungeons but not one gave me a challenge or sense of accomplishment. I love all the bad reviews of this game, because well, they are right. my biggest disappointment was how HUGE the world is, but there is very little to do. also Zelda being a surprisingly minor character was a let down. i liked the swordsman idea, but i rarely used any of the special moves i learned. there were so many dungeons but not one gave me a challenge or sense of accomplishment. Zelda TP gives you something to do, but once i beat it, i never felt compelled to go through it again like OoT or LttP. Expand
  51. MikeK
    Oct 7, 2009
    7
    This game is horribly overrated. It's a decent game, but the whole world feels empty and deserted, most of the dungeons are horribly linear with little to no interesting puzzles or challenge, and the bosses are outright pathetic. I enjoyed the ride, but I wouldn't bother playing it again.
  52. Astra
    Jun 29, 2009
    6
    twilight princess is a good game, don't get me wrong, but i couldn't get into the storyline like i could with other games- yeah sure it had qualities from all the games and great graphics, but graphics aren't everything.
  53. MattM.
    Dec 16, 2006
    6
    Yeah, I agree with Jef F. It's a fun game, just a horrible Zelda game. I mean, if you really liked the N64 Zeldas this will feel/look fairly similiar, it's just the story and ideas are different; which is cool, but kind of convuluted. It feels like they were trying to go with a FFSotC emotional maturity here, but it just isn't working. The story comes out convoluted and Yeah, I agree with Jef F. It's a fun game, just a horrible Zelda game. I mean, if you really liked the N64 Zeldas this will feel/look fairly similiar, it's just the story and ideas are different; which is cool, but kind of convuluted. It feels like they were trying to go with a FFSotC emotional maturity here, but it just isn't working. The story comes out convoluted and lame. Personally, I prefered Wind Waker(minus the endless boat sailing) as it had style that didn't look like dated graphics, fun gameplay, good story, and had a lot of humor/emotion to it that made fun of stuff that Twilight Princess is. Fun to play, gives you a Zelda fix, but just have a feeling it would have been a better game if they got rid of the Zelda license in this. Expand
  54. JoeB.
    Dec 25, 2006
    5
    Must be geek love. I wanted to like this game. I really did. 4+ years in the making just may have been a few months too many. This game was just WAY too linear for a Zelda title. Dungeon. Rinse. Repeat. Remember in OoT when you got to Lake Hylea by trying to jump the gorge between Hyrule Field and the Gerudo Fortress? The idea that you get to a new environment early was super cool. Must be geek love. I wanted to like this game. I really did. 4+ years in the making just may have been a few months too many. This game was just WAY too linear for a Zelda title. Dungeon. Rinse. Repeat. Remember in OoT when you got to Lake Hylea by trying to jump the gorge between Hyrule Field and the Gerudo Fortress? The idea that you get to a new environment early was super cool. Secrets like the Scarecrow's Song (incentive to revist dungeons). Obtaining critical items in non-dungeon diversions (a hookshot to cross the gorge -- and Dampe had it in the graveyard!). gone are the subtle hints about people's motives (if you're looking for the character complexity of Majora's Mask, you're in for a HUGE disappointment). In other words, there's just no playing "off the map" on this one. You need a bull to break fences when you just got a giant ball and chain that can smash metal armor? One change of tunic. One sword. No masks (no secret ones, anyway). What a huge disappointment. Because most of the 10's have been coupled with minimal comments, I can't for the life of me figure out why anyone not suffering from geek love (and I wanted to be that guy!) would like this game. Expand
  55. HenkB.
    Jun 17, 2007
    2
    why is it that people like this game so much. i've played trough it and in one word: repetive it's just the same lame thing after the other and when i ask friends why they like it so much they say: 'it's zelda man! Zelda!' Ok, sorry Zelda but i don't like your game, wan't a cookie now?
  56. JackH
    Jun 17, 2008
    4
    I absolutely agree with Dan W.'s review of this game. It was exactly what i was screaming (not literally) whenever i first became the wolf in LoZ: TP...an uninspired Okami rip-off in this regard...too little too late. Had this game come out before Okami it would have been more revolutionary. Also just watching the intro to the game (where link rides on his horse across a regularly I absolutely agree with Dan W.'s review of this game. It was exactly what i was screaming (not literally) whenever i first became the wolf in LoZ: TP...an uninspired Okami rip-off in this regard...too little too late. Had this game come out before Okami it would have been more revolutionary. Also just watching the intro to the game (where link rides on his horse across a regularly sized bridge) i couldn't help but laugh in disappointment. Shadow of the Colussus....which did a far better job of creating a since of adventure, peril, and horsebacking through a lush landscape. Again i reitterate...too little too late. This was not true zelda fans from back in the regular nintendo era & beyond deserve. I didn't even bother finishing this game because it was such a disappointment. In today's world flooded with games, you have the right to be choosey and not settle for less. Play Okami and SotC instead. Expand
  57. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    "For Zelda is only 1 game with a 'Million' Dresses," - Ben Yahtzee Crosshaw

    I ahve to agree, sometimes there's a water mechanic, a 3d machanic, a sidescrollin' mechanic, a transformation mechanic, a music machanic, a 1st person mechanic, ECT ECT, But by this point we've seen all the dressed and now they're just old ugly peices of fabric that no-one wants to look at it anymore, and when I
    "For Zelda is only 1 game with a 'Million' Dresses," - Ben Yahtzee Crosshaw

    I ahve to agree, sometimes there's a water mechanic, a 3d machanic, a sidescrollin' mechanic, a transformation mechanic, a music machanic, a 1st person mechanic, ECT ECT, But by this point we've seen all the dressed and now they're just old ugly peices of fabric that no-one wants to look at it anymore, and when I was going to recap this game so I could review, I beat it within 7 hours and didn't bother caring about anything, so I can't give a Game I didn't give a **** about a score, can I?
    Expand
  58. Nov 29, 2011
    6
    Didn't live up to the hype, didn't innovate any game mechanics for the series and had nothing that defined it from the other games. It is also the most boring game in the series with little to do outside the main storyline. Half assed mechanics like the wolf mode and twilight realm demonstrate that the game is half finished. Its still a good game but a horrible Zelda game and anybodyDidn't live up to the hype, didn't innovate any game mechanics for the series and had nothing that defined it from the other games. It is also the most boring game in the series with little to do outside the main storyline. Half assed mechanics like the wolf mode and twilight realm demonstrate that the game is half finished. Its still a good game but a horrible Zelda game and anybody praising it as the best in the series is kidding themselves because Twilight Princess will surely fade into obscurity as soon as the next big Zelda game is released. Expand
  59. May 29, 2012
    7
    One of the worst modern Zelda game in my opinion. Maybe is cool in the Wii as a hardware demo but in the Gamecube, there is no sense. This game lacks a lot of originality. Wind Waker was something different, this is the same game as ever. At least, if Nintendo had made it a little bit harder would be better. Also, the wolf moments are just terrible and incredibly boring. On the good side,One of the worst modern Zelda game in my opinion. Maybe is cool in the Wii as a hardware demo but in the Gamecube, there is no sense. This game lacks a lot of originality. Wind Waker was something different, this is the same game as ever. At least, if Nintendo had made it a little bit harder would be better. Also, the wolf moments are just terrible and incredibly boring. On the good side, the rest of the game is at good level. The dungeons are fun as always and the villages are beautiful. Expand
  60. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    The concept is there, the world is there. but the feeling isn't... I mean good story and grapichs? Go buy a movie guys... The sound is amazing as always and it's a big world but nothing to discover. It could just have been a savanah or a desert. wouldn't make any difference. Earlier Zelda games you could discover so much more and get rewarded for it. I don't feel like I'm getting rewardedThe concept is there, the world is there. but the feeling isn't... I mean good story and grapichs? Go buy a movie guys... The sound is amazing as always and it's a big world but nothing to discover. It could just have been a savanah or a desert. wouldn't make any difference. Earlier Zelda games you could discover so much more and get rewarded for it. I don't feel like I'm getting rewarded at all. And the mini games aren't so amusing either.... Just a shame to it's name. To easy, to boring. Nothing to do. The story is great and the idé of darkness it's all there yet so empty. Expand
  61. Jan 4, 2016
    7
    es muy buen juego porque no me parece una obra maestra y con ser el mejor zelda de la historia, para mi el juego es muy lineal.facil, un campo gigante pero con nada de exploracion .Muy sobrevalorado
  62. May 17, 2016
    10
    There was a GameCube version of Twilight Princess? Oh well, at least it joins with the Wii version to make the ultimate 10 combo and it makes a great Zelda game to pick up for playing. GameCube or Wii, doesn't matter.
  63. Aug 5, 2016
    4
    My freind say - this game good... no, just - NO. Because there - **** long start, and leeeeeame gameplay, but good storyline - yes, and maybe good locations. But i must say - this game... Piese of GAY ****
  64. Jun 14, 2018
    10
    Not only is this my favorite Zelda game, but is also my favorite game of all time. I know that says a lot, but almost everything about this game is perfect. I’m all about dungeons in Zelda games and this easily has the best and most creative in the series. There’s never a dungeon that I don’t look forward to playing, and there are a lot of dungeons compared to other Zelda titles. TheNot only is this my favorite Zelda game, but is also my favorite game of all time. I know that says a lot, but almost everything about this game is perfect. I’m all about dungeons in Zelda games and this easily has the best and most creative in the series. There’s never a dungeon that I don’t look forward to playing, and there are a lot of dungeons compared to other Zelda titles. The gameplay is also top notch, I love racing through Hyrule Field on Epona and taking out enemies while I ride by them. Learning the different sword techniques is also awesome-the swordplay in this game is the best in any Zelda game to date. Gameplay is great, and the soundtrack is even good. A lot of people hated the wolf sections but they only make up a small fraction of the game, and are honestly pretty fun in my opinion. Midna is also the best companion in a Zelda game - she has a deep back story and isn’t annoying af like Navi in OOT. If there was one gripe with this game the only thing I could think of is the whole twilight story that covers Hyrule during the first part of the game-just seemed kinda vague and not very “scary” like it is supposed to be. If you’re a fan of a decently long Zelda game with top notch dungeons, great gameplay, and a ton of replay value, pick this game up immediately, you won’t be disappointed! Expand
  65. Mar 5, 2020
    5
    Un Zelda sobrevalorado. Si bien no es malo, tampoco es tan bueno. Para empezar, los controles de Epona son horribles, en especial en la pelea del puente. El ambiente oscuro que tiene todo el juego, hace perder la magia de los otros Zeldas más "coloridos". Una trama que trata de emocionar, pero que en ningún momento emociona tanto como BOTW, o el aclamado OoT, Majora´s Mask, etc.
    Tiene
    Un Zelda sobrevalorado. Si bien no es malo, tampoco es tan bueno. Para empezar, los controles de Epona son horribles, en especial en la pelea del puente. El ambiente oscuro que tiene todo el juego, hace perder la magia de los otros Zeldas más "coloridos". Una trama que trata de emocionar, pero que en ningún momento emociona tanto como BOTW, o el aclamado OoT, Majora´s Mask, etc.
    Tiene cosas buenas claro, como los calabozos, el cambio de Link a lobo, pero le faltó bastante. //

    An overrated Zelda. While it's not bad, it's not that good either. First, Epona's controls are horrible, especially in the bridge fight. The dark atmosphere that has the whole game, makes lose the magic of the other more "colorful" Zelda's games. A plot that tries to thrill, but at no time excited as much as BOTW, or the acclaimed OoT, Majora´s Mask, etc.
    He has good things of course, like the dungeons, the change from Link to wolf, but he lacked a lot.
    Expand
  66. Jul 31, 2020
    0
    This game doesn't deserve the praise it gets. It's a shallow, rehashed, soulless reimagination of OoT that tried to appear dark and mature, but ended up on the complete opposite end as far as gameplay goes.
    Items are lose their utility immediately after each dungeon. Combat is boring due to the insane lack of difficulty, as well as Link's overall sluggish movement. The overworld is ugly
    This game doesn't deserve the praise it gets. It's a shallow, rehashed, soulless reimagination of OoT that tried to appear dark and mature, but ended up on the complete opposite end as far as gameplay goes.
    Items are lose their utility immediately after each dungeon. Combat is boring due to the insane lack of difficulty, as well as Link's overall sluggish movement. The overworld is ugly and only has collectibles that are rupees, or bugs/ghosts that lead to more rupees....which you can't spend on a whole lot. The wolf is a gimmick, so bad you might think they stole it from a sonic game. The story has horrible pacing and is filled to the brim with plotholes. Characters are shallow and unlikable.

    The only good thing about the game, is that the dungeons all have unique themes...too bad that they all have the same layout and follow the same repetitive item formula.

    Toilet Princess is a disgrace to this franchise and the only reason why people like it, is because they're blinded by nostalgia. It's garbage.
    Expand
  67. AnnaJ.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Yes Twilight Princess was a good game but not perfect. I died twice in all and I felt that defeating Gannondorf was too easy I was disappointed that they didnt keep the fishing music from OOT the landscaping graphics were excellent but the people was not it managed to repair the TERRIBLE shell graphics from the Windwaker but I don't think it matched OOT.
  68. RichardH.
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This game is amazing, but only for people with an attention span of more than 2 seconds.
  69. DerekG.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing. The first Zelda game with a decent plot in a long time. It is a tad easy, but I can forgive that. The graphics, other than some bad textures here and there are incredible.
  70. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess Does Twilight Princess have flaws? Well, yes. The graphics are artistically stunning, but there are some issues with the texturing in some areas. The sound is getting a bit old-sounding - there's no reason Nintendo couldn't have recorded a orchestral soundtrack. Plus, Zelda could certainly use some voice acting by now (sans Link, of course.) But at its heart, Twilight Princess is an outstanding adventure worthy of every bit of hype it's received. The dungeons are genius, the new items and weapons amazing, and the story...well, it's simply breathtaking. All flaws aside, nothing out there stands up to Twilight Princess. Not Elder Scrolls IV, not Final Fantasy XII or Okami...Zelda is, as always, right on top. Nintendo has proven it once more. Expand
  71. JosephV.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess never stops delivering. As soon as you finish, you'll want to go through it all over again.
  72. SamJ.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they Don't be discouraged by the walls of text nit picking every single element of Twilight Princess and putting a negative spin on it. Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a Zelda title, a moving storyline, inspiring characters, and most importantly, hours of enjoyment. The game mechanics and design are flawless. Not once will you be forced to redo tasks to the point they even remotely become tiring and although Hyrule is huge, transversing it is never a chore due to all the means of transportation at your disposal. If you are still skeptical after reading this, give a rent and you will likely realize you just wasted $7 since you will in all likelyhood find yourself buying it afterwards. Expand
  73. StephenP.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome! Best storyline in gaming history, angelicly easy controls, and polished off with neat graphics. Good job, Nintendo, good job.
  74. Matthew
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW Pros: Better battling than Wind Waker. At least 3x larger world than OoT and less wasted space than WW. Dungeons are much more sophisticated and in depth. Tonics look much better. Love the clawshots. Wolf transformation was cool too. Cons: Miss the Ocarina, Kiroki, ice/fire/light arrows, bombchues, and maybe the Goron Sword/some two handed sword. All in all I'd rate it better than WW but slightly worse than OoT. It was a lot longer of a game and much more challenging. Definitely a recommendation to all true Zelda fans and newbies. Expand
  75. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    Firstly I have never been a RPG fan, so naturally I found Zelda to be far too long and repetitive! But while I was still interested in the game I found it to be a jaw dropping, cinematic experience I will never forget. It is one of the top games I have played for years but the gameplay does get too similar, and by the fifth temple I was completely frustrated! So if long RPG's are Firstly I have never been a RPG fan, so naturally I found Zelda to be far too long and repetitive! But while I was still interested in the game I found it to be a jaw dropping, cinematic experience I will never forget. It is one of the top games I have played for years but the gameplay does get too similar, and by the fifth temple I was completely frustrated! So if long RPG's are your pleasure then this is for you, otherwise stick to an short but sweet venture. Expand
  76. AdamA.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    This truly is the greatest Zelda of all time. The creators took the greatest elements of all the Zelda games, threw in some very creative twists, brilliantly integrated the graphics with the system, and made one of the most fulfilling games ever made.
  77. AdamF.
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than Twilight Princess is nothing short of the crown jewl of the legendary Zelda series. This game has taken all the things that made other Zeldas so amazing and blown them up about tenfold. The already large worlds from other titles becomes absolutely enormous in Twilight. Link gets two forms instead of one, the oversaturated art style is breathtaking, the items and weapons are cooler than ever, the characters seem actually alive and finally have true personalties, the dungeons are brilliant, the boss battles are more consistently entertaining than ever, and the new twilight realm makes for a very deep, well written, even tragic storyline. ANYONE who says that Twilight is "just a shadow of Ocarina of Time" or has "dated graphics" simply cannot appreciate a masterpiece when they see one in their face. This game IS everything that makes the Zelda series so great. Expand
  78. RobertV.S.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    This game is very fun to play , something I don't like about this game is the fact that is too easy and way too short. I would have liked something more challenging and longer.
  79. JohnB
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Don't listen to haters. This game beats Okami AND SotC easily, as you can see from the metascore, too.
  80. ErikM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are I disagree with Matt and Jeff. It is an amazing game, with quite a few twists and turns, and awesome new weapons that make the game move. I love how the hookshot was redone into the clawshot. There are tons of side quests, yes most include the bugs, hearts, and Poe's, but its different for almost every one you aquire. The essence of Zelda stays until the end. The characters are awesome, and the voice acting (sounds the characters make) and animations are very entertaining. You can finally use your sword, bow, and even clawshot on horseback, and fighting as a wolf is also very cool. The final battle is fantastic as well. Expand
  81. RandyM.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Prepare to be stunned by the sheer brilliance that Nintendo has pulled off. Twilight Princess is easily the best Zelda game, and one of the greatest games ever made. Period.
  82. FrankC.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    Return of great memories (from N64), however need somewhat of a different premise (storyline) and evolution. Hard to beat N64 Ocarina. Hopefully we'll get a surprise in the next upcoming version. Enjoying this one for now.
  83. ZackeryA.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    This is the most greatest game that I have ever played! It has good graphics and story!
  84. Niall
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    Well i think that any zelda, or nintendo game for that fact, deserve 8+ (well if they include the likes of mario, link, etc.) and thats why i give this an 9 and if i could it would be 9.5. Now if it was a brand new game, as in not a sequal i'd give it a 10 but it is sort of like the OoT,which i loved, but i wanted something different but still amazing. But the big plus for zelda Well i think that any zelda, or nintendo game for that fact, deserve 8+ (well if they include the likes of mario, link, etc.) and thats why i give this an 9 and if i could it would be 9.5. Now if it was a brand new game, as in not a sequal i'd give it a 10 but it is sort of like the OoT,which i loved, but i wanted something different but still amazing. But the big plus for zelda games are the puzzles and, wel, the amount of puzzles were great and the puzzles themselves were great as was the whole game. Expand
  85. ShelbyG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    One of hte best LoZ games made to date, some of the items were reused from other games, but they did throw in a handfull of new stuff. Also the sword fighting from the back of Epona added another unique element to this great game.
  86. MarkB
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and Absolutely spectacular! The best game ever on the mighty little 'cube, and one of my all time fave video games in 30 years of playing 'em. Took me 83 hours playing over 14 months, and I enjoyed every minute of it - well, apart from the occassional obligatory ultra-hard boss fights. The best story and characterisations yet in a Zelda game, and lots to see and do and collect and smash. Probably a bit easier than previous Zelda games, but that meant I didn't end up throwing my pad across the room in rage, or scratching my balding head in confusion as to what the hell I was supposed to be doing next. Games are meant to be challenging I know, but fun is more important! The sound and graphics are gorgeous with often mind-bending effects and enormous landscapes, plus highly effective depth-of-field, antialiasing and multitexturing the like I've not seen in a 'cube game before. It's amazing what they manage to squeeze into one mini-DVD disk and out of the console's modest little hardware package, but then the 'cube was always underrated IMHO. As soon as I'd finished the game (shedding a tear at the cutscenes during the credits of course) I wanted to play it all over again... but I might just invest in a Wii so I can appreciate it all the more in glorious widescreen, and have fun fishing with the Wiimote. Expand
  87. MelidaP.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some I don't understand why this game is getting so many bad reviews. ): True, it's repetitive and much like the other Zelda games, but the features that are the same as the others makes it a game for the Zelda series...uh hence the name? I loved this game, the plot was better than usual, Link actually gave facial expressions, and the game is a little darker and more mature than some of the previous titles. True, the princess doesn't have a huge role where Link's entire goal is to save her, but that should be an aspect that more people should enjoy. I'm sort of tired of the helpless princess persona myself. All in all it's a great game and definitley lives up to it's predecessors. Expand
  88. PeeD
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun This is a spectacular game built on a fantastic story and glorious graphics and visuals that seem to leap from their 2-D origins and excite the senses (both gamer and human). The story itself is a dark and morphed twist on the original Zelda story that many long-time lovers will welcome with open arms. And for those who have not yet experienced the wonder of the Zelda series, it is a fun and simple game that does not require too much previous skill. Cheers! Expand
  89. AlbertoM.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Thank you very much, Shigeru Miyamoto San... Twilight Princess teaches us that video games still evolve and inspire generations... Tijuana, Baja California.
  90. DannyL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. Jeff F. really doesn't appreciate what great game this is. How can you expect so many things? How can everything go right in your way? Why don't you expect that Spiderman is in this game? You're expecting way too much and you aren't giving Nintendo the credit they deserve. They've been planning and making this game for more than 4 years. You should show respect. This game was great. I cannot believe that a Gamecube just pulled this off. No doubt it Zelda did it's best and used the Gamecube's full potential. I loved this game. Expand
  91. Tony
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Best Zelda game period it totally recreates Hyrule and it's the most epic Zelda yet.
  92. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Twilight Princess is a hallmark in game design, Hyrule is huge, and the people appear to carry out everyday activities, and it looks stunning. She controls are spot on, as they flow nicely with great precision, and the story is decisively darker, and the game benefits greatly from it. Twilight Princess is the best game since Ocarina of Time.
  93. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Better than the Wii version, which the wiimote didn't work as well as I'd hoped for. This is a darker grittier zelda game and absorbs you in its fantasy.
  94. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, the best zelda game, and for that matter, the best game ever created. I have played every game in the series but Twilight Princess beats them all by FAR. It had the best story and there was much more focus on it than in other games. The characters were amazing aswell, most especially Midna. Finally a helper that's got not only a good personality but a real backstory andIn my opinion, the best zelda game, and for that matter, the best game ever created. I have played every game in the series but Twilight Princess beats them all by FAR. It had the best story and there was much more focus on it than in other games. The characters were amazing aswell, most especially Midna. Finally a helper that's got not only a good personality but a real backstory and character development. The cutscenes and the music are both absolutley terrific. Several times i found myself having goosebumps due to the sheer brilliance of certain cutscenes. This is the only game that has got to me so intently. Not even other Zelda games can match up to it. The wolf sections and the concept of Twilight are two things that i especially enjoyed alot. On top of all this, it's also got the best graphics and enemy/character design of any game in the series. The main reason for why none of the other Zelda games can match up to TP in my opinion is the lack of story focus. In OoT for example you get a handful of words and then you set out to several temples. Wind Waker had the same problem, cutscenes were too few. The only Zelda game that can somewhat compare to TP would be Majora's Mask. Expand
  95. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This is probably one of my favorites if not my favorite game of all time, this is the game that convinced me that Nintendo was still alive and kicking. Great Story, Great Combat, Great Characters, Memorable dungeons, Lengthy, lots of exploring to do in dungeons, a truly great game.
  96. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Great game, great story. Kind of what I expect in a Zelda game. Though, it's no match to Ocarina of Time or The Wind Waker. One of the games that you can't miss. What was special about this game though were the natural controls. It feels very natural - also an element that most Zelda games have, though this Wii-experience particularly stood out.
  97. Sep 3, 2015
    10
    Hands down, the best game I have ever played. Engaging, exciting and beautiful. This game develops a strong emotional bond with the player. The roleplaying is top notch perfect, you will see yourself as Link and you will be proud of what you achieve in game and how you protect your friends and fight your foes. This is the only game to make me cry when it ended. I've never enjoyed a gameHands down, the best game I have ever played. Engaging, exciting and beautiful. This game develops a strong emotional bond with the player. The roleplaying is top notch perfect, you will see yourself as Link and you will be proud of what you achieve in game and how you protect your friends and fight your foes. This is the only game to make me cry when it ended. I've never enjoyed a game anywhere near as much as I enjoyed this, and I've always felt this way about it, ever since I played it in December 2006. Expand
  98. Jul 15, 2018
    9
    Incredible. Sometimes it remembers Ocarina of time, principally in fun, well-made quests which gives player a will to explore it and keep playing the game over and over. The only problem of this game is transforming in wolf, when it is required, it's very boring. In exception of this, game is spetacular and very funny.
  99. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great game with good pacing, beautiful landscapes, well made story, exciting and interactive open world, and a good balance in dungeon/side quest difficulty!
  100. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I love this game of the series. I enjoyed it so much that I even played it over and over again. I know there are some that hate this game because of how dark it was. I understand, but its good to explore new things, and those new things made this great game. A Link To The Past was dark, and was an all time favorite as well. Same as Majoras Mask was dark as well. I say this game is justI love this game of the series. I enjoyed it so much that I even played it over and over again. I know there are some that hate this game because of how dark it was. I understand, but its good to explore new things, and those new things made this great game. A Link To The Past was dark, and was an all time favorite as well. Same as Majoras Mask was dark as well. I say this game is just amazing. I love the combat, bosses, enemies, SCENERY, and most of all the story. Sorry about this but, WHY MIDNA WHY. Anyways the story was so great in my opinion. I loved the bosses, they were too easy(HATED THAT PART), but they were si freaking fun to fight. I made copies of profiles so that when I wanted to, I could fight them again. They game never seems to bore me. I hope to see more successful Zelda games like this in the future. Great job Nintendo. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2006
1
#1 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2006
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It's still the most cinematic, engrossing Zelda we've ever played, and as such, deserves nothing but the absolute highest recommendation. Flaws are present, sure, but we'll burn our entire library of games before we say Twilight Princess is anything but incredible.
  2. 90
    But the moment the opening symphony plays until the concluding credits, all fear and doubt quickly vanishes like the cool whispering of an autumn's breeze. Though not flawless, Nintendo have once again demonstrated masterful craftsmanship, challenging design and imaginative artistry.
  3. This game is more or less the latest version of a realm that has been long established and already seen. Yes, the story is darker, longer, and more character driven than anything before it. Yes, the dungeons and sidequests are remarkably well crafted. That doesn't mean that both seasoned Zelda fans and newcomers alike will enjoy the lacking difficulty and the other small problems that plague the game.