Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
Stream On
  1. Sep 30, 2019
    40
    Dr. Mario World is Nintendo at its weakest. It’s solid, it’s colorful, but also greedy, unoriginal and… well, somehow redundant.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Aug 15, 2019
    40
    Nintendo's most boring smartphone outing so far. [Issue#336, p.120]
  3. Jul 11, 2019
    40
    Our biggest disappointment is down to the gameplay itself, which is so bog standard and dull that we already feel like we’ve seen enough on day one. That’s the most damning indictment of all.
  4. 30
    Conventional Nintendo games want to make you happy, whereas Dr. Mario wants to take your money by providing an experience that’s just a touch sub-par. It’s oddly nauseating seeing Nintendo’s much-loved characters cynically shaking you down for spare change.
  5. Jul 14, 2019
    30
    Dr. Mario World wants your money, and it really doesn't care if you have fun while it tries to pry your wallet open, and that really is the biggest damnation I can give to a mobile game. Don't bother downloading this, it's not even worth your time as a free curiosity. A massive disappointment, and one of the worst Nintendo licensed games I have ever played.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 10, 2019
    Based on what I’ve played so far, Dr. Mario World feels like a decent spin on the decades-old series. It’s unfortunate that its attempts to keep things fresh and fun are a bit overshadowed by its overzealous options and annoying microtransaction-based roadblocks. That said, if you enjoy puzzles and pretending to have a medical degree, Dr. Mario World isn’t the worst choice.
  2. I really love the core gameplay of Dr. Mario World, but it’s so frustrating to play on my phone that I can’t help but think it’s a bit of a disappointment. If this game ends up on Switch later down the line then I’d be first in line to play a version that’s been properly optimized for the system it’s running on, but as of now I just don’t want to go through the trouble. If you’ve got a device that’s powerful enough to run Dr. Mario World with no problems then you’re in for a real treat if you give it a try. But if you’re like me and are waiting until the time is right to buy a new phone, then the time probably isn’t right to try Nintendo’s latest mobile game either.
  3. Jul 10, 2019
    The core game is so much fun, but I would have rather spent $20 and had the game, its levels, and its characters open to me from the start.
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 46
  2. Negative: 29 out of 46
  1. Jul 11, 2019
    2
    In its current state, this game is an absolute mess. Frequent crashes on multiple iOS platforms, insanely long load times for little to noIn its current state, this game is an absolute mess. Frequent crashes on multiple iOS platforms, insanely long load times for little to no reason, requires a persistent online connection just to play so if you have a network hiccup, you get dumped out with a connection error (0007 or 0009). Even on solidly stable WiFi, the connection to game's servers tends to be sketchy at best.

    And that's before we even get into the gameplay, which is essentially just your standard match three type mobile game. There are literally thousands of these match three style mobile games and I can't find a single thing that Dr. Mario World does better than any of them. Except crash. It crashes better.

    If this were a retail Switch or DS release, it wouldn't even get the Nintendo Seal of Quality.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2019
    2
    Now I like puzzle games such as Tetris but that can be played for hours but with Dr.Mario World it's basically a toilet game where you play onNow I like puzzle games such as Tetris but that can be played for hours but with Dr.Mario World it's basically a toilet game where you play on the toilet and that's it. This is basically another lazy game by Nintendo mobile. Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2019
    3
    What another shameful way to get another Mario game to Mobile. Microtransactions to play the Game and wait to play. This isn't a Game to meWhat another shameful way to get another Mario game to Mobile. Microtransactions to play the Game and wait to play. This isn't a Game to me it's quick and easy Cash Grab Aimed at kids Full Review »