Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Oct 31, 2019
    90
    Afterparty blends genuinely thought-provoking depictions of growing up, working, and the afterlife with great comedy and fantastically awkward conversations. While technically it has a few hiccups, the story and tone they strike are near flawless.
  2. 90
    Afterparty doesn’t vary much mechanically from its predecessor, but the unique worldbuilding, characters, setting and heart gave me some of my biggest chuckles of the year. What could have been a cringe-worthy meme-fest of drinking gags and vomit jokes (ok, so there is some vomit) ended up being one hell of a party.
  3. Oct 27, 2019
    90
    The humor shines bright and the emotional moments are balanced. When you mix that in with a solid ensemble cast, you’ve got a game that’s bound to be pleasing for fans of the genre and creative, story-driven games in general. The amount of branching paths and dialog options will have players ready to hop back into Hell after their first playthrough just to see everything that Afterparty has to offer.
  4. Oct 27, 2019
    90
    Afterparty should be commended for its diabolical sense of humour and elegantly crafted conversations.
  5. Nov 3, 2019
    85
    A nice travel in hell, with a deep focus on the burlesque setting, embellished by dialogue with a lot of sarcasm.
  6. Oct 28, 2019
    85
    An irresistible journey to hell.
  7. Oct 27, 2019
    85
    Night School's Oxenfree is a charming, hilarious, and insightful comedy that makes Hell a pretty fun place to be.
  8. Oct 27, 2019
    85
    A funny, likeable adventure with lashings of alcohol. There's also enough content in Afterparty to push you through a second time around.
  9. Oct 28, 2019
    83
    Night School has mastered its own style at this point and Afterparty represents its confirmation. It's still seems lacking a real gameplay but that is part of the style, that is all focused on narrative.
  10. Nov 14, 2019
    80
    Afterparty is a fun, easy-going game with a pungent humor that will get you more than a laugh. The interaction is limited but the plot, the setting and the characters are irresistible.
  11. Oct 28, 2019
    80
    Night School Studios have made hell intriguing and complex, with punchy dialog and relatable characters, be it human or demonic. The humor and writing is where Afterparty shines the most, breathing life into every character it touches—be it short and sarcastic, or emotional and reverent. Like the Beastie Boys' "Fight for Your Right (To Party)," what seems like dumb entertainment can evolve into something a lot more meaningful if you're willing to look beneath the surface.
  12. Oct 28, 2019
    80
    It's well worth giving in to temptation partying with the devil by throwing back a few drinks in Afterparty. The game isn't very long or difficult, but it makes up for it with plenty of wit and charm.
  13. Oct 27, 2019
    80
    The top-notch writing and superb voice acting, coupled with the visually vibrant hellscape, keeps your interest from start to finish.
  14. Oct 27, 2019
    80
    While Afterparty arguably doesn’t quite hit the same overall heights as its older sibling, it still manages to deliver one amazing adventure of its own, largely thanks to a terrific sense of humor, a unique story, and some truly astounding writing and dialogue.
  15. Oct 27, 2019
    78
    Afterparty poses questions you don’t expect it to ask, and that’s what ultimately made me satisfied with it – just don’t expect a non-stop rager. As with most parties, there are high points combined with lulls. At the very least, the conversations, locale, and attendees make it a good party to attend, even if sometimes you get a little bored.
  16. Nov 4, 2019
    75
    Afterparty is a fantastic story about booze, buds, and the nature of good and evil. It’s just not much else.
  17. Dec 3, 2019
    70
    As I played Afterparty, I kept thinking that I should be liking it more than I was. A character- and story-driven game sounds like it should be right up my alley, and I can picture people enjoying the conversations and appreciating a vision of Hell where it’s being run by devils with just as many problems as everybody else. But I didn’t like the game, and I didn’t really like that there isn’t much game in the game (there aren’t any puzzles, and the drinking mini-games are so inconsequential it doesn’t even matter if you win them). So I’m giving Afterparty a lukewarm score. It’s definitely a game where your mileage may vary.
  18. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    70
    The game is loaded with small glitches and inconsistencies but next to Night in the Woods it’s the one game I could point to and say ‘that’s how you should write engaging, living dialogue’. [13/2019, p.54]
  19. Oct 27, 2019
    70
    When it hits those strides, it's a novel look at what hell might look like for most of us, a vision that turns the concept of eternal damnation into something more palpable and threatening. It fumbles when it reaches outside its comfort zone, and the focus on small moments means it lacks the grandiose ones that make our lives feel more meaningful than they might otherwise be.
  20. Oct 27, 2019
    70
    At the end of the day though, Afterparty will leave many with a bit of a hangover, wondering if there was more that could have been done with the drinking system and its branching narrative.
  21. Nov 11, 2019
    60
    Afterparty begins as a very joyful festivity in which you encounter a lot of great and eloquent people in a very charming place. But it continues as a very passive, clumsy experience and ends as a forgettable game from which you retain mostly technical issues, lack of impactful and pleasant interactions, instead of its strong writing and amazing vocal performances. Too bad, this Hell was surely paved with good intentions.
  22. Oct 27, 2019
    60
    Afterparty offers up a good laugh, and not just at the unfortunate glitches. Its art style is adorable, and the neon lights and bloody backgrounds truly make it feel like you've jumped down into hell. But while the story is intriguing, it feels too slow at times and its main protagonists fall flat against an otherwise fantastic cast of characters.
  23. Edge Magazine
    Nov 10, 2019
    50
    As for a return trip to hell to see how alternative choices might have played out? It would have to freeze over first. [Issue#139, p.116]
  24. Nov 18, 2019
    40
    Like a sober night in the town with drunken friends, it starts off amusing enough, but it wears out its welcome after a while becoming tiring and grating, and towards the end.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 28, 2019
    Night School Studios follows on its excellent work in Oxenfree with this touching look at the absurdity of life and video games. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Oct 27, 2019
    Afterparty is an ambitious game that works hard to deliver funny dialog and outright laughs. And while it only partially succeeds in these laudable aims, it also delivers an enjoyable, unexpectedly worldly story about what it means to cease to be a child, and to begin to be an adult.
  3. But while all of the principal cast do a smashing job, Dave Fennoy’s Satan is probably the (morning) star of the show.
  4. Oct 31, 2019
    The game continually tugs an interesting thread on perspective, and whose matters more.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 10 out of 47
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    6
    Afterparty's gameplay would be familiar to those who played Night School's previous outing "oxenfree". For the uninitiated, it is a narrativeAfterparty's gameplay would be familiar to those who played Night School's previous outing "oxenfree". For the uninitiated, it is a narrative based adventure where dialogue options are the main point of interaction. There are a few mini games sprinkled out the adventure, but for the most part you will be walking to places and choosing what to say to NPCs.

    The new mechanic of Afterparty is that you can purchase different alcoholic drinks at certain locations, which will give you an extra dialogue option depending on what drink you chose. The effects can be increasing your character's confidence, making them flirty or making them speak like a pirate. These options are generally more fun options to choose, though they don't really feel like they are meaningful choices in terms of the narrative or character relationships.

    Narrative wise, the game aims for a more comedic approach to its script. While the premise is amusing, as is the aforementioned drinking mechanics, the comedy generally fell flat for me. The attempts at humour never had me laughing, though to its credit it never became grating either and did make the characters more enduring. It should be noted that humour is subjective and I find that I can be hard to please when it comes to comedy. The narrative does have its dramatic beats and they do flesh out the characters. However, the narrative doesn't feel as tightly written as Oxenfree. Simply put the ending of the game didn't have a impactful narrative payoff, as much of it relies on a twist that your characters don't have anything to do with.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 9, 2019
    8
    You will steer two loveable characters through their afterlife. If you had the pleasure of building one in 1996's "Afterlife", it's prettyYou will steer two loveable characters through their afterlife. If you had the pleasure of building one in 1996's "Afterlife", it's pretty much like that, only that in this one the demons have a rigid 9-5 schedule, and won't lift a finger once their shift has ended. Resulting in the "Afterparty" that you will explore and celebrate. Figuring out how your two protatgonists got there, how it works, and most important, how to leave again will take you through wonderfully absurd dialogue, places and quests, with a similar concept like you maybe saw in "Oxenfree", where at any given point additional thoughts can be clicked, leading to further dialogue. There are also some more or less optional mini-games, because you can't have an afterparty without beer-pong, and a wide range of drinks that you can use to not only booze yourself up, but get into certain moods that change the outcome of the little stories you run into as well.

    It's a reminder that a fully fledged art style tops polygon count and better-than-real-life textures at any given moment. "Afterparty" manages to create a lively, well-designed abyss, bursting with ideas and fueled by well thought through characters, worldbuilding that almost casually pours comedy silver all over the place. If you saw the trailer and got at least a bit curious about the presentation, ideas and/or love adventure games, I can't see you being let down by this one. What you might miss at any point is a real challenge, but you get a load of decisions that -while not really changing the outcome- will leave a whole bunch of unseen missions and story bits as replay value.

    Thanks to it's characters it's surprisingly wholesome, often unpredictable and never really boring. Every once in a while the lack of actual comedy *gold* (as opposed to silver) is showing, but otherwise this game is all it could have been.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2020
    0
    What a disappointment of a game. I LOVED Oxenfree, for is the best indie games hands down. When i read that Night School Studio were toWhat a disappointment of a game. I LOVED Oxenfree, for is the best indie games hands down. When i read that Night School Studio were to released another game i was SO excited cause i thought they had amazing talent doing stories that connect whit people and make you don't want to move out your chair until you finished...i was wrong. Now i see that NSS were just lucky creating Oxenfree. Afterparty is an insult to my expectations. Really boring game, didn't see the time to finish it instead of making me feel like i didn't wanted to finish it. I couldn't even end the game cause of how slow, talkative and empty it was. Going to clubs drink and have stupid dialogue couldn't get any boring that what NSS just created. I wasted my money and left so disappointed that I'm even angry writing this review. Won't buy another NSS game since they just showed me that Oxenfree experience was just a one time trip. Full Review »