• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 16, 2019
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Apr 15, 2019
    89
    Rarely before has it been so hard for me in my game tester career, not to award a 90s rating.
  2. Apr 17, 2019
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Apr 15, 2019
    87
    Anno 1800 might be the best 4X game since Civ 6 and definitely has brought back the series' glory.
  4. Apr 17, 2019
    85
    Although not a revolutionary chapter for the series (net of the subject matter), Anno 1800 is a solid and well-structured city builder, recommended to all.
  5. Apr 16, 2019
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Apr 16, 2019
    85
    Anno 1800 is a great opus in the series, and clearly follows up the very good Anno 1701 and Anno 1404 episodes. The only complaint we have is about the weird combat and the few remaining bugs.
  7. Apr 16, 2019
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Apr 15, 2019
    84
    Despite an annoying story mode, Anno 1800 is the biggest and best entry in the series to date.
  9. Apr 17, 2019
    81
    Anno 1800 is a grind at times, but those moments of “eureka” when I’d figure out production rhythms and layouts that kept me operating in the green were delightful.
  10. Apr 15, 2019
    81
    From the animation to the visual effects, this is the best-looking Anno game to date. Something of a no-brainer when it comes to advances in technology. But with the expanded focus on trade, production, naval combat, and colonisation it’s also one of the most engaging entries to date – again, once understood. A city builder well worth visiting.
  11. Apr 15, 2019
    81
    A gorgeous-looking, extremely polished city builder that offers a relaxed experience with light RPG, diplomatic and combat elements.
  12. Apr 17, 2019
    80
    Anno 1800 can become confusing and complicated over time, what with the in-depth nature of this civilization sandbox franchise. But those willing to step up to the challenge are rewarded with a gorgeous and comprehensive game, built on micro-management and period-set obstacles and factors that nudge you along in your mission to build the next great island metropolis. For what gaming experience it represents, the franchise looks and feels great.
  13. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    Increasingly complex yet approachable, Anno 1800 is an excellent entry in the long-running city building series that both challenges but also leaves space to admire one’s handiwork.
  14. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    Not just another City Builder. It's a great addition to the genre and the series. With new mechanics, great graphics design, and a fantastic soundtrack, there's not much to dislike about the game.
  15. Anno 1800 is a great example of mixing tycoon, diplomatic and warfare gameplay systems. It offers a simple and deep gameplay at the same time.
  16. Apr 15, 2019
    80
    The foundations of Anno 1800 are solid, and the game offers a diversified experience. Going back to the roots was a crucial decision, and I can say, with all certainty: this is one of the best strategy games of 2019. It's been a long while since we had such a lovely and absorbing game to play.
  17. Apr 15, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  18. Apr 15, 2019
    80
    Anno 1800 brings the series back to its roots and it is one of the best episodes.
  19. Apr 17, 2019
    70
    Anno 1800 is a city-builder that caters to new players. It's gorgeous, has a campaign that's a huge tutorial, and players don't have to worry about sim aspects like traffic and power distribution. While there have been improvements to the Anno formula, some mechanics are simply not explained and the user interface is lacking for a game built so heavily around trade and economics. It's a good game for sure, but it needs some tweaks to make it fantastic.
  20. Apr 15, 2019
    70
    Anno 1800 will do for now. It’s nothing we haven’t seen before, and it’s a bit rough around the edges, but Anno’s still the most fun you can have with a glorified spreadsheet. Just be sure to build lots of bakeries.
  21. Apr 15, 2019
    70
    Anno 1800 is a return to Blue Byte and Ubisoft's long-running city-building franchise. Sadly, a number of flaws prove to be detrimental to an enjoyable voyage.
  22. Apr 15, 2019
    70
    Certainly not for the casual fan, Anno 1800 is a glorious exploration of a glorious age. It is a technical achievement for strategy gaming that goes unrivaled, and while its complexity may be a roadblock for some, the return on your investment would make even the greediest fat cat smile.
  23. Apr 15, 2019
    70
    A vibrant snapshot of the Victorian era that’s bustling with character, but doesn’t explore the intriguing, seismic politics of the period.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 15, 2019
    One of the things I like most so far is that almost nothing is simply a straight "upgrade" of another thing. Even the lowliest farmer finds use supplying the growing complexity and demands of an advancing society. [Review in progress]
  2. It’s an undisputed heavyweight, and an experience I’d recommend to anyone.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 78
  2. Negative: 11 out of 78
  1. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    Yes, the story mode is disappointing and the the combat system is not the most innovative, but I don't care. The most important part of theYes, the story mode is disappointing and the the combat system is not the most innovative, but I don't care. The most important part of the game is the sandbox mode and that is definitely the best of the series. It is also great that there is a multiplayer again. Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2019
    9
    Though Anno 2070 was okay, I kept going back to the 1404 edition to get my fix. After spending about 40 hours in Anno 1800, I have a newThough Anno 2070 was okay, I kept going back to the 1404 edition to get my fix. After spending about 40 hours in Anno 1800, I have a new favourite in the series! Everything I loved about the 1404 is there, and due to the attractiveness, how 'closeness' works due to road connectivity rather than distance and the fact that you can still move buildings around after building them, there is much more freedom in building the City how you really want. Looking forward to spend many hours in this one! Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    This game is soooo cute. It looks amazing. So many details, so many wonderful things to look at. Ok...stop moving the camera around, stop it !This game is soooo cute. It looks amazing. So many details, so many wonderful things to look at. Ok...stop moving the camera around, stop it ! Plz start building your Empire. The cute little islands are wonderful home for your settlements. Farmers, Workers, artisans - they all will find home in your beautiful settlement.

    You have wide selection of tools to turn your pretty village into full blown town. Build farmer's cottages, farms, upgrade the buildings. All your efforts will be rewarded and even poorly organized city will look beautiful because everything looks so nice in this game.
    Create trade routes, discover new worlds, ensure that your citizen's needs are catered for. Give them everything they want and your empire will thrive.

    You can ask yourself why to buy this game? Why now? You still have anno 1404. Well, the answer is simply. Anno 1800 is a worthy successors of Anno 1404, it is somethings lots of fans were waiting for and industrial revolution has never looked so magical.

    If you like city builders and want to be relaxed by creating complex production/supply chains this game is for your. Every click takes you one step closer to creating industrial marvel. I hope that future DLCs and additions will make game even bigger and better.

    Graphics: 10/10
    Gameplay: 10/10
    Replayability: 10/10
    Performance: 10/10

    Overall score: 10/10

    Is it perfect: YES !

    Should I buy it? : Helllo ! Have you not read what I wrote. YEAH !!!!
    Full Review »