Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 3, 2015
    85
    This episodic game continues to evolve, proving that the developers are listening and they are on the right track. If you've played the previous episodes, you won't be disappointed by this one. Actually, you'll be waiting for the next one to come.
  2. Nov 2, 2015
    80
    Substantially improving on the previous two installments in almost every way, the AR-K series finally finds its way in its penultimate episode.
  3. Sep 26, 2015
    80
    A tremendous improvement in every aspect compared to its predecessors. If the developers succeed in giving us a fourth episode with equal quality and longer duration, they will manage to achieve what seemed impossible until now: Leave the initial bad impressions behind and reach a very acceptable overall quality for AR-K.
  4. Aug 5, 2015
    80
    With high-quality writing, voice acting, and graphic design, it stands well above the expectations I had going in, and I’d easily recommend it to anyone who’s a fan of the point-and-click genre.
  5. Jan 15, 2016
    78
    A charming adventure game that will have you waiting ever so eagerly for the next episode in the AR-K series.
  6. Jan 4, 2016
    75
    Quite a step in the right direction if you compare it to its predecessors. Greg Rucka’s arrival was definitely great for the whole series, and everything got better, from dialogue to game mechanics. Definitely a good introduction to the final act. If you want to get the whole package, though, keep in mind that chapters one and two are highly inferior.
  7. Dec 2, 2015
    75
    A modest point'n click episodical adventures that is improving with every chapter released. The Great Great Escape is bigger and better, but still not perfect.
  8. Sep 23, 2015
    75
    The Great Escape is proof that the AR-K series has the potential to get better as it progresses. The graphics and voice acting are a step up, but it’s the story that has improved by leaps and bounds. Not only does it make more sense now, but it is the most persuasive argument for getting you to try the game in the first place.
  9. Jul 23, 2015
    70
    So AR-K: The Great Escape is an interesting one. Despite its lackluster opening and questionable delivery, it manages to grow on you.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Aug 10, 2015
    9
    It's great when you come to a game and it's a lot better than you thought it would be. While I enjoyed ar-k 1 and 2 and I do recommend thoseIt's great when you come to a game and it's a lot better than you thought it would be. While I enjoyed ar-k 1 and 2 and I do recommend those games to play first, this for me is a lot better - story, graphics, setting. The writing was very good and if you didn't want to read everything, you didn't need to click on that character's bit of conversation but could come back to it if you wanted. I liked the humour, and it was witty in parts. It is the perfect balance of not just a good story which is vital in an adventure game but also good interactive gameplay.

    You continue to play as Alicia and thankfully she is more likable. In the first episode the OTT "I am a sexy vixen" coupled with a not nice attitude a lot of the times frankly put me off her and I didn't care what happened to her, but by the end of E1 this was mostly gone and here I actually cared and liked her.

    The story continues from 1 & 2 and I loved how at the end of episodes there is just enough surprise or hook to keep you invested for the next epsiode, it is literally a cliffhanger ending (not resolved or tied up with bow) with all of them and this episode is the same.

    I love the setting in this game (all new) and I got to solve a murder as well which was cool. There is also a transporter map so you aren't wasting time walking everywhere.

    While you could play this on it's own I do think there would be too many unanswered questions (what is the sphere, why am I here etc) and I do think you need to play the first game (which has episodes 1& 2 in it) to know what is going on. There is a video intro at the beginning which is supposed to recap what has happened but I don't know why but the clips seemed out of sequence, and they could have done a lot better job of a recap, seemed very disjointed.

    I loved the achievements in the first game, very imaginative and different but here it was mostly straightforward and some more unusual ones would have been fun. There is one though which I didn't see the point of and will be a bit annoying to do (worker one,) - so don't go by my final time re gameplay!

    Thoroughly enjoyed it and I really look forward to the fourth and final episode. Thanks DEVS for a very good, fun point n click adventure game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2015
    9
    Nice game! I played the first two episodes, and I didn't like it very much. But in this episode, they improved in all the ways. Graphics areNice game! I played the first two episodes, and I didn't like it very much. But in this episode, they improved in all the ways. Graphics are better, story is richer (and written by comic superstar Greg Rucka) and puzzles are more intuitive to solve. Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2015
    10
    This episode is a huge improvement over the previous 2. Better characters, better graphics, better scenarios and, over all, a much betterThis episode is a huge improvement over the previous 2. Better characters, better graphics, better scenarios and, over all, a much better STORY.
    If you like point and click adventures, you cannot miss this one
    Full Review »