Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 15, 2015
    100
    Despite the rusting Batmobile at some points, the Rocksteady developers managed to say Batman’s goodbye to Batman flawlessly. All thanks to the powerful story moments that work better than in the previous attempts. [Issue#255]
  2. Jul 2, 2015
    98
    Aside from a few sputters during the animation when entering the Batmobile and the FPS cap at 30, I didn’t experience any of the problems many PC players were experiencing with the game. If any dark, rainy, dirty and downtrodden city could be beautiful, it’s Gotham in Arkham Knight.
  3. Oct 29, 2015
    92
    After four months of work, Batman: Arkham Knight comes as the masterpiece it should have been from day one.
  4. Oct 28, 2015
    80
    Let’s cut to the chase: Batman: Arkham Knight is a great game, but it’s not as good as Rocksteady’s previous two titles.
  5. Jun 24, 2015
    75
    It's a great game, but only on consoles. It's a real shame how such a masterpiece gets torn apart because of technical problems and developers taking quality assurance and porting to PC to lightly.
  6. Oct 30, 2015
    70
    An entertaining superhero power fantasy, let down by awful Batmobile combat, a laughable villain, and serious performance issues.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 9, 2015
    70
    Crippled by performance issues and bugs, there's an incredible game waiting to emerge if Rocksteady can remedy the Bat's woes with patches. [Aug 2015, p.55]
  8. Jun 24, 2015
    70
    Every positive–the twisting storyline, the iconic villains, and the superb combat–are undermined by other factors. Mediocre acting, rough dialogue, and overuse of the Batmobile, leave Batman: Arkham Knight that much less cohesive than its predecessors.
  9. Jan 19, 2016
    60
    Playing as Batman? Awesome. Playing as Batman through repetitive, empty missions? Less awesome. Playing as the Batmobile? Awful.
  10. Nov 2, 2015
    60
    Porting issues aside, Batman: Arkham Knight is a decent enough game. It's not the spectacular swansong we hoped for from Rocksteady, but it's another solid - if predictable - slice of Arkham gameplay, with a couple of great sections along the way.
  11. Batman: Arkham Knight is a total disaster on the PC platform. Rocksteady must start working on optimisation problems as soon as possible. We are sure, Rocksteady will fix the problems eventually, and of course we will consider it again.
  12. Jun 25, 2015
    55
    Batman: Arkham Knight is a decent entry in the series that, while innovative in some areas, is weighed down by the cumbersome Batmobile. Once the huge PC performance issues are solved by Rocksteady, it certainly has the potential for an enjoyable experience. Until then, though, our verdict is to skip it.
  13. Jun 24, 2015
    50
    While it’s still playable, and even enjoyable in a fair few instances, its baseline problems combined with the PC’s unique setbacks make Arkham Knight fit for the price drop list.
  14. Jul 5, 2015
    30
    Arkham Knight is the latest, most improved and seemingly last installment in the Arkham series. The whole, justified controversy over its failed launch on PC doesn't do this excellent game justice. We would urge any gamer to refrain from purchasing this game (retail), as there are massive performance issues, which are currently being worked on. For the time being, although the story and gameplay mechanics are splendid, we are forced to cap our rating up to 30. Just like the game's framerate.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Arkham Knight is the sweet spot between the ‘all cowl and no codpiece’ rigmarole of Arkham City and the tight claustrophobic construction of Arkham Asylum. It’s not as solid as the latter but it manages to have more variety and more focus than the former. It’s a beautiful game as well, ditching some of the swollen stylised body types of its predecessors and finding a more cohesive neon-gothic, blimps and all.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 2112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 23, 2015
    2
    An utterly unplayable mess. Locked to 30FPS, but runs at around 15. Anyone giving this a positive score either hasn't played it, is outrightAn utterly unplayable mess. Locked to 30FPS, but runs at around 15. Anyone giving this a positive score either hasn't played it, is outright lying, or has mistakenly left a review on the PC version Metacritic page when they in fact played it on console.

    The laziest port I've seen of a game in a long, long time. It takes some going to outdo Assassin's Creed: Unity in the "did you even playtest this thing before release?" stakes, but Arkham Knight comfortably achieves that and more.

    It is so unplayable that I can't actually review the game itself, as I can't get beyond 20 minutes of it before the constant frame rate stuttering gives you eye ache. It's a game that relies on fast paced fluid combat and hectic car driving sequences; both of which are an absolute nightmare at this frame rate.

    Utter garbage.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2015
    1
    A super shady port....I wouldn't bother until Denuvo is cracked.Game isnt worth a dollar in its current state....Way to burn all the good willA super shady port....I wouldn't bother until Denuvo is cracked.Game isnt worth a dollar in its current state....Way to burn all the good will after the decent ports that were AA and AC. Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2015
    1
    Worst PC port in a while, unplayable as it is now even on lowest settings and the 30fps cap is unforgivable on a PC game... i know that youWorst PC port in a while, unplayable as it is now even on lowest settings and the 30fps cap is unforgivable on a PC game... i know that you can tweak the frame cap if you edit the ini file of the game. Full Review »