User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1989 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    I personally did not experience any major issues with game. The only noticieable issue was lag in the inventory. However, the story was terrible and twins were so annoying. I was hyped and was disappointed by this. Gameplay was nice and there were more vehicles and more guns but twins gave me a headache and everytime they did something, you watch them and do nothing. the story wasI personally did not experience any major issues with game. The only noticieable issue was lag in the inventory. However, the story was terrible and twins were so annoying. I was hyped and was disappointed by this. Gameplay was nice and there were more vehicles and more guns but twins gave me a headache and everytime they did something, you watch them and do nothing. the story was convoluted.

    Update
    The bank has a bug in which wipes everything. I had 10 anointed legendary and 40 legendary. All gone. 40 hrs worth of farming is gone. Good job borderland.
    Inventory is just stupid. Don't know how they coded it but frame drops like crazy. I actually lag when I open inventory and I have really good gig (I7-8700, 16gb ram, 2060 6gb). Like game actually freezes during inventory.
    Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    What's the point of collecting eridium if it's only for cosmetics, shouldnt it be for augmenting your ammo/backpack capacity?
    Players are banned for calling the wrong pronoun to Fl4k.
    The humor is litterally taken from reddit, nowadays popculture is cringe. And are they joking when they put rick and morty references? The rest is pretty much filled with bugs, save that delete
    What's the point of collecting eridium if it's only for cosmetics, shouldnt it be for augmenting your ammo/backpack capacity?
    Players are banned for calling the wrong pronoun to Fl4k.
    The humor is litterally taken from reddit, nowadays popculture is cringe. And are they joking when they put rick and morty references?
    The rest is pretty much filled with bugs, save that delete themselves, and so on...
    And btw is it just me or is every joke in this game PEE PEE POO POO since they're afraid that anything else will offend someone?
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Game is unacceptably buggy as of now. My PC is running a 1080ti and an i7-6700k, and is struggling to get a stable framerate. I'm getting very frequent drops down into the 40 fps range, with rarer drops down into the 30s. Trying to aim down sights all but guarantees a serious frame drop. I've also had the game go unresponsive and need to be killed with the task manager.

    Wish I could say
    Game is unacceptably buggy as of now. My PC is running a 1080ti and an i7-6700k, and is struggling to get a stable framerate. I'm getting very frequent drops down into the 40 fps range, with rarer drops down into the 30s. Trying to aim down sights all but guarantees a serious frame drop. I've also had the game go unresponsive and need to be killed with the task manager.

    Wish I could say more about the gameplay and story, but I stopped playing fairly quick. I don't want to play more than 2 hours, or else I'll lose eligibility for a refund. If these issues aren't fixed a week from now, I'll be pursuing that.
    Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2019
    2
    1080 Ti and cant run normal frames. It micro stutters all the time. Developers need to start testing things before release.
  5. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    This game has everything to be considered a good game. But man, i'm so tired of games launching in this state!

    The game is buggy and has a lot of frame rate issues. And when i pay for something, i want it to work properly. Not tomorrow, not in a week, not in a month. I want it to work in release day. It's obvious that the game needed more time. But nope! They want my money now!
    This game has everything to be considered a good game. But man, i'm so tired of games launching in this state!

    The game is buggy and has a lot of frame rate issues. And when i pay for something, i want it to work properly. Not tomorrow, not in a week, not in a month. I want it to work in release day.

    It's obvious that the game needed more time. But nope! They want my money now!

    I'm just so tired of this companies and their anti-consumer crap...

    I know that for a lot of people a 0 is unfair to the developers, but what about us players?! It sucks to be hyped, spend hard earned money and have this at day one. I don't know who is to blame and i don't care! I just wanted a good borderlands game and i definitely didn't got it!
    Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I wanted this game to be so good and it's just bug after bug after bug. Gearbox released another unfinished mess of a game and that sucks. DX12 problems, crashing problems, freezes, glitches. Not worth the money at all. FINISH YOUR GAMES BEFORE YOU RELEASE THEM.
  7. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I'm a big borderlands fan and honestly this is my first review, I've never wanted to review something in the past because I always felt like hey maybe somebody else enjoyed it even if I didn't. But honestly I can just sit around and be silent when it comes to this mess they call a game.

    So they first problem I have with this game is the sheer disrespect and lack of care that this game
    I'm a big borderlands fan and honestly this is my first review, I've never wanted to review something in the past because I always felt like hey maybe somebody else enjoyed it even if I didn't. But honestly I can just sit around and be silent when it comes to this mess they call a game.


    So they first problem I have with this game is the sheer disrespect and lack of care that this game obviously has the amount of **** bugs and just plain broken things is horrible I can't honestly believe this got past quality control
    Expand
  8. Sep 13, 2019
    5
    When Borderlands and Borderlands 2 came out, they were rather unique. Today, there are lots of similar games, like Destiny 2, Warframe, Division 2 and others. Unfortunately, all of them are better than Borderlands 3. Borderlands 3 is Borderlands 2 but less funny, with slightly refined shooting mechanics, slightly crisper graphics, lots of bugs and 10 times the system requirements. WhileWhen Borderlands and Borderlands 2 came out, they were rather unique. Today, there are lots of similar games, like Destiny 2, Warframe, Division 2 and others. Unfortunately, all of them are better than Borderlands 3. Borderlands 3 is Borderlands 2 but less funny, with slightly refined shooting mechanics, slightly crisper graphics, lots of bugs and 10 times the system requirements. While Gearbox were timidly iterating, everyone else blew right past them with amazing technical displays like Division 2 or with endless content like Warframe. If you are one of those people who have 2000 hours in Borderlands 2, then you already own this and this review is pointless. If you are on the fence about it, I'd suggest you hold off for a few months until Gearbox polishes the game up, adds more content and lowers the price. Personally I see no reason to play this over all the other games, unless you've already played them to death. Expand
  9. Sep 13, 2019
    5
    Honestly it feels much the same as Borderlands 2, albeit slightly prettier... but with literally none of the charm. The characters are overall played out, the sense of humour is stale and infantile... somehow more so than the previous games, but with them where you found yourself going "hehe" this time you just cringe a little.

    The villains of the main piece are AWFUL. They offer
    Honestly it feels much the same as Borderlands 2, albeit slightly prettier... but with literally none of the charm. The characters are overall played out, the sense of humour is stale and infantile... somehow more so than the previous games, but with them where you found yourself going "hehe" this time you just cringe a little.

    The villains of the main piece are AWFUL. They offer nothing in terms of entertainment value to the game, they're just irritating (hardly a surprised when they're based on stream culture) the first few hours of gameplay make the entire experience feel like a very, very poor DLC for Borderlands 2 - with slightly less enjoyable vault hunters.

    The gunplay is entertaining, albeit outclassed by other looter shooters. The variety of guns is incredible.

    But I say if you're on the fence, stay on the side that doesn't cost you $60, wait for it to be on steam. and on sale. Like 85% off kinda sale. Just play Borderlands 2, it does everything this does but better.

    Just another AAA game that didn't live up to the hype. 5/10
    Expand
  10. Sep 13, 2019
    5
    Is the game terrible? No. Not at all. Especially if you have exhausted Borderlands 2 and the Pre-Sequel. The problem is this feels and plays just like those games. It's a 60 dollar update to the previous games with characters I couldn't get into, bullet sponge enemies, and a couple NPCs who were insanely annoying.

    I have already played BL2 and Pre-Sequel to death. They were fun enough
    Is the game terrible? No. Not at all. Especially if you have exhausted Borderlands 2 and the Pre-Sequel. The problem is this feels and plays just like those games. It's a 60 dollar update to the previous games with characters I couldn't get into, bullet sponge enemies, and a couple NPCs who were insanely annoying.

    I have already played BL2 and Pre-Sequel to death. They were fun enough for their time. This does not take enough chances to separate it from the others (BL2 made advancements from BL1. Pre-Sequel was clearly a FarCry Primal to FarCry 4 kind of money grab). You will be paying for nostalgia, a longer update and an ever so mild update from the original games.

    And for some, that's worth it. For me, that does not get the game over a 5. Innovate, make it better, or put it out at 30 dollars since it's so clearly NOT worth full game price.
    Expand
  11. GJA
    Sep 13, 2019
    2
    On the surface, this game makes a really good impression until you start playing it. Horrible input delay plus frame drops make Borderlands 3 nearly unenjoyable.
  12. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    This game is a buggy mess right now, DX12 support is non-existent, and input lag for days. The story is sup-par but lets be fair no one really plays this game for the story it is all about that sweet loot which is still good in this game. The characters are sub-par and boring with not much to them you'll find yourself hardly caring about them. The jokes are okay a little childish butThis game is a buggy mess right now, DX12 support is non-existent, and input lag for days. The story is sup-par but lets be fair no one really plays this game for the story it is all about that sweet loot which is still good in this game. The characters are sub-par and boring with not much to them you'll find yourself hardly caring about them. The jokes are okay a little childish but hey that has always kind of been Borderland's stick anyway so I didn't mind them too much. This game is sadly middle of the road with not much wow factor and maybe it is just IP fatigue at this point. Co-op is fun when it works but most co-ops are so you won't win points for that from me. Graphics look good when the game isn't dropping FPS like crazy for no reason and no it isn't my system (i7 9700k, RTX 2080, 64 Gigs of RAM, and so on). I would have given this game a higher score if the Devs didn't release a buggy mess at launch, it seems that there was a reason early review copies were so hard to come by. Another thing that should be talked about is the insane DRM in this game which goes above and beyond to the point of making impossible for some to stream the game. All and all it is a 5/10 once it is patched and I have no doubt that Gearbox will make it right, but until that day comes the most I can see fit to give it is a 2/10. Expand
  13. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    This must be one of the most overrated cash grabs in the history of gaming. Bugs everywhere the graphics are dated (after all these years they still use the same graphic engine ??) the enemy AI is beyond stupid the jokes are bad and the plot is forgetable. The gameplay is so repetitive in nature that it's getting boring really fast . UNINSTALLED and Epic stores i want my money back !!
  14. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Losing save progress, Terrible FPS drops, stuck in some missions have to restart. This release is a joke.
  15. Sep 13, 2019
    4
    I have a 2080ti, 8600k (OC'd to 5.2 ghz) and a 144hz 1440p monitor. This game runs like...., I would swap it down to my 1080p 60hz monitor but that one has no gsync so it actually looks worse. I don't get how you can release a game so poorly optimized. If the graphics were good enough that it warranted running super high system specs, I'd give it a pass, But frankly it doesn't look allI have a 2080ti, 8600k (OC'd to 5.2 ghz) and a 144hz 1440p monitor. This game runs like...., I would swap it down to my 1080p 60hz monitor but that one has no gsync so it actually looks worse. I don't get how you can release a game so poorly optimized. If the graphics were good enough that it warranted running super high system specs, I'd give it a pass, But frankly it doesn't look all THAT much better to me than BL2 did. Huge fan of the series but this feels like what happened to Game of Thrones. Expand
  16. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Another shameless early access with microtransactions, dated graphics and **** optimization. This franchise ended on Borderlands 2.
  17. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Boring repeative gameplay
    Optimization is utterly terrible
    The most obnoxious “comedic” writing ever.
  18. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Bought the game to give it an honest shake, with all the controversy surrouding it, I felt it would be the most honest to look at it myself.
    I can say, without a doubt, it's a horribly repetitive game, indistinguishable from the previous two, and frankly not worth the price by miles.

    Don't buy it, not even on sale.
  19. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    GAME KEEPS CRASHING at the main menu. I hate Epic, but I bought it anyway. Seems like I made a wrong decision.
  20. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Game initially bricked because of DirectX12 bug that Take Two instructed reviewers not to report on. Once I could actually play, the game ran terribly and crashed frequently.
  21. Sep 13, 2019
    4
    .There will be mission like you are in VR (no spoiler), and it made me sick because everything is bluty and a bit of blue, you cannot concentrate on anything. Like a bad trip! Who the hell thought it is a good idea?
    Characters are boring, bland map and boring characters.
  22. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Not worth buying! Just the same as Borderlands 2 it hasn't improved or added anything different in all the time they've had making this. Huge disappointment and insult to the fans
  23. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I really expected more, might aswell play BL2 again and have twice the fun.
  24. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Boring game no where near as good as originals.
    Seems like they dropped the ball on this game.
  25. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    this game uploads 250 KBps to epic games, way more than any game should need for drm. The Devs have berated fans over and over for daring to criticize their exclusivity with epic games. they ban people from their forums over calling a robot npc he. game runs like **** gameplay is sub par compared to past borderlands.
  26. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Boring , derivative, flat. Off the wall humor was how developers stayed "edgy" in 2003. Now the jokes just fall flat. For it's third outing I expected some variation or innovation, it's just more of the same but not quite as good. The guns are good but I already owned BL 1 and 2 and that's enough for me after having played this.
  27. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    This is more an expansion for BL2 rather than a new complete game with 6 years of development.

    Its just a port from UE3 to UE4, a remake of the UI (with horrible performance) and some skills thrown out there with some new characters. After 6 years you won't expect to see some of the same levels and in-game assets there, but hey, they are there, up the texture res and viola!
    This is more an expansion for BL2 rather than a new complete game with 6 years of development.

    Its just a port from UE3 to UE4, a remake of the UI (with horrible performance) and some skills thrown out there with some new characters.

    After 6 years you won't expect to see some of the same levels and in-game assets there, but hey, they are there, up the texture res and viola!

    Seriously, they just ported the game to UE4, and this is probably what is causing performance issues.
    Expand
  28. Sep 13, 2019
    4
    glitchy, micro-stutter, frame drops and over hyped.i have 1700x and 1070 the game should be running at 60fps,1080p on high setting all I am getting is 45-50.Game tried to be funny but have failed .I have nothing against Epic but they kinda have a habbit of releasing bad to average game. Each time I have brought a game I have been disappointed by the game or the store front.

    and, search
    glitchy, micro-stutter, frame drops and over hyped.i have 1700x and 1070 the game should be running at 60fps,1080p on high setting all I am getting is 45-50.Game tried to be funny but have failed .I have nothing against Epic but they kinda have a habbit of releasing bad to average game. Each time I have brought a game I have been disappointed by the game or the store front.

    and, search "borderlands 3 review copies held"
    Expand
  29. Sep 15, 2019
    0
    This game is a buggy mess. Constant crashes, low framerate, laggy, screen tearing, uninspired story telling, bland humor, and nothing an additional dlc for BL2 couldn't cover. It's just more of the same with nothing new that's worth mentioning.
  30. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    Same game then Borderlands 2 and the optimization is very bad. There are a lot of bugs too.
  31. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    piece of **** that suffers from fps drops and crashes on a high end PC, AVOID
  32. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Starts off strong from nostalgia, but quickly becomes the same boring garbage as Pre-Sequel with humor that's even more subpar. Also has a share of issues from Epic launcher failures, to severe FPS drops, and crashes. Skip this title and just play/mod BL2 if you really want a BL game.
  33. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    одно сплошное разочарование. это надо умудряться делать одно и то же без доли какой-то фантазии и при этом так завышать системные требования
  34. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I WAITED 6 YEARS FOR THIS?!
    I mean between the rinse and repeat gameplay that offers nothing new from BL 1 or 2, the bland world, the absolutely horrible optimization, I really wish I had given this one a pass. What an absolute let down.
  35. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    The game is laggy even in menu, the in-game store in single game is always bad, and the story is meh. Same level as Rage 2. Refund (if possible in your store).
  36. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Please don't buy this trash! The game is not finished. Poorly optimized and rushed, this game crashes a lot and have a lot of frame drops of 10/20/30 fps even on modern computers. The story is lackluster and boring. The attempt at humor is cringe and terrible. The characters have almost no personality. The villains are the worst and most boring villains you'll see in FPS, yes, even worstPlease don't buy this trash! The game is not finished. Poorly optimized and rushed, this game crashes a lot and have a lot of frame drops of 10/20/30 fps even on modern computers. The story is lackluster and boring. The attempt at humor is cringe and terrible. The characters have almost no personality. The villains are the worst and most boring villains you'll see in FPS, yes, even worst than the one in the new Wolfenstein.

    The graphics are a little better than Borderlands 2, a 2012 game has almost the same graphics as a 2019 game, unbelievable. The gameplay is... Ok? Borderlands 3 starts good but the shooting gets boring after a while, shooting bullet sponges isn't as fun as it sounds, even with the endless weapons the game offers. It becomes a really painful experience when the story and the gameplay doesn't work.

    In addition, the developers made a bad store choice to sell the game. Epic Games Store has many problems that everyone is already tired of hearing. The launcher sometimes does not work, the game disappears from the bookstore for a few hours, the game does not start because it does not recognize that you bought the game, many crashes. Apart from credit card cloning, poor security, etc.

    DON'T BUT THIS GAME, take your money elsewhere.
    Expand
  37. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I was so hyped for this game. I pre-ordered the time it got release date. what a **** disappointment. The only Thing changed are more guns? And more **** Bugs? Thats it? Why would anyone waste this much Money on a game that is the same **** game as the previous one?
  38. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    jeu potable mais attendre l optimisation..car programmer avec le ... a voir après 4 5 patch
  39. Sep 17, 2019
    0
    Only get this game if you feel like paying 50+ bucks to beta test an unplayable mess.

    This game's performance is absolutely abysmal. The fact they released it in such a pitiful state is mind blowing.
  40. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    The game is mediocre at best.

    Cons:
    1. Boring repeative gameplay
    2. Same graphics, same rpg elements like in 2012
    3. Large bland maps and levels
    4. Optimization is terrible
    5. Game characters are boring.

    Pros:
    1. It's same Borderlands franchise
    2. Loot.
  41. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Epic store exclusivity already deserves 0, but this game isn't even good. Graphics are slightly better, but everything else is significantly worse: Vault hunters are boring and have no personality, humor is pathetic, environment design is much worse than in borderlands 2. I can't name anything that this game does better than the previous one except graphics.
  42. Sep 14, 2019
    2
    To say I am a massive Borderlands fan is an understatement. I have sunk thousands of hours into each title that has come out so far. But I just cant do it with this one. Sure it's more borderlands as they say, which is exactly what I was hoping.. but something's different and its really pissing me off. It can't just be because I'm older now and not enjoying the humour, because in the hypeTo say I am a massive Borderlands fan is an understatement. I have sunk thousands of hours into each title that has come out so far. But I just cant do it with this one. Sure it's more borderlands as they say, which is exactly what I was hoping.. but something's different and its really pissing me off. It can't just be because I'm older now and not enjoying the humour, because in the hype of the pre-borderlands 3 weeks I was replaying borderlands 2 and thoroughly enjoying myself

    To add to it, I have put a lot of time, money and effort into building my PC and yet I am still getting countless stutters, absurd frame rates (and dx12 is a no no), errors and crashes that I should absolutely not be getting

    This game was rushed, there is NO question about it. It feels like an untested alpha. And I would go further and say that all those shady professional reviewers that gave this pile of **** higher than a 7 are full of bull**** and in my opinion were handed a wad of cash

    If you are thinking of getting this game: Do not in its current state. Wait till they fix it, and it needs a lot of fixing. Hell wait to see if they even fix it. They were paid up front by Epic Games and may be on holiday for a long while
    Expand
  43. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    The little time I did play it for was just excruciatingly painful, the game is just pushing weird SJW virtue signaling crap on to the player, cringy as hell, had to get a refund, no way I was going to sit through 40+ hours of that. my brain can only take so much.
  44. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Poor performance, weak storyline, boring characters.

    There is no steam release and Randy worked on it.
  45. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    You would figure a nearly top of the line PC would be able to run the game fine...but it doesn't. Is the game just poorly optimized? There are games with much higher graphical fidelity that can run on a GTX 1080 without issues like this. It's insane.
  46. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Совершенно не впечатляющая игра с завышенным ценником. Второсортный юмор и попытки выехать на старых идеях. В следующий раз я на это не куплюсь, спасибо.
  47. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    The only trolls here are people who give this game 10/10. in Directx 12 completely broken. Load times are out of control, and performance is poor on the f*** rtx 2080. And in addition we get denuvo, software that will be broken anyway and only making problems for people who pay for game.
  48. Sep 14, 2019
    0
    Against my better judgment bought this piece of garbage fire on pre-order, cannot get the game to work, no matter what I do, absolute waste of time, "6hrs played" watching the initial loading screen. How can a company get away with such a broken product like this is beyond me, i guess gaming companies are above consumer laws. Never ever buying any 2k product again, ever. I'm not even gonnaAgainst my better judgment bought this piece of garbage fire on pre-order, cannot get the game to work, no matter what I do, absolute waste of time, "6hrs played" watching the initial loading screen. How can a company get away with such a broken product like this is beyond me, i guess gaming companies are above consumer laws. Never ever buying any 2k product again, ever. I'm not even gonna talk about the horrific launcher we're forced to endure. Expand
  49. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Borderlands 3 has been a PR disaster, Claptrap isn’t the same voice actor as the previous games and hearing what happen between him and Randy and all the other PR disasters with this game have left a bad taste that can’t be removed. I’ve played the other borderlands games and have enjoyed them but this is the same old game. Nothing new to say about it the game hasn’t changed much from theBorderlands 3 has been a PR disaster, Claptrap isn’t the same voice actor as the previous games and hearing what happen between him and Randy and all the other PR disasters with this game have left a bad taste that can’t be removed. I’ve played the other borderlands games and have enjoyed them but this is the same old game. Nothing new to say about it the game hasn’t changed much from the previous instalments not enough for any real effect. Expand
  50. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Terrible Launch. Buggy mess. Constant crashes, low framerate, laggy, screen tearing. Forgettable story, stupid humor
  51. Sep 13, 2019
    3
    Le pire Borderland de la serie et de loin . Quel mauvais jeu . 4 personnages totalement inintéressant .... histoire a la passe partout totalement absurbe et sans intéret . Graphiques passé date . Optimiser en cobochon . Tourne tout croche en 4k et 2k meme avec une configuration de fou . I9 9900k et 2080 TI.
  52. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    What a disaster holy moly. Incredibly rushed game, runs piss poor on a 2080ti, and the humor is the worst in any game ever.
  53. Sep 13, 2019
    3
    Just more of the same, I wasn't much of a fan of BL2 but I did *like* the idea of the game so I thought I would give this a shot.

    The story and humor (from what I experienced) is just predictable and unengaging. The humor often just felt awkward and I honestly don't find the characters all that interesting. While there are *improvements* here and there with this game (mainly the
    Just more of the same, I wasn't much of a fan of BL2 but I did *like* the idea of the game so I thought I would give this a shot.

    The story and humor (from what I experienced) is just predictable and unengaging. The humor often just felt awkward and I honestly don't find the characters all that interesting.

    While there are *improvements* here and there with this game (mainly the gunplay being slightly better), I don't think there is enough to make this game worth playing. Maybe I was spoiled with Shadow Warrior 2 which I thought did the "looter shooter" thing far better. Regardless, I would give this game a miss unless you are a HUGE fan of Borderlands.

    It's not helpful that the reviews of this game are divided with hardcore fans and "critics" trying to counter review each other. I guess that's Metacritic in a nutshell. It's not that I disagree with the controversy surrounding this game, I just don't think it's something that should influence a review score.
    Expand
  54. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Just an absolute truckload of technical problems in this title making it impossible to play.
  55. Sep 14, 2019
    1
    Loved BL1,2 and Presequel. Played them all in vertical split screen with my partner. On a 4K TV, the horizontal split screen in BL3 is unplayable. :(
  56. Sep 14, 2019
    1
    Очень круто, сделали эксклюзив, только пока выпендривались забыли сделать нормально, поэтому оставили неоптимизировный куском кода, супер, что с вами не так???
  57. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    The game has too many performance issues, coupled with Epic launcher is a disaster, plus also the split screen makes the game unplayable. Did no one quality test this game first?
  58. Sep 13, 2019
    0

    This game is terrible. You thought the humor and rehased useless weapon mods in Borderlands 2 and Presequel were bad? Enter BL3. The pc port can't even run smoothly first of all, it crashes, terrible random fps drops, even lags in the menu. This game looks and feels like borderlands 2, yet runs about 100x worse on a pretty standard GPU (R2X 2070). The humor and characters are really

    This game is terrible. You thought the humor and rehased useless weapon mods in Borderlands 2 and Presequel were bad? Enter BL3. The pc port can't even run smoothly first of all, it crashes, terrible random fps drops, even lags in the menu. This game looks and feels like borderlands 2, yet runs about 100x worse on a pretty standard GPU (R2X 2070). The humor and characters are really uninspired, Fl4K's design looks straight out ripped off of the old taletell game, while the others are really uninspired and forgettable.
    They straight up removed other character's from the universe as well such as Gaige and Kreig.
    Kreig being my favourite to come out of BL2. The mechanics are literally copy&paste from Borderlands 2. Nothing was improved, and there's not really anything innovative here, even in enemy design. This game is a prime example of how not to develop a game.
    Expand
  59. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I love this series , I like the launcher and the new reward system ... but ... the game itself is just a misunderstanding.

    The game has a beautiful UI/UX. But this is the only thing the game is worth praising. The plot is incredibly boring. Characters look boring and disgusting. Especially the main villains and a pirate copy of D.Va. The game is strongly associated with the
    I love this series , I like the launcher and the new reward system ... but ... the game itself is just a misunderstanding.

    The game has a beautiful UI/UX. But this is the only thing the game is worth praising.

    The plot is incredibly boring. Characters look boring and disgusting. Especially the main villains and a pirate copy of D.Va.
    The game is strongly associated with the meaningless Pre-sequel - the spaceship and flights between the planets do not fit into the game at all. Shooting is boring. Loot? I have seen enough of him in the second part.

    The game has no creative growth of developers and logical development of ideas. There is only an extremely lazy attempt to sell the same game a third time.

    Thanks, that's enough for me.
    Expand
  60. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Nothing special. Nothing new. Only bugs, bugs, crashes, bugs. Seriously what a waste of **** money. Going to refund (if its even possible on Epic) and just wait for the game to be fixed and to go on sale. Not worth the money tbh
  61. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Another boring copy/paste Borderlands game. The series has continuously gone downhill since the first game and this one is no exception. I really should have learned my lesson after the Pre-Sequel being a disaster, but nobody is perfect.
  62. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Tedious mediocre **** with the most obnoxious “comedic” writing ever. It sucks that people worked hard on this.
  63. Sep 14, 2019
    1
    How do you go from a great game like Borderlands, to completely unoptimized crap that sucks up your bandwidth while you play. A huge step backwards for Gearbox. Seems like thats par for the course though.
  64. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Not as great as I thought it would be. Performance related problems with bad optimization, long load times. The game itself isn't a very good iteration of the series.

    Furthermore it's impossible not to mention how anti consumer Gearbox, 2K, and Take 2 Interactive are toward consumers with store exclusivity, the way they have treated certain folks in the news media who have been nothing
    Not as great as I thought it would be. Performance related problems with bad optimization, long load times. The game itself isn't a very good iteration of the series.

    Furthermore it's impossible not to mention how anti consumer Gearbox, 2K, and Take 2 Interactive are toward consumers with store exclusivity, the way they have treated certain folks in the news media who have been nothing but basically cheerleaders for the series, it's just really sad. There's no way I can recommend the game based on all these factors added together.
    Expand
  65. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    boring main villains, unfunny outdated humor, horribly casualized gunplay (guns have 0 recoil), same boring quest structure as before, graphics only marginally improved
  66. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    How disgusting! The game is almost no different from the second part, the same graphics, the same location, the same gameplay, dull story! What for?!
  67. Sep 13, 2019
    4
    This game should be sold as borderlands 2 dlc. Not full price game. The ammount of microtransactions and bugs in this game is "over 9000". This game is one big dissapointment
  68. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Epic store exclusivity already deserves 0, but this game isn't even good. Graphics are slightly better, but everything else is significantly worse: Vault hunters are boring and have no personality, humor is pathetic, environment design is much worse than in borderlands 2. I can't name anything that this game does better than the previous one except graphics.
  69. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Runs like guano (GTX 1080 barely runs it in 1080p, nothing except RTX 2080 Ti can run it in 1440p with a stable framerate, JUST LOL) while having graphics absolutely identical or even worse than that of BL2. Introduces next to nothing new in terms of raw gameplay. Abandoned it's fanbase and became a timed exclusive for the easy cash. There are microtransactions (who would've thought)Runs like guano (GTX 1080 barely runs it in 1080p, nothing except RTX 2080 Ti can run it in 1440p with a stable framerate, JUST LOL) while having graphics absolutely identical or even worse than that of BL2. Introduces next to nothing new in terms of raw gameplay. Abandoned it's fanbase and became a timed exclusive for the easy cash. There are microtransactions (who would've thought) despite Randy Bi-tchford claiming otherwise.

    It's not worth even a penny, just play the older titles of this franchise or, feel free to try out either Destiny 2 or Division 2, because they actually are much better overall than *this* excuse for a timed exclusivity deal.
    Expand
  70. Sep 13, 2019
    1
    Boring gameplay, lame humour, blank world, poor optimization.
    The magic of borderlands 2 is gone in this one.
    Would not recommend.
  71. Sep 13, 2019
    4
    Don't listen to 9-10 score fanboys/shills, the game is mediocre at best.

    Cons:
    1. Boring repeative gameplay
    2. Same graphics, same rpg elements like in 2012
    3. Large bland maps and levels
    4. Optimization is terrible
    5. Game characters are boring.

    Pros:
    1. It's same Borderlands franchise
    2. Loot.
  72. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    It's a game that any sane person would consider "broken on release".
    It is horrendously optimized and buggy, actually unplayable. I'm shocked they decided to ship the game in this state.

    Randy, please drop me that early build you've sent to Game Journos, thanks lad.
  73. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Glorified shooting gallery with idiotic AI and overpowered weapons. Also tons of microtransactions.
  74. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    When played on my laptop (Razer Blade 15) with a combo Intel Integrated and Nvidia RTX 2070, trying to launch the game causes it to freeze and crash at the loading screen. Using latest drivers and windows updates. However, trying the same on my wife's desktop, it works just fine. Makes me think there is an issue with Optimus. But... A game that doesn't launch is a game that doesn't launch.When played on my laptop (Razer Blade 15) with a combo Intel Integrated and Nvidia RTX 2070, trying to launch the game causes it to freeze and crash at the loading screen. Using latest drivers and windows updates. However, trying the same on my wife's desktop, it works just fine. Makes me think there is an issue with Optimus. But... A game that doesn't launch is a game that doesn't launch. Annoyed and waiting for eventual updates that will let me play the game. Expand
  75. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    The game is just terrible, the pre sequel is better.

    Exclusives are fine if they make them like, EA, Ubisoft, Sony, Xbox, Valve etc but not when you force people to your incomplete store front to buy AAA/indie titles to "compete". If Epic Games just stuck with 12% we all would support them.
  76. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Since EGS doesn't have forums like Steam, I'll write a review here. Cloud storage does not work in at least the EGS version. Also, when you create a new character, you can't skip five minutes of cutscenes. The rest of the game is good. But it turns out I can not play on two computers, synchronizing the progress. If the problems are corrected, I'd be happy to raise the score for the game.
  77. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    Feels very dated. Cringey immature "humour". So many bugs. An awful game. Don't waste your money.
  78. Sep 14, 2019
    4
    BL3 is just a upgrade of BL2 but with serious performance issues.
    The enemies AI is terrible, no challgenge at all, you can just run throw them and complete missions easily. In resume the gameplay is just press W and shoot some ducks,
  79. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    I will admit this score is in reference to expectations... The developers and team clearly put in effort and time to this game. The graphics and design are high quality. The game itself though isn't to me a better Borderlands!! It just isn't :-/ I can't think of playing this game more than once and I already bought the DLCs and secretly regret that :-(
  80. Sep 15, 2019
    4
    I'm not sure why this game performs as poorly as it does. I have an RTX 2080 and coming from Gears 5 where my frame rates were generally over 80 this one seems stuck below 60. Like the graphics look the same as borderlands 2 and I was getting around 100fps there. The frametime is the worst as it seems to be jumping all over the place. I've even had 2 crashes already, I should never haveI'm not sure why this game performs as poorly as it does. I have an RTX 2080 and coming from Gears 5 where my frame rates were generally over 80 this one seems stuck below 60. Like the graphics look the same as borderlands 2 and I was getting around 100fps there. The frametime is the worst as it seems to be jumping all over the place. I've even had 2 crashes already, I should never have pre-ordered this game. Expand
  81. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    Well. We all waited for the Borderlands continuity, and this game has finally arrived. Let's see how it goes !

    Pros : - The characters we know and love are back. - The gameplay seems to hold promises. - Story so far seems okay-ish Cons : - Horrible launch : Problems launching the game, problems downloading the game... - There are microtransactions EVERYWHERE, far too expensive.
    Well. We all waited for the Borderlands continuity, and this game has finally arrived. Let's see how it goes !

    Pros :
    - The characters we know and love are back.
    - The gameplay seems to hold promises.
    - Story so far seems okay-ish

    Cons :
    - Horrible launch : Problems launching the game, problems downloading the game...
    - There are microtransactions EVERYWHERE, far too expensive.
    - The game is a bit lagging, even on a good PC
    - The ingame menus are laggy as hell. We're talking about a 2 to 3 seconds wait when switching submenus.
    - Clipping here and there
    - How the hell does this word ban works ?

    Global review : 2/10. This could have been better, if it was released 6 months later, without bugs, with more optimization. When you're paying a game full price, you expect a full game : Not a half game.
    Expand
  82. Sep 13, 2019
    2
    Деградация.
    Шутки и весь юмор вымученный, выжимается из себя, чтобы казаться смешным. Мне НЕ БЫЛО смешно на протяжении 5 часов ни 1 раза. Играть мне было не интересно, отличий от 1-2 борды не нашел. Ну так зачем я должен заплатить 2 куска за эту игру, да еще сезон за почти те же 2 куска?! Она этого не стоит... красный ценик 600р и 300р сезонный.
    Деградация.
    Шутки и весь юмор вымученный, выжимается из себя, чтобы казаться смешным. Мне НЕ БЫЛО смешно на протяжении 5 часов ни 1 раза. Играть мне было не интересно, отличий от 1-2 борды не нашел. Ну так зачем я должен заплатить 2 куска за эту игру, да еще сезон за почти те же 2 куска?! Она этого не стоит... красный ценик 600р и 300р сезонный.
  83. Sep 13, 2019
    0
    I don't know from where to start with, first of all the game is way too political, just by looking at the ugly character like Amara you will know what I mean. The main 4 playable characters are horrible and uninteresting, the game is not even the half of the nail of BD2.
  84. Sep 13, 2019
    5
    So far the game is fun with plenty of playtime and plenty of weapons. Just like before each gun has its own feel to it. Story-wise it has new characters, old characters, and good dialogue that you would come to expect from a borderlands game. Though it does feel a bit more PG13 then previous titles.

    PRO's Good graphics Fun weapons New environments New characters Cons
    So far the game is fun with plenty of playtime and plenty of weapons. Just like before each gun has its own feel to it. Story-wise it has new characters, old characters, and good dialogue that you would come to expect from a borderlands game. Though it does feel a bit more PG13 then previous titles.

    PRO's
    Good graphics
    Fun weapons
    New environments
    New characters

    Cons
    Microtransactions (though not as bad as most games)
    Glitchy (still needs work on some issues, but they will be ironed out)
    and what knocked 3 points off my review. EPIC GAME STORE. I'm sorry, but I would rather use EA Origins. But I want to play this game so, F it. I will refrain from buying other games on the EGS. Yes, steam has a lot of control over the market, but when your storefront lacks even a Shopping cart, then maybe you should invest more on making it worth using before forcing people to buy games on it. but that is just me. Also a Fing road map for a storefront... And like Anthem, they abandoned that roadmap.

    All in all, a fun game. If I hadn't just spent so much upgrading my PC, I would have gotten this for the Xbox or PS4. If you have that option then do it and do not feed the Epic Game Store as I did :(.
    Expand
  85. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Unlike most of these negative reviewers, I've actually played the game. It's still Borderlands so if you hated the previous game you won't like this. If you did, it's awesome. There are lots of great improvements, skilltrees are more elaborate, more varied skills... Great new weapon effects and funky shields and grenades, different vehicles that are moddable, great quality of lifeUnlike most of these negative reviewers, I've actually played the game. It's still Borderlands so if you hated the previous game you won't like this. If you did, it's awesome. There are lots of great improvements, skilltrees are more elaborate, more varied skills... Great new weapon effects and funky shields and grenades, different vehicles that are moddable, great quality of life improvements, great graphics. There are some minor rough edges still like the map being a bit annoying to control (please zoom out further by default) and it is definitely a heavier game. I run it at low on qhd on a 1060 6 gb to get around 70-80 fps, but low still looks good, I honestly don't see that much difference so I like the better framerate. I'm sure we'll get some patches to improve it.
    Overall really enjoying the game. Don't listen to the epic/randy hate crew, just get it and come blow stuff up.
    Expand
  86. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Easily the best FPS of 2019 so far. Runs smoothly on my 1080ti at 1440p. Funny characters, excellent gun play, good cut scenes, multiplayer options, and unlimited grind potential. Not sure what else you can ask for for $60... Great job Gearbox and thank you!
  87. Oct 6, 2019
    10
    I am not afraid to admit it . I am sucker for Borderlands franchise and Borderlands 3 does not disappoints. If you like previous BL games you will like BL3 because the game is not huge departure from the past 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it'.It is. You will feel right at home when you start the game for the first time. Similar graphics and yet nicely upgraded. Similar weapon inventoryI am not afraid to admit it . I am sucker for Borderlands franchise and Borderlands 3 does not disappoints. If you like previous BL games you will like BL3 because the game is not huge departure from the past 'If it ain't broke, don't fix it'.It is. You will feel right at home when you start the game for the first time. Similar graphics and yet nicely upgraded. Similar weapon inventory system and yet nicely upgraded. Everything in BL3 is upgraded from previous games.I have only played the game for few hours but I know i will spend countless hours exploring BL3. I like the game humor, new characters, cool weapons and colorful graphics. I just like this game a lot. I want more of Borderlands and this game gives me just that. More Borderlands without re-inventing the wheel.

    Another thing that needs to be mentioned is that there are no micro translations in this game (aside from season pass). What you see is what you get and this is awesome. I really do appreciate that and I am happy to support developer and publisher that does not treat us games like ATM machine.

    I do not own discrete video card and I play this game on AMD Ryzen 3400G with Vega 11 integrated graphics . the game runs very well all considered. I bought the game right after patch was released improving game performance. There are many visual settings to play with and the game looks great even on low settings. My Ryzen 3400g runs BL3 in mid 40FPSs at @1080p with low settings and resolution scale set @75%. I get PS4 and Xbox One S type experience with $150 APU from AMD. Microsoft Xbox controller has full support out of the box.

    Lastly i want to address negative ratings on Metacritics. Developers deserve to keep more profits and Epic competition is good for PC gaming industry. You might not like that the game is exclusive to Epic but eventually this game will come to Steam. I buy games both from Steam and Epic. I love Borderlands and I want to support people who worked tirelessly over last few years to bring us this AAA title. Consider that this game has no micro-transactions. Just for that one fact this game deserves your support even if you do not agree with exclusive games.

    So just go pick up the game and lose yourself in Pandora for many months to come.
    Expand
  88. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    I tried the game last night, I enomely played 2 and I find that this opus just brings the new features that are missing from 2. The graphics are very nice and more detailed than in the 2 which was already beautiful, and the gameplay is more dynamic.
  89. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Maravilloso! Este juego es una delicia. Los personajes tan carismáticos como siempre (sobretodo los nuevos), la ambientación bellísima, el diseño gráfico tan característico de esta saga pero mejorado al 1000, y a nivel jugable es el mejor de todos. Este junto con gears 5 y outer wilds son mis goty's personales
  90. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    This game is simply amazing, everything good about Borderlands is still here and even better, movement is incredible now, graphics are superb.
    The only reason why this game is getting negative bombed is because is exclusive of Epic Games.
  91. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    If you liked borderlands 2 you will love this game. They basically improved on everything. Graphics are noticeabley better, I recomend playing on performance. Movement, climbing, sliding is awesome. Looting is quicker, you don't have to spam the loot button. Guns feel great. And it still has that great borderlands charm.
  92. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    It's borderlands, if you like borderlands you'll love it.
  93. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    fantastic so far... Didnt notice is was 4am until just now from playing this game

    This borderlands has much more to offer compared to the second one... Better gunplay, better graphics, interesting environments, fun little easter eggs and references, etc The bad: Epic exclusive, day one performance issues and a few bugs. overall im giving this a 10 to counter act the
    fantastic so far... Didnt notice is was 4am until just now from playing this game

    This borderlands has much more to offer compared to the second one...
    Better gunplay, better graphics, interesting environments, fun little easter eggs and references, etc

    The bad:
    Epic exclusive, day one performance issues and a few bugs.

    overall im giving this a 10 to counter act the non-legitimate reviews.. This game 6 hours in is a 9/10
    Expand
  94. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    I don't know what is WORSE, critics who review bomb Dave Chappelle for not going along with the SJW narrative, or the children review bombing borderlands 3 because of the actions of one douchebag (pitchford).
    Does it suck that Epic bought exclusivity? YES
    Is it **** how they Pitchford treated Cl4p-Tps voice actor? YES If there is anyone genuinely interested in an honest, non-biased
    I don't know what is WORSE, critics who review bomb Dave Chappelle for not going along with the SJW narrative, or the children review bombing borderlands 3 because of the actions of one douchebag (pitchford).
    Does it suck that Epic bought exclusivity? YES
    Is it **** how they Pitchford treated Cl4p-Tps voice actor? YES
    If there is anyone genuinely interested in an honest, non-biased review, please read on. If you just want to feel like you achieved something today, go ahead and hit "unhelpful". You know you are going to anyway.

    I have hundreds of hours in BL2, and I was incredibly excited for BL3, I am the audience that subscribed to youtube channels just for BL3 rumours for the last 4/5 years. So this game had a lot to live up to for me. And boy does it hit all the right notes! The gameplay is awesome and smooth, with great performance (2070 @1080p) is running around 100fps. Consistent fps was a big issue for BL2 so it is nice to have that fixed. The humour is right up there with the best entries (think BL2 DLC or Tales from borderlands), of course there are going to be elitists that say it is childish (like they don't realise they were creating childish humour) but in reality it is very similar to the humour of the entire franchise.

    Looting is awesome as usual, although it is hard to tell about late game yet (same goes for builds).
    Quests are as expected, find, collect, kill. However, the stories behind the quests (especially side quests) have really shocked me with the quality. The stories behind them and boss fights are just best in franchise so far.

    If you didn't like BL2, there is literally ZERO reason to think you will like this game. However, if you did like BL2 then this is like a dream come true. They haven't messes with anything, just improved where things felt dated. And I for one thank them for it.

    Another great edition is enemy upscaling. Now we can complete quests without being rewarded 1xp per kill.

    Overall I would give it a 9.6, however I could increase this as I am only 8 hours in so far.
    Expand
  95. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    I love it! Exactly what I've expected. It was worth the wait. I hope they keep the game update and full of content as they did on the previous games.
  96. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    My new favorite game it's amazing and I'll surely be playing it for a hella long time
  97. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    I feel like people are just giving this game bad reviews because it's on the Epic Games Store, but don't fret. This game is amazing, feels amazing, and plays amazing.
  98. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Stop leaving bad reviews for it being an epic exklusive. The gameplay is fantastic, Its even better than the old games.
  99. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Best game in the franchise. Massive improvement in quality from 2 which was already a fantastic game.
  100. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Really enjoying the game so far, I see the review bombing has already started *sigh*
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 12, 2019
    63
    All in all, it’s a joke of a game, and it’s not even funny.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 11, 2019
    93
    Despite the initial skepticism, Borderlands 3 turned out to be great. It does have its faults, but for the entire 30-hour campaign it will keep you entertained not only with its main story, but also with sidequests, exploration and searching for the perfect build for your character. [Issue#240, p.24]
  3. Edge Magazine
    Oct 10, 2019
    70
    It might not have much to say, but Borderlands 3 gives you a lot to talk about. [Issue#338, p.100]