User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 145
  2. Negative: 44 out of 145

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2015
    7
    Actually most of the game was quite good. But the ending was gibberish. It was painfully obvious that too much content has been cut to "finely push the game out". That's sad, puzzles and the mood were finely picking up the quality of the older titles and just when I was really getting into it the game ended.

    PS. Don't forget to watch the credits, the actual story that should have been
    Actually most of the game was quite good. But the ending was gibberish. It was painfully obvious that too much content has been cut to "finely push the game out". That's sad, puzzles and the mood were finely picking up the quality of the older titles and just when I was really getting into it the game ended.

    PS. Don't forget to watch the credits, the actual story that should have been included in the game is told through doodle sketches that appear during the credits.
    Expand
  2. Fuz
    Apr 28, 2015
    7
    Finally, after a year, we have the last part of Broken Age.
    It improves on the first part but it's just a more of the same. If you didn't like the first act, you won't like this either.
    First of all: it's longer than act one. Still not huge, but the two acts together (after all, it's a single game) have a more than decent duration for this sort of games. The puzzles are now harder and
    Finally, after a year, we have the last part of Broken Age.
    It improves on the first part but it's just a more of the same. If you didn't like the first act, you won't like this either.
    First of all: it's longer than act one. Still not huge, but the two acts together (after all, it's a single game) have a more than decent duration for this sort of games.
    The puzzles are now harder and more convoluted than the previous chapter, but they're still on the easy side for experienced adventurers. They're always logical (although sometimes a bit of a twisted logic) and satisfying to solve.
    The art is amazing: both the graphics and the music are really beautiful, charming and have a sort of lighthearted, childlike, relaxing property on them. Absolutely lovely.
    The voices are fantastic too. The quality of the voice acting is absolutely top notch.
    The story is also good, but considering the first act premises could have been something more. I was kinda expecting a second, hidden, layer of narration, some sort of subtext about the whole story, and I was wrong.
    The ending is also kinda disappointing, I personally would have liked to explore Loruna and know more about it. Maybe we'll get to in a sequel.
    And besides Loruna, the world is pretty interesting and I think it has much potential, also thanks to the art style: I want to explore more of it and know more about it, it's just beautiful. Too bad the low number of hotspots keeps it from being more detailed. Hotspots are mostly used for puzzles, whereas in other adventure games where used to give some nice joke or interesting details about the locations and they did add a lot of depht. Also, most of the locations are straight from the first game (with a twist, often): you just revisit them with the other character, so there's not a lot of variety. Shame.
    I would give it a nine, but I'll give it -2 points for the bad interface designed for tablets and for the low number of hot spots.
    All in all, a very good adventure game from DF: I just finished it and I want more.
    Expand
  3. May 2, 2015
    5
    Broken Age had a promising start with Act 1, but Act 2 is a significant dissapointment, full of repetition and bad puzzle design, hurting the game as a whole.
    A big disappointment, sadly.
  4. Jun 8, 2015
    6
    Broken Age never delivers on the initial promise of an amazing adventure in the style of classic adventures from the 90's. It's a decent game though, especially Act 1 while the Act 2 seems rushed and with bad/random puzzle design.
  5. Apr 10, 2016
    6
    I'm SOOOO DISSAPPOINTED WITH ACT 2!

    Act 1 has an amazing progression in story and character development. I couldn't stop turning the pages, but in act 2 it got to the point that I just looked up the guide to finish the game. The puzzles became mundane and all I wanted was to finish the story. I'm very disappointed with how it ends. Act 2 could have been developed more in the script phase.
  6. Jun 2, 2019
    7
    Broken Age: Act 2 lacks a bit of the things that made me like the first game, includding adding some puzzles that were far from intuitive and challenged some of the sense I had, but it still manages to be a lovely game with a lot of heart in it.
  7. Nov 22, 2020
    6
    Увы, имея отличную завязку для второго эпизода, разработчики ею почему-то не воспользовались. Геймеры зря надеялись на пересечение судеб персонажей: соединившись, истории Шэя и Вэллы... вновь разошлись. Правда, сюжетные линии не пошли дальше, а просто поменялись местами: теперь Вэлла имеет дело с «родителями» Шэя, в то время как паренек исследует вселенную девушки.
    Итак, почему же Broken
    Увы, имея отличную завязку для второго эпизода, разработчики ею почему-то не воспользовались. Геймеры зря надеялись на пересечение судеб персонажей: соединившись, истории Шэя и Вэллы... вновь разошлись. Правда, сюжетные линии не пошли дальше, а просто поменялись местами: теперь Вэлла имеет дело с «родителями» Шэя, в то время как паренек исследует вселенную девушки.
    Итак, почему же Broken Age напоминает красивый воздушный шарик, который в конце концов сдулся?
    - повествование то и дело стремится куда-то «убежать». Если в первом акте разработчики тактично вводили нас в историю персонажей, то во втором - рассказ ведется впопыхах и не вызывает эмоций.
    - сюжет откровенно слабенький: игра отказывается обыгрывать важные темы (e.g., зарождение мира Broken Age), но зато умудряется выложить на стол все карты касательно мотивации антигероев, что делает ход событий более чем предсказуемым.
    - концовка - настоящее разочарование. Игра заканчивается еще до того, как побеждено Абсолютное Зло. Вдруг запускаются титры, во время которых нам показывают упущенное при помощи картинок.
    - несуразные паззлы. Если в «Первом акте» истории Шэя и Вэллы не были связаны друг с другом, то во втором информация, полученная в ходе одной истории, уже требуется для решения загадок в другой, поэтому пройти сюжет сначала за одного героя, а затем - за другого, уже не получится. Нелепо выглядит то, что герои, находясь в разных местах, неизвестным науке образом обмениваются мыслями. При этом нам никогда не дают четко понять, когда наступает пора переключаться на другую историю, в результате чего ты бродишь туда-сюда, не понимая, что же пропустил.

    Broken Age: Act 2 - это посредственная адвенчура, страдающая от глупых пазлов и проблем с повествованием. Пусть и с отличным артом и необычными персонажами. Игра постоянно бросается в крайности: то ей подавай решение головоломки только в том порядке, как задумал дизайнер (яркий пример - финальная многоходовая головоломка) - даже поняв логику паззла, можно пропустить мельчайший шажок и застопориться на ровном месте, - то начинает валять дурака, лишая головоломку смысла и заставляя прибегать к методу тыка.
    Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Jan 20, 2016
    50
    Broken Age's first act was mediocre but had potential. Potential that its conclusion squanders.
  2. Jun 29, 2015
    70
    As a whole, Broken Age is a must-play for any fan of point-and-click adventures. However it is pretty obvious that the game is forcibly split into two acts and if you have waited for a whole year to see the conclusion of the game’s story, you’re probably going to end up disappointed.
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 29, 2015
    90
    Something more than just a homage to LucasArts classics. Broken Age built its own identity brick by brick, drawing inspiration from its ancestors, but not mindlessly. [06/2015, p.56]