Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
Buy On
  1. May 27, 2015
    100
    This game managed to be everything I had hoped it would be and then some, with all the wonderful attention to little details and customization options. Fans of the genre wont want to miss this one.
  2. Mar 29, 2015
    100
    Cities: Skylines is everything we expected but never got from the Simcity series. Craving for a city sim resulted in ignoring the faults and shortages of the latter, something that is emphasized by Skylines' brilliance. The game shines with an extreme attention to detail spanning from macro to micromanagement and provides huge space where you can build your city.
  3. Mar 10, 2015
    100
    The finest city builder in over a decade, Cities: Skylines's few flaws are so minor I only noticed them after hours of enjoyment.
  4. Mar 10, 2015
    100
    I could go on all day about Cities: Skylines, much like I could go on all night playing it. It has restored my faith in the City Building Simulator genre. It’s everything that fans of the genre were hoping for and more.
  5. Mar 10, 2015
    100
    The city builder is back! Colossal Order has succeeded where others have failed. Cities: Skylines is a brilliant game.
  6. Mar 10, 2015
    95
    Cities: Skylines brings the city building genre back after its near demise from other series' flawed game releases. The inclusion of large game maps, natural resources management, addictive progression system, and all of it running at a near-flawless technical performance make Cities: Skylines the new standard in city building games.
  7. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2015
    91
    Cities: Skylines teaches SimCities a trick or dozen. [May 2015]
  8. May 24, 2015
    90
    Ultimately Cities: Skylines has provided exactly what players wanted from SimCity 2013, and that ought to be all it takes to convince would-be city planners.
  9. Apr 28, 2015
    90
    Ultimately there's less micro-management in Cities: Skylines than in SimCity, but it in no way feels like something cut-down or "cloney." No, Cities: Skylines is its own game - an impressive feat considering the lineage of the genre.
  10. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skylines achieves everything we wanted in SimCity with ease.
  11. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    It’s a shame that Maxis folded the way it did, but the baton has been passed. Rejoice, mini-mayors, for the city-builder is born anew.
  12. Mar 23, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skylines is a great citybuilder that makes us forget SimCity, even though it hurts a little. It is big and beautiful, plus we love the controls, but it does come with some annoying bugs.
  13. Mar 20, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skyline is one of the best modern city-builder games right now. Its support to the modder community will bring us great joys.
  14. 90
    Cities: Skylines is how city-building games ought to be. It's fun, it's pretty, it's easily approachable, yet, difficult to master. It doesn't have all the features that one might dream of in the perfect city-building simulator, but it does absolute wonders with what it does have.
  15. Mar 18, 2015
    90
    This is what SimCity should have been. Simply, the best city builder so far, with great support for modders and a lot of fun for all fans of the genre.
  16. Mar 13, 2015
    90
    The most fascinating aspect of Cities: Skylines is how much your city feels like it is a living, breathing entity, and it’s not just the unique life your citizens will bring to the region.
  17. Mar 13, 2015
    90
    Skylines opens up the genre to players old and new with a user-friendly interface, intricately designed mechanics and enormous maps for maximum player creativity. One of the best.
  18. Mar 11, 2015
    90
    The best city building game since the heydays of the 90’s when SimCity ruled supreme.
  19. Mar 10, 2015
    90
    I may have failed beautifully in managing my city, but Cities: Skylines allows me to create a vast, complex ecosystem of a city that I can call my own, and it does so with style and grace.
  20. Mar 10, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skylines is a title that will eat up hours of your time, and with a commitment from the developers to continue support for the title in the future, and Steam Workshop integration, the huge amount of replayability the base game has will become even bigger. I wholeheartedly recommend this game and can’t wait to see what modders and Colossal Order have in store for us in the future.
  21. Mar 10, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skylines is absolutely the best city-builder I’ve played since SimCity 4. From macro to micro, from the sprawling transport networks and city-wide policies to the fine-tuned districts and street-level detail, it impresses.
  22. Mar 10, 2015
    90
    Cities: Skylines is a great city builder, the best one on the market nowadays.
  23. Mar 9, 2015
    90
    It's simply the best city builder out there. The guys from Colossal Order literally outperformed themselves with this sequel.
  24. May 18, 2015
    88
    Colossal Order ha decided to bring it's franchise to a whole new level, making it become the ultimate Sim city simulator, being even better than the original franchise.
  25. Skylines is one of the most flawless tycoon game we have ever seen. It will definitely make you happy if you like city tycoon games.
  26. Mar 10, 2015
    88
    Skylines has already exceeded my high expectations.
  27. Mar 10, 2015
    88
    Through deep and rewarding gameplay, Colossal Order’s new simulation fills the increasingly noticeable void in the genre. Where others have failed, Cities: Skyline excels and delivers the new gold standard of modern city-builders.
  28. Mar 25, 2015
    87
    A game that reveals its depth gradually, and one that is also set to spark some fantastic community support in the coming weeks and months thanks to the available mod tools and support.
  29. Mar 10, 2015
    87
    Cities: Skylines will be the city builder to beat in coming years. With few real flaws, this is the Sim City we were promised two years ago. Developer Colossal Order succeeds and even trumps Maxis in terms of sheer road-dropping, tax-raising fun. If you like playing mayor, there simply isn’t anything else like it out there.
  30. Mar 10, 2015
    86
    A handful of flaws, but this fun and addictive city-builder still climbs high.
  31. May 5, 2015
    85
    Cities: Skylines isn’t without its flaws, but even the things wrong with it add to its charm. It might not be that much of a challenge, but it delivers on the glee of expansion.
  32. CD-Action
    Apr 30, 2015
    85
    The best economic simulation game in years. Cities: Skylines does everything SimCity wanted to do and is one of the best ways to spend free time that I can think of. [05/2015, p.68]
  33. Mar 26, 2015
    85
    An excellent simulator, Cities Skylines immerses us in the joy of city creation with its solid foundations, lively mod community and amazing depth, despite its visual shortcomings and the lack of some options present in its competitors.
  34. Mar 23, 2015
    85
    Cities: Skylines manages to be a better SimCity than the official, 2013 one. A great game despite some minor inconveniences.
  35. Mar 10, 2015
    85
    Don’t expect exciting scenarios or random events, but do expect to be impressed by the scale and many moving parts of this city-builder.
  36. Mar 10, 2015
    85
    In summary - here’s the city-builder you’ve been waiting for.
  37. Mar 11, 2015
    83
    This is what modern city building should look like. There are small annoying flaws in terms of traffic infrastructure (roundabouts, pathfinding) and also the difficulty level is very forgiving. But none of it is critical and will keep you from playing. Where SimCity and Cities XXL failed, Cities Skylines passes with flying colours.
  38. Mar 26, 2015
    82
    Cities: Skylines is an outstanding simulator that is accessible and deep. We could only ask for more options and possibilities, but it is still is a great experience fans of the genre will love.
  39. Jan 21, 2016
    80
    Cities: Skylines somehow lives up to the unfair expectations heaped upon it, presenting one of the best city builders in years.
  40. Aug 12, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skyline is the game SimCity should have been: a great game and a greater base for modders.
  41. Apr 9, 2015
    80
    Cities Skylines is the true successor to Sim City. Rich and complex, it is nevertheless very accessible, thanks to its exemplary interface.
  42. Apr 8, 2015
    80
    Cities Skylines is a very good city builder that is even more striking if we think about the really restricted size of developer Colossal Order. The Finnish team has created a complex and varied game, that's also full of possibilities and without the boredom that emerged after only a few hours in Cities XXL.
  43. Apr 7, 2015
    80
    Over a decade old SimCity 4 has finally found its challenger. He is young, nimble and not afraid to go into the ring in cheap shorts without a sponsor sticker. Even where the game stumbles, it is more functional than the recent attempt to restart once sovereign SimCity brand. Someone can say it’s a copycat of SimCity but they did a better job, so what.
  44. Mar 26, 2015
    80
    There is a lot to love about Cities: Skylines and it gets a lot right for fans of the genre who felt crushed by SimCity’s disappointing release.
  45. Mar 25, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines makes up for everything SimCity did wrong. It offers the possibility of making gigantic cities in which infrastructure is key. Building a city that does well sometimes gets a bit too easy, which also shows the limited offer in buildings. Thankfully the quickly growing community knows what to use the Steam Workshop for. This is only going to get better.
  46. Mar 23, 2015
    80
    Cities Skylines borrow the best parts from Sim City, cuts the price tag by half and at the same time fixes the flaws from Maxis game. In short terms: this is the best city planning game we have seen over the past decade.
  47. Mar 22, 2015
    80
    It’s certainly not a flawless attempt, and will definitely need some post-launch patching, but the fun factor is there alongside the addictive gameplay. I guess you could even say that, for a first attempt, the foundations are solid as a rock.
  48. Mar 19, 2015
    80
    The true successor to the SimCity legacy, and even though it only restates what was great about the original it still does a better job than the last decade or so of official games.
  49. Mar 17, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines is the best experience for a gamer who wants to play a modern city builder that has a solid set of mechanics and manages to avoid all the traps that have sunk the reboot of SimCity that Maxis and Electronic Arts created.
  50. Mar 16, 2015
    80
    Even though Cities: Skylines is not without flaws, it's still the best game in city-building genre.
  51. Mar 16, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines is the city-builder we've been both waiting and hoping for. Simple, but elegant systems and potentially huge landmasses to build upon and expand your city. The game doesn't overcomplicate anything, but strikes a good balance between depth and ease of use.
  52. Mar 15, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines isn't perfect, but it's an excellent city builder and a great launch for developer Colossal Order. There a few control issues, a lack of key features explanations for new players, and the building currently lack the complexity found in SimCity 4 or SimCity (2013), but I still sunk hours into the game and will sink many more.
  53. Mar 14, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines successfully caters for the audience left disappointed by SimCity with a level of accessibility tailored for casual city builders, combined with enough substance to delight veterans of the genre. Colossal Order has learned from EA's mistakes and brought us a game that steers clear of those pitfalls and emerges as a pioneer in its category.
  54. Mar 12, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines is the best city-builder on the market right now. The game's presentation is stodgy, but it is all but guaranteed to provide you many hours of carefully crafting cities, laying out zoning, and establishing districts for specifics residential and industrial uses…all free from real-world mayoral headaches like 6 a.m. phone calls griping about snowplowing.
  55. Mar 10, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines is a really interesting alternative within a fairly consolidated genre. Colossal Orders presents a nice game after the nonsense of some recent attempts by other companies. It has some character and dares to show some original ideas without departing from the standardized gameplay mechanics. If you were waiting for a good city management game just take a look to this interesting project. It's still capable of many surprises if it finally gets supported by a community of creative and proactive users.
  56. Mar 10, 2015
    80
    Cities: Skylines might be Colossal Order’s first attempt at a city builder, but it already feels well rounded and complete. There are a few areas that need improving and others that are crying out to be expanded upon, but those will come in due course, and what’s already there lets you build vast cities to your heart’s content.
  57. The game made its debut at a very fortunate time, when its closest competitors are at their weakest: new iterations of Cities XL content-wise are closer to a DLC, and SimCity remains a total disappointment. While Skylines doesn’t offer any groundbreaking novelties, it does genre’s basics very well and tries to make city-building interface as user-friendly as possible. [May 2015, p.60]
  58. Mar 19, 2015
    75
    Cities: Skylines has many annoyances and shortcomings, but still, it’s a fun game, and it has one huge thing going for it — its creators are passionate and enthusiastic. They’re neither corporate slaves who churned out the last SimCity, nor penny pinchers who sell the same product over and over again (hello, Cities XXL). I bet that when I launch Cities: Skylines 6 months from now, I will see a much better game, and my review will become obsolete.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1634 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    Truly beautiful game and an experience that is fully appreciated from my point of view. The next Sim City 4 deluxemade by Paradox. Thank you,Truly beautiful game and an experience that is fully appreciated from my point of view. The next Sim City 4 deluxemade by Paradox. Thank you, I am sincerely grateful! Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    Cities: Skylines, everything that SimCity should have been.

    Maximum Buildable Map Size: 36km² - 100km² (Mod): ✓ Full Modding Support: ✓
    Cities: Skylines, everything that SimCity should have been.

    Maximum Buildable Map Size: 36km² - 100km² (Mod): ✓
    Full Modding Support: ✓
    Map Editor: ✓
    Asset Editor: ✓
    Steam Workshop Integration: ✓
    District & Policies: ✓
    Offline Mode: ✓
    Real Population: ✓
    1,000,000 Agents: ✓
    Working Traffic System: ✓
    Power Lines & Water Pipes (SimCity 4 Style): ✓
    Hydroelectric Power (Damns): ✓
    Tsunami: ✓
    Natural Resources: ✓
    64-bit Game: ✓
    OS - Linux, Windows, OS X: ✓
    Under $30: ✓
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    What SimCity should have been but never was.
    This game is much better than SimCity, with more features.
    I spent hours playing on this and
    What SimCity should have been but never was.
    This game is much better than SimCity, with more features.
    I spent hours playing on this and never got bored, and the best part is it's only $30 at launch.
    This could have been easily $70 game like simcity because this game is more polished, less buggy, full mod support, and most importantly so much fun!
    Full Review »