User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 183

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2015
    9
    I have 125 hours play time in the early access version of Crypt of the Necrodancer

    Crypt of the Necrodancer is a marvel of a game in concept and, most importantly, execution. A turn-based dungeon rogue-like with permi-death that requires only directional keys and is designed to be played on a dance pad. The beat of the music provides the time for each turn as the player make their way
    I have 125 hours play time in the early access version of Crypt of the Necrodancer

    Crypt of the Necrodancer is a marvel of a game in concept and, most importantly, execution. A turn-based dungeon rogue-like with permi-death that requires only directional keys and is designed to be played on a dance pad. The beat of the music provides the time for each turn as the player make their way through the crypt. Cadence and others will have access to an array of weapons, armors, spells and items to help them battle the various monsters and bosses. Necrodancer is tough but fair.

    While the mechanics are simple, the game is challenging. Each enemy has an attack pattern that allows even the weakest of weapons (base dagger) to defeat them. How you clear a room will be based on knowing the patterns, prioritizing enemies. and adapting to the items you have while maintaining the beat. The minimalist controls and over-head view give the player maximum control of game play. If you die (and you will... a lot) it will be the players fault. To this end, the game provides a training ground to test any combination of character, weapons, and monsters, so the player can hone their skill.

    Necrodancer has a lot of replay value. The zones are procedurally created and items are randomly found via purchase, opening chests, creates, and barrels or through the use of shrines. So every game is different. There are 10 playable characters providing addition variety. Cadence is the base character, but you can also play her grandmother, Aria, who dies whenever you miss a beat and cannot upgrade her weapon. Monk dies whenever he picks up gold and Bolt plays at double speed. If one finds all of this to be too difficult, Bard ignores the timer, allowing the player to dance as slow or as fast as they wish.

    The game is viable for casual play, speed racing, or score running. And, as stated, is perfectly suited to be played on a dance pad.

    The great music was composed by Danny Baranowsky (Binding of Isaac, Super Meat Boy). And the game includes 2 remixes provided by A_Rival and FamilyJules7x. Furthermore, you can import mp3s into the game and play to almost any song you desire. You can also create your own maps as well as customize and re-skin any of the sprites.

    Crypt of the Necrodancer is a rare game that is challenging, fun, and open to a multitude of playing styles. I thought the game was worthwhile before the final release which added another zone, some new bosses, a story, and 2 additional soundtracks.
    Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    A dungeon crawler mixed with a rythm game: An interesting concept. But this game is not JUST a concept but a fantastic game, with a lot of complex mechanisms, rich bestiary, hundred of items, more than 10 characters who have their own gameplay...The music, which is a key point for a rythm game, is absolutely perfect and the final game includes 3 soundtracks ! A must have
  3. Jun 16, 2015
    10
    This game is so awesome, I can't understand how there are so many negative user reviews, that's why I'm writing this. Maybe it's related to the witch hunt crowd who accused one of the game creators somehow of being friends with the IGF juries (it was already explained that the accusations makes no sense, but you know, everyone is quick to judge nowadays)... I mean, there are no mixedThis game is so awesome, I can't understand how there are so many negative user reviews, that's why I'm writing this. Maybe it's related to the witch hunt crowd who accused one of the game creators somehow of being friends with the IGF juries (it was already explained that the accusations makes no sense, but you know, everyone is quick to judge nowadays)... I mean, there are no mixed reviews, and the negative ones don't even explain why it's negative.

    The game is one of the most well made games I've played in a long time. Not only the music is good, but there is such an impressive attention to detail and polish that makes me happy. Maybe I'm biased because I love rhythm games, but the gameplay is fantastic too. I couldn't finish the game with Aria yet, it's really hard, but I like how until now the story kind of fits with the game too.
    Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    I've been addicted to this game since I started playing it. I am not a big fan of rogue-likes in general, but this game is among few rare exceptions.

    You have 4 zones to beat, each one contains 3 floors and a boss fight. Every zone has its own theme and enemies. But wait, there's more. The enemies each move to the beat in their own unique pattern, and you have to recognize it and adapt
    I've been addicted to this game since I started playing it. I am not a big fan of rogue-likes in general, but this game is among few rare exceptions.

    You have 4 zones to beat, each one contains 3 floors and a boss fight. Every zone has its own theme and enemies. But wait, there's more. The enemies each move to the beat in their own unique pattern, and you have to recognize it and adapt quickly. For example, some enemies might be moving along a scripted path, others try to go for you specifically, some might stay still for 2 beats and then move on the 3rd one, others might move on every beat, and so on. It's all very well done.

    During your dungeon crawling you'll also come across a lot of items of varying degrees of helpfulness. You have healing items, weapons, armour, rings, spells, and even some unusual items. Some can spawn from the start, others require unlocking via collectible diamonds. You can even remove the less useful items from the dungeons via the janitor, so that there's more chances instead for chests to contain the items you find more useful.

    There is of course a fair bit of luck involved, as is pretty common with rogue-like games. At times you'll be lucky to find a nice weapon and other useful items early on, other times you'll just be spawning with enemies all around you. It is a very challenging game. You will die a lot. But you do learn to recognize the enemy movement patterns and eventually overcome them.

    I also really like the whole light-hearted theme the game is going for. I think the devs pulled it off perfectly. The music is also amazing and will just drag you in to the beat.

    In addition to the regular mode with the main character, you also get to unlock several other characters, which seem to have their own unique abilities (for example one of them can only confuse enemies but not kill, another is only able to use bombs, and so on). It all adds an extra challenge for those who want it. You can even go and practice fighting against specific enemies and bosses if you wish.

    Great game in general. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2015
    10
    The quote the Forbes review gave "you have to see it to believe it" is almost sums it up. I would propose a following line - "you have to live it to see just how unfathomably awesome this game is". The synergistic effects of already tried and tested fantastic retro game style, with a fantastic original idea, creative artwork and utterly genius masterpiece soundtrack leaves a game thatThe quote the Forbes review gave "you have to see it to believe it" is almost sums it up. I would propose a following line - "you have to live it to see just how unfathomably awesome this game is". The synergistic effects of already tried and tested fantastic retro game style, with a fantastic original idea, creative artwork and utterly genius masterpiece soundtrack leaves a game that swiftly kicked the backsides of all the other games I have played to sit at the top most played and most enjoyed game of all time. I am recommending this game to absolutely anyone, for I believe everyone has the potential to be awed by the experience. Those who are not awed either haven't put the effort (normally not necessary) to see the sheer ingenuity this game is or are completely blind. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2015
    10
    This is the most addicting game I've ever played. Danny B wrote all the music, and in my opinion, this is his best work yet. Danny B wrote the music for Binding of Isaac and Super Meat Boy, both amazing games as well. But THIS. THIS IS TOO MUCH.

    Now, what is it exactly? It is a dungeon roguelike that revolves around the tempo of the song you hear. You need to dance to the tempo while
    This is the most addicting game I've ever played. Danny B wrote all the music, and in my opinion, this is his best work yet. Danny B wrote the music for Binding of Isaac and Super Meat Boy, both amazing games as well. But THIS. THIS IS TOO MUCH.

    Now, what is it exactly? It is a dungeon roguelike that revolves around the tempo of the song you hear. You need to dance to the tempo while fighting enemies. The difficulty curve is excellent. I never felt like "this is too easy" or "wow this is too much"

    The game is perfectly executed in every way and I can't get enough of the music sooo addicted play the game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2015
    8
    Really fun, challenging game. Combines dungeons rpg with rythm, and just when you think you are accustomed to a certain rythm you pass a zone to a new one with different style of music, and enemies. Very original in every aspect and nice pixel art.
  8. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    Exactly what a game should be !! Fun - fun -fun. Move and fight in dance rhythms and fight bosses in their own music styles. Plenty of weapons and upgrades. Rogue style playing is equalized with keeping some abilities-items. I bow to the programmers for simplicity and ingenuity and pray that more games like it show up.
  9. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    How to describe this game? An epileptic rhythm game with the best BO you can imagine and where Euclidean division is your only way out through the hordes of giggling monsters.
  10. Nov 20, 2016
    8
    Most important thing one should realize: This is actually not really a rhythm-based game. What kind of insane claim is this, one might ask? Well... it falls into that category but thinking about it that way is misleading. I've played through Frequency, have gotten through some 9 feet songs on DDR, so I'm not too bad with actual rhythm-based games. "Crypt of the NecroDancer" however, isMost important thing one should realize: This is actually not really a rhythm-based game. What kind of insane claim is this, one might ask? Well... it falls into that category but thinking about it that way is misleading. I've played through Frequency, have gotten through some 9 feet songs on DDR, so I'm not too bad with actual rhythm-based games. "Crypt of the NecroDancer" however, is really more of a "stress game". As in - a puzzle game with insane time constraints. Which is horrible for people who need time to think like myself. The Bard and Eli are pretty much the only "playable" characters for me. Which is why I don't give it a higher score. The music is great, the concept interesting but there's just not enough content for slow-witted people like myself. Also, there's the frustration because you think for many hours that you will learn it eventually. But at some point, you just have to concede that "No, my brain simply doesn't work like this". Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    A music game and a unforgiving dungeon crawler with heavy roguelike elements, all in one game. And it's not just a dungeon crawler with music game elements, or a music game with a dungeon crawl attached, it's a near seamless hybrid of both in a way that I never could have thought would work. But it does, so very well.

    A soundtrack by Danny Baranowsky means it's going to be good, and the
    A music game and a unforgiving dungeon crawler with heavy roguelike elements, all in one game. And it's not just a dungeon crawler with music game elements, or a music game with a dungeon crawl attached, it's a near seamless hybrid of both in a way that I never could have thought would work. But it does, so very well.

    A soundtrack by Danny Baranowsky means it's going to be good, and the tunes go well with the rapid, split-second pace you need to keep in order to stay ahead of the game. I'm not sure if it's extremely difficult or I just plain suck, but I still have yet to get overly far in it and consistently blunder into enemies as I try to stay on time to the beat so as not to lose my combo. It's embarrassing, really. But my own suckitude aside, this is a game that's just so much fun, especially once you start getting into the zone and responding to things before your brain can really process them. It strangely reminds me of Hotline Miami in that sense, but with less ultraviolence and more dancing skeletons.

    It is also now out of early access, and features a whole campaign, tons of unlockables and player characters with different playstyles, and daily challenges to keep you coming back. I must have rage quit this game a dozen times already but I keep wanting more, and it probably has something to do with those infectious beats. Nothing else is like it, and nothing else could do what it does as well as it does.
    Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2016
    9
    Brace Yourself Games’ Crypt of The Necrodancer centers on “Cadence” a girl who lost her mother to a plague that struck her village when she was young. Cadence’s father, devastated, dived into the depth of a crypt in search for a lost treasure that he believed would bring back the life of his wife and Cadence’s mother. Two years had passed since her father left to find the treasure; CadenceBrace Yourself Games’ Crypt of The Necrodancer centers on “Cadence” a girl who lost her mother to a plague that struck her village when she was young. Cadence’s father, devastated, dived into the depth of a crypt in search for a lost treasure that he believed would bring back the life of his wife and Cadence’s mother. Two years had passed since her father left to find the treasure; Cadence felt it was her duty now to find him. In her quest, she fell into the crypt where an evil Necrodancer took her heart and cursed it to move to the beat of the crypt forever. Cadence must now find her father and defeat the evil Necrodancer in order to lift the curse. This story line, while written well, interesting, and captivating at times, is just the cherry on top of this game’s gameplay, music, and visual effects,
    Crypt of the Necrodancer is a rogue-rhythm dungeon crawler that consists of four zones, each with three randomly generated levels and a boss battle. You must complete all of these in order to set a checkpoint in the game and proceed onto the next zone. Each time you die you are reset to the beginning of the first level in the zone. Now, throughout the levels you will find and purchase upgrades like any fantasy dungeon crawler including health, weapons, armor, spells, and enchanted items. Permanent and new upgrades are available for purchase, with diamonds that you have found in the crypt, in the lobby of the game, from characters you save from sick beat prison in zones you have completed. These permanent upgrades include the essentials like better armor, weapons, spells etc. However most of these purchased upgrades come in the form of chests that can be found within the crypt zones, excluding health upgrades which you will automatically have added on in the beginning of each zone. These upgrades can be extremely helpful and can make all the difference in whether you complete a zone or rage out.
    The game can become fairly difficult and kind of frustrating, especially when you’re first jumping into it. The rhythm aspect of the game and the way the almost “Zelda-esque” grid-style combat is set up, provides a really fun challenge for players; punishing you by sending you back to the beginning of the randomly generated zone but rewarding you by letting you listen to the music again and again, as you will die a lot. And if you like a bit of an extra challenge you can choose to not pick up weapons or health, and even jump on floor tiles that will either speed up or slow down the tempo of the song. And if you find yourself needing some help, the game supports local co-op play, which makes for a great “couch co-op” experience. Once you get the hang of the movement, and rhythm mechanics, you begin to notice and appreciate the crème-filling of the game, the music and visual effects.
    It is hard for me to overstate how much I enjoyed what this game did with music. The soundtrack of the game itself is amazing and something I’ve found myself wanting to listen to outside of the game. However I did find myself getting rather upset playing through it the first time, dying then having to listen to the same song on the soundtrack over and over again. So my recommendation would be to either not die ever, or download some of the other soundtracks that have been released as DLC. If you decide to get the game on the recent port to PS4 these downloadable soundtracks are included with the game. But don’t let that be the deciding factor in whether you get the game on PC or PS4, as the PC version has easily my favorite feature of the game: MP3 Uploads. On the PC version you can upload any of your MP3 files, the game will analyze the tempo and allow you to play with your own music. This feature is not new to games, but feels brand new and refreshing when defeating giant dancing monsters to your favorite song or even playing through the whole game to a favorite album. And I know some of you may have just a laptop with no gaming potential, and may fear that you will never get to play this game. Well you’re wrong. The simplistic 8-bit art style of the game allows for optimal performance on any platform, not to mention it looks great.
    Now while the 8-bit art style may look great, it is a style that has been used a lot in the past few years and has somewhat lost its luster of being a “new-retro game”, and the nostalgia factor is just not there anymore. That being said, the use of contrasting color in this 8-bit world creates a beautiful game. The zones are almost exclusively darker toned color palettes to set the scene of being in an underground crypt, but each monster when illuminated by your small torch brings vibrancy and brightness to the world. Not only this but when you kill a monster, your coin multiplier begins, and any time your coin multiplier is active, the crypt floor turns into an ever changing disco dancefloor. So while the art style maybe a bit over played, Crypt of The Necrodancer finds a way to make it fun.

    9/10
    Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2015
    10
    The game has been out for a while now, have a large amount of hours on the game and is ever increasing. I'll keep it breif, fun, fast paced, great with friends and action packed. what else do you need!
  14. Oct 4, 2017
    9
    I'm not sure that I'm able to do a good job describing what I just played. All I know is that it was extremely fun, very original, and definitely addictive. I danced, I fought, I died a lot but collected a lot of cool sh**.

    The only reason I give it a 9 and not a 10 is because the game is extremely difficult. While this isn't necessarily a flaw, I'm kind of eager to finally make it pass
    I'm not sure that I'm able to do a good job describing what I just played. All I know is that it was extremely fun, very original, and definitely addictive. I danced, I fought, I died a lot but collected a lot of cool sh**.

    The only reason I give it a 9 and not a 10 is because the game is extremely difficult. While this isn't necessarily a flaw, I'm kind of eager to finally make it pass Zone 1 after several days of gameplay. It would've been nice to have seen some other levels by now, but that doesn't mean I'm going to give up and not get there eventually.

    When I bought this game on steam it was less than $4.99. I can't tell you what a steal that is for a game like this. I would have happily paid a full game price for it. Great job, Brace Yourself Games. You guys nailed it. Can't wait to see what else they put out.
    Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2016
    8
    A quite unique rhythm based retro random generated dungeon crawler. Seems like a quite peculiar mash up of genres.

    In a way you would not expect those particular genres to work with each other but somehow this game pulls it off. It's a very unique compilation. On the outside its a dungeon crawler. You progress through a randomly generated dungeon gathering loot. Once you're dead the
    A quite unique rhythm based retro random generated dungeon crawler. Seems like a quite peculiar mash up of genres.

    In a way you would not expect those particular genres to work with each other but somehow this game pulls it off. It's a very unique compilation. On the outside its a dungeon crawler. You progress through a randomly generated dungeon gathering loot. Once you're dead the only thing you are left off is gold with which you can purchase unlocks, additional crates and items to be found in the dungeon. Any unspent gold goes away and you start from the start. And you start all over on each death with just a bigger chance of getting better things along the way.

    The combat hover distinguishes it from the normal rouge like games. As its essentially a rhythm puzzle to be solved. In short - each enemy has a movement pattern in which he moves taking a move in the beat. Its easy to learn and tackle a single enemy but when different ones come at you at the same time fending all of them is quite the challenge. It makes for a very unique and satisfying combat when you pull all the moves in the right way.

    The audio layer of this game is just amazing. Even more so as it's integral part of the game. It's worth getting the game for the soundtrack alone. I have no words to better describe it - just amazing. Well worth a listen to.

    Graphicly it's nothing special, but nothing bad as well. The pixel aesthetic might not be the best pixel art I've seen but it does the job.

    Sadly this will not be one of my favourite games ever. Simply because I'm bad at it. Not a big fan of a rhythm based part of it. Moving only on the beat seams a bit limiting and while the combat is quite enjoyable I was more often failing at it than not. In the end didn't feel interested enough to persevere longer than the first layer of dungeon.

    I do however suggest checking it out. This game does perfectly what it sets out to do and its unique enough to surprise you. It will not be a game for everybody.

    Great game, just not for me.
    Expand
  16. Dec 22, 2018
    9
    A hardcore roquelike rythm game with an amazing soundtrack. Follows the story of Cadence who enters the crypt in search of her father.

    This game is very difficult and it took me almost thirty hours with the main character to finally beat it. 16 randomized floors and a wide range of items (could be more though). Soundtrack can be randomized so it does not get repetitive. While difficulty
    A hardcore roquelike rythm game with an amazing soundtrack. Follows the story of Cadence who enters the crypt in search of her father.

    This game is very difficult and it took me almost thirty hours with the main character to finally beat it. 16 randomized floors and a wide range of items (could be more though). Soundtrack can be randomized so it does not get repetitive. While difficulty is high the game is never unfair and makes it one of the best roguelikes available today.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jul 6, 2015
    92
    A seamless and exhilarating meshing of two entirely different genres.
  2. Jun 30, 2015
    70
    Complaints aside, the uniqueness of the concept makes the game more than worth checking out.
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 29, 2015
    90
    Sometimes someone comes up with an idea so brilliant that others wonder how they didn’t think of it earlier. Crypt of the NecroDancer – a rhythm-based roguelike – is an example of such brilliance. [06/2015, p.60]