Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 92
  2. Negative: 1 out of 92
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 4, 2021
    100
    Magnificent, confident and loaded with content that other games do not offer. Such is the action blast called Cyberpunk 2077. All the expectations were more than met. [Issue#308]
  2. Dec 18, 2020
    100
    It’s not an easy task, but Cyberpunk 2077 manages to do justice to the hype level it created. Yes, we would like a more extended main campaign and, of course, we cannot ignore the large number of bugs. Nevertheless, CD Projekt RED created the most detailed urban settings we have ever seen, with a cyberpunk aesthetic that is beyond match.
  3. Dec 8, 2020
    100
    It’s buggy and flawed on many technical (but very fixable) levels, but Cyberpunk 2077 is a unique and beautiful experience on almost all other levels. All in all – a masterpiece.
  4. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a fantastic game that we have never experienced before, and is a window into the future of next-gen gaming and what it's capable of. We are addicted to its world and everything in it, and we don't mind risking our reputation saying that it's easily our game of the decade, despite it missing out on the Video Game Awards for 2020...This is a brutal, visceral world to live in, where death seeps through the concrete jungle and every job you take on feels like the beginning of your dark end in this unforgiving landscape. Yet every time we complete a quest and receive some EuroDollars for our effort, we find ourselves itching to rush back into the danger and discover what other horrors await us.
  5. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    It had to be a monumental task to build this "city of dreams" and also populate it with passionate stories and characters, fantastic music and a captivating personality. Shortcuts to greatness are extremely rare, and the steadfast and safest path remains hard work, passion, and the desire to create something that surpasses others, with the right resources to do so. CD Projekt could have rested on The Witcher's laurels, made more sequels, and released a couple of best-sellers in the time it took Cyberpunk 2077 to finish, but that's not the path of the Polish studio, driven by more ethereal goals. Money, yes, and success, but leaving a mark too. Glowing brightly in the intensity of the night. Making history before our eyes.
  6. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    The setting is refreshingly different and can only be compared with Deus Ex, even if CD Projekt Red has a whole lot more to offer in terms of style. I also really liked the great characters. And I'm not even talking about Keanu Reeves here. I especially took characters like Judy, Panam and Delamain into my heart and followed their subplots with almost more joy than my own main story. As a role-playing game, it offers me exactly the right mix of profound character system and gripping combat action. I'm already looking forward to another round in which I'll try a completely different approach. I actually find it rather positive that it is not as extensive as The Witcher 3. Yes, the game still has a surprising number of unpolished edges, and yes, there are a few small imperfections that I don't really like. But I just hope for the first patches, because in the end Cyberpunk 2077 is a great game that you should have played even with these corners.
  7. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Despite a few flaws, Cyberpunk 2077 is one of the most consistently astounding pieces of media I've ever had the pleasure of consuming.
  8. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    CD Projekt Red has set a new standard for what can be achieved in this sandbox. Cyberpunk 2077 is taking open-world gaming to the next generation.
  9. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077’s biggest achievement is Night City, the most fascinating city in videogame history so far. While the combat outside of the main story does sometimes feel a little repetitive, the way it encourages the player to interact with the everyday lives of the inhabitants of this bustling city results in a roleplaying experience in the truest sense of the word. The game towers like a skyscraper in the Western RPG genre skyline.
  10. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a new masterpiece from CD Projekt RED, a huge, dense, vibrant, colorfoul and dark Sci-Fi RPG that any fan of the genre should step in. First because it will provide the sensation that the story really depends on you choices and that you have everything you need for your playstyle. Then because streets, stores, buildings, inhabitants of Night City won't get out of your head easily. You'll be happy to interact with Keanu Reeves, but the real star is this city and all it provides in terms of atmosphere, game mechanics and stories.
  11. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a celebration of the entire medium, marrying cutting-edge technical innovation, unrestrained user agency in an authentic and immersive experience that transports you to another universe. No game has executed on the promise of gaming like Cyberpunk 2077. CD Projekt RED's artistic achievement cannot be overstated…Despite an impressive array of bugs and glitches, Cyberpunk 2077 remains an experience without peer. No punches pulled, no platitudes are given, and no compromises are made. Cyberpunk 2077 is an industry highpoint that, simply put, may never be bested. Right now, and without hesitation, I am overjoyed to say Cyberpunk 2077 is everything I've ever wanted from a game. It is the best game I have ever played.
  12. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077 is an engaging experience unlike anything else. The open world mechanics are top notch and there is almost always something to do on the map. Furthermore, we have a large number of different game paths to choose from, all of which give you a very own experience of the story. Combined with the hundreds of weapons, augmentations, upgrades and side missions, there is plenty of material that will last over a long period of time. Cyberpunk 2077 will definitely be remembered as one of the most significant titles in the history of gaming media.
  13. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    I’m V and the game is Silverhand - I can’t get Cyberpunk 2077 out of my head. I’ve had it a week and played 70 hours, which is probably about as healthy as scooping out my face and replacing it with electronics, but it didn’t feel like work. Like a digital personality loaded onto a biochip, it felt like stepping into another life for a while. It’s a life I can’t wait to relive.
  14. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    In the midst of such intense anticipation and scrutiny, it’s easy to get carried away with what Cyberpunk 2077 could have been. The final experience might be more familiar than many predicted, with plenty of elements that aren’t perfect, but it's dripping with detail and engaging stories. With so much to see and do, Cyberpunk 2077 is the kind of RPG where you blink and hours go by, which is just what we need to finish off 2020.
  15. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    An immersive and stunningly crafted RPG, which has raised the bar for cinematic quality in open-world games. Just be aware of the bug issues at release.
  16. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    Cyberpunk 2077 isn't perfect, but it is ambitious. It marries a gripping story with a huge open world absolutely dripping with atmosphere; one in which, after fifty hours of gameplay, I still feel like I've only scratched its surface. Even now I'm itching to jump back in and complete yet more side jobs, not only because they're enjoyable, but also just in case they offer V more options when it comes to ending their story. I'm even contemplating starting over anew to change the outcome of some events with the benefit of hindsight. If you were expecting a light-hearted affair full of futuristic hijinks then you might not find what you want here – though it does let its hair down every once in a while. Instead, what Cyberpunk 2077 delivers is a surprisingly serious story that's genuinely touching at times, with gameplay that lets you be in charge of your destiny. If you want your experience in Night City to be as polished as possible, perhaps hold back until a patch or two has landed to iron out some kinks, but you'll definitely want to visit soon. Phenomenal, that's what Cyberpunk 2077 is.
  17. Dec 7, 2020
    100
    What Cyberpunk 2077 lacks in campaign length, it makes up for with breadth and soul, offering a world of intrigue and violence unlike any other.
  18. Dec 7, 2020
    98
    Cyberpunk 2077 is one of the greatest RPGs of the generation. We love Night City, its characters and great writing for every mission. It is also one of the best looking games out there (if your PC is powerful enough).
  19. Dec 7, 2020
    95
    Cyberpunk 2077 traces a new path for the open-world RPGs, telling a thought-provoking story about the dangerous drifts of humankind.
  20. 95
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a wild journey within an incredibly fascinating setting; some technical uncertainties destined to disappear and a partial repetitiveness limit its glory, but overall it is an adventure worthy of William Gibson himself. Cyberpunk 2077 allowed me to finally feel immersed in that pen & paper RPG I discovered in 1988, pouring rain clouding my view in a kaleidoscope of neon signs, just as I had imagined while leafing through those pages. Some may not consider it a perfect game, but I do.
  21. Dec 7, 2020
    95
    The most important thing that everyone needs to know about Cyberpunk 2077 is that while it’s imperfect, it is without a doubt a superb game.
  22. Dec 7, 2020
    95
    Cyberpunk 2077 gives the player the ultimate freedom to play. A video game that takes the best of modern RPG, first-person shooter, stealth and open world games and masterfully blends it into a single product. If Skyrim and GTA V represented a turning point for their genres at the beginning of the 2010s, Cyberpunk 2077 is called upon to do the same in 2020, despite its technical flaws.
  23. Dec 7, 2020
    94
    Cyberpunk 2077 is the game we were waiting for: big, funny, full of quests and with a lot of RPG aspects perfectly integrated in the gameplay. Sadly it has a lot of bugs too.
  24. Dec 7, 2020
    94
    Cyberpunk 2077 has set the bar very high and yet we believe it will be a memorable experience for many of the players waiting for it. However, it may have come close to meeting even the highest of expectations. In any case, we are facing a formidable game that has had us playing even when we had already finished it in order to look for the many endings, to keep leveling or even to simply get to know the characters better.
  25. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 25, 2020
    93
    CD Projekt got into a Catch-22 situation with Cyberpunk 2077. Investors wouldn’t forgive another delay, and now no one will forget such a troubled release. Still, even with all its bugs, Cyberpunk is a great game: main story and sidequests are terrific, and Night City is probably the most immersive and detailed city in the history of video games. [Issue#250, page 38]
  26. Dec 14, 2020
    93
    Cyberpunk 2077 is like an addictive, huge, impressive braindance, where the feelings are real, while sometimes you see the puppet strings. It's an ambitious RPG, where narration, decisions and dialogue are far more important than combat, wrapped around a lot of fun, but usual and not always perfect, action mechanics. Engaging and marvellous to play, Night City on high-end PCs is stunning to see and super stylish. Cyberpunk 2077 is worth the wait, because the adventure of V and Johnny Silverhand is greater than the sum of its parts.
  27. Dec 7, 2020
    93
    CD Projekt RED have created a second life in Cyberpunk 2077. It’s a game with an unmatched level of immersion, as perfectly imperfect as all the souls that inhabit Night City.
  28. Dec 7, 2020
    91
    Although there still exist a lot of technical glitches, Cyberpunk 2077 stands out in terms of cyberpunk concept, story-telling, characters, level-design, combat, and so forth. It's a pleasure to spend hundreds of hours in the Night City, and I believe it would be one of the greatest open-world RPGs in the next decade
  29. Dec 7, 2020
    91
    In the last generation of consoles, I only had tears in my eyes twice. During the Yuriko quest from Ghost of Tsushima. And the credits of Cyberpunk. Think of that wistful stomach ache when you finish your favorite book for the first time. All the great characters, the heartwarming experiences, the strokes of fate, the funny coincidences rattle past your inner eye once again. It will never be the same as the first time. You would love to have your memory erased by a Ripperdoc so that you can relive it all. That's what Cyberpunk 2077 does to me. And probably with you too.
  30. CD-Action
    Jun 9, 2021
    90
    The best metaphor for Cyberpunk 2077 is Johnny Silverhand himself. A messiah, a mix of Kurt Cobain and Che Guevara, a talented singer who loves to shape his own legend and has a charming personality but loses the struggle with his own demons. The same goes for the game. It tells a great story and forced me to ask myself difficult questions, but many of its gameplay mechanics do not evolve and its technical state upon release was abysmal. Cyberpunk’s true hero is not a person, but Night City – a vibrant, living creature of great diversity. The beauty of the metropolis is striking. [01/2021, p.22]
  31. May 28, 2021
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 is one of the most disturbing and mind-blowing RPGs in history, where every decision has a deep impact on our trail. CD Projekt RED tosses us to the center of a city filled with disgusting delights where every character deserves our attention in an immersive experience and overall, very rewarding. From the sarcastic and shadowy tone imposed by the countless scenes in the game, to the flexibility we have on the choices to face every situation that is presented, Night City is truly memorable. It’s a shame that the countless bugs spoil or diminish the impact of some resounding moments, but we are without a question, in the presence of one of the best games in 2020.
  32. Jan 11, 2021
    90
    There’s a lot of surface detail, that is clearly just set dressing, yet it still provides one of the most incredibly realized and mature worlds to date. The story and characters are wonderful and pull you into their needs and wants. If you don’t mind a number of immersion-breaking bugs or lack of polish, then Cyberpunk 2077 absolutely measures up to be one of the best games out there, but only if you're willing to put the work in to find the good stuff.
  33. Jan 4, 2021
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 is not perfect. But the fact is, it doesn’t need to be to completely surpass my expectations. Given my experience and placing that against my expectations, I can unequivocally say that Cyberpunk 2077 is one of the greatest games I have ever played. The brilliant world, outstanding level design, seemingly endless density of detail paired with exceptional performances in incredibly engaging stories, all backed by truly groundbreaking graphics technology combine to create a supremely exceptional experience.
  34. Dec 16, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 combines an engaging story with a huge open world to explore, filled with memorable and interesting characters to work with and plenty of ways to kill them. There are bugs, which is also part of a bigger discussion about the ethics of releasing a game with technical issues with the mentality of patching it later. Currently on PC the Day Zero Patch has reduced their occurrence and there haven’t been any major game-breaking ones, but even so it will be at least another patch or two before it can be said it runs flawlessly. Hopefully with the scheduled patches over the next few months the console versions reach a point where they too are worth playing, but maybe Cyberpunk 2077 will fare better on PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X.
  35. Dec 15, 2020
    90
    Minor flaws aside, Cyberpunk 2077 on PC is an exciting and enthralling open world experience. It doesn’t set a new industry standard, but it does most of the things it aims to do with great success.
  36. Dec 14, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 has some glaring flaws and missed opportunities. Its open-world sandbox suffers from poor NPC and police AI, and it lacks customization and transmogrification features to help your character stand out. Still, the pros outweigh the cons owing to a brilliant narrative, memorable missions, strong supporting cast of characters, well-integrated combat and hacking mechanics, and jaw-dropping visuals.
  37. Dec 11, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 will take you on a journey into a dystopian dark future, you'll witness things you've never seen before and live truly unforgettable story moments created by CDPR like never before.
  38. Dec 9, 2020
    90
    Welcome to the club of exceptional world designers, CD Projekt RED! Night City is the visually most impressive city you’ll find in a game. But most importantly, story, characters and even the side missions rock hard until deep in the night. Dive in. Enjoy.
  39. Dec 8, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 does not crumble under the weight of expectation. It offers a captivating story full of interesting characters and a beautiful, open, detailed city. This is a brilliant RPG for fans of stealth and shooting alike. The only significant problem? The myriad of bugs.
  40. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 proves that the developers have improved their skills since the fantastic The Witcher 3. It is an excellent action RPG that would benefit from a longer delay to polish the various issues. However, no amount of bugs can diminish the immense pleasure of exploring this world.
  41. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    In part, Cyberpunk 2077 is just what we expected: Night City is full of life, cruelty and the warning of a future where humanity has been corrupted in its principles, but at the same time with style. Sometimes, the spell is broken, with problems and bugs that remind us that we are in a video game, and one that can be polished much more. A complex and ambitious title; sometimes, too much. It is also a good RPG, but not one that breaks the mold or takes us to the next evolutionary jump of the medium, with a design sometimes simpler than it seems.
  42. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    It definitely feels like with Cyberpunk 2077 CD Projekt RED tried to tell a really meaningful story, while using as a backdrop a truly unique setting. And all the while the developers made sure that the game still feels approachable by all kind of people, and that it presents itself with insane graphical fidelity painting an image of an eerily realistic world of tomorrow. We doubt there are too many people who don't believe in CD Projekt RED, but in case you're one of them, be warned - Cyberpunk 2077 is something that will change the way you look at the gaming industry as a whole.
  43. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 kicks you into its beautiful and dazzlingly dense cityscape with few restrictions. It offers a staggering amount of choice in how to build your character, approach quests, and confront enemies, and your decisions can have a tangible and natural-feeling impact on both the world around you and the stories of the people who inhabit it. Those stories can be emotional, funny, dark, exciting, and sometimes all of those things at once. The main quest may be shorter than expected when taken on its own and it’s not always clear what you need to do to make meaningful changes to its finale, but the multitude of side quests available almost from the start can have a surprisingly powerful effect on the options you have when you get there. It’s a shame that frustratingly frequent bugs can occasionally kill an otherwise well-set mood, but Cyberpunk 2077’s impressively flexible design makes it a truly remarkable RPG.
  44. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    If you search long and hard, you can name ten things that are not good about Cyberpunk 2077. But this game offers ninety good things in return. The fact that I absolutely want to go for a second, totally different playthrough and a hopefully "better" ending is just one of them. This is a textbook example of how different ambitious elements have been assembled into one well-oiled Ghost in the Shell machine, including soul. It's that The Last of Us: Part 2 left such an impression that Cyberpunk 2077 isn't lonely at my personal top of the year.
  45. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Groundbreaking, but not quite as much as you're hoping it is. Cyberpunk 2077 doesn't surpass its brilliant influences, but in Night City, Johnny Silverhand, and its chilling vision of hyper-capitalism, it claims territory of its own.
  46. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 is dark and disturbing at times (frighteningly so), but the majority of its content is fascinating, and loaded with depth through the various RPG systems and lore. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Night City, and Johnny Silverhand is a great partner to see the sights with. Cyberpunk 2077 doesn’t overstay its welcome with its critical-path story, and invites players to jack in and stay for hundreds of hours of unique content should they want to. It didn't blow me away like The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, but is still a hell of an opening to what will hopefully be a new series.
  47. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    The problem is that when it works, it works, but when it doesn’t, it really doesn’t. Luckily, the game’s low points like the horrible binary stealth system and the bugs and lack of QoL are either fixable or vastly outweighted by the good bits, and the overall tally still ends up being much higher than the average of many other games out there. That’s helped a lot by the moment-to-moment gameplay, which pays off just as much as the story beats; the movement system lets you climb almost any short object, vehicles are weighty to drive and have fantastic interior and exterior designs, and guns feel properly loud and heavy. It’s story and narrative kept me glued to the screen, and everything – from sex scenes and romance options to Keanu Reeves trying to kill you or help you throughout the game – are remarkably well done. Cyberpunk 2077 is a game crafted with love, and it shows...A remarkably well-executed open world game whose great heights exceed its profound depths.
  48. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    When Cyberpunk's grim setting and mix of gameplay systems land, it is a powerfully impressive experience - sprawling, dense, clever, witty, and most importantly damn good fun. Other times, it has all the charm of a moody, edgy teenager.
  49. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 is an incredible game both in its universe and its mastered narration. Its scenario and the characters are perfectly written and one is immersed as rarely in an emptied game and this despite many bugs to be solved without delay. The progression of the character, the dialogue and the RPG aspect far outweigh the other facets of the game which, without being perfect, are nevertheless effective. CD Projekt Red’s title has a crazy identity and it is an unforgettable experience.
  50. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    From its very beginning Cyberpunk 2077 had to deal with expectations. Not all of them have been met, still CD Projekt RED has created a stunning video game.
  51. Dec 7, 2020
    90
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a masterpiece. A title able to raise the bar not just for the roleplay games’ genre but also the open world's.
  52. Dec 15, 2020
    89
    An incredibly ambitious game, an Ark of Everything Cyberpunk and an excellent RPG and Immersive Sim, with technical and AI-related shortcomings that prevent it from fully realizing the disproportionately great expectations it has generated in the 8 years since its original announcement.
  53. Mar 3, 2021
    88
    Measured against the extreme expectations, Cyberpunk 2077 can't fulfill any of them. But all in all, despite the countless small weaknesses and inconsistences, with interesting characters, great story and dialogues or the freedom concerning gameplay, CD Projekt delivers a unique and great RPG that every fan of the genre needs to play.
  54. Jan 4, 2021
    86
    Night City is a place of splendor and possibilities. Its many interesting corners have remarkable visual detail and diverse tasks that allow players to be aggressive or stealthy. Appealing characters and their tangled stories elevate Cyberpunk 2077 and it is only the technical issues and a few missing features that keep it from reaching legendary status.
  55. Dec 21, 2020
    86
    Cyberpunk gets a lot of hate for it's development process. But it's truly a stellar game with some release bugs. It just needs a little spit and polish.
  56. Dec 18, 2020
    85
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a deeply conflicting game, one that you'll end up loving but will also hate and feel profoundly disappointed by.
  57. Cyberpunk 2077 offers an experience that players who love the genre should definitely try despite the bugs and big problems it contains.
  58. Dec 7, 2020
    85
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a game that feels like a constant emotional elevator. Endowed with a moment of grace capable of making a lasting mark on players and the industry in general, with prospects for deep approaches, which only reveal themselves according to your investment, an incredible staging, writing that's Flawless and jaw-dropping, lovingly crafted, CD Projekt's RPG is as striking in its lack of finish, which is often hard to excuse for a game of this stature.
  59. Dec 7, 2020
    85
    Cyberpunk had the potential of being one of the contenders to the GOTY 2020 title, with an incredible city that delivers a strong atmosphere and really beautiful graphics on PC thanks to the extensive use of Nvidia RTX. On the other hand, it’s let down by under-used features and can’t live up to the hype surrounding its release, especially given the appalling technical aspect of the game, with truckloads of bugs, and very serious performance issues, even on a very powerful PC. We bet it will be the GOTY 2021 in 6 to 8 months when everything’s been ironed out.
  60. Dec 7, 2020
    85
    Without necessarily being the long-awaited messiah, Cyberpunk 2077 is a great science fiction work that's not afraid to shock or disturb. Its universe, atmosphere and story are fascinating and rich. It offers a great freedom of choice, both in the scenario and in the fights. Night City is a place like no other. However, it's a shame that after all these years of development, many elements still lack finishing touches, and that the gameplay is not as satisfying as one would have hoped. We had the unpleasant feeling that the game was released before it was really ready.
  61. Dec 23, 2020
    84
    Cyberpunk 2077 tells a story of a dark future, while stumbling over technical problems and some weird design choices, but even with all these flaws, you‘ll want to finish this story.
  62. Jan 5, 2021
    80
    While I'm not 100% in love with the game due to bugs and difficulty swings, Cyberpunk 2077 is still a solid pickup simply for its story and incredible world. Make sure your system is prepared for it and you'll get a good experience.
  63. Dec 22, 2020
    80
    Each major story adds to the world, the setting, the mystery. Throw in PC visuals that are easily some of the most impressive you’re likely to see this year or next, it’s the one part of the experience that lives up to the futuristic setting and promise seen in the many pre-release gameplay slices and trailers. But again, there’s a disconnect that creeps up every now and then. Immersion that breaks whenever you come across a bug or you can see the seams due to missing AI or missing features. No doubt Cyberpunk 2077 will be a better game on all platforms in three months time, and then three months after that. For now, it’s breathtaking on PC - for all the right, and wrong, reasons.
  64. Dec 14, 2020
    80
    I want to recognize how ambitious and fun this game is while simultaneously warning people about how incomplete and sloppy it is. Whether or not this is a worthwhile purchase will be entirely up to whether or not you want to brave the bugs, glitches, and general half-baked feel in order to get to the core roleplaying game underneath.
  65. Dec 10, 2020
    80
    Cyberpunk 2077 is many things, but polished is not one of them. Its strengths lie in its amazingly realistic world, its side stories and beautiful characters, and while the gunplay and driving mechanics are fun enough, the game sadly tells a rather uninteresting main story - one mired in massive technical errors and other shortcomings.
  66. 80
    A stunning achievement in open world gameplay but one whose tonal inconsistencies and weak narrative undermines what could have been an all-time classic.
  67. Dec 9, 2020
    80
    Once you understand that Cyberpunk is "just" an open world RPG, you will see that the once mythical promise of next-gen gaming is nothing more and nothing less than a very enjoyable buffet of thrilling missions with highly competent game systems. Cyberpunk 2077 offers nothing we haven't seen before, except for the fantastic graphics. Keanu Reeves' character Johnny Silverhand takes the main story way above the middle ground, and the freedom to take on any mission to your liking is well worked out. Furthermore, Cyberpunk 2077 is "just" a very good RPG.
  68. Dec 9, 2020
    80
    Clunky actions and broken quests aside, it’s still nearly impossible to not get hooked on Cyberpunk 2077 and, more specifically, on Night City. I’ve completed quests that made me physically uncomfortable and yearn for justice or vengeance alongside the affected characters, and I’ve crafted my version of V into exactly the kind of character I’d want with the reassuring knowledge that there will always be an option that fits my preferences. The plentiful possibilities and outcomes beg for multiple playthroughs, and I’m happy to oblige later after a break from Night City and after things have been cleaned up a bit.
  69. Dec 7, 2020
    80
    Cyberpunk 2077 is ultimately a game that is tailor-made for multiple playthroughs. The more skills V unlocks and the deeper they sink into the conspiracies of Night City, the more it becomes clear that this is a game which fans will happily sink their time into, well past the relatively short main campaign.
  70. Dec 7, 2020
    80
    CD Projekt Red has created a triumphant RPG experience with Cyberpunk 2077, yet it often falls under the weight of its own ambition…Exploring Night City is an unparalleled joy, depicting a dystopian world with an unmatched level of detail in the genre. I lost myself for hours, but such immersion also unveiled a number of deeper issues with its lacklustre themes and problematic writing.
  71. Dec 7, 2020
    78
    Some nice characters and stories nested in an astounding open world, undercut by jarring bugs at every turn.
  72. Dec 20, 2020
    75
    Cyberpunk 2077 is an expansive and entertaining journey, but one that feels like it comes with a ton of caveats. Exploring Night City and seeing all it offers can be a blast but is usually accompanied by some glitches along the way. Combat, while not revolutionary, is still very satisfying and never gets old. There is a great game here, but sometimes it doesn’t feel like it lives up to its full potential with its performance issues. With some more patches, I’m sure most of my complaints can be solved, but as it stands, Cyberpunk 2077 feels like it could have used a lot more work.
  73. Dec 17, 2020
    75
    Night City still shines with a wide cast of memorable characters and beautifully executed atmosphere that demonstrates just how good CD Projekt Red is at story telling, it’s just a shame so much of the overall experience of Cyberpunk 2077 is all held together by pieces of scotch tape.
  74. Dec 16, 2020
    75
    The impulse to fall into one extreme opinion of Cyberpunk or the other is strong. There are moments when you can get so swept up with the world and characters that the very valid complaints seem small. Yet there are also moments when something will break yet again, and you'd give anything for the man behind the curtain to just hide himself better. The game's ambition is standing on very wobbly legs that feel like they could suddenly collapse at any time. There is greatness, but you really have to fight to see all of it, more than anyone should have to.
  75. Dec 15, 2020
    75
    Cyberpunk 2077 tells a compelling story with an excellent assortment of characters but fails to deliver on the promises of a living, breathing open-world. All of these faults are amplified by a messy user interface, unengaging combat, and shoddy performance across multiple platforms.
  76. Dec 14, 2020
    75
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a victim of bloat, but you can choose to ignore a lot of it and take in the sights. That's where Night City is at its best, and I sincerely suggest that you take your time going through it, as rushing will only lead to disappointment.
  77. An exciting story and detailed world are overshadowed by an abundance of bugs, misogynistic writing and all-too-familiar game mechanics.
  78. Jan 22, 2021
    70
    I’ve certainly had my share of fun and amazement soaking up what bits of Night City’s world that I could in my 80 hour playthrough, but nevertheless with a bad taste in the mouth when so many glitches and inconsistencies pulled me out of its overall experience.
  79. Jan 4, 2021
    70
    There are good design elements all over, from a menu option disabling licensed music for streaming to quests that completely change based on whether you choose to go in guns blazing or stay hidden and make sense both ways. The main and side quests are all packed full of great story, the characters are fun to get to know… and yet despite all of the effort that went into this game, we also see the bad design choices I discussed above and an unplayable console version. If you can take the places where it’s a bad example and remember to do better in your own life, and maybe wait until it’s been patched into working, there’s an amazing game here that you can be glad you experienced.
  80. Edge Magazine
    Dec 31, 2020
    70
    V isn't the only one with two souls wrestling for one body. Cyberpunk 2077 ends up being a sometimes-unnecessary exercise in building a better merc, and a propulsive open-world tale about building a better life. If you can ignore the inconsistencies of the former and enjoy the latter, there's a lot to love in Night City. But if Johnny Silverhand teaches us anything, it's that two heads aren't always better than one. [Issue#354, p.98]
  81. Dec 23, 2020
    70
    A truly excellent game hidden beneath layers of poor choices. There’s so much here to love, yet between the copious bugs, performance issues, and it ushering the player away from its very best features, it gets lost in the rubble...When played on PC, Cyberpunk 2077 is still an impressive, engrossing, and fun RPG despite its flaws. However, assuming that CD Projekt Red sticks to its word and fixes its problems, it has all the potential to be a genuine classic of its genre. As such, it’s difficult to recommend playing it at its worst, when its best could be something special.
  82. 70
    The characters, stories, and aesthetics of Cyberpunk 2077 carry much of the weight of the experience. It’s hard to point to an open world so confidently sculpted with a singular vision for creating awe-inspiring vignettes at every turn. I won’t harp on about bugs this late into the discourse, but I think the other issues are more fundamental. The muddled themes, subpar combat, and shallow open world ecosystem are what keep Cyberpunk 2077 from achieving greatness, not some minor visual quirks. Still, if you believe in CD Projekt Red’s initial promise and want to see things for yourself, you could do worse than to spend your time in Night City.
  83. Dec 17, 2020
    70
    Cyerbpunk 2077 ends up being a disappointment and a shame. The general lack of polish and technical problems make it difficult to fully enjoy a fascinating universe that, behind a pile of hypersexualized posters and an advertising campaign made by a teenager with revolutionized hormones, has moments of extreme reflection, tenderness, compassion and companionship. In the future, Cyberpunk 2077 will surely be a better product, but at the moment it should not even be for sale.
  84. Dec 17, 2020
    70
    In its current state, Cyberpunk 2077 has a strong story and world, but those strengths are weighed down by bad design decisions and bugs aplenty.
  85. 70
    Cyberpunk 2077 will ultimately be optimized for every platform and the major bugs will likely be squashed, but it's real problems will remain. A lack of gameplay and systems that matter leave the game feeling uninspired, even if some of the conversations and characters in this world are the best we've seen in quite some time.
  86. Dec 10, 2020
    70
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a cynical look at a future, fallen America. The dystopian action-RPG boasts a deeply satisfying story, an engrossing world, and excellent shooting and melee combat, but it suffers from numerous bugs.
  87. Dec 7, 2020
    70
    Your mileage may vary, but in our experience, the bugs are obtrusive and substantial across the board, often forcing us to reload saves or exit the game entirely. It's hard to get really into a world you constantly have to leave. But then it's hard to get into Cyberpunk 2077's world in general. So much of it is superficial set dressing, and there's so much happening all around you--ads going off at all times, gunfights breaking out in the streets, texts coming in about cars you'll never buy--that a lot of the game feels superfluous. The side quests and the characters they showcase are the shining beacon through the neon-soaked bleakness of Night City, and they give you room to explore the best the core RPG mechanics have to offer. These are what carried me through an otherwise disappointing experience.
  88. Dec 21, 2020
    60
    Cyberpunk 2077 has something special deep inside it, but its ambition falls short, leading to consistent issues that hinder the game's positives. Some areas hit where it should for an RPG, but the lack of meaningful choices make the main and optional quests feel hollow. Maybe with bug fixes and content updates, we will see the true potential of Night City.
  89. Dec 21, 2020
    60
    For better and worse, Cyberpunk 2077 is what it was always going to be: less a work of intensely relevant speculative fiction than a nostalgia piece for yesteryear’s vision of tomorrow.
  90. Dec 16, 2020
    60
    Does Cyberpunk 2077 live up to the hype? Is it significantly deeper than Watch Dogs: Legion or Yakuza: Like a Dragon? Is it as good as Grand Theft Auto V? The answer to all of these questions is no. The sheer size of the world, its astonishing architecture, its set-piece battles, its stylistic bravado – all are testament to the efforts of a talented workforce. But you have to play by its rules, accepting Night City’s xenophobia and misogyny as unavoidable fictive components. Unlike Los Santos, this is not a multifaceted sandbox where you’re free to create whole new activities unforeseen by the designers. You’re there to do missions and side-missions, and the world only yields thus far. You’re always a tourist, never a citizen...In this way, Cyberpunk 2077 resembles a vast, futuristic Las Vegas. You come here and have a hell of a week, but then you wake up one morning feeling jaded and complicit, and you realise that the glitzy signs lead nowhere, the noise is meaningless, and when you look beyond the strip, there is only desert.
  91. Dec 7, 2020
    60
    I think that Cyberpunk 2077 delivers the big-budget gaming thrills that many people are looking for. But it falls short in a few key areas for me, and a lot of that comes as a byproduct of its ambition.
  92. Dec 16, 2020
    40
    Cyberpunk’s running time is littered with familiar problems and zero interest in their solutions. It’s a design cluttered with the failings of a hundred other designs. The safe and familiar failings of the medium that can’t be pinned to CD Projekt specifically, but are nevertheless embraced with something that feels like enthusiasm. So I sigh and carry on to the ending of my choice, looking in vain for the actual cyberpunk in a sprawl of contrived and bland sci-fi.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 7, 2020
    After 20 hours or so, I'm excited to continue inhabiting the fascinating world of Night City and to discover more of its secrets as I meet its fascinating characters. But I'll be moving on prepared to turn a blind eye to some pretty big holes in that facade. [20 Hour Impressions]
  2. Dec 9, 2020
    An open-world masterpiece that's its own worst enemy at times, Cyberpunk 2077 still ranks as a modern-day classic...With more than 40 hours clocked over the last week – walking, driving, shooting, hacking and talking my way around Night City – it is my favourite game of the year and the best I've played since 2018's Red Dead Redemption 2.
  3. Dec 7, 2020
    A lot of people don't want to spend 50 hours playing one game, much less 200 hours to 100% it, and would rather a more linear, streamlined experience. Even with its shorter main quest, Cyberpunk is unlikely to sustain this type of player from start to end. But Cyberpunk 2077 isn't designed for that type of player. Anyone who's followed the game knows what they're in for. Players keen for a world to get lost in, a game to sink untold hours into, will be satiated by Cyberpunk 2077.
  4. Dec 7, 2020
    Honestly, it's a dilemma. Technical issues are often passing, but what lingers is the lack of readiness, in the wider sense. The lack of requisite care. The story is a marvel, as is the sheer, red mist hostility of the world that houses it. The promised depth of systems are there, but mishandled. The maturity - and recall CD Projekt describing Cyberpunk, on announcement, as "a mature RPG for a mature audience" - is often not. Maturity in the immature sense, maybe: the teenage idea of it, that 'maturity' equals Rated M and can be found in nakedness, coarseness, blood and guts, when in actuality it's closer to something like the forced perspective gained from time. My lingering impression of Cyberpunk 2077 is of a game that's shouting over itself, relentlessly at odds with its own creative voice. Amidst it all, the nuance that does exist in Cyberpunk 2077, the intense, intoxicating humanity at its heart, is so nearly engulfed by all the noise. But I think I can still hear it, just about. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  5. Jan 4, 2021
    Sure, it’s better on PC, but that’s cold comfort when it’s hardly functional on other platforms. What’s clear is that this game is no more ready for release than it is for review. Major patches are already slated for January and February, and we’ll revisit it at that time to score it. Right now, buyer beware. There’s a fun game underneath all this, but only if you are playing on PC or Stadia.
  6. Dec 7, 2020
    Jeff Gerstmann & Jeff Bakalar's early impressions.
  7. Dec 7, 2020
    On my PC, beefed up specifically for the game, Cyberpunk performs OK. I can work around the technical failings and laugh at or even admire the bugs. It’s only crashed once, hilariously, when another car hit me so hard the whole game mysteriously shut down. So I’m not playing the broken mess we’re all talking about. Instead, I’m playing a game whose various pieces don’t fit together, where busyness and choices feel like illusions to cover up its emptiness, where key features like driving and gunplay are a chore. I leave each play session a little befuddled and dissatisfied, but then I read about a quest or see a video of an unfamiliar area and boot the game up again. I can’t quite say if I like it, even though saying things like that is part of my job. I’m still playing it, but I’m not always sure why.
  8. Dec 7, 2020
    CD Projekt Red had the weight of the world on its shoulders, but Cyberpunk 2077 delivers. I can’t think of a single significant complaint. The game looks gorgeous, sounds luscious, and hits you in the feels just as hard as Witcher 3. The deep and incredibly flexible character customization options should provide ample replayability—something you couldn’t say about Witcher—especially when paired with the wide array of meaningful story decisions you can make. [Impressions]
  9. Dec 7, 2020
    I can’t deny that Night City wowed me with its scale, its verticality, and its sense of history. But I wish I could see people like me on its streets as something more than objects. I wish that the game’s politics were more radical. Yes, I know I shouldn’t look to a colossal game that was itself produced under exploitative labor conditions to lead the charge of anticapitalist liberation, but I wish the sparks of Johnny Silverhand’s ideological rage got to burn brighter, that Cyberpunk 2077 felt more interested in envisioning new futures than in reminiscing over bygone glories. Neither its gameplay nor its narrative can imagine the bold possibilities that I find so central to the best of cyberpunk. But what it does offer is visions of people trying to make do and get by in a world that’s trying to eat them alive, and sometimes those people get by with a little help from their friends. It’s not the revolution I hoped for, but it’s something.
  10. Cyberpunk 2077 is staggering, overwhelming, and even surprising at times in its spectacle. Although my first dozen hours with the game has been marred by easy-to-fix problems, Nighty City, along with all it offers and all that call it home, makes for an intoxicating escape. Here’s hoping the next one hundred hours are as utterly compelling.
  11. Cyberpunk 2077 is huge, sprawling, complex, and deeply flawed. It’s at its best as a fairly straightforward singleplayer action game, with likable characters and thrilling capers in a fascinatingly detailed open world that looks better than any game before it. It’s at its worst if you want it to be an RPG, an approach-as-you-please Deus Ex successor, or a polished piece of software. I enjoyed my time with it a lot, and I even want more of it, though I’m going to spend years complaining about its flaws. I’ll enjoy the complaining, too. It reminds me of the Eurojank games of yore, then, but maybe it’s fairer to say that it reminds me of the previous games from developers CD Projekt Red. After eight years of one of the most grating marketing campaigns imaginable, Cyberpunk 2077 is here, its ambitions beyond its means. Cyberpunk 2077: Enhanced Edition when?
  12. Dec 7, 2020
    CD Projekt Red's long-awaited follow-up to The Witcher 3 is brilliant, fascinating and engrossing but bears the scars of a tough development. [Review in Progress]
  13. Dec 7, 2020
    I’ve been cautiously excited about Cyberpunk 2077 for years, and it’s almost exactly the game I expected: not terribly memorable, but campy and entertaining. Given just how much crunch and controversy Cyberpunk 2077 has generated, though, I can’t deny being a little disappointed — especially when the game delivers fragments of something more compelling.
  14. Dec 7, 2020
    The expanding aura of decency and compassion that follows in V's wake makes Cyberpunk an unexpectedly charming game in spite of its chauvinist streaks and retro-kitsch. In the face of the thoroughly amok-machinery of techno-corporatism that has destroyed society and ruthlessly crushes any challenges and dissent that it might face, Cyberpunk 2077 wants to believe in a hero, and the promise of a neon sunset.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29616 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 11, 2020
    10
    The best game ever. Game of the Year 2020. Masterpiece storyline and gameplay.
  2. Dec 12, 2020
    2
    Remember the trailer about life choices and how it will affect your entire game? Guess what, it only changes the first 15 minutes of the game.Remember the trailer about life choices and how it will affect your entire game? Guess what, it only changes the first 15 minutes of the game.

    Remember the trailer about the most vibrant, immersive world like never seen before? Guess what, there isn't even traffic AI, NPC's on the street don't know what to do, there is not a single thing to interact with in the city. There are not car chases because there is no driving AI. The cops spawn behind you, because they don't know how to drive and can't actually arrive at the scene. Cars keep popping in and out as you rotate your head.

    Remember how Night City was supposed to be smaller, but because of it's verticality the possibilities would be huge? Guess what, there are a handful of towers which have 2 to 3 floors.

    Remember that trailer about style, how there are 4 different clothing styles and how these will affect your game, who you are? Your cyberware, your tattoos, the guns? Guess what. There is 0 customization and you can't even get a haircut, tattoo or see the affect of cyber mods on your character.

    Remember that trailer about the cars, their style, their purpose? Guess what. None of it really matters because the driving is absolutely insane, cars are completely random and meaningless (why is Night City full of trucks without trailers?).

    I can keep going on like that, but none of the promises are real and it's overall a terrible game. Advertised as the most immersive world to date, it lacks basic NPC AI which games like GTA3 and Mafia had (these games are almost 20 years old). Litteraly every open world game in the last 20 years has had traffic AI, NPC's reacting to the player, random things to interact with.. but Cyberpunk doesn't have any of that.

    As long as you follow the main story and ignore the stupid AI, the game is ok. But get off the main quest and you begin to realize what a disaster this game is.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2020
    3
    I would love to play new interesting games, but pretending that bad, almost amateurish game is good, doesn't make anything better. It makesI would love to play new interesting games, but pretending that bad, almost amateurish game is good, doesn't make anything better. It makes things worse, because now everyone thinks they can hype their game for 8 years and then release unfinished, boring mess that has worse npc's than 2008 games. I don't know, maybe "Ghostwire Tokyo" (2021) will be something new? Maybe Hogwarts Legacy (2021) ? I have no idea, but "Cyberpunk 2077" ain't it. Full Review »