Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Mar 22, 2020
    100
    The result is a dozen levels that span an incredibly diverse range of locations that eclipse everything you can see in DOOM (2016) in just the first couple hours. Double jump, dash, and wall climbing create the opportunity for platforming puzzles and sprawling worlds that the developers have maximized to their full potential.
  2. Mar 20, 2020
    100
    While it’s unrealistic to say that DOOM Eternal will be the last FPS game you’ll ever play, you’d be hard pressed to convince me that there will ever be one to top it. I’m not even sure another entry to DOOM could push the genre further than DOOM Eternal has. It’s beautiful destruction, a hurricane of violence, a symphony of being a pure, bonafide bada**. It’s a love note to the 90s and a lesson to modern FPS games that vintage and modern can live side by side, and when done correctly makes a legend for the ages. DOOM Eternal is the best first-person shooter and that’s the bottom line.
  3. Mar 19, 2020
    100
    Every design detail serves to propel the player forwards with as little friction as possible, with enough surprises and twists to prevent the formula becoming stale. It’s a real delight to be the Doom Slayer: to put everything else aside and focus on just the problem in front of you. Especially if that problem is a swarm of angry demons.
  4. Mar 17, 2020
    100
    This isn't just a sequel. The demons are far more aggressive, their legions have been reinforced with some new baddies, and the Slayer has become an even more dangerous opponent, with more ways at his disposal to destroy everything on his path to the invaders. This almost feels like an entirely new experience, as every single aspect of its predecessor has seen an upgrade or revision. The concept of "push-forward combat" is even better this time around, forcing you to be in the moment every moment. In fact, the only real flaw here, if you can call it a flaw, is how excruciatingly brutal, remorseless, and chaotic DOOM Eternal can be. This simply makes everything else feel dull in comparison…
  5. Mar 17, 2020
    100
    DOOM Eternal is a bloody masterpiece of glorious violence that may well be the best the series has ever been.
  6. Mar 27, 2020
    95
    Doom Eternal is a monster of a game, uncompromising and purposeful in its decision making. Crucial to its success is that it doesn't feel like it's trying to cater to everyone. Eternal can be unforgiving, and there will no doubt be those who bounce off its razor sharp edges. Yet by not watering itself down, Doom Eternal comes away with an incredible focus. This is a blazingly fast shooter that demands amazing feats of skill. Those willing to baptize themselves in the fire will walk away with the kind of satisfaction that few AAA games have the audacity to give.
  7. Mar 27, 2020
    95
    If you loved DOOM 2016 I think you’re are going to love DOOM Eternal. It takes the best parts of 2016 and somehow finds a way to improve on them. Throw in some amazing easter eggs, new enemy types, movement mechanics and level design and you have a formula for amazing. Sure it’ll take a level or so to figure out this new combat rhythm but once you find it, you’ll never want to go back.
  8. Mar 17, 2020
    95
    Doom Eternal is the perfect evolution of the classic FPS series from id Software. Finally, Bethesda is delivering a game that we deserved. We have a GOTY contender.
  9. Mar 17, 2020
    95
    DOOM Eternal’s world is one that blends elements of traditional sci-fi with the sort of fantasy that resides, well, in the world of fantasy. Or, a cool-as-hell heavy metal album cover to suit the game’s heavy metal opera of fast drumming and chunky riffs, replete with choiristic guttural gregorian chants backing it all. There’s a vision and completeness on display that presents id Software as much more than tech pioneers. Eternal is as much a statement of renewed intent as it is a brilliant slice of first-person action from id. A studio that has taken the simplicity and peerless feel of DOOM 2016, Quake III Arena, and other past glories and expanded that into an experience that also captures the wonder of exploring new alien worlds and locations. To ‘Rip and Tear’ through.
  10. Mar 17, 2020
    95
    It seems difficult to think that the Doom franchise can raise its level of intensity even further, but it certainly does. Not only are all the additions welcome, but we can no longer imagine Doom without them.
  11. Mar 17, 2020
    95
    Doom Eternal is, in 2020, what Doom 2 was in 1994: one of the best FPS of its generation. Eternal is an incredible and brutal experience that you cannot miss.
  12. Mar 17, 2020
    94
    It doesn’t matter who you are, when you play Doom Eternal you will feel as badass as his Doom Slayer. With a fast paced and gory gameplay, this incredible FPS is a must buy to anyone old enough to hold a Shotgun in hand and shoot demons in the face.
  13. Mar 17, 2020
    94
    Doom Eternal is a ceaseless, panicked nightmare that pushes you to point and click with more skill and style than ever before.
  14. Mar 20, 2020
    92
    Doom Eternal is a hellishly frantic shooter that puts me closer to heart attack levels than I care to admit — and I love every second of it.
  15. Mar 17, 2020
    92
    Launching into the bloody embrace of Doom Eternal is a bit like waking up on Christmas morning and finding all the gifts we wanted under the tree. Plus a double-barreled shotgun.
  16. Mar 17, 2020
    91
    Brutal, bloody and immensely unique in its flow: id Software raises the bar for the classic arena shooter to a new grand level.
  17. Mar 28, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal is a ludicrous, gory, pulse-pounding masterpiece.
  18. Mar 27, 2020
    90
    When it comes to first-person shooters, Doom Eternal is one of those games that you can get lost in. The combination of graphics, story, and intense action is enough to keep you playing for hours, pushing for “one more try” after a demon inevitably eats your lunch. In a time when people are grasping for something to occupy their minds, Doom Eternal couldn’t have come at a better time.
  19. 90
    Doom Eternal’s “play cool or die” philosophy shakes up retro shooter norms for the better. It’s the confident sequel we all knew it would be, but it tries to be even more than that. In almost every way, it succeeds at both.
  20. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    Whether you're a new Doom fan or a veteran one, Doom Eternal is bound to delight & entertain you. It's gloriously fun.
  21. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    It's very easy to ignore the few rough patches in DOOM Eternal. This is a fantastic FPS with tons to do. It's also one of the most over-the-top and insane games ever made.
  22. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal doesn’t care about any modern-day shooter flourishes and instead puts all its demonic strength towards one goal: old-school heavy-metal thrashing.
  23. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal does a lot of things, but it's really a masterclass in modern action game design. It improves upon its predecessor in nearly every way and has some of the most visceral, furious combat that gaming has to offer.
  24. Mar 22, 2020
    90
    After the successful entry to the DOOM franchise with DOOM (2016) id Software just couldn't surprise us that much. And they probably didn't want (or need) to - they just upgraded every aspect of the game for a little bit, making it that much fun, entertaining and brutal. The gameplay is probably one of the best we have played in a while - fluid and engaging, forcing the player to continuously fight the hordes of evil (with the new batch of demons from the original DOOM from the '90s of course). The story is, on the other hand, a complete mess and platforming elements not the strongest point for id Software.
  25. Mar 20, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal kicks ass. It's smarter than it looks, faster than it looks, and somehow even more fun than it looks. A triumph—except for the platforming.
  26. Mar 18, 2020
    90
    Without a doubt one of id software's best. Intense battles, brutal enemies, glorious design, a pulse-pounding soundtrack and a smooth engine all come together in one amazing package.
  27. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    The story is not something I particularly cared for in DOOM (2016), but DOOM Eternal somehow manages to wraps it’s silky tendrils all across your brain, and will surely provide a lot of excitement and satisfaction for those who have been following the DOOM lore and theory-crafting for these past games. DOOM Eternal is bigger and better in every conceivable way. Welcome back, Slayer, it’s good to have you home.
  28. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    I've rarely had so much fun while reviewing a game. The boss fights are as entertaining as the build, Doom icons (pun intended) are introduced with verve, there are countless cool settings, the gunplay is more or less the best in the genre, the combat arenas feel like morbid monkey cage games and the game wraps it all in a sauce of subtle humor and lots and lots of metal. Doom Eternal does nothing weird compared to its predecessor, but this game is much better in almost every way. And part one was already so good.
  29. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    Id stumbles very occasionally in its ambition to expand on 2016, but you won’t care when you’re enjoying the best combat in shooters. Pure, animalistic catharsis.
  30. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    Doom Eternal: this is a big "yes", a destructive trance to which we get attached very quickly, which offers us a biblical story revisited very interesting and gameplay of incredible nervousness. A true ode to fast-FPS, immersive, which offers, over a more than honest lifespan, smart, intense battles and a memorable and varied hell dive. An apnea from which you only come out to rest your eyes, your heart, your mind ... and catch your breath!
  31. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    DOOM Eternal mostly offers more of the same, which is no punishment at all. The game only falls short in platforming activities. Fortunately, the main focus of the game is on slaughtering demons and there is no game that does it better than DOOM Eternal. Mixing the old with the new has proven to be a successful formula when developing games. More of the same please, thank you!
  32. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    DOOM Eternal is an fast-paced, gory and excellent game. The weapons feel great, the new systems and gadgets make the combat flow even better than the previous game. The levels are bigger and easier to navigate, and when the combat flow hits you nothing is better. Shooting, freezing and blowing up hoards of demons have never been better.
  33. Mar 17, 2020
    88
    Doom Eternal refines where its predecessor was already brilliant. Despite some minor flaws, it's one of the most intense shooters of the year.
  34. Mar 17, 2020
    88
    If you appreciated the original DOOM from 2016, this sequel will be perfect for you.
  35. Mar 24, 2020
    85
    It is a brilliant game, one that is a worthy successor to the previous release. While the game does stumble here and there, trying to be something that it really shouldn't be, the outstanding gameplay more than makes up for any issues. Going by the campaign alone, Doom Eternal is well worth your time and money, particularly so if you liked Doom. Multiplayer, I'm not sold on it, with it feeling just a bit too threadbare.
  36. Mar 23, 2020
    85
    Overall Doom Eternal looks gorgeous, shoots sweetly and contains tremendous fun when played against other bloodthirsty players. But it still lacks some polish on its multiplayer gameplay content.
  37. Mar 17, 2020
    85
    Doom Eternal is one of the best FPS that exists today. We can even say that it far exceeds the original. However, not everything shines with the same intensity; the story is confusing and unnecessary, the platform sections are tedious, the new visual identity is generic. In general, you can notice a change of direction towards a game as a service for the wrong reasons. Doom Eternal finds himself caught in the eternal conflict of finding his own identity.
  38. Mar 17, 2020
    85
    Doom Eternal’s combat encounters are, quite possibly, the best in the genre. Snappy movement, a varied arsenal and executions, alongside a soundtrack that mixes atmospheric synths with pounding drums and devastating downtuned guitars all feed into the game’s trademark frenetic action. There’s unrivaled euphoria in crushing a demon’s head underfoot before moving on to kill hundreds more of his friends in equally brutal ways. Really, the only thing holding Doom Eternal back from reaching its full potential is its platforming which – although improved – take up too much time that could have been spent doing what Doom Eternal does best: letting you shoot the literal Hell out of scores of demons.
  39. Mar 17, 2020
    84
    DOOM Eternal boosts its gameplay to offer spectacular fights of rare intensity. The dive into the action is instantaneous, and you'll have to shoot, run, jump, and cut the demon in every direction to honor the title of Doom Slayer. It's not easy, but it manages to provide a satisfying experience for different types of players. As a solo player, he delivers what the fans have been asking for, and although the campaign is quickly over, the master levels take care of fleshing it out. If it lives up to its promise, multiplayer should also offer a fantastic opportunity to gut each other with friends, but we couldn't test it this time.
  40. Mar 22, 2020
    80
    Following up on an already excellent game like Doom 2016 is no easy task. Doom Eternal however, manages to kick it's precursor on all counts. The world is more engaging and varied in design. The monsters are rawer and bloodier while the weapons are more imaginative and have tons of modifications. Too bad that we also have to build our character in a role-playing like mode and are forced to watch the uninteresting story. It slows down an otherwise near excellent adrenaline-filled rush of a game.
  41. Mar 20, 2020
    80
    Doom Eternal builds upon the excellent foundation of Doom (2016) with a mess of demons, Glory Kills, and great weapons. Most of what made Doom great is carried forward into Doom Eternal, with new mechanics like an armor-filling flamethrower and the room-clearing Blood Punch. Eternal wants to be more though, so it adds to Doom Slayer's story and adds more twisty levels to explore, which puts some bumps in the tight pacing of Doom (2016). Nevertheless, it'll still feed your need for that rip and tear.
  42. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    Doom Eternal: DOOM is back to bring us another entry with wonderful and vertical combat with plenty of gore and heavy metal rhythm. The impressive shooter returns and DOOM Eternal adds more content, and more platforms that make us miss the simplicity of this franchise.
  43. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    Though it can take a bit to get the hang of it, the intricacies of Doom Eternal's combat, combined with its enhanced mobility and option-heavy level design, create a ton of white-knuckle moments that elevate everything that made Doom 2016 work so well. Its combat is just as quick and chaotic, but requires you to constantly analyze everything that's happening in order to come out victorious. Once you get the hang of the rhythm of Doom Eternal, it'll make you feel like a demon-slaying savant.
  44. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    There’s a lot to digest with the latest entry in the series – from new mechanics and weapons to the return of some iconic demon classes – and Doom Eternal is one hell of a good time.
  45. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    In every way, developer Id's new shooter is bigger than its predecessor, more developed, more thought out.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 17, 2020
    Doom Eternal is a thrilling return to form and a high-water mark for fast-paced twitch shooting. Buy it.
  2. Mar 18, 2020
    This is still ostensibly just an arcade shooter from the 1990s with some beautiful graphics layered on top, but the way Eternal finds a balance between intelligent design and utter chaos is near flawless.
  3. Mar 17, 2020
    There's a lot here...I'm having a good time. [Quick Look]
  4. Mar 17, 2020
    Treat Doom Eternal like dessert — something to be savored, not hurried. When you have the rare moment between feeding one demon its own heart and breaking another demon’s arm and hammering the freshly protruding bone through the demon’s skull, take a breath to admire the engineering and artistry that makes your actions possible, how the world encourages playful movement, how the specific design of an arena and the placement of each enemy invites you to chain your violence in one ecstatic flourish. Always be moving, but never rush. [Polygon Recommends]
  5. These are minor transgressions. They don’t come close to souring a delightfully bloody pudding, a tour de force of grizzly decapitation. The highs in Doom Eternal come thick and fast and towering, in the midst of battles that demand total attention. New-new Doom nails that marriage of twitching and planning, the calculated deployment of rampant aggression. It makes you feel godly. I haven’t been able to try the multiplayer mode, but it promises asymmetric, player-orchestrated arenas that sound much more intriguing than the underwhelming marine-on-marine action of the last game. And if winds up as another disappointing side-show, so what? [RPS Bestest Bests]
  6. Mar 19, 2020
    Doom Eternal isn’t quite as focused as its predecessor, and sometimes it gets bogged down in unnecessary additions. But they don’t compromise the core experience, which is as giddily indulgent as anything else you’ll play all year. Doom Eternal is a bigger, more ambitious version of Doom, and for the most part, that’s exactly as much fun as it sounds.
  7. Mar 17, 2020
    Doom Eternal is the platonic ideal of a Doom game. The combat, level design, and enemy encounters have never felt better. And it sure does have a story. Not just plot contrivances to get the player from point A to B, but elaborate lore with multiple cultures, planets, characters and sci-fi and fantasy tropes. Page after page of fucking lore that I puzzled over as I moved through the legion’s of hell, ripping the eyes out of cacodemons and decapitating the damned.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1012 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 20, 2020
    3
    I have about 2 hours in Doom Eternal now. I've been looking forward to this quite a bit since I played Doom 2016. However, this game feelsI have about 2 hours in Doom Eternal now. I've been looking forward to this quite a bit since I played Doom 2016. However, this game feels like just another shooter with a bunch of modern gaming BS thrown in - skins, gimmicks, fluff, etc.

    Start with the sound track - I think I haven't heard barely any decent music in the 2 hours that I've played so far. It hasn't ramped up once into the great metal soundtrack that is supposed to come with it like Doom 2016 did.

    Next with the combat - it's functional. Doesn't feel as brutal as Doom 2016 was, but at least it works... until they put you in the purple goo that makes you move at a crawl, unable to jump, unable to dash (or boost or whatever), and fight tanky enemies... because for some reason, I want my mobility to be taken away in a doom game. Then some of the areas are incredibly cramped - both the arenas and transition areas. Who's idiotic idea was it to put me into a hallway with one of those spider demons with no room to move before I even had the boost function? Who's idiotic idea was it to take away my mobility so drastically in multiple parts of the game? It feels like I'm just grinding out from one area to the next.

    Add on the fact that there are now jumping puzzles. I play doom to fight, not to figure out how to jump around some falling platforms. There's a lot of this style of gameplay now - it's fluff. They're not fun, they're not challenging, they're not mentally stimulating, they just waste time.

    And then we get into the pacing. Doom 2016 didn't have a ton of lore/story in it which was fine for me. It would be fine with it too... if the cut scenes didn't cut into the combat and slow down the pace considerably. And the doom guy doesn't even seem angry any more. He just seems apathetic and doesn't want to listen to anyone. Doesn't do a ton of random smashing of anything unless it's a glory kill. Add in the puzzles from before and the pace slows down even more.

    Then also add in the fact that they actually encourage cheesing in multiple parts - sniping from a distance instead of the close up fast pace combat from Doom. I just... what?

    And then I'm really nitpicking here, but the textures, colors, and design used is just kind of arcade-ish and looks like a cartoon.

    This is not a doom game. I can still go back to Doom 2016 and get absolutely lost in the battle/chaos. In this, I feel more like I'm checking off lists and such like so many modern "shooters" feel. The brutality is gone, the fast paced combat is mostly gone and just replaced with frustration and cramped environments, it's just not good. I gave it 3/10 just for being functional. Other than that, I wish I hadn't spent 60$ on this.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Эта игра отдельное удовольствие которое выходило за 2020 год. Я бы сказал что игра просто шедевральна на мой вкус. всем рекомендую к покупке))Эта игра отдельное удовольствие которое выходило за 2020 год. Я бы сказал что игра просто шедевральна на мой вкус. всем рекомендую к покупке))
  3. Mar 20, 2020
    0
    The game is seriously overrated. Its like ID forgot what their product is about.
    Bethesda account required.
    Graphics don't look better,
    The game is seriously overrated. Its like ID forgot what their product is about.
    Bethesda account required.
    Graphics don't look better, blood looks like liquid plastic.
    Pacing is completely off.
    Story is all over the place.
    Cutscenes all the time, like all the time, horrible interruption.
    Gamplay, weapon unlock - horrible pacing, like the levels were built by interns.
    AI - retards, just retards that rush you and glue to your face.
    Music - on its own it is great but it doesn't fit the pacing...
    Not worth your time. Don't even bother on sale.
    Full Review »