Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Oct 21, 2015
    100
    The variety makes the frequent deaths more palatable and I would probably buy a custom dedicated handheld that just played this game.
  2. Oct 22, 2015
    95
    Moppin’s work easily deserves to stand alongside the likes of Nuclear Throne, Spelunky, and The Binding of Isaac as a tough but rewarding game where no two runs are the same and the temptation to return is overwhelming...It’s also proof positive that reviewers don’t give games low scores because they “suck at the game” – I have no shame in admitting I’m absolutely awful at the bloody thing, but I adore it nonetheless.
  3. Jan 8, 2016
    93
    Easily one of Devolver Digital's best releases from last year, Downwell is an old-school delight that won't let you down in the least. It's difficult at times, but still utterly rewarding when it comes to exciting gameplay, plenty of unlockables and a right-at-home presentation for NES fans. Now we just need a console release to seal the deal.
  4. Dec 21, 2015
    92
    Please do yourself a favor and buy Downwell now, on PC or on iOs, wherever it suits you. This masterpiece has a thing that most of modern AAA games lack: pure fun. A wonderful shoot'em up and a love letter to the genre.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2016
    90
    You shoot monsters with your shoes while falling at high speed. Why? Because video games, that’s why. [13/2015, p.71]
  6. Nov 2, 2015
    90
    Downwell isn't the kind of game everyone will like, but if you like challenging arcade platforms, you'll love Downwell.
  7. Oct 26, 2015
    90
    Simply put, Downwell is a masterpiece and everyone that regards himself as a true gamer should buy it immediately.
  8. Oct 22, 2015
    90
    It’s a deep dark well filled with monsters and gems, equal parts platformer and reverse vertical shooter, and falling into its depths is the stuff that 1980s arcade dreams were made of.
  9. Oct 26, 2015
    85
    Downwell is one of those great small jewels where everything runs like clockwork.
  10. Dec 3, 2015
    80
    Downwell is an unique take on the shoot em' up and roguelike genres that is sure to keep you coming back.
  11. Nov 13, 2015
    80
    It’s an incredibly simple and intuitive game, but creating such a fun experience with this kind of simplistic gameplay is a feat that only a truly brilliant developer can achieve. Get this game, it costs only 3 dollars and it’s fun, fast, and extremely intelligent.
  12. Nov 6, 2015
    80
    Learning the skills and vocabulary of the game gives you the confidence to risk chaining large combos, and it’s at this level where you can experience Downwell's most exhilarating moments again and again.
  13. Oct 30, 2015
    80
    Downwell is a simple and fun 2D platformer. Its unique gameplay makes it fast-paced and challenging, and its roguelike qualities keep it from growing bland or frustrating. Spend a little time with this game and you may get hooked too.
  14. Oct 25, 2015
    80
    A remarkably simple, addictive game. The no-nonsense gameplay and furious action make it one that’s easy to jump into over and over, and with numerous styles, powerups, and weapons to use along the way, each plunge through the randomly-generated world is unique.
  15. Oct 21, 2015
    80
    It is fun and addictive, but moreover it’s adrenaline-pumping and shocking in its barbarity.
  16. Nov 6, 2015
    75
    Downwell is at its best when you’re bounding from one enemy to the next, blasting through obstacles, and frantically scanning for a safe path through the chaos. This moment-to-moment challenge is fun, and the later levels (and final boss) put your skills to the test. Unfortunately, the journey to that level of proficiency feels like a grind. Though each run is technically different, they all start to feel the same.
  17. Dec 23, 2015
    70
    Downwell‘s a very slight game based around a great, fast-paced mechanic.
  18. Oct 22, 2015
    70
    Falling down has never been this hard. Or this pixelated.
  19. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 28, 2016
    60
    Procedurally-generated levels are the new zombies. The design does not work beyond mobile gaming. [Aug 2016]
  20. Jan 4, 2017
    50
    Downwell is an arcade game with purposefully archaic look and Spartan equipment for gaming masochists. Fans of retro, speed run and especially extreme difficulty will be thrilled, others should let their hands off!
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. That I love the game even with a Virtual Boy palette is testament to how lovely it is. Very lovely. And very smart.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 115
  2. Negative: 28 out of 115
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    9
    That was pretty fun, I guess. I'll give it another go.

    Wow, combos are pretty cathartic. Nice. Okay, one more game. Holy crap, so
    That was pretty fun, I guess. I'll give it another go.

    Wow, combos are pretty cathartic. Nice. Okay, one more game.

    Holy crap, so many gems... alright, just one more game.

    ...

    just one more game..
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2015
    9
    I bought this game first on PC. I had so much fun with it I purchased it again on my iPhone as soon as I had to leave my PC. If you enjoy fun,I bought this game first on PC. I had so much fun with it I purchased it again on my iPhone as soon as I had to leave my PC. If you enjoy fun, buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent ARCADE GAME. As in, you play it for 30 minutes, do something else, and come back later. Yes, you will lose every time.This is an excellent ARCADE GAME. As in, you play it for 30 minutes, do something else, and come back later. Yes, you will lose every time. Yes, it is unfair. But, every 10th game when you make it to the 3rd level, and every 50th game you make it to the 4th level, your heart will be pumping! And, it has a surprising amount of depth and replayability as you learn how to maximize combos, use the different weapons, and choose upgrades in between stages. Really, for $3 this is the best value I've ever gotten from a game.

    It surprises me so many low reviews!! Probably kids see the very high metascore, buy it for just $3, and then are frustrated they can't master it immediately. Sheesh, that is the beauty of unforgiving RNG games.
    Full Review »