Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 23, 2015
    70
    Downwell‘s a very slight game based around a great, fast-paced mechanic.
  2. Oct 22, 2015
    70
    Falling down has never been this hard. Or this pixelated.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 28, 2016
    60
    Procedurally-generated levels are the new zombies. The design does not work beyond mobile gaming. [Aug 2016]
  4. Jan 4, 2017
    50
    Downwell is an arcade game with purposefully archaic look and Spartan equipment for gaming masochists. Fans of retro, speed run and especially extreme difficulty will be thrilled, others should let their hands off!
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. That I love the game even with a Virtual Boy palette is testament to how lovely it is. Very lovely. And very smart.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 114
  2. Negative: 28 out of 114
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    9
    That was pretty fun, I guess. I'll give it another go.

    Wow, combos are pretty cathartic. Nice. Okay, one more game. Holy crap, so
    That was pretty fun, I guess. I'll give it another go.

    Wow, combos are pretty cathartic. Nice. Okay, one more game.

    Holy crap, so many gems... alright, just one more game.

    ...

    just one more game..
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2015
    9
    I bought this game first on PC. I had so much fun with it I purchased it again on my iPhone as soon as I had to leave my PC. If you enjoy fun,I bought this game first on PC. I had so much fun with it I purchased it again on my iPhone as soon as I had to leave my PC. If you enjoy fun, buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2015
    9
    This is an excellent ARCADE GAME. As in, you play it for 30 minutes, do something else, and come back later. Yes, you will lose every time.This is an excellent ARCADE GAME. As in, you play it for 30 minutes, do something else, and come back later. Yes, you will lose every time. Yes, it is unfair. But, every 10th game when you make it to the 3rd level, and every 50th game you make it to the 4th level, your heart will be pumping! And, it has a surprising amount of depth and replayability as you learn how to maximize combos, use the different weapons, and choose upgrades in between stages. Really, for $3 this is the best value I've ever gotten from a game.

    It surprises me so many low reviews!! Probably kids see the very high metascore, buy it for just $3, and then are frustrated they can't master it immediately. Sheesh, that is the beauty of unforgiving RNG games.
    Full Review »