Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 28, 2017
    75
    Fall of Light is a strange mix between ICO and Dark Souls. The narrative plot works in a proper way, while the battle system is not as deep as it should have been, though it doesn't show big defects.
  2. Sep 26, 2017
    75
    Fall of Light is a good Souls-like, but it can differences himself from the usual dark fantasy games.
  3. Oct 20, 2017
    70
    ​Fall of Light is a nice game with some huge problem that lead down the entire gameplay​.
  4. Oct 8, 2017
    65
    Fall of Light lies in the shadows, one step from that ray of light that could illuminate it.
  5. Sep 25, 2017
    60
    On paper the idea of blend together Dark Souls and ICO seems extremely interesting but the first game of RuneHeads falls flat in too many elements and a potential gem reveals itself only as a decent souls-like.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Sep 29, 2017
    9
    Dark Souls 1 meets Diablo 2. this is a pretty cool indie game. lots of dying until you learn the enemy patterns. i remapped my strong andDark Souls 1 meets Diablo 2. this is a pretty cool indie game. lots of dying until you learn the enemy patterns. i remapped my strong and weak attacks to r1 and r2, like Dark Souls, and the block to L1. the roll button is already the same as Dark Souls.

    runs fine on my pc. i'm a Dark Souls player and i'm liking it, which i can't say for the other 'souls-like' games out there. (i also liked Diablo 2, if you don't like the top down diablo view, this game is not for you) for the price, it's worth checking out.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 30, 2017
    9
    Obviously SanctumRevel has never unlock an Echo to say that "story-nonexistend bland dk souls copy". Please, play the game before writeObviously SanctumRevel has never unlock an Echo to say that "story-nonexistend bland dk souls copy". Please, play the game before write reviews.
    The story is all but "non-existent", and is intentionally setup as a "Soulesque lore-based narrative" to smash this thing as soon as you unlock your first Echo.
    Sure, the game as little flaws, but the developers seems responsive and open to feedback on steam forum.
    As 2 Dev project I think this game is just amazing, vast, intriguing and well executed. Indie team should learn that passion and competence brings amazing results!
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 11, 2017
    8
    PRO
    - The atmosphere is spot-on, and sometimes truly well done.
    - Combat is fluid, fast paced and enjoyable. - All weapons types feel and
    PRO
    - The atmosphere is spot-on, and sometimes truly well done.
    - Combat is fluid, fast paced and enjoyable.
    - All weapons types feel and behave differently - you will find changing styles very often
    - It is very beautiful to have to care about Aether, and some scenes with her are AMAZING (without spoilers, the part after the Water Guardian is thrilling)
    - The developers are super-responsive - they patched the game a week after the release, listened to player feedback and they integrated what was within the spirit of the game without compromising it. - Exploration is rewarding, and I personally felt the areas well designed (in terms of map layout, secrets and diversity).

    CONS
    - The voice acting is bad. Like - very bad.
    - The game really lacks a soundtrack in many places. Sound effects are good and well placed, but I find that I would have loved music here and there.
    - Inventory and menus are practical and functional, but could use some graphical touches.

    PERSONAL VOTE: 8.5/10 - well worth your time and money. Definitely recommended.
    Full Review »