Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    90
    It doesn’t pander to the player like a child, taking a long time to reach a modicum of difficulty. It’s under the impression that we’re here for a challenge and provides just that for us. Fairly, that is, so that the only one to blame for our violent rage quits are ourselves.
  2. Sep 26, 2014
    85
    If you’re up for the challenge, Fenix Rage has more than enough content to keep you busy for a long, long time. The game is also a speedrunners’ dream, and I anticipate seeing some incredible things done with this game by the speedrunning community in the coming months.
  3. Oct 3, 2014
    84
    Obviously Fenix Rage loses some points for coming after, but if the worst thing you can say about a game is “Damn near as good as Meat Boy” then that’s very high praise.
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    80
    Fenix Rage is a pretty good game, but can also be a frustrating experience. If you don’t mind the fact that it could almost pass for a sequel to Super Meat Boy and that the difficulty curve is all over the place and can easily make you frustrated, it is an enjoyable experience.
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    80
    With a rock solid gameplay, ultra reliable controls and refreshing mechanics for a platform game, Fenix Rage passes the Super Meat Boy test and brings tons of new challenges for gamers willing to push themselves to the limit.
  6. Oct 16, 2014
    80
    Fenix Rage manages to scratch the itch for the super-challenging Super Meat Boy-like but it doesn’t scratch it for quite long enough.
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    80
    With a very affordable price, Fenix Rage offers countless hours of gameplay. It's a little gem for all the friends of difficult platformers.
  8. Sep 26, 2014
    80
    I'd still crown Super Meat Boy king of this genre, but thanks to inspired mechanics, variety-packed pacing, and satisfyingly steep challenges, Fenix Rage can proudly stand next to its protein-packed inspiration.
  9. Sep 25, 2014
    80
    For hardcore gamers in need of a huge challenge, Fenix Rage is definitely a must-have. It is incredibly well-executed in terms of gameplay and level design. This lovely platformer feels like some sheet music that would punish you each time you're not exactly in the right timing. Which can repulse a lot of players eventually but will motivate some others to be busy for quite some time.
  10. Sep 24, 2014
    80
    Fenix Rage is nothing short of great. It’s a worthy entry into an unfortunately short line of hardcore and enjoyable platformers, with great aesthetics and music backed by solid mechanics.
  11. Sep 22, 2014
    80
    There are more challenges to unlock in Fenix Rage than I should bother mentioning, including one that butts heads with my infinite-jumping utopia, so it’s worth noting that on top of an already enjoyable and cookie-filled game, you’ll find yourself revisiting earlier levels again just to maximize your investment.
  12. Sep 25, 2014
    73
    No pain, no gain. Fenix Rage is harsh, strong and will punch you in the face, with no remorse and no regrets. If you accept its challenge, you'll find something interesting. But beware: anger and rage with the joypad are around the corner.
  13. Jan 18, 2015
    70
    Fenix Rage knows that you're here for a challenge, and that's exactly what it serves. Through the highs and the lows, you don't really have any time to think about what's going on or to be bothered by the simplistic and overly saturated visuals and repetitive generic music.
  14. Nov 19, 2014
    70
    It may not be in a position to dethrone Super Meat Boy, but Fenix Rage still provides an interesting jumping and dashing mechanic while featuring a vast variety of levels and challenges that will train your reflexes for many days.
  15. Oct 13, 2014
    70
    Despite being a shorter and less varied experience than Super Meat Boy, this game perfectly fills the void felt by anyone looking for a new platformer where they will snap their controllers in frustration.
  16. Sep 29, 2014
    70
    It lacks the heart and the polish of its peers, but Fenix Rage is a competent platformer nonetheless.
  17. Oct 21, 2014
    68
    Fenix Rage isn’t for everybody. Some fans of Super Meat Boy, Flappy Bird and other challenging platformers may want to test their mettle in a new arena, but conquering its trials results in a hollow sense of victory.
  18. Oct 1, 2014
    65
    Although it is not a game to remember, it is a challenging experience, one of those titles meant to test your skills and make you have a good time.
  19. Sep 24, 2014
    65
    I have nothing against mega-difficult games, there are just better ones to spend your time with than Fenix Rage.
  20. Sep 24, 2014
    60
    Ultimately, I never felt like I got “good” at Fenix Rage, only occasionally lucky.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Oct 6, 2014
    5
    Overall, I had some good times with this game, but mostly it was annoying and obnoxious, with a large portion of the game I would change toOverall, I had some good times with this game, but mostly it was annoying and obnoxious, with a large portion of the game I would change to simply make it more user friendly. If you are a die hard fan of similar games, you may be let down by this, but if you are new to the genre, you could find it quite unfairly hard, it doesn't quite have a balance between the two. Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    This game is simply amazing! If you liked Super meat boy, you will fall in love with Fenix Rage. Perfect controls, fast paced action and 200This game is simply amazing! If you liked Super meat boy, you will fall in love with Fenix Rage. Perfect controls, fast paced action and 200 levels to have fun with. A must have for every masocore lover. Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2015
    1
    too similar to the templates we have played before :( This game is a decent game but when compared to the source material it copies, ittoo similar to the templates we have played before :( This game is a decent game but when compared to the source material it copies, it becomes something not even worth playing for free if it was. Full Review »