• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2016
Football Manager 2017 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 2,500 real clubs to manage and over 500,000 real footballers and staff to sign. Full control of transfers and decide who plays, and who sits on the bench. You'll follow the match live with our acclaimed 3D match engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Dec 1, 2016
    100
    Football Manager 17 is a titan of a game, representing a depth of knowledge, complexity, customization, and humanity that would be a welcome addition to any game on any subject. If football, or soccer as many a westerner calls it, is not your favorite sport, that may very well be the only reason to not give this game a twirl. While an expert may find some small issue, as a greenhorn I can’t report a single drawback for the game, but I can pretty much find a complement for each and every aspect of this marvelous simulator.
  2. Dec 8, 2016
    90
    There’s little to fault here and that's because SI Games takes the iterative approach. Whilst there hasn’t been a big shift on the game's workings since tactical sliders were removed in FM 2014 each version is a step forward.
  3. Mar 3, 2017
    86
    Football Manager 2017 is the best soccer manager simulator ever, but its new features are not good enough to forget its predecessor.
  4. Nov 8, 2016
    80
    Football Manager 2017 is a very good game, though it hasn’t evolved a lot when compared to its predecessors.
  5. Jan 28, 2017
    80
    Football Manager 2017 is an excellent football management experience, with tons of information and an incredible depth in every field of management. The engine is solid, running smoothly, but it needs a complete upgrade in the future.
  6. Nov 28, 2016
    80
    Football Manager 2017 offers improvements on all fronts, but mostly scores with better controls, clearer interface and overall better gaming experience.
  7. Nov 2, 2016
    60
    For those who love the series and have dedicated hundreds of hours to it, purchasing the game is an unavoidable ritual. It’s more of what you want, with a lick of paint and up-to-date player stats...But for everyone else, it may be better to sit this one out, or wait for some sort of mid-season overhaul.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 34
  2. Negative: 23 out of 34
  1. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    Best FM so far bar none. Have been some complaints the game doesn't have too many new amazing features but that's doing a massive disserviceBest FM so far bar none. Have been some complaints the game doesn't have too many new amazing features but that's doing a massive disservice to the game itself. The match engine is better than ever. The transfer AI is better than ever. The way information appears for the user and the ease you can navigate around the game is now better than ever.

    I've never seen the match engine react so well to my instructions - I've just beaten Juventus with a weaker side playing intelligent counter-attacking football. It's like Mourinho when everybody still thought he was a good manager! If you want to get the closest you'll ever get to managing a professional football side this is it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2016
    8
    The best football manager this far. It's a huge improvement over the last one. This time around you actually need to think about your tacticsThe best football manager this far. It's a huge improvement over the last one. This time around you actually need to think about your tactics and players. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2016
    7
    This is a manager game. It's a good manager game, but it's also a niche game. It's page up and down of statistics, numbers and what not. ForThis is a manager game. It's a good manager game, but it's also a niche game. It's page up and down of statistics, numbers and what not. For the most part you'll sit with the feeling that it doesn't really matter what you tell your players to do, just like in real football (those who has had the pleasure of being a coach knows the feeling).

    In conclusion, since this is a pretty **** review, I laugh out loud to the idiots claiming the game hasn't evolved. It's a FOOTY MANAGER GAME! It's been more or less like this since the 90's and still going strong. Some games aren't supposed to change much, and this is one of those games.
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2016
    2
    It's pretty amazing how clear the issues are in this game. The lack of immediate, responsive returns you make to players/tactics. The minimalIt's pretty amazing how clear the issues are in this game. The lack of immediate, responsive returns you make to players/tactics. The minimal amount of written reactionary content from NPC's for a game thats been around nearly 20 years. A 3D engine that is surplus to requirements in a strategy game that already had a solid 2D engine, yet has so much time invested in it but has hardly improved in its physics engine over the last 3 or 4 years.

    And yet, even if forced by publishers to release a new game every year, no fundamental change has been applied to these issues. It's like you can see into the production meetings:

    - It needs to be shinier.
    - We need a new feature (whether its useful or not) to advertise about so it can differentiate from the last year.
    - Make sure to focus efforts on fixing things that specifically make it easier for only a first time user to play.
    - If there's any time left, you can focus on graphs "and stuff".

    The result is a game that focuses near entirely on its aesthetic, and nearly ignores what makes the game interesting and competitive, the football strategy.

    If you appreciate planning out tactics, preparing how to counter your opponent, and appreciate what it feels like to actually interact with the footballing world in terms of players, the press and coaching staff, this game isn't for you. But if you'd really like to try it, play FM2015. When the new UI stops mattering and you can see into the game mechanics that matter, they're the exact same game.
    Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2017
    1
    Basically, they're charging full price, again, for a barely patched version of the last year FM, with an updated database, and an updatedBasically, they're charging full price, again, for a barely patched version of the last year FM, with an updated database, and an updated number of new bugs.
    Yes there are a pair of new things, but they're only cosmetics, while they didn't touch all the broken things that players have been pointing out for years, such as the inconsistencies of tactics and the always too high number of injuries...
    Do yourself a favour and buy FM 2016, still a better and cheaper choice.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2017
    1
    SI's goal with this year edition is to compete with the previous 2014 for the title of worse FM game ever. And I'm not talking about the factSI's goal with this year edition is to compete with the previous 2014 for the title of worse FM game ever. And I'm not talking about the fact it's a ctrl+c ctrl+v FM 2016, I'm talking about the same old problems about the match engine completely ignoring your 'tactical instructions'. If I set my team to play deep, pass fast and try a conter attack, I am the one who gets conter attacked! In the same match, the goals my team scores are all slow paced, short passing and working the ball into the box, which I didn't select, or set pieces, while in a match which I go for possession, BOOM, opp are caught on the break! And cmon, believe it or not, 2017's goalkeepers are EVEN WORSE than all the previous fm! I'm serious! Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2017
    0
    Una broma de mal gusto.

    Pones en tácticas jugar a la posesión y terminas con un 12% de posesión, pones jugar a la contra y terminas con un
    Una broma de mal gusto.

    Pones en tácticas jugar a la posesión y terminas con un 12% de posesión, pones jugar a la contra y terminas con un 60%, todo aleatorio, un desastre de juego.

    Los menus son complentamente engorrosos, nada está claro, no paran de salirte pop ups de mensajes que nada te importan o no son relevantes.

    Las ruedas de prensa son siempre lo mismo.

    Recomendaría antes el modo carrera de FIFA como juego de manager qu esta cosa, una auténtica chapuza de juego, deberían pagarnos por jugar a el.

    No recomiendo para nada la compra de esto, ni aún qué lo veaís por 0,01€.

    Saludos.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews