Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 7, 2020
    90
    Fort Triumph expertly blends genres into a strategy experience that's infinitely fun and endlessly charming.
  2. Apr 23, 2020
    90
    Aside from those minor complaints, CookieByte Entertainment has built a rock-solid composite of turn-based strategy and tactics gameplay, and the end result is easily on-par with the XCOM franchise and Obsidian Entertainment's best modern efforts. Its combat is smart and entertaining, its story and humor are exemplary, and most of what little it currently lacks or could improve upon will likely be ironed out post-launch, as the game has been well-supported and player-focused since its early access development period began. Fort Triumph is worthy of any PC player's time, especially lovers (or even haters) of the fantasy RPG genre.
  3. Jun 24, 2020
    80
    While light on modes and depth, Fort Triumph’s largely enjoyable campaign and satisfying turn-based combat are attractive enough to keep a player’s interest from start to finish. Flinging rocks to smash trolls and setting the ground ablaze to scorch goblins doesn’t get old, and the multiple difficulty settings and permadeath options can challenge even more experienced tactical fans.
  4. May 11, 2020
    80
    Overall, I had a great time playing Fort Triumph and will continue to play more and more in the future. I would highly recommend it to everyone either looking for an entry into the world of turn-based tactics, to even the most battle-worn veterans looking for the new title to sink their claws into.
  5. Apr 27, 2020
    80
    I would happily recommend the game though, it really is a great mix of XCOM and HOMM and with that touch of humour thrown in it makes for quite the fun play experience. You can either play it as a pick up and go game or thrown in some serious hours just advancing through the game. It’s a decent price point too, not too high for something that has a decent amount of play time available.
  6. Apr 26, 2020
    80
    Fort Triumph is a solid, colourful entry into an increasingly crowded genre and one that dares to do things a little differently.
  7. May 20, 2020
    70
    The sense of humour and simplicity make it sort of a slog for veterans of the genre. But the flexibility of the terrain system and the breeziness of the writing make me think this would be a great way to introduce someone to this style of game. They can work their way up to those more complicated experiences. For now, they get to live in a world where everything is simple, and magical wind can blow your problems away.
  8. May 19, 2020
    70
    Transposing the tactical turn-based combat and character permadeath of XCOM to the fantasy genre seems like an obvious idea and Fort Triumph does a good job with it, adding some physics-based combat and touches of contemporary humor to the mix. On the other side of the ledger, the humor might not tickle everyone the same way and overall the look of the characters and the story seem content to settle for familiarity instead of reaching a little more for originality. Fort Triumph is in no way a bad game and fans of turn-based RPGs, traditional fantasy RPGs and XCOM will probably enjoy the experience.
  9. CD-Action
    May 12, 2020
    70
    The game spent last two years in Early Access and a few months more would not be a steep price to pay for more polish. Still, its AI and physics do successfully infect the players with the ‘one more turn syndrome’. [06/2020, p.60]
  10. May 7, 2020
    70
    There is everything here to make a great game. The only thing it really needed was a few more months testing things out. Notably, the graphics need some upgrading, and combat devolves into repetition very soon. Smoothing some of these problems out would easily push this into a very high recommendation. As it stands now it acts as a novel throwback if nothing else.
  11. Jul 19, 2020
    60
    Fort Triumph is an unfortunate case when the whole is less than each of its parts.
  12. May 6, 2020
    60
    Fort Triumph is a perfectly serviceable game built on an interesting blend of concepts.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jun 27, 2020
    4
    An infinitely primitive game with monotonous battles and a global map, which was done only for advertisers to write that the game is similarAn infinitely primitive game with monotonous battles and a global map, which was done only for advertisers to write that the game is similar to Heroes. Yes, your children can play this parody of turn-based strategies, but keep in mind that despite the primitive graphics, the game is very demanding on the computer. Full Review »
  2. May 7, 2020
    9
    I've been caught by game's art style, the pinch of humor and satisfying game-play. After I started to play, I didn't realize how few hoursI've been caught by game's art style, the pinch of humor and satisfying game-play. After I started to play, I didn't realize how few hours were gone. I strongly recommend Fort Triumph to all the fans of HOMM and XCOM - the guys managed to create a balanced product which brings the good memories back.
    I hope this team will produce more and more of the games turning it into a series. I know for some people it may be too much and unnecessary, but I would love to have voices at least for the main characters. Looking forward to have more news from the team!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 27, 2020
    10
    Great game. Very interesting, you can see that she worked hard on it. Unique mechanics, nice graphics. A very cool mix of genres. The gameGreat game. Very interesting, you can see that she worked hard on it. Unique mechanics, nice graphics. A very cool mix of genres. The game really brings you back to HOMM and XCOM at the same time. At the same time being original. Very pleased with the purchase and will look forward to the continuation of this and other games studio :) Full Review »