Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jun 6, 2018
    85
    This magical tale grabs us from the first page to the last. We read it with the heart of a child, fascinated by its fantasy universe.
  2. Apr 11, 2018
    85
    If only Tilo could eat ALL the bugs, this game would be a masterpiece. But instead, it’s an unpolished gem that can be brought to perfection by a few hardcore, love-filled patches. And looking back at the dedicated development process, they will surely come soon enough.
  3. Mar 25, 2018
    85
    Ghost of a Tale has its share of problems and can be superficial at times. But mostly Lionel Gallat brings a charming little hero to life with a coherent direction and a setting in which every element serves one purpose only: to infuse this little adventure with a big soul.
  4. Mar 24, 2018
    85
    A quite praiseworthy videogame, especially considering it was developed mostly by a one-man team. The level design is of top quality and one of the best indicators of how talented Lionel Gallat is, and is accompanied by a rich lore, an extremely likeable protagonist and visuals that are probably the most beautiful ever produced for a 3D game with the use of Unity.
  5. Mar 21, 2018
    85
    Ghost of a Tale is a game that feels special. A really personal piece of work with an incredible level and art design that flees, like a mouse, from the action to focus, almost entirely, on exploration.
  6. Apr 3, 2018
    84
    Impressively beautiful stealth game with a variety of memorable characters and tasks, works completely without violence.
  7. Apr 24, 2018
    80
    Whoever is looking for an adventure in a beautiful world can stop looking. He will experience one of the best tales in the escapades of the mouse Til.
  8. Apr 13, 2018
    80
    Ghost of a Tale is a game made with love and for lovers of beautiful things. The principles are quite generic (we look for keys, which open doors that unlock new possibilities...), but they are articulated with care and intelligence. If you like to think and play with elegance while having a good time, here is a title that should be played. Ghost of a tale is well worth it. Just to encourage the creation of other games of this caliber. The animators of the cinema get along well with video games.
  9. Apr 12, 2018
    80
    Ghost of a Tale is such a unique and captivating looking game that it deserves your attention for its aesthetics alone. Graphics don't make a game, of course, and happily, Ghost of a Tale has enough story and RPG gameplay to keep you entertained throughout. It's quite an achievement for a small team, and a reminder that not every indie game needs to be a blob of pixels in search of a retro niche.
  10. Mar 24, 2018
    80
    Ghost of a Tale is a charming adventure, beautifully designed and very clever. If you're looking for something different, check it out.
  11. Mar 18, 2018
    80
    Visually stunning and gorgeously animated, Ghost of a Tale comes off as an overly-ambitious labor of love. The fact that despite its multitude of technical issues and sorely missing voice-overs it manages to capture the player’s heart and imagination and take him on a journey to lands long forgotten, is a testament to its quality.
  12. Apr 6, 2018
    76
    The wondrous Dwindling Heights is well designed and gives Tilo plenty of opportunities to use his mousey avoidance skills and disguises to help characters. Although there is occasionally too much backtracking, Ghost of a Tale holds a memorable journey in its tiny paws.
  13. CD-Action
    Jun 5, 2018
    75
    Due to very basic enemy AI Ghost of a Tale is not a particularly good stealth game, but its fairy tale charm is irresistible and although I worked hard for hours to escape the fortress, I was leaving it with genuine sorrow. [05/2018, p.78]
  14. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 28, 2018
    75
    Ghost of a Tale’s biggest problem is its quests: the world is enchanting, the characters are charming, but in the end you’ll still be collecting ten bear asses over and over again. [Issue#229, p.44]
  15. Mar 27, 2018
    75
    I wish Ghost of a Tale was more polished and I’m annoyed that it ends as abruptly as it does, but I’m still eager to spend more time in this world. Whether Gallat continues his work or moves on to something else, he’s one to watch… and if this is what he can pull off more or less by himself, I’d love to see what he could do with a bigger team and a serious budget behind him.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 15, 2018
    Weather its bugs and lacklustre stealth, and Ghost of a Tale is a quietly ravishing potted epic with a serious subtext. [Recommended]
  2. Gosh, it could be a lot better, but I really enjoy playing what it is.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86
  1. Mar 18, 2018
    9
    This is an absolutely amazing game. The gorgeous art style, sound design, the idea of a stealth game playing as a mouse, how great theThis is an absolutely amazing game. The gorgeous art style, sound design, the idea of a stealth game playing as a mouse, how great the controls feel, etc.. As a result, Ghost of a Tale is very addictive - at least I'm always curious what's next, want to explore new areas and so on. Despite what some people are saying this is actually a pretty big game considering its price and that most of it was done by just one person. When people say "you play mostly in a keep", they're ignoring things like the forest areas (which have amazing vegetation detail), as well as catacombs and sewers beneath the keep. It's all designed in a bit of a maze-like manner too, so it will probably take you a couple of hours to find your way around.

    I can't comment how long the game is because unfortunately, the dev seems to have taken a page out of CD Projekt Red's playbook (reminds me a lot of the Witcher 2 release) and decided to release something that's only mostly finished but still quite buggy. So after encountering yet another possible quest bug, I've stopped playing (about 10 hours into the game) and will wait for 2-3 weeks until hopefully all major issues have been addressed. Kind of begs the question why if the game has been 5 years in development, they weren't fixed before the release. You only get one chance to make a first impression, after all. And while I'm willing to turn a blind eye to these issues since 95% of the game is done and stunning and I already feel like I've gotten my money's worth, not everybody may be as forgiving.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2018
    8
    I like stealth games and good adventure - and this game ticks all the right boxes for me. There were few main selling points for me here:I like stealth games and good adventure - and this game ticks all the right boxes for me. There were few main selling points for me here:

    Its immersive adventure in beautiful, very detailed world. The world design borrows heavily from first Dark Souls game, and as much as I love that game I dare to say here it is much more cleverly designed, with lots of hidden secret passages and details put into it.

    The games is focused heavily on exploration, finding things and avoiding enemies. No minimaps, quest markers and other horrible modern stuff - the game feels old school in that manner and I loved it. This plays like a stealth/puzzle solving game, but it feels like a puzzle game in the same way that Looking Glass games felt - not in a way of point and click adventures (but there were few riddles to solve on the way).

    You can save game only in "safe" spots - very cool concept and works perfectly. The experience is "casualised" a bit here and there - the game gets easier as it progresses and allows you to obtain hints and maps for money. This does not ruin the fun, but removes lot of frustration associated with being "stuck" for too long. You will get stuck once in a while anyway, do not worry. My only complaint is that I would remove some hints for secondary quests - they are optional anyway so no need to make it too easy, especially since you can figure out everything when you pay enough attention to the world and the dialogues.

    The stealth system is quite original and works very well. It is totally unrealistic and a bit too easy, but it all fits perfectly with cartoonish style of the game.

    Unfortunately the game is not perfect and I need to address few things:

    The experience quality drops significantly in last third of the game. The attention to detail and level of polish of the first few hours of the game are not carried through the whole playthrough. (which is a case for most games actually...)

    The game tries to throw too much fetch quests at player at some point (they really should have cut out some of the quests from the game) and it also tries to take more "cinematic" approach at the end which it fails to do, exposing many design limitations. There is a moment when you start getting that indie game feeling, that some obvious things are missing due to limited budget and resources.

    The game also throws more and more dialogue lines at the player as story progresses and the quality of that aspect also drops a lot, the later conversations drag for too long and are quite uninspired. I would also do the ending differently, but thats a minor thing. I wasnt that much into story anyway, I liked the lore and some characters very very much, but found a whole main story a bit bland and too complex for its own sake.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2018
    10
    Magnifique jeux, avec des personnages très attachants, des animations juste parfaites.
    Quand on sait que ce jeux a été fait par une personne
    Magnifique jeux, avec des personnages très attachants, des animations juste parfaites.
    Quand on sait que ce jeux a été fait par une personne seule, avec seulement 50'000€ de budget, on se dit que certains gros studio devraient en prendre de la graine!!!
    Full Review »