Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 13, 2016
    95
    Definitely a worthwhile game to pick up if you’re even remotely interested, featuring a really solid story and combat, this is a time sink and a half of content.
  2. Sep 7, 2016
    85
    A tremendously well optimised PC port of one of the better Japanese action RPG franchises out there, God Eater 2 Rage Burst gives a great account of itself on PC to the point that you nearly forget that Monster Hunter even existed.
  3. Sep 9, 2016
    80
    Those who tough it out and take the time to learn the game’s subtleties will be in for a treat, though. Once you get your head around Rage Burst's combat, the game gains a wonderfully strategic edge, and hunting down each big-game Aragami becomes a unique and rewarding challenge.
  4. Sep 7, 2016
    80
    The characters were flat but not cringe-inducing. The combat was repetitive but showed nuance as I dug more into Blood Arts. The graphics were passable, if not wholly unpleasant. God Eater 2: Rage Burst is comfort food with a controller, bland but filling. It may not be the best Thanksgiving, but I can see why some kids call it their favorite holiday.
  5. Sep 5, 2016
    80
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst inadvertently feels less like a sequel to God Eater Resurrection than a very substantial expansion, becoming a refinement of what came "before" than a genuine step forward. While it's impossible to deny the mechanical improvements in the game, many players' enjoyment of it will largely hinge on how much more God Eater they wanted to play, or if this is the only one available to them.
  6. Aug 31, 2016
    76
    The combination of characters, backstory, and gameplay all play its part in making God Eater 2: Rage Burst an enjoyable action RPG. Visuals and audio are both solid and do its job of presenting the game with fluidity and fast-paced action. While gameplay doesn’t necessarily deviate from that of God Eater: Resurrection, you should be playing because you enjoy the gameplay style, but want a new story and more content to delve into.
  7. Oct 3, 2016
    75
    The fights aren't overly strategic, but you are rewarded if you know the weaknesses of monsters you're facing; there are tons of these fights, and each is rather short unless you pump up the difficulty.
  8. Sep 5, 2016
    75
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is a solid attempt at the action survival genre, with a long campaign, co-op multiplayer and lots of customization.
  9. Aug 30, 2016
    75
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is a solid alternative for the hunting game genre. If you're also looking for fast gameplay and attention to the plot, then this game is for you.
  10. Sep 5, 2016
    73
    A good hunting game, deserving of being put up there with Monster Hunter. Too Bad it seems to shy away from the seriousness of its own dark setting by putting on the front unrealistic and unlikable characters.
  11. 70
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is a great mission based action experience. It’s the added narrative and characterisation that makes it more than just another Monster Hunter-like grindfest for better equipment to take on bigger monsters with. They even provide sunglasses, so you get to look cool while doing it all.
  12. Sep 18, 2016
    70
    If people can stick with the game to get past the initial effortless difficulty, I fell they will find something to enjoy either by themselves or with friends when the tough beasts are introduced.
  13. 70
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is worth checking out for fans of the first game, as it essentially offers more of that game with just enough to shake things up a little. Every pro and con found in the first game can more or less be applied to this one, meaning that there's nothing here to convert newcomers. Still, the game provides a good time for those looking for epic battles and not too much more.
  14. Aug 30, 2016
    70
    God Eater 2 Rage Burst is the easiest hunting game I’ve played yet. Standard missions and hard missions never presented a genuine challenge for me to overcome, and I can’t imagine veterans of the genre will feel any different.
  15. Dec 24, 2016
    65
    GE2: Rage Burst reminds of both Monster Hunter and Freedom Wars. Its bestiary is huge, but the locations are small and plain-looking. The biggest disappointment is the lack of cross-platform multiplayer. Good luck finding opponents online, because there are also regional restrictions in play.
  16. Sep 19, 2016
    65
    Despite its flaws, God Eater 2 Rage Burst is a pretty fun game to play, with a fun cast of characters and a fast paced combat engine. If it had a larger player base on the PC for the multiplayer component to thrive, it would have been an easy game to recommend. However, as it stands now, I can only speak of this title as a single player experience and as such, its leaves much to be desired.
  17. Aug 30, 2016
    65
    God Eater 2: Rage Burst is an Action RPG inspired by Monster Hunter formula that has a good combat system and deeper customization options. However, it has several issues in terms of graphics and audio, and has too many repetitive missions.
  18. Aug 30, 2016
    60
    Even with the horrid framerate, I couldn’t help but press on. Fighting a growing roster of more powerful beasts as I tested my skills against any Aragami that crossed my path is difficult to resist. The boss gauntlet that God Eater 2: Rage Burst eventually becomes is quite satisfying in ways that I wouldn’t have imagined.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 53
  2. Negative: 16 out of 53
  1. Sep 16, 2016
    8
    People seem to get upset when comparisons to Monster Hunter are made (presumably because it highlights the deficiencies of the game inPeople seem to get upset when comparisons to Monster Hunter are made (presumably because it highlights the deficiencies of the game in question), but you can't not make the comparison. And regardless of whether or not MH created the genre, it did (and still does) define it. It is the benchmark against which all games of the genre will (and rightfully should) be compared.

    God Eater 2 is a solid game, and I give my stamp of approval. If you don't play MH, and are into these kinds of games you'll love it. If you DO play MH it becomes less a little less appealing though. The game has its strong points (story, beautiful anime artstyle) but it's not as engaging, the hunts are far too quick and the areas are smaller. Im playing it just because I like to diversify and see what's out there. I enjoyed the first but I think it just got a little stale for me in the sequel. So I'm scoring it an 8 despite having grown bored of it, cause it's at least as good as Resurrection which I did enjoy.

    Idk. It's a good game and I recommend. Not as good as Monster Hunter (nothing ever is) but enjoyable all the same. Especially good deal since it comes with Resurrection
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2016
    8
    God Eater II Tick's all the right boxes for fans of the anime and expands on the foundation set by the previous game. It brings a tacticalGod Eater II Tick's all the right boxes for fans of the anime and expands on the foundation set by the previous game. It brings a tactical 'monster hunter' experience to P.C. owners and a high octane one at that. It has some issues with bland textures as is the norm with most ports and isn't free from missions feeling repetitive after a while when grinding. The combat is where this game shines and a noteworthy honorable mention to Bandai Namco for some excellent character &
    monster designs as well as a abyss deep overall customization system. Covering
    everything from your weapon, ammo, character & chosen party to a satisfactory extent. The combat is fast, tactical & addictive! Interesting plot development add an extra layer of depth to the God Eater story.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2019
    0
    Same as the first one but with an actually worse story/characters.
    How did they manage that ?
    I also spent 44 hours on this which adds up to
    Same as the first one but with an actually worse story/characters.
    How did they manage that ?
    I also spent 44 hours on this which adds up to nearly three entire days on this abomination of a franchise.
    No more.
    Full Review »