Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    85
    After years of iteration as a minigame and in beta, Gwent has come into its own as a great card game. It emphasizes keen decision-making over chance, and a great back-and-forth buildup ratchets up the tension across multiple rounds. With a great variety of decks and strategies at its disposal, as well as strong incentives to play match after match, Gwent proves great ideas can come from small beginnings.
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2019
    80
    Gwent’s greatest asset are its basic mechanics – simple, easy to grasp and engaging mentally. Gives the players a lot of agency and even more tactics to discover and choose from. [13/2018, p.60]
  3. Edge Magazine
    Dec 6, 2018
    80
    The price of this intricacy is that Gwent is anything but accessible... It feels both remarkably grown-up, and finely aged by its years of open development. [Jan 2019, p.120]
  4. Oct 31, 2018
    80
    Gwent clearly learns from other digital collectible card games that have carved their niche out of the market, but its play style offers up an entirely different type of challenge. It's one that requires some investment, and hard decisions on which Faction you'd like to invest in, but Gwent also respects your time by rewarding you for nearly every action in a match, tempting you to play just one more. Its matches could use some fine-tuning in their pacing and presentation, but Gwent is otherwise a refreshingly new take on card games that establishes itself firmly outside of the simple side activity it was in The Witcher 3.
  5. Oct 28, 2018
    78
    From Witcher III minigame to a proper title: let's try GWENT's final release.
  6. Nov 14, 2018
    70
    Gwent is a nice card game, but its final version is totally different from what everyone expected.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 308
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    I didn't like it at first but after 10 hours in homecoming i want to play another round. Game definitely need more cards and i hope we willI didn't like it at first but after 10 hours in homecoming i want to play another round. Game definitely need more cards and i hope we will see a lot of them in future. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2020
    1
    Отсутствие баланса, долгие патчи, полный пофигизм разработчиков и 2-3 колоды, которые играют. Плюс ко всему, если один из более-менееОтсутствие баланса, долгие патчи, полный пофигизм разработчиков и 2-3 колоды, которые играют. Плюс ко всему, если один из более-менее популярных стримеров ( для гвинта это скажем так, стример с 1к+ подписчиков, да, тут дно) выложил какую то колоду, то считай минимум пару дней толпа тупых русских будет играть именно этой колодой, а толпа тупых русских это и есть 90% всей аудитории, потому как ники почти у всех Николай1, Виталий 1997 и т.д.. В общем игра только для фанатов тематики ведьмака, с явно выраженной фанатичностью, не более того. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2018
    2
    Gwent was a great game. I played a lot beta and really enjoyed it. It was fast paced and interesting. Sadly the Homecoming come in andGwent was a great game. I played a lot beta and really enjoyed it. It was fast paced and interesting. Sadly the Homecoming come in and destroyed everything what I liked about Gwent. This is a disappointment now and I know I am not the only one feeling like that. On top of that I dont understand the business model of developers - after destroying my collection of cards from beta I got enough scraps to have ALL cards in Homecoming and half of the scraps still left (and my beta collection was not full). I think this game will be dead soon as it will not be profitable. Full Review »