Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Dec 6, 2021
    100
    Halo Infinite feels as immediately compelling and necessary as Bungie’s original games, and is a shining beacon in a year that has felt quite underwhelming in the AAA space. Intense combat and a keen sense of creativity make this a must-play, even if you’re not typically a fan of the genre or even Mr Mean and Green himself.
  2. 95
    Halo Infinite succeeds in bringing the series back to its roots without forgetting to make several changes useful to renovate its formula. The single player campaign is exciting and diverse thanks to its compact and never dispersive open world structure, while its multiplayer takes everything that’s good about Halo to deliver an engaging, modern and fun experience. Unfortunately, it’s not free of issues which, however, only concern the outline of the experience, such as the playlists structure and the progression system. Luckily, those issues were already recognized by the developers and are in the process of being addressed.
  3. Feb 21, 2022
    90
    Halo Infinite is the best shooter of 2021. With much anticipation from the fans, 343 Industries brought a great multiplayer experience and a story as a love letter to the Halo series. With some bold innovations, the game pulls all the best from previous iterations and makes it into one of the best FPS games in recent history.
  4. Dec 9, 2021
    90
    Like Master Chief himself, Infinite lets its combat do the talking while looking towards a bright future. After that initial showing, we couldn’t ask for more.
  5. Dec 6, 2021
    90
    Halo Infinite pushes the franchise forward with a deep, open-world campaign, and includes multiplayer modes that recapture the classic games' satisfying game feel and matchmaking experience.
  6. Dec 6, 2021
    90
    No matter what your focus is, Halo Infinite is a blast. For multiplayer fans, the gameplay is rock solid. The back-to-basics approach works well to keep longtime fans engaged, and the game is easy to pick up and play to hook newer fans. Campaign fans will enjoy that mode despite a few issues, since the open-world setting allows for some breadth in approach while retaining the familiar mission structure and flow. Infinite should be on your Christmas list, despite the lack of other big features at launch, like co-op, Forge, and local play.
  7. Dec 6, 2021
    90
    Halo Infinite is inevitably going to see a ton of play thanks to its day one inclusion on Game Pass and the campaign is well-positioned to impress. There are plenty of mechanical, enemy, weapon, and story throwbacks for longtime fans to smirk at and the game is approachable, exciting, and endearing enough to potentially win over a whole new generation of Halo fans.
  8. Dec 5, 2021
    90
    Put simply, Halo Infinite is a return to form. 343 Industries has managed to deliver a campaign with a compelling storyline, fresh ideas, and familiar gunplay that takes the series in a brand new direction without breaking the formula. It was well worth the wait, even if there are a few bugs remaining to hammer out.
  9. Dec 6, 2021
    85
    Though there are some scuffs in the armor, the campaign of Halo Infinite still shines.
  10. Dec 6, 2021
    84
    Halo: Infinite falters at its open world, yet it delights with sophisticated shooter gameplay and a varied arsenal of weapons.
  11. Dec 15, 2021
    80
    It has some shaky moments, but Halo Infinite ditches the numbered installments and offers us a familiar, yet fresh take on the series. Its open-world setting serves as a foundation for what’s to come, and its story plants the seeds of future conflicts that will need resolution. It has elements in its campaign and online modes that for sure could be refined, but its emotional evolution, combat fluidity, and ever-addictive multiplayer are sure to please veterans and newcomers alike.
  12. Dec 14, 2021
    80
    There’s a lot to rightfully criticize, but this is also the most vibrant and exciting Halo has felt in what feels like an eternity. Regardless of the rewards, it’s hard to put the multiplayer down. Infinite needs to absolutely be called out for its glaring shortcomings, but it's also important to recognize that at its heart, there is something undeniably special here.
  13. Dec 7, 2021
    80
    Halo Infinite is, in my opinion, the best game of the series. While still faltering in the narrative, character development, and exposition, it improves earlier titles. Combat is entertaining and engaging, with improvements made across the board, but mention must go to new abilities like the grappling hook. The move to an open world helps the game stand apart, with added freedom to take the fight to your enemies and a vast arsenal of weapons and vehicles to bring into battle. While it slips up on a few occasions, from somebody who has never been part of the Halo fan club, this has given me a glimpse of what could be great things to come.
  14. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    nd yet we were not blown away (pun not intended) while playing Halo Infinite. Everything feels very natural and familiar, but almost seems interchangeable with previous games. The lack of innovation is something that plagues many first person shooters of this generation, yet Halo Infinite is a more than solid game that is worth your precious time and attention.
  15. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    When it comes to combining fluid combat with a gorgeous open world, Halo Infinite is an astounding success. In terms of story, side activities and indoor level design however, this entry leaves much to be desired. The multiplayer is a beast of its own, merging modern design choices with many traditional qualities. Even if you usually don't go for free to play games, this is easily one of the best Halo Multiplayer experiences in a long time.
  16. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    The longevity of Halo Infinite will rest with its multiplayer battles as this is the online shooter the world has been needing. Halo Infinite is the defining project from 343 Industries thus far.
  17. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    343 Industries went on a mission to retain the hallmarks of the series to deliver the experience fans crave, avoiding controversial mechanics or radical changes. The new that is added feels organic relative to the old. Halo Infinite excels with solid gameplay, although it spreads too thin.
  18. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    True, in the collective subconscious, Halo has always been a first person shootout set in large environments. But Infinite finally delivers a vision of what Master Chief can give inside a universe that lives up to its reputation. As well as bearing little in the way of his tumultuous development, the game manages to make John-117 so fun to play that it's hard to let go of the pad once the campaign begins. Whether during confrontation or in the exploration phases, the title of 343 Industries is appealing. However, once the campaign is over, we can only regret the absence of different biomes and the scarcity of truly epic sequences. Elements which have nevertheless been the hallmark of the series for twenty years! In short, we gain in freedom of action what we lose in spectacle. With such successful main mechanics, we would have liked an even more ambitious campaign, period.
  19. Dec 6, 2021
    80
    The gameplay is more satisfying than ever, the new semi-open world format works like a charm, and yet Halo Infinite fails to make its campaign the unforgettable moment we were expecting. The obvious lack of ambition in the storyline, which feels like a prologue, and too many repetitions of locations and objectives in its final third, prevent 343 Industries from reaching the firmament. However, it remains a particularly solid FPS, which should keep you busy for a good fifteen hours of fun and to which you will certainly return with pleasure once the co-op mode is available.
  20. 80
    Master Chief is back and better than ever. Halo Infinite introduces open-world elements that don’t distract from the main story and add value to its replayability and memorable action. Even with the inclusion of the thrilling Grappleshot, the gameplay still maintains its signature feel. Multiplayer may need a lot of finetuning, but it costs nothing to play and provides plenty of frantic fun for a group of friends and solo players. With more features and additions to come, Halo Infinite isn’t slowing down… No. I think we’re just getting started.
  21. Dec 5, 2021
    80
    A phenomenal single-player experience that competes with the best this iconic series has to offer. Multiplayer needs a fair few structural tweaks, but still ultimately sparks joy.
  22. Dec 5, 2021
    80
    Halo Infinite offers the full Master Chief experience in a big, beautiful sandbox. While 343 may not be breaking new ground with the light open-world elements it has added, it has done a great job of creating a solid experience for new and returning players alike.
  23. Dec 6, 2021
    78
    Halo Infinite can't quite deliver on being an open-world throwback, but it's the best shooting the series has seen to date.
  24. Dec 5, 2021
    76
    I've shared many gripes I have with Halo Infinite. I've shared them meticulously because I love this franchise and want it to continue succeeding. Beyond them all, I absolutely love playing it. The campaign's open-world gameplay is phenomenal, and I can't wait to play through it again on legendary, especially with a friend in the future. Despite my disappointment in the narrative, the lead performances are strong, and the presentation is cinematic. I've been playing Halo multiplayer with my friends for nearly twenty years. We've kept up with the Master Chief Collection over the years, but Infinite is the most addicted we've been in a long time. It's far from perfect, but I can't wait to see how Halo Infinite evolves over the coming months and years.
  25. Dec 7, 2021
    75
    Overall, the 16 hours I spent with the Halo Infinite campaign certainly had dull points. However, sheer thrill shines through at several points, proving that there’s still life in this 20-year-old franchise. It’s now up to 343 Industries to keep it that way.
  26. Dec 6, 2021
    75
    All in all, Halo Infinite is a bit of a mixed bag. The multiplayer is on track to be the best it has ever been, but a lot of the campaign feels like an afterthought. There is a great, focused story there but it is sidetracked and bogged down in the attempts to bring it to the open world. A cluttered map and boring open-world missions fill the empty time in between the outstanding main missions, but the quality of those missions only serves to further highlight the disparity between the two. Those complaints, coupled with the fact that the campaign is the *only* part of the game that you have to pay for, make suggesting the purchase a bit difficult. Ultimately, what I will tell people is “check it out on Game Pass”, and I think that is maybe what Microsoft wanted all along.
  27. Dec 6, 2021
    75
    It’s clear that there’s tons of potential here, and there’s so much to love about what 343 Industries has already introduced, but playing it at launch feels like you’re playing the worst version of what could rightly wind up being a fantastic game. Game Pass lets subscribers experience games like Halo Infinite on a whim, and it also lets developers like 343 take risks on launching a “Halo platform” that’s a work-in-progress. Currently, its single-player campaign is fun if somewhat empty, while its multiplayer flickers between exhilarating and frustrating.
  28. Jan 13, 2022
    70
    The new Halo game is far from flawless. There’s no co-op, even though there should be, and there’s a boring open world, even though there shouldn’t. The multiplayer feels unfinished as well. Still, at its core, it’s a solid story-driven shooter with a more-than-acceptable Cortana replacement.
  29. 70
    Halo Infinite might be kind of underwhelming on the single player side, but multiplayer has tons of promise if 343 can tackle launch issues swiftly.
  30. Jan 22, 2022
    65
    Halo Infinite was supposed to become a flagship title for “the most powerful console in the world,” but in reality we got an interlude of a story devoid of epic set pieces, a template for something greater that may or may not arrive in the future, an empty “open world” punctuated with interior design circa early 2000s. If not for the awesome shootouts, Master Chief should have been jettisoned back into space.
  31. Dec 15, 2021
    60
    The game runs away from any grand moment of clarity, skipping over self-reflection and settling for the thrill of nostalgia.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Even with these grumps about plot and characters, even with the sad lack of co-op or Forge mode at launch, this Halo ring is still a luscious national park devoted to rampage, Tarzan swings, hammer blows and big drums of plasma (my GOD these are fun to chuck). An open world Halo is something I didn't even realise I wanted. I'm glad I got it. It has taken the series a while to look outside its corridor shooting monoculture for inspiration. But now that developers 343 Industries have broadened that corridor to the width of plains and stretched it to the height of mountains, it'll be hard to go back. You can't drive a jeep full of snipers down a corridor.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1052 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 10, 2021
    2
    Infinite boredom
    OMG! I can't believe how boring this game is. Awful copy/paste openworld. I can't force myself to play it.
    It looks like
    Infinite boredom
    OMG! I can't believe how boring this game is. Awful copy/paste openworld. I can't force myself to play it.
    It looks like they literally took one "halo" mission from halo ce and stretched it out for the whole game.

    Yes gunplay is nice, but where is the rest? Even Super Mario bros from NES had at least a water level and more gameplay variety

    Update: I finished the game and they managed to impress me: This is even more boring and empty than I thought at the beginning.
    Everyone's favorite "press three buttons at different ends of the map" mission and immediately "press four buttons on even more distant ends of the map " - WOW "Defeat 3 waves of enemies in the room "and immediately do the same thing again. Love it. And my favorite: the big boss in the little room with one hit kill. Wonderful.

    Story is ok i guess, but it just starts when game ends

    And the Bad Guy... omg... it's even less then onedimensional... I'm evil and i have a deep voice and i'm gonna talk and you can't skip blablabla... Just shut up, please
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2021
    1
    One of the worst game I've ever played.
    1. Gun-play - dull, unsatisfying, feels like firing from wooden sticks. Doom Eternal with its gun-play
    One of the worst game I've ever played.
    1. Gun-play - dull, unsatisfying, feels like firing from wooden sticks. Doom Eternal with its gun-play mogs this game comepletely
    2. Graphics - Is it 2021? Yes? But why does it feel like the game is from 2010? Cyberpunk 2077 was full of bugs, but at least it looks like a modern game.
    3. Plot - 343i, did you even try?
    Thank you, Phil, another "good" game for gamepass. I don't believe it could cost $ 500 millions
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2021
    0
    Stuttering, cutscene stuttering, frame rate issues, extremely repetitive level design.