Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 16, 2023
    100
    Here’s to hoping that Magic Design Studios gets the recognition it deserves for crafting one hell of an underworld experience and that it’ll be able to build upon it even more from here.
  2. Mar 16, 2023
    95
    Have a Nice Death is a roguelike experience to die for. Its systems are intensely addictive to provide a reason to return to the grind and clock in for overtime. The action combat is some of the best I’ve ever felt, with compelling progression systems and fantastic enemy designs. While it may not stand out from its contemporaries, it approaches everything it touches with a brilliant finesse that makes it tough to put down.
  3. Mar 22, 2023
    90
    Have a Nice Death is a beautiful example of rogue-lite. Fast, beautiful to look at and fun to play with. Furthermore, with his dark humour, he touches on delicate issues such as crunch, burnout and the problems of a society focused too much on work and little on the person. Have a Nice Death is a must-have for both those looking for a challenge and for those who want something light to play in their breaks and want to enjoy some nice animation.
  4. Mar 16, 2023
    90
    All things considered, Have a Nice Death excels on just about all fronts as a roguelike. Playing as Death himself lets the player experience power with the sheer number of combinations spanning weapons and spells. The fact that these combinations allow for seamless chains of attacks is the icing on the leftover cake in the office fridge. Its charm and writing are fantastic, and I cannot help but want more from the world of Death Inc. Magic Design Studios’ appreciation for a good roguelike is evident here, as I am struggling to stop playing this game. If you’re looking for something incredibly refreshing to play while on the job, look no further than Have a Nice Death.
  5. Mar 19, 2023
    85
    Have a Nice Death is a well-put-together and polished game with crisp controls, an engaging story, and an adorable hand-drawn art style. The soundtrack is an endless string of bangers that makes the runs engaging. With over 600 lines of dialogue, 9 departments, 10 bosses, and heaps to explore, there is plenty of content awaiting. The script, soundtrack and art style really set the tone for the game and ties everything together in a neat little bow. Have a Nice Death is a welcomed addition to the rogue-lite genre and sets a high bar for future releases.
  6. Mar 16, 2023
    85
    Have a Nice Death is a good combination of action and rogue-lite, with a good balance between the difficulty of the combat, especially the boss fights, and the pace of the unlocks. It pays to focus on one weapon and really learn how to use it and when to complement it with a spell or secondary attack. Boss engagements are all about patience and pattern recognition. The game’s presentation complements the mechanics and themes well, although some more variety when it comes to the procedurally generated floors is needed. Have a Nice Death knows what fans of its genre want and offers an interesting universe to explore and great mechanics.
  7. Mar 16, 2023
    85
    While it may not reach the Olympic heights of its contemporaries, Have a Nice Death gets remarkably close. Despite a few hurdles in level design and lacking the replayability of others in the genre, it has incredibly tight gameplay with plenty of potential alongside an immensely charming story and cast of characters. If you like roguelikes then Have a Nice Death is simply to die for.
  8. Mar 16, 2023
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Mar 16, 2023
    85
    Have a Nice Death is a fantastic action Roguelike, with silky smooth combat and a ton of upgrades to experiment with.
  10. Mar 16, 2023
    83
    Have a Nice Death is a great Roguelite. The gameplay satisfies the discerning palate, as well as those accustomed to less than forgiving challenges. What the work lacks to really make the leap in definitive quality is greater structural diversification, with a few fewer concessions to redundancy. Only applause instead for the magnificent art direction and for the deadly funny writing. In short, dying has never been so pleasant as in the improbable Death Inc.
  11. Mar 23, 2023
    80
    For a game where you embody Death, Have A Nice Death just misses posterity but turns out to be a super solid rogue-lite action game, recommended to all fans of the genre. Get ready to giggle at the setbacks of Death Incorporated, to rack your teeth at well-groomed bosses, and to have endless fun, controller in hand, with cutting-edge gameplay with varied powers. Even the art direction works wonders. Overall: we especially regret a timid level design and a challenge that is a little too full-bodied, which come to weigh down the repetitiveness inherent in the genre. For the rest, it's all good.
  12. Mar 22, 2023
    80
    Have A Nice Death is a punishing but satisfying roguelike with some diabolically tough boss fights. The darkly dorky setting and office humor lend it more than enough charm to make me want to discover more of its world. But it's made significantly more frustrating than it probably needs to be by very stingy long-term progression and limited defensive abilities in comparison to its huge array of fun-to-use offensive weapons. When I wasn't feeling the discouraging void inside dragging me down, I was reveling in the hundreds of ways I could make these visually and mechanically memorable undead wish they never lived at all.
  13. Mar 16, 2023
    80
    Have a Nice Death smartly utilizes a corporate setting that pairs so well with the roguelike genre.
  14. Mar 16, 2023
    80
    Not everything is perfect in Have a Nice Death, but the intriguing structure and the amazing art direction give to this game a lot to say and to be proud of.
  15. Mar 16, 2023
    80
    Have a Nice Death has enough of a fun gameplay loop and feels rewarding enough that I enjoyed returning for repeat runs.
  16. Mar 16, 2023
    80
    Have a Nice Death is a gorgeous, weapon-filled adventure that could slice and dice its way to the top of the roguelike genre. Its almost ‘cutesy’ nature plays well against the sometimes dark themes it contains, but the vast array of weapon and spell combinations will be what draws and then keeps players within the walls of Death Inc. It has the rare ability to be enjoyable for both the high-difficulty, build-crafting RNG fans and the more casual crowd. Players will delight with its sublime art, memorable fights, and its well-crafted, lore-filled world. If someone has to be Death, Have a Nice Death is going to make it enjoyable.
  17. Mar 24, 2023
    79
    Have a Nice Death may not quite reach the upper levels of the genre, but it's still a fun, well-designed game that will appeal to fans of challenging roguelites.
  18. Mar 16, 2023
    70
    Have A Nice Death is sure to please roguelite fans for its playability, but it’s a tad too easy to want a bit more from it.
  19. Mar 16, 2023
    60
    In the end, Have a Nice Death can’t escape its own premise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 16, 2023
    The game itself is beautiful and the battle mechanics feel great, but the deeper I dig into Have a Nice Death, the less value I find.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Apr 21, 2022
    10
    Love this game YAY
  2. Jul 27, 2022
    10
    Excellent game, but very hard. I have yet to beat it, but that's not stopping me. I love rougelikes. My one complaint is that I wish it were aExcellent game, but very hard. I have yet to beat it, but that's not stopping me. I love rougelikes. My one complaint is that I wish it were a rougelite and had some form of progression, like Children of Morta. I feel like the Grim Reaper should be stronger than this. Regardless, I really enjoy the game. It has nice dialogue, it's funny, it's endlessly fun, and the graphics are well tuned for the atmosphere.

    It is steamdeck compatible with everything maxed.
    Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2022
    9
    Nice game, good combat, very fun. I think there are only 2 problems with it:
    1º the map feels to simple so you always know where to go and
    Nice game, good combat, very fun. I think there are only 2 problems with it:
    1º the map feels to simple so you always know where to go and the background starts feeling samey because of it. If there are secrets hidden in the map they are basically un discoverable because I didn't find any.
    2º Upgrades feel a bit meaningless because they are basically only for weapons, the food is kinda tough to reach.
    Both of these are not really relevant because of early access, so they can still figure it out. That's why the high rating! Loving it, bosses have a nice equilibrium on difficulty, npc's are funny, dialogues are great.
    Full Review »