User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 390
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2016
    5
    Talk about a "whoops". After changing hands mid-production, Homefront: The Revolution just ended up falling flat. What I saw a couple years ago, a promising platform for mayhem in a Korean-militarized United States, has not come to fruition in the least bit. I'm guessing the original creators folded on Homefront when they realized it was a lost cause. The concept is awesome, theTalk about a "whoops". After changing hands mid-production, Homefront: The Revolution just ended up falling flat. What I saw a couple years ago, a promising platform for mayhem in a Korean-militarized United States, has not come to fruition in the least bit. I'm guessing the original creators folded on Homefront when they realized it was a lost cause. The concept is awesome, the execution is anything but. Expand
  2. Jan 11, 2017
    6
    Homefront: The Revolution isn't that bad as most people make it out to be. For a game that went through what it went through during development, I'm actually surprised it was better than expected. You can tell the noticeable issues for a game that didn't have a smooth development process. Things like npcs walking through each other, npcs appearing and disappearing out of the blue, etc.Homefront: The Revolution isn't that bad as most people make it out to be. For a game that went through what it went through during development, I'm actually surprised it was better than expected. You can tell the noticeable issues for a game that didn't have a smooth development process. Things like npcs walking through each other, npcs appearing and disappearing out of the blue, etc. Despite its issues, the game is somewhat entertaining. I enjoyed the openness world although it could've been improved upon. The weapon customization was pretty good but felt more like an afterthought. The acting and interactions between the npcs was actually quite good.

    But the biggest praise I would give is the graphics, especially the main npc characters to the story. Aside from that, the environmental graphics were so-so, some had really awful textures and I am playing the game on maximum settings. The game was optimized well though, never had any framerate problems. I truly believe if this game didn't have to go through all those issues during development, had a steady and stable development team behind it, it would've been a much better game. You can see the potential but unfortunately falls flat. Picked up this game for $20 so either way I'm satisfied.
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2021
    8
    This game may have been very bugged but I've played it in 2021 from steam and I HAD FUN.
    This is a just cause/far cry kind of game : first person shooter where you can move wherever you like on the map, buy and upgrade weapons, do main and secondary missions.
    Game is not perfect but graphically it can be pretty ok. It's also original because it has its unique atmosphere : you can feel
    This game may have been very bugged but I've played it in 2021 from steam and I HAD FUN.
    This is a just cause/far cry kind of game : first person shooter where you can move wherever you like on the map, buy and upgrade weapons, do main and secondary missions.
    Game is not perfect but graphically it can be pretty ok.
    It's also original because it has its unique atmosphere : you can feel the resistance and oppression (unlike ghost recon wildlands or even some farcry games).
    And you'll really have to be acting like a common citizen and hide at some points.
    It just get a bit repetitive at the end.
    I've finished the game and enjoyed it.
    would rate it 7 but considering how chaotic this game's development was, and the small faithful crew that could finish it, bumped +1.
    Expand
  4. May 20, 2016
    6
    Homefront The Revolution
    A broken misuse of a great ip
    Homefront The Revolution is an open world first person shooter set in an alternate universe where north Korea establish control over the united states… And as the name suggest, it’s up to you to spark a revolution in the city of Philadelphia Despite this game technically being an open world, this unfortunately is actually a bunch
    Homefront The Revolution
    A broken misuse of a great ip
    Homefront The Revolution is an open world first person shooter set in an alternate universe where north Korea establish control over the united states…
    And as the name suggest, it’s up to you to spark a revolution in the city of Philadelphia
    Despite this game technically being an open world, this unfortunately is actually a bunch of hub levels separated by travel points..
    This is not one massive map...
    And that’s a shame, because Deep Silver mistakenly decided to ditch the linear first person shooter style this game originally was to jump into the saturated market of open worlds,
    And you’re going to jump into a saturated market, where 9/10 AAA games are unique or flat out copying ubisoft, you better make sure that your open world or ubisoft clone world is worth existing in…
    This one isn’t
    There are 2 different zone types, a red and yellow.. red means anything goes..
    yellow means there are civilians, and you need to be stealthy and destroy Korean property to get the citizens to up rise…
    The yellow zone liberating is required for the story…
    And the objective much like the rest of the game feels very copy and paste…
    Even down to the location you need to get to in each zone…
    You can tell the developers tried to mix things up.
    sarcasm.
    It’s just an ugly, brown, lazy, boring and lifeless world with assassins creed style liberation points…
    You can take control over vantage points in the city to unlock safe houses to respawn at if you die as well as shops to buy weapons and upgrade your gear…
    Weapon customization is pretty standard,
    but you can equip scopes and modifications on the fly, turning your 3 weapons into 9
    the weapons are easily the best part of the game...
    Liberating the entire map will add about 8 hours to the 12 hour main campaign…
    And this 12 hour campaign much like the world just feels lazy...
    You feel like an errand boy rather than a hero…
    You do fetch quests and baby sit.
    And you get frustrated at the broken game not continuing a mission right, or hard crashing 10 times in a row or just due to the combat…
    The combat in this game feels completely unsatisfying, and the difficulty of this survival open world feels frustrating even on the easiest difficulty thanks to an inefficient hit detection system…
    you don’t feel wounded when you’re about to die which in a typical fps you would get an indication aside from a bloodied screen like a slowed character or limping effect as a cue to take cover and heal up…
    nothing like that exists here, which will have you dying seemingly out of nowhere…
    You also have to rely on med packs, which for some reason can’t be crafted while explosives can...
    makes no sense and also frustrating since health does not replenish itself…
    But if you’re not a fan of hard crashes or have just given up on the frustrating single player, you can play with a friend in resistance mode
    which will be fun for like 5 minutes, you can customize your character with a variety of options like male or female until you’ve suffered long enough to unlock helmets to hide your generic face
    There are 2 modes in resistance mode..
    Attack or defend...
    The best part is, neither of these modes are competitive...
    They are both 4 player co-op modes where you either defend a position from enemies or you invade to complete on objective...
    of course either of these modes could turn into a killzone style competitive mode, but that would take too much effort.
    I give Homefront the Revolution
    a 5.5/10
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2016
    7
    I've played this game over the past weekend and I played it so much that I've nearly finished the single player campaign and I hear people said oh the frame rate oh the bugs oh the optimization well I played it with a high end PC and it works fine and what game doesn't have bugs they all do. the part I enjoyed most was going to each district and then having to do things in the district toI've played this game over the past weekend and I played it so much that I've nearly finished the single player campaign and I hear people said oh the frame rate oh the bugs oh the optimization well I played it with a high end PC and it works fine and what game doesn't have bugs they all do. the part I enjoyed most was going to each district and then having to do things in the district to get to 100% to win the people over, after that you see what originally a peaceful crime district turn into a district filled with people doing graffiti you see signs about free America and about the revolution and things burning people rioting throwing bricks and people bashing up officers. Expand
  6. May 17, 2016
    5
    Homefront: The Refund is the latest disappointment published by Deep Silver. Featuring things such as AI that is seemingly random and has no clue what's going on, as well as no competitive multiplayer. Now a fps can obviously be good without competitive multiplayer. For example the Metro games also published by Deep Silver is an example of excellent gameplay and story in the FPS genre.Homefront: The Refund is the latest disappointment published by Deep Silver. Featuring things such as AI that is seemingly random and has no clue what's going on, as well as no competitive multiplayer. Now a fps can obviously be good without competitive multiplayer. For example the Metro games also published by Deep Silver is an example of excellent gameplay and story in the FPS genre.

    The game starts off horribly, for around the first forty minutes you do nothing but walk around the street and are stared at by bland characters you could care less about. Nothing is established well at all. It's a mediocre attempt at an FPS game, and right now the original Homefront is looking so much better. It's really bad when you keep repeating in your brain how you wish there was a competitive multiplayer, in fact if there was my review for this game would be so much better. Reasons being the gun system and how they play and feel is great, combat is exciting, until you realize your ai partners and enemy have the mental capacity of a potato. I would only recommend buying this game if you can ever find it on sale for around twenty dollars.
    Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    Went in with zero expectations. For the first couple of hours some usisoft aspects of openworld seems unnecessary, but by the end of 13 hours campaing I really loved how it all tied up together. Nothing extrodinary, but overall very good shooter that actually was done with effort.
  8. Jul 27, 2016
    8
    'm sad to see this reviewed so poorly, I got an early copy from a mom and pop shop last Friday and have been hooked ever since. It feels like a blend between Classic FPS games like Frontlines fuels of war, an urban set Far Cry, and Starbreeze titles like Darkness, Riddick, and Syndicate. Loud guns, brutal melee, and the ability to stealth everything.
  9. May 17, 2016
    7
    Lets talk truth- this game is too well made to be a disaster, and has too many flaws to be a good game. Simply put there are a lot of issues with this game. There are many bugs, glitchs, odd AI behavior, and the shooting feels sluggish. In addition the story is weak and the missions are as well. However, sprinkled in with all this crap is competent shooting, a couple great ideas, awesomeLets talk truth- this game is too well made to be a disaster, and has too many flaws to be a good game. Simply put there are a lot of issues with this game. There are many bugs, glitchs, odd AI behavior, and the shooting feels sluggish. In addition the story is weak and the missions are as well. However, sprinkled in with all this crap is competent shooting, a couple great ideas, awesome world building, and some other fun ideas. The execution falls flat but it is still a decent game in many ways. Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2016
    6
    An inferior Far Cry styled game, buggy and a bit unoptimised, however has great graphics and enjoyable gameplay. For any Far Cry fan, this game is worth it when it goes on a deep discount.
  11. May 19, 2016
    4
    I am taking the time to write this review for two reasons, First about a game that was released in a broken state! and the second reason is to voice my DISGUST with all of those that are defending this game!
    What is wrong with these people??? They are saying things like "you should expect a game to be released
    and need patches" OR " This game is a amazing and i don't mind that it
    I am taking the time to write this review for two reasons, First about a game that was released in a broken state! and the second reason is to voice my DISGUST with all of those that are defending this game!
    What is wrong with these people??? They are saying things like "you should expect a game to be released
    and need patches" OR " This game is a amazing and i don't mind that it has technical issues"
    These kind of people need to be slapped into reality or put in isolation away from the general public due to their stupidity level!
    NO it is NOT Ok for a game to be released Broken and almost unplayable! and NO this is NOT a "Amazing" game despite it's technical issues!
    I don't know what other games these people like but it cannot be the same game i do!
    Homefront the revolution was a MISSED OPPORTUNITY to make a incredible game! Period!
    Even without the tech problems that plague this Game, it still is a generic shooter game.
    The actual shooting is not good or fun, the AI is ridiculously bad,the so called Stealth mechanic is NON existent and the side quests are dull,easy and boring!
    The main missions have moments here and there of good and fun gameplay but overall
    they are nothing new or special.
    Bottom line, by supporting this game you are saying to the developers of games that "Hey we do not care you put out crappy games, will will still buy them"
    The fact they are asking $60 for the regular version of this and even more for the deluxe editions($160 for the special Goliath edition) is not only a slap in the face to gamer's but is a insult to out intelligence!
    Buyer beware you have been warned!
    Expand
  12. May 26, 2016
    8
    Expected nothing after reading the reviews.

    Well, it's more than nothing. So much more I just have to give a green score.

    Best part is, I updated my driver and the game feels so much smoother. But wait for it, next day they released a patch and it gets even smoother. Don't know why but it feels good...
  13. May 17, 2016
    7
    This is an average game. While I like the atmosphere and story of the game, it certainly has some issues. For me, the main issue is the AI which could be fixed in an upcoming patch. Another issue is the motorbike. It somehow is more difficult to drive than it should be. Maybe Deep Silver should take some cues from other games? So, this is definitely not in the same class as similarThis is an average game. While I like the atmosphere and story of the game, it certainly has some issues. For me, the main issue is the AI which could be fixed in an upcoming patch. Another issue is the motorbike. It somehow is more difficult to drive than it should be. Maybe Deep Silver should take some cues from other games? So, this is definitely not in the same class as similar games like Division. Overall, the game has good potential, but it could have used another 6 months in development and testing... Expand
  14. May 17, 2016
    9
    I'm sad to see this reviewed so poorly, I got an early copy from a mom and pop shop last Friday and have been hooked ever since. It feels like a blend between Classic FPS games like Frontlines fuels of war, an urban set Far Cry, and Starbreeze titles like Darkness, Riddick, and Syndicate. Loud guns, brutal melee, and the ability to stealth everything. If you were at all interested in thisI'm sad to see this reviewed so poorly, I got an early copy from a mom and pop shop last Friday and have been hooked ever since. It feels like a blend between Classic FPS games like Frontlines fuels of war, an urban set Far Cry, and Starbreeze titles like Darkness, Riddick, and Syndicate. Loud guns, brutal melee, and the ability to stealth everything. If you were at all interested in this game I highly recommend giving it a chance, most reviewers were probably expecting COD or something but this game offers something different. Graphics look great as well, at times look straight photo real. Another hidden gem For old school FPS fans. Expand
  15. May 17, 2016
    0
    An absolute trainwreck from begining to end. While the idea of playing in an occupied America was interesting, the execution is just the worst. Everything is extremely bad. Slow, cliché, boring, BUGGY, boring, boring, boring. This game DOES deserve a 0 indeed. It's far from done, Deep Silver obviously doesn't seem to perform any form of quality check before putting their games on theAn absolute trainwreck from begining to end. While the idea of playing in an occupied America was interesting, the execution is just the worst. Everything is extremely bad. Slow, cliché, boring, BUGGY, boring, boring, boring. This game DOES deserve a 0 indeed. It's far from done, Deep Silver obviously doesn't seem to perform any form of quality check before putting their games on the market and charging >>>>>> SIXTY EUROS/DOLLARS Expand
  16. May 24, 2016
    2
    Uses Denuvo, can only be **** A wise man once told me "If Game Dev's care more for Protection rather than Game content, the Game will be **** True words. Awfully optimized. Not worth any cent.
  17. May 20, 2016
    2
    This game is the **** sequel ever to be made in the history of gaming (had to put it this way). Really pissed off at what they made , I mean the game's graphics are **** , the clumsiest AI , i got stuck in an NPC civilian for about 10 minutes for christ's sake !
    Conclusion: Don't buy this game , this game doesn't deserve any money at all!
  18. May 25, 2016
    8
    This game was flooded with negative user scores before it had even been released, so I don't have any hope of the Metacritic score reflecting the game's actual quality.

    In a nutshell, it's a truly decent title. It's demanding on PC, but I haven't had any serious performance issues. The soundtrack is good, the gameplay is solid, and the graphics are superb. I'm really not seeing the
    This game was flooded with negative user scores before it had even been released, so I don't have any hope of the Metacritic score reflecting the game's actual quality.

    In a nutshell, it's a truly decent title. It's demanding on PC, but I haven't had any serious performance issues. The soundtrack is good, the gameplay is solid, and the graphics are superb. I'm really not seeing the problem.

    I have this feeling that the game isn't to some people's tastes, which is okay, but in addition, some people are determined to hate the thing for whatever reason.

    It's a semi-open world urban FPS game. There is basically nothing competing with it currently. If you liked Crysis 2, and wished you could have done open world freedom fighter stuff in Crysis 2, this is a game for you.

    The shooting is a lot better than most games of its type, with non-hitscan weapons and chunky feeling guns. People who accuse the game of bad gunplay are simply wrong.
    Expand
  19. Jan 1, 2018
    10
    One of the MOST UNDERRATED games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Yes, Homefront: The Revolution had a messy launch; Yes, there are performance issues; Yes, the AI is not the smartest; but after a year and a half of patches this is hands down one of my favorite games in my Library! Let me tell you why:

    (PRO TIP: Do not play this game with the default HUD. It will absolutely
    One of the MOST UNDERRATED games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Yes, Homefront: The Revolution had a messy launch; Yes, there are performance issues; Yes, the AI is not the smartest; but after a year and a half of patches this is hands down one of my favorite games in my Library! Let me tell you why:

    (PRO TIP: Do not play this game with the default HUD. It will absolutely change the way you experience this game. Here's my recommended settings: Turn Off Enemy Awareness Indicators, Objective Icons, and Minimap. This setup will force you to think on your feet so the game is not holding your hand from one objective to the next. Surprisingly, the game does a really good job of giving contextual (visual and audio) queues so that 99% of the time you do not need a big fat objective icon ruining the immersion of this beautiful game. Use your own eyes, ears, and instincts to find where your enemies are shooting you from or where your next objective is.)

    1. Homefront is surreal. Dambuster Studios have made a masterpiece of atmosphere and environment that really feels like a dystopian totalitarian America. The game immediately throws you into the thick of it, outnumbered and outgunned. You really do feel like you are fighting a gruelling guerilla war against more powerful occupying force in the streets of Philadelphia. The red zones feel like a wasteland where the KPA are hunting down the remainder of the resistance. The yellow zones feel like oppressed neighborhoods where you could be recognized in an instant and highly vulnerable.

    2. The graphics are downright gorgeous. CRYENGINE really shines in this title especially at night where the lighting effects from street lamps to pulsing siren lights really take center stage. The lighting effects are so well done they even make playing the same area during the day feel completely different than during the night. Character models are sharp, believable, and the live cutscenes help cement the entire feeling of playing the lead role in a blockbuster film. That said, I did experience multiple crashes but I am running the game on an older AMD R9 390, Intel i5-2500K and 8GB of RAM. I still manage to run the game on High settings and I've found that reducing object detail to Medium and cranking up the fan on my GPU has all but eliminated my crashing issues.

    3. The objectives are not always clear. Yes, this is a BIG plus in my book. Just like in real life YOU have to use your intuition to figure out how to solve problems. I remember the first building I tried to capture had a computer I needed to access, but the power to the building had been cut off. I kept staring at the damn minimap icon showing that I was in the right area, but I couldn't find a power source. Then I saw something in the environment and a light went off. "No, that couldn't possible work" I thought, but I tried it and it powered on the building making me feel like a genius because the game didn't tell me how to do it. It let me solve the problem myself (it felt like solving an intuitive point n click adventure game puzzle, which is mildly frustrating at first but then hugely rewarding when you find the answer).

    4. The gameplay is not repetitive. I love open world games, but some of them can suffer from feeling repetitive and like you're just hunting down icons. Yes, Homefront has minimap icons and repeated objectives but they don't suffer from feeling overbearing or repetitive. In fact, the well designed environments ensures that there are different ways to complete a task at any given instance. Furthermore the story does a great job of progressing you forward and striking the right balance of open-world-do-whatever-you-want and I-got-to-get-back-to-my-main-objective feeling. Furthermore as you complete objectives the landscape changes both aesthetically and functionally. Liberating a neighborhood step by step will reflect in the attitude of the people and the KPA who go from domineering totalitarian control to fearing rioting on the streets.

    BUY THIS GAME. I played the original Homefront and frankly, it sucked, but what Dambusters have done with this IP is a hugely overlooked masterpiece.
    Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2016
    7
    It s fun game with good gameplay and OK story. Grafics are very nice and weapon customization.

    Liberation of enemy bases its boring and climbing can be annoying but it s ok game.
  21. May 20, 2016
    4
    I don't know why there are a few 10 ratings in here. The Ai is crap, the map and world are full of bugs, the game crash in my game-play 4 times, animation looks really bad, the voice is so bad and not every time correct, the ending is the Trailer cut-scene, mechanic fells so bad and the animation are so soft no heavy input.

    it the hole game is so bad
  22. Jun 2, 2016
    1
    Do not purchase this game. Homefront: The Revolution is plagued by frame rate issues, glitches and bugs resulting in a horrible gaming experience. Even if these issues was to be fixed later down the line, The game is nothing more than a repetitive side mission in a poorly developed sandbox.
  23. May 17, 2016
    4
    This is NOT the game to play right after finishing Uncharted 4. I think it has potential, but I cannot recommend it in its current state. The technical issues especially the framerate is what brings the score down for me. I think the open world aspect of the game is done well and the graphics are decent, but that framerate. I would say it averages about 22-25 FPS. I would wait for aThis is NOT the game to play right after finishing Uncharted 4. I think it has potential, but I cannot recommend it in its current state. The technical issues especially the framerate is what brings the score down for me. I think the open world aspect of the game is done well and the graphics are decent, but that framerate. I would say it averages about 22-25 FPS. I would wait for a patch to see if they can bring it up to 30 FPS. If they don't fix it in 3-4 weeks, I'm trading it in. Expand
  24. May 18, 2016
    2
    Another disappointment from Deep Silver (Seriously, why are they still in the gaming industry?)

    First of, it doesn't look next-gen, it looks like a PS3. Full of bugs and glitches, terrible AI. Runs at 20 FPS. Interesting setting?

    None of the characters are memorable, seriously I can't remember anyone from the campaign.
    Overall this is just a painfully average game, just like the first one.
  25. Jun 20, 2016
    3
    Wow what a sorry excuse for a game. Everything in this game is borderline average and that's quite an achievement in itself. What's shocking is how unconvincing this game is in its progression system. 3 hrs in and I inspired the malnourished citizens of America by back stabbing 10 soldiers who were harassing random citizens and by cutting wires on few small generators sitting by the roads.Wow what a sorry excuse for a game. Everything in this game is borderline average and that's quite an achievement in itself. What's shocking is how unconvincing this game is in its progression system. 3 hrs in and I inspired the malnourished citizens of America by back stabbing 10 soldiers who were harassing random citizens and by cutting wires on few small generators sitting by the roads. Now my malnourished fellow Americans are spray painting anti KPA slogans on structures, calling out the KPA, and starting a riot in the streets. These are the same people who were at their lowest 10 mins ago and questioned their existence. The area that was constantly being patrolled by armed KPA soldiers and tanks was empty of KPA forces because people started rioting and screaming. A world power was this easy to scare? Brilliant.

    People giving this game more than 6 haven't played a lot of quality games I would reckon. Do me a favor: If you are interested in this concept, then go get Red Faction Guerrilla and The Saboteur instead. These games do the whole Guerrilla/revolutionary concept far better than this under cooked abomination and are far more interesting and fun to play. And despite having dated graphics, they are far more immersive in their setting and lore. I was going to give this a 6 but I will have to knock the score down to 3 due to glitches and unstable frame rate. And no, I didn't buy this game, I rented it.
    Expand
  26. May 25, 2016
    4
    The truth is that this game is bad, very bad, artificial intelligence is the poorest I've seen, the graphics bad, but not what was expected for these days literally is a far urban cry, I do not regret I have bought it, but I regret having played. 4/10
  27. May 19, 2016
    0
    Homefront The Revolution is a disaster!!! Old Graphic, Tech and Level design is a Epic Fail. Deep Silver/Koch Media show here, there cant be like the big publishers.
    I play it for a couple hours, apparently it is horrifically bugged, stuttery and unplayable on the consoles and PC! Also it is so boring and boring! Better spend time for some better moments.
  28. May 19, 2016
    8
    Its not fantastic, but it is fun and worth the money. It has technical issues but that does not mean it is the worst game ever. The execution is done well enough that the game is enjoyable, it has plenty of content to keep you busy for hours. Don't listen to butt hurt nerds that don't like it when a game is buggy on release. Fallout 4 was buggy and that game is praised to hell.
  29. May 18, 2016
    2
    Ok ok. Here we go with this garbage. This is one of the worst games iv ever played. The frame rate is total garbage, the gunplay is the worst iv played in ages. There are identical npc's standing next to each other in the game. The grafics are rubbish. And to top it off its boring as hell. The bad reviews are totally warranted. Please do not give them your money. This is lazy crap
  30. May 17, 2016
    0
    Complete disappointment. After the original showed so much promise, this game was a complete step back. Changing devs mid-cycle took it's toll and what we were left with was a studio looking to release this game as fast as possible in order to get paid.

    Avoid at all costs.
  31. May 17, 2016
    8
    I am honestly enjoying this game. I don't understand how people can give a game a 0. Yea its not great but its not bad. There are some technical bugs that I am sure will be fixed up in updates. Graphics are about as good as most late previous gen games. the sound is effects are good. Gameplay is fun. Your character seems to move slow but once you buy the proper gear it improves greatly.I am honestly enjoying this game. I don't understand how people can give a game a 0. Yea its not great but its not bad. There are some technical bugs that I am sure will be fixed up in updates. Graphics are about as good as most late previous gen games. the sound is effects are good. Gameplay is fun. Your character seems to move slow but once you buy the proper gear it improves greatly. the fact that you can change your weapon attachments during a firefight is pretty cool. The story is mediocre but its not horrible. The Co-Op multiplayer is surprisingly very fun. The multiplayer has a lot to unlock and will provide any player with hours of gameplay. I honestly would give this game a 7-7.5 but I am giving it more because I feel the 0 ratings are from people who played the opening and stopped there. most of the 0 ratings showed up not too long after the games release and there is no way that they gave it the time to rate it fairly. Expand
  32. May 26, 2016
    4
    Holy hell now homefront the revolution just SUCKS theres nothing more to say, the framrate, the missions just everything sucks, this game had some hope of turning good but SUPRISE, SUPRISE THEY FU#$ED IT UP!!!
  33. May 18, 2016
    0
    The original showed promise, the second edition tried to reach new heights. Tried and failed.
    Just avoid it..

    57/100 currently on Metacritic and you do not need me to tell you it is a crap game. It is...
  34. May 17, 2016
    0
    17 May in Americas and 20 May in Rest of the World? Really? For a 60 euros AAA bad game you promote in that way? RIP Deep Silver

    17 May in Americas and 20 May in Rest of the World? Really? For a 60 euros AAA bad game you promote in that way? RIP Deep Silver
  35. May 19, 2016
    10
    Hopefully people will begin to realize that, like all software, when it first releases it will have issues. The game, designed with cryengine, looks amazing and the details put into every small inch are amazing. Dambuster Studios had acknowledged the issues with frame rate (among other things) and promised to fix them ASAP. The campaign, around 30 hours long, does get repetitive but onlyHopefully people will begin to realize that, like all software, when it first releases it will have issues. The game, designed with cryengine, looks amazing and the details put into every small inch are amazing. Dambuster Studios had acknowledged the issues with frame rate (among other things) and promised to fix them ASAP. The campaign, around 30 hours long, does get repetitive but only after several hours already playing and even then it is still so fun it frankly doesn't harm the game, for me that is. I hope this helped you, have a great day and i hope you enjoy this game. I do recommend checking this game out for youraelf. Expand
  36. May 21, 2016
    1
    A sequel no one asked for. A garbled mess of a game with glitches, bugs and unplayable game play. If the sheer fact that the development phase was riddled with drama and didn't put you off the title isn't enough, listen to everyone on here. Don't waste your money. What's hilarious to me is that the developers decided to use denuvo drm, as if anyone actually wanted to pirate this garbage anyway.
  37. May 30, 2016
    2
    Homefront Revolution has horrible graphics, in some light conditions you can't see anything. I have changed settings several times to get the best picture. I've see better graphics in PS2 games than this. The aim assist works 1 in 50, maybe. Worst 50$ spent. should've waited. I would recommend you play the trial version to see if you want to waste your $$$$. Seems to be a low budget gameHomefront Revolution has horrible graphics, in some light conditions you can't see anything. I have changed settings several times to get the best picture. I've see better graphics in PS2 games than this. The aim assist works 1 in 50, maybe. Worst 50$ spent. should've waited. I would recommend you play the trial version to see if you want to waste your $$$$. Seems to be a low budget game for lots of $$$$. Expand
  38. May 20, 2016
    10
    Homefront The Revolution - Released yesterday, and I just now got to play it for a couple hours, apparently it is horrifically bugged, stuttery and unplayable on the consoles, which is bad because there are probably more console versions of the game being sold. Well that's nice but I am a PC Master Race kinda guy so I have not seen anything to bad yet, mind you i have only played in theHomefront The Revolution - Released yesterday, and I just now got to play it for a couple hours, apparently it is horrifically bugged, stuttery and unplayable on the consoles, which is bad because there are probably more console versions of the game being sold. Well that's nice but I am a PC Master Race kinda guy so I have not seen anything to bad yet, mind you i have only played in the first 2 zones, on the PC Version, AI Running into walls and, hovering texture meshes (an american flag floating in the middle of a warehouse), & Something that kinda bugs my eyes about this game is despite what the monitor is set at in windows the game seems to use a lower refresh rate. I am going to measure the fps and tweak for ~100 fps and game tick if i can get it to work (will post any fix or setting I find for it), for optimal viewing so that my eyes don't hurt and so that I don't get motion sick (I game on a 27" 144Hz Asus monitor (with Lightboost Blurbusters Hack) and like my fps to be around 120 Ideally but anywhere above 100 is comfortable.)That being said so far the setting is nice, the shooting mechanics are a little clunky, for ex: a 5.56 mm round has a lot of recoil in this game, and a 45. Cal SMG with a rifle stock has huge amounts of recoil, I can see maybe if it had no stock but it has one so... The character movement is decent don't like the screen wobble when running, Climbing. It is kinda like an urban Farcry 2, with a lot less driving (a Good Thing). the atmosphere is nice and the setting is well done. missions are okay, some of the side quests seem more important than the story missions for ex:
    "Find missing squad"
    Expand
  39. Aug 13, 2017
    0
    Homefront: The Revolution is painfully bad. I have seem more poorly developed games than not in recent years and this title in my opinion is yet another example.

    I'm not sure if its simply a poor port from another platform or simply bad design but this game runs like a dog on a mid range laptop that handles other titles like the demanding COD's with ease. on medium settings. Worse
    Homefront: The Revolution is painfully bad. I have seem more poorly developed games than not in recent years and this title in my opinion is yet another example.

    I'm not sure if its simply a poor port from another platform or simply bad design but this game runs like a dog on a mid range laptop that handles other titles like the demanding COD's with ease. on medium settings.

    Worse still the usability is dismal. Trying to hack a console in the early portion of the game was next to impossible. The integration with my mouse was simply hopeless and again I'm running a good quality gamer's mouse so there is no excuse here such as low end gear.

    Gun play is also dreadful with clumsy chunky weapons handling and aiming. Character movement is little better. I should add here I experimented with a variety of graphics settings and it made little different. I suspect this may be more to do with design than anything else.

    A BIG thumbs down here. The idea behind the game is good as is the setting but its so unplayable that its simply not worth the effort.
    Expand
  40. May 18, 2016
    9
    The game is some buggy but still going funny, and good, then i cannot give a bad comment or i will be lying, good game, good graphics, probably the few issues will be patched soon.
  41. May 25, 2016
    10
    dont write negative review.....i dont know why many are saying game is bad
    its top notch action shooter
    great graphics
    very fun game
    good story..people dont know gaming liking mindless multiplyer shooter rather then great story games.
    i give 10/10
    keep it up homefront.....there are many like me who liked game alot......
    thank you....
  42. May 27, 2016
    1
    Worst than first Homefront.
    Bad AI, bugs and glithces (like 1 glitch per 15 min), unsatisfying story, characters acting like in school drama. Laggy on modern hardware (AMD R290, Core i7, 16 GB RAM) and gun-shooting are just boring.
  43. May 17, 2016
    0
    Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice...well shame on the developer and publisher alike. This game is so bad it make the original Home-Front, (short as it was), look like a masterpiece. For the creative team behind this title, to release such a game with choppy frame-rate as well as a broken shooting system is deplorable. To quote a movie... [This game]... "could have been aFool me once, shame on you, fool me twice...well shame on the developer and publisher alike. This game is so bad it make the original Home-Front, (short as it was), look like a masterpiece. For the creative team behind this title, to release such a game with choppy frame-rate as well as a broken shooting system is deplorable. To quote a movie... [This game]... "could have been a contender."

    Some needs to be done about a company releasing a game that is horrible. If the game wasn't ready it would have been better for the developers to delay the game, but they released it nonetheless. The problem is that once the game is released and opened you CANNOT return it, even if the game is horrible. If you went to a restaurant and the food you order is bad the food is taken of the bill, or that restaurant will not last long. For games, if professional reviewers give it less than 70% then the customer should be able to return it. For those, (like me) who got it through day one digital, you cannot return it. This needs to stop.
    Expand
  44. May 17, 2016
    9
    Though the game isn't spectacular, it does contain come cool sandbox and mission-lead sequences. The idea of helping "liberate" certain areas of Philadelphia is cool and in a lot of ways the game borrows from the old "Mercenaries" Series (and that's a good thing). All in all, I think it's a solid game that some people will criticize too heavily.
  45. Mar 11, 2017
    0
    You can't skip cut scenes, I was sitting spamming all the keys and buttons for about 10 minutes, I kid you not. No thanks. The game gets zero as I couldn't play it. So long as games continue to do this, YOU WILL WATCH MY VIDEOS OVER AND OVER AGAIN BECAUSE WE PAID FOR IT ISN:T IT COOL. No. Zero.
  46. Mar 7, 2017
    3
    I played HF1 and HF: TR. They both have suck stories and the way to play it.

    HF1 has bad graphics but high system resources consumption. And when I played HF:TR, it even worse than Medal Of Honor: Warfighter.
  47. May 14, 2017
    2
    The first game I loved even though most people think otherwise, and with this second title I was very disappointed.

    He could have kicked the competition and innovated in something, but no.
  48. May 18, 2016
    10
    This game is vey good,gameplay is like any other fps out there and with an average story., not a bromance story and UC4. Its an averange game with average characters and not spoiled hyper super overhyped naughty dogs and uc.This game not contain memorable characters? so what? even nathan drake was not memorable character for me!

    The graphics is amazing, Sounds is not very good not even
    This game is vey good,gameplay is like any other fps out there and with an average story., not a bromance story and UC4. Its an averange game with average characters and not spoiled hyper super overhyped naughty dogs and uc.This game not contain memorable characters? so what? even nathan drake was not memorable character for me!

    The graphics is amazing, Sounds is not very good not even works really in 5.1 or 7.1.
    i play the game 30fps cap because of bad optimization.
    Expand
  49. Mar 23, 2017
    5
    If this is the best effort that Dambuster Studios can make to bring Homefront back to the gaming world, then just consider that The Revolution has failed and the Norks have won.
  50. Jun 11, 2016
    1
    Ok. At first, I was digging the game. I had dual nVidia 760's in SLI. And once again, NO SLI SUPPORT. SO anyway I did the Ryse sli bits. worked ok. Wound up getting a 980ti to avoid the lack of SLI support and upgrade anyway. Played through and was enjoying it, even though it was a hybrid of Far Cry 3/4/Crysis/Dying Light elements. But I continued. Then the bugs came. And kept coming.Ok. At first, I was digging the game. I had dual nVidia 760's in SLI. And once again, NO SLI SUPPORT. SO anyway I did the Ryse sli bits. worked ok. Wound up getting a 980ti to avoid the lack of SLI support and upgrade anyway. Played through and was enjoying it, even though it was a hybrid of Far Cry 3/4/Crysis/Dying Light elements. But I continued. Then the bugs came. And kept coming. Crippling frame rates with an i7 4770k and nvidia 980ti. Solid 60 and drop and stutter to 10... WTF! Random and repeating. For no reason whatsoever. So i trucked through it anyway. But at the end mission, glitches prevented me from even being ABLE to complete the mission. What a LOAD OF SH*T. I honestly would have given this a 6/7 or so, if the damn game wasnt buggy BEYOND BELIEF!!! So basically, game is ok, a little repetitive, copying other games mechanics. Graphics are pretty damn impressive maxed out, when it works and is stable of course. AI is pretty bad, but oh well. The bugs! GOOD GOD HOW DO YOU RELEASE THIS WITH THIS MANY PROBLEMS!!! YEs I know the change mid production yadda yadda. SOrry I literally created a Metacritic account just to voice my RAGE for this atrocity of a game that costs $59.99. This trash is worth $2.99 at best with all these bugs. Could have been a stellar game, but whadda you know, garbage glitches and no SLI support with horrible optimization. So sad to see the CryEngine run so badly! So much potential. Thrown right into the sewer and puked all over and cr*pped on. Get this on sale, or wat till this is $19.99. Don't waste your money. Expand
  51. Jun 30, 2017
    3
    Boring and uninteresting continuation not of a bad first part. The open world dead and doesn't change from actions of the player in any way. In general after the first part is a failure. And setting very cool, unique. Technical problems continually, beginning from the getting stuck opponents in textures to AI of opponents. Graphics hasn't changed since 2010 at all, it is a shame to releaseBoring and uninteresting continuation not of a bad first part. The open world dead and doesn't change from actions of the player in any way. In general after the first part is a failure. And setting very cool, unique. Technical problems continually, beginning from the getting stuck opponents in textures to AI of opponents. Graphics hasn't changed since 2010 at all, it is a shame to release it in 2016. Expand
  52. Jan 4, 2017
    1
    It may be a decent game, as far as graphics go, if it wasn't so buggy. I've spent minutes playing and hours trying to get it to work. Between the flickering lights and the crash to blank screen without seeing error code just can't make any progress. Literally within minutes it crashes. Reboot. Try again.
  53. Jul 18, 2017
    4
    This game is below average. It's not very well made at all. First, it's very glitchy on PC and from I've heard other platforms as well. Bugs like NPCs just running into walls, random crashes, and major frame rate dips. The story isn't very good either. It just feels like a worse far cry. It does have good aspects like the weapons being pretty fun and I LOVE the premise. It had a goodThis game is below average. It's not very well made at all. First, it's very glitchy on PC and from I've heard other platforms as well. Bugs like NPCs just running into walls, random crashes, and major frame rate dips. The story isn't very good either. It just feels like a worse far cry. It does have good aspects like the weapons being pretty fun and I LOVE the premise. It had a good direction for the story, but in the end, it wasn't well executed. I would not recommend especially on consoles. Expand
  54. Feb 17, 2018
    1
    One of the worst games I've ever played. It is soo bland and uninspired its unbelievable. A horrific buggy mess, Devs don't seem to care either. Ignore this or end up wasting your money like I did.
  55. May 22, 2017
    4
    Awful game. Steam free weekend saved my moned. Awful story, game is full of boring open world stuff, and sometimes it forces you to do this stuff. Setting is good, but they didn't use it.
  56. Jun 10, 2018
    1
    This game is like a compilation of ubisoft games, with the bugs and everything but it lacks the fun factor out of them.

    The Idea is great, open world, liberate posts buy and upgrade weapons, it is repetitive yea but so is farcry and assassin's creed and watchdogs and division but I had fun playing these games nonetheless. This however has a really bad shooting gameplay, weapons
    This game is like a compilation of ubisoft games, with the bugs and everything but it lacks the fun factor out of them.

    The Idea is great, open world, liberate posts buy and upgrade weapons, it is repetitive yea but so is farcry and assassin's creed and watchdogs and division but I had fun playing these games nonetheless.

    This however has a really bad shooting gameplay, weapons animations deviate more into cartoonish, weapons recoil is snappy and oh the mouse acceleration is bad, so bad and u have one overall sensitivity option and when ADS sensitivity levels are higher than when just looking.

    This little gameplay issue made the game really annoying to play, although I found a setting that works for me I was still feeling annoyed while playing and with the story being okay not that bad but not that intriguing and gameplay being repetitive I got bored real bad and I can't continue it.

    Graphics are good but I would expect better graphics since they are working on cryEngine and I haven't encountered any critical bugs. But hey I played more hours on this than I played on the first, I think on their 10th release I'll be able to finish the game.
    Expand
  57. Jul 22, 2017
    1
    worst game.worst graphics.bad story.first one was way much better.wasted all my **** time downloadeding it ***.............................................
  58. Dec 9, 2017
    2
    I had big hopes for this game, the first one was nice, the idea is really great but...the implementation, omg...it's so bad. It's a crappy game. Everything you do in it feels pointless, rushed, unpolished, just a couple of stuff thrown in there, no immersion, no voice for the main character (is he mute?)...looks like a free to play. That motorcycle is so pointless. Not a lot of work hasI had big hopes for this game, the first one was nice, the idea is really great but...the implementation, omg...it's so bad. It's a crappy game. Everything you do in it feels pointless, rushed, unpolished, just a couple of stuff thrown in there, no immersion, no voice for the main character (is he mute?)...looks like a free to play. That motorcycle is so pointless. Not a lot of work has been put into this game. Dev team? Are they paying you enough?...I think i managed to get 4 hours into it before i got bored to death and just quit. Quit and Delete! Waste of time! Life is too short to play bad games and this is really, really bad...sorry! Expand
  59. Jun 4, 2018
    9
    This is really one the most underrated games in existence. Was expecting it to be garbage and instead found it to be almost perfect in every sense: graphics, gameplay, sound, atmosphere. Go home, critics, you're drunk.
  60. Jul 20, 2018
    0
    The game is just a bug on a bug and a bug chases. How can this be released at all, I do not understand. The game hangs even in the cutscenes and every five to ten minutes, it is impossible to play it from the word "absolutely".
  61. Sep 20, 2020
    5
    the first part was just as unremarkable and the fact that the developers took a serious step and made a sequel is already a very bold step, but, unfortunately, not the most successful one. BUT, I liked the first part much more than Revolution. I remember there, but I didn't remember almost anything, only probably That's all, just one moment from the game, draw conclusions ...

    To buy -
    the first part was just as unremarkable and the fact that the developers took a serious step and made a sequel is already a very bold step, but, unfortunately, not the most successful one. BUT, I liked the first part much more than Revolution. I remember there, but I didn't remember almost anything, only probably That's all, just one moment from the game, draw conclusions ...

    To buy - only at a very large discount, it is not worth a full price in any case.
    Pass - quickly, without any unnecessary captures and side quests, otherwise you will simply get tired, crazy.
    Expand
  62. Jun 23, 2017
    7
    To all who gave this game a bad review on release, you probably had every right to. I wouldn't know its initial state as I bought it exactly a year after release. But either way, please consider what you've said and revisit it, because Homefront: The Revolution is a good game. Yes, the devs should have delayed the game, but give them props for sticking out when others would have abandonedTo all who gave this game a bad review on release, you probably had every right to. I wouldn't know its initial state as I bought it exactly a year after release. But either way, please consider what you've said and revisit it, because Homefront: The Revolution is a good game. Yes, the devs should have delayed the game, but give them props for sticking out when others would have abandoned it outright.

    The game is more or less an urban Far Cry with North Koreans. So if you love FC, you'll love this. Capturing strikepoints (i.e. outposts) is quite fun. Some even require you to solve puzzles. I also love the in-game customization mechanic, yo can convert you assault rifle to an LMG and so on. Oh, and no regenerating health, either. And AI is competent: the KPA are NOT happy to see you and they will show it. You can, and will, die. A lot. And I'm suprised at the detail they have put in the indoor areas. You can enter almost every building, especially in the Red Zone. So don't be fooled by the reviews.

    The story is, well, good also. The characters are also decent. What I hated, however, was the backstory. Who came up with idea of having the US military use North Korean technology? As if North Korea wouldn't turn them off with the push of a button. Oh wait...they did. Seriously, the backstory of the original Homefront was not only better, but believable. It's the only good thing about that game. Seriously, watch it.

    Graphic-wise, it's neither ugly nor pretty. And it performs well, too. I played it on medium on my GTX 960M.

    What I hated is that sometimes when you recruit Resistance members, they occasionally get stuck and/or block your way.. This can be solved by dismissing and re-recruiting them. Another problem is that sometimes KPA soldiers can spawn out-of-nowhere. Yes, they can be gunned down relatively easily, but still...

    I have not tried the DLC yet, but I heard it's good. I'll get it when it's on sale.

    So, is it the game good? YES. Not great, but worth the price now.

    Is the game fixed? YES. But please devs, either fix your game before release, or don't release at all.

    Do I want a sequel? YES. And please learn from your mistakes.
    Expand
  63. Feb 27, 2020
    7
    If you're on the hunt for a decent-looking, immersive First Person Shooter with a "Red Dawn" setting, then Homefront: The Revolution is up to the challenge. However, you will have to put up with dumb AI and the occasional bug or graphical glitch. The plot isn't anything cerebral either and what's worst of all is that adopting a stealthy approach seems to be futile in this game, especiallyIf you're on the hunt for a decent-looking, immersive First Person Shooter with a "Red Dawn" setting, then Homefront: The Revolution is up to the challenge. However, you will have to put up with dumb AI and the occasional bug or graphical glitch. The plot isn't anything cerebral either and what's worst of all is that adopting a stealthy approach seems to be futile in this game, especially during the main campaign missions. Expand
  64. Jun 19, 2020
    8
    Well I played this game in year 2019 and really enjoyed it. Graphics are nice, there is a story with twists and you can vary your playing style.
  65. Apr 24, 2020
    9
    There is something very shady about the review and naractive around this game. I played the game again recently on Xbox 1 X with HDR and it looks stunning. then I dug out my old PS4 to see how buggy it was on release as I never remembered it being buggy. And playing the original disk on an OG Ps4 showed almost no bugs or performance issues just a stutter when loading new large areas. TheThere is something very shady about the review and naractive around this game. I played the game again recently on Xbox 1 X with HDR and it looks stunning. then I dug out my old PS4 to see how buggy it was on release as I never remembered it being buggy. And playing the original disk on an OG Ps4 showed almost no bugs or performance issues just a stutter when loading new large areas. The game is fun as hell besides the tech stuff, so why the 3 and 4s IDK , probably certain people didnt like how wahmen were potraied or somthing , like in Days gone or GTA5. Expand
  66. May 20, 2016
    7
    Honestly, I rarely buy pre-purchases but I pre-purchased this game cos the concept is exactly what I am looking for now. Playing XCOM2 as a resistance commander, I was dying to have the same resistance movement experience but this time in modern FPS perspective ala Fallout3 style and this game was exactly that. The gun customization on the fly is a big plus for me because its really uniqueHonestly, I rarely buy pre-purchases but I pre-purchased this game cos the concept is exactly what I am looking for now. Playing XCOM2 as a resistance commander, I was dying to have the same resistance movement experience but this time in modern FPS perspective ala Fallout3 style and this game was exactly that. The gun customization on the fly is a big plus for me because its really unique and fun. The graphics are very nice but as many people said, the AI and graphic glitches can be disturbing at times. Overall, it didn't spoil my experience much as I played both story mode and resistance mode (coop mission) so far. I was disappointed that there isn't a "Resistance Mode" ala XCOM2 style where you simply start at a base location and start to take over the world on your own and plan for yourself without a rigid storyline in true open world style. Shooting is nice in this game even though guns do not have the feel and impact of true bred FPS games like Battlefield. Its still as good as it gets for me. Overall, this game may fail many hardcore gamers but does scratch my itch for now. 7/10. -1 for not having open gameplay mode , -1 for the graphic glitches , -1 for the console feel of the whole interface. Expand
  67. Jul 14, 2021
    8
    This game has evolved. People's opinion about it has (mostly) not.
    When it came out, it was quite buggy and disappointed most of the players (hence the horrible ratings). But don't let the past fool you: the developer worked hard at it, and nowadays (it's 2021) the game runs smoothly and bug-free (on PC, at least, I don't know about consoles, but I presume it has been fixed there as
    This game has evolved. People's opinion about it has (mostly) not.
    When it came out, it was quite buggy and disappointed most of the players (hence the horrible ratings). But don't let the past fool you: the developer worked hard at it, and nowadays (it's 2021) the game runs smoothly and bug-free (on PC, at least, I don't know about consoles, but I presume it has been fixed there as well).
    And it is a beautiful game: I enjoyed it a lot, and I'm considering a second run (something I seldom do). It's kind of a mix between an urban Far Cry, Call of Duty, and a bit of Deus Ex.
    So, if you're doubtful about it, don't listen to most of the old reviews, and try to read some recent ones. You might discover a great, fun game :-)
    Expand
  68. Mar 11, 2018
    7
    Advertised as an open-world fps, Homefront: The Revolution plays more like a shooty Assassin’s Creed game (sans wall-climbing): stealth, take strongholds, fight for a few minutes, then run, hide, and wait for the alarm to dissipate before getting back to it. Stunning graphics, decent world design and story are marred by repeated activities, heavily re-used character models and numerousAdvertised as an open-world fps, Homefront: The Revolution plays more like a shooty Assassin’s Creed game (sans wall-climbing): stealth, take strongholds, fight for a few minutes, then run, hide, and wait for the alarm to dissipate before getting back to it. Stunning graphics, decent world design and story are marred by repeated activities, heavily re-used character models and numerous minor complaints. If you don’t mind a little grind, it is a 7/10 and worth a purchase at $10 or less.
    Total size on my hard drive (game + story DLC): 69.2 GB

    ++ Stunning graphics, courtesy of Cryengine.

    + Detailed environments. Smoke, dust, rubble, garbage, worn brick. Even house interiors (seen through windows) are highly detailed.
    + Secret routes. Look for ways up and around obstacles. A climb up scaffolding can provide access to a building’s interior – and a secret stash of supplies. Stuff like this is everywhere. Also applies to Stronghold takeovers; there is always more than one entrance.
    + Hit-and-run gameplay reminiscent of the old Assassin’s Creed games. Brady doesn’t have much health; pitched battles are suicide. Get in, hit your target, get out, and (if an alarm was raised), hide.
    + The more territory you take from the enemy, the more Resistance NPCs spawn in a district (who will provide combat support). The more territory you take, the more brazen your actions can become.
    + I loved the massive aerial drones patrolling the districts. If its seeker beam finds you, you are done for. 20-30 enemies will immediately spawn (with mech backup). Forced me to move carefully and stick to buildings and cover, even in wide-open zones.
    + Motorcycle through the debris. Don’t want to be stealthy? Maybe speed is more your style. Bikes are everywhere, and make rapid travel a snap.
    + Mod your weapons. Simple and easy to understand. Completely change the way a weapon functions with a few quick clicks.

    +/- Story does nothing unique, but is well-told.
    +/- Story DLC are excellent, though short. Recommended if you can get them cheap. Aftermath and Beyond the Walls conclude protagonist Brady’s story; The Voice of Freedom is a brief prequel starring another character.
    +/- Not a massive sandbox open world. Each district is its own area, with loading screens connecting them.
    +/- Recruit Resistance NPCs to help with a fight. Nice in theory, but their bad AI results in them dying almost immediately.
    +/- Silent protagonist in the main campaign, but not in the DLC. Odd.
    +/- Optimization is still meh. Max settings @1080p saw an average of 40-50fps on my RX 470, which isn’t bad (this is CryEngine we’re talking about).
    +/- Soundtrack works. Nothing special. But kudos for having different combat and ambient themes for different districts.
    +/- Some grind involved. Same activities and enemies in every district. This puts the focus on the level design (which is excellent), but it can feel same-y after while.

    - Multiplayer is dead. If you have some friends, it will still work.
    - Starts badly. The opening doesn’t make a good first impression – of either mechanics or characters – and the first two districts underwhelm as well.
    - If not for Brady’s lack of health, game is too easy.
    - Pitched battles are generally a bad idea, but if you can find a choke point, all the enemies will come funneling through one by one.
    - No take-back. We spend the entire game taking installations from the KPA, and never once (outside of story missions) do they try to reclaim anything – not a stronghold, not an outpost, nothing.
    - Re-used NPC character models. Not uncommon in a big sandbox game, but particularly egregious here.
    - Not enough interaction with people. They’re the ones we’re doing all of this for, and the best we ever get is having a fellow Resistance member say, “You’re doing great out there, Brady.” At least give me something, some personal stories told through exploring the environment (since we’re doing that anyway). Each district already has visual character; what of the character of the people who live there? The closest the game comes to doing this is in the collaborator district.
    - Flashpoints are the same two activities repeated over and over. Defend a stash, or take out a “duster” launch site. It’s great that the task of taking over the district is broken up with, “Hurry here, folks are under attack!” But it all starts to feel the same.

    Despite its faults, I had a lot of fun here. Perhaps I was simply fortunate not to play it at release, but now, this is a competent fps game with a unique setting and gloriously detailed visuals. While not quite as packed with activities as my favorite game of revolt (Red Faction: Guerrilla), Homefront: The Revolution provides far more than its mixed reputation promises. Recommended, and I hope the new owners of Deep Silver, THQNordic, recognize this franchise’s potential as a guerrilla warfare fps game.
    Expand
  69. Jul 4, 2018
    6
    The Revolution doesnt offer anything new or fresh, its yet another open world by the numbers first person shooter, whle at it, it still offers decent experience if there's nothing better for you to play and youre just looking for some fix of action.

    Gameplay is quite repetative, youre doing same objectives, section after section. Gunplay is fairly average, being a modern Cryengine game
    The Revolution doesnt offer anything new or fresh, its yet another open world by the numbers first person shooter, whle at it, it still offers decent experience if there's nothing better for you to play and youre just looking for some fix of action.

    Gameplay is quite repetative, youre doing same objectives, section after section. Gunplay is fairly average, being a modern Cryengine game i expected the great gunplay Crysis 3 had, instead its closer to Call of Duty with its weightless, unsubstantial feel, atleast there's good amount of recoil so you do have to manage how you spray. The game has a bad habit of constanly respawning enemies in same place, even at times right in front if your eyes. They use same technique to increase the game's difficulty, they simply spawn and throw lots of koreans at you when youre spotted by the airships, like they suddenly crawl out of every rat hole. Enemy AI can also be hit and miss, they dont take lots of damage, but their aim is ridiculously precise, so is their awareness, making you use lots of heatlh shots cuz they do deal lots of damage to you, even on normal difficulty. Then the AI can get really dumb, if you create a simple bottleneck, they'll come in and die one after another like utter idiots. There are also several gadget types you use for explosives, incendiaries and such, blowing norks up with an RC car can be pretty fun.

    The city of Philadelphia in game, even tho i have never been, to me seems it doesnt really make that great of a recreation of the actual place. It could be because the game isnt a true open world, its comprised of sand boxy segments that you need to travel across with loading screens. The segments are diverse to some degree, but more often feel the same with rather uninspired world design. There are some times when you stop and look around in interest in some locations, but overall its not a world you really want come back to after completing the game.

    Story is, i know im beating another dead horse here, but yes its simply generic in the sense how it plays out, like in stuff in recent Far Cries or any other more modern open world shooter, albeit without a compelling main antagonist motivating you for the things you do. However main characters on the resitance side are well voiced, decently written to understand their motivations and well animated aswell. Thing that was missing for me was a voiced protagonist, it feels very weird during all the drama going on around you that you stay silent with nothing to say. Ending is rather anti climatic. Luckily the story DLC's somewhat make up for that by continuing from where you pretty much finished base story line and they have some pretty nice moments.

    Graphics wise i honestly expected a bit more seeing it running on Crytek's engine, there's still some eye candy to be had, especialy during nightime and when its raining. Strongest point of the presentation are the NPC and overall character modeling, i think they could be the most detailed i've seen in an open world game, to a point they resemble real people if you look in their faces, like real life models they've been most likely made upon. I also really appreciate how dark night time is in Revolution, in most games its barely any darker than day time, but here its properly dark that you cant make things out just 5 - 10 meters ahead of you in darkest sectors of the city, its really immersive. If only game had better stealth mechanics and AI that isnt super humanly aware, that would've turned it up even more.

    In its latest build game also runs rather well if you have a decent system. However, there are still plenty of bugs and glitches i saw during gameplay, plus a few crashes. Nothing game breaking, just mere annoyances.
    Expand
  70. Sep 3, 2020
    7
    I like this game, sadly I cannot sey it's amazing but I do like it, and I like it in exist because it is a miracle when you look at the development history , But something I can wholeheartedly raise the game for is how they How the weapons work and how they feel too shoot my personal favourite was the shotgun because it's one of those games when a shotgun is actually usable from long distance ,
  71. Aug 30, 2018
    5
    The Revolution! ... Not really. I had a good time while playing, that is until it became increasingly repetitive. I cannot take this in games, unless the core game-play is amazing, which this is not. The environment and setting is phenomenal. The story is cliche but with this setting should have been OK. But after a couple hours in, you can predict what you will be doing hours down theThe Revolution! ... Not really. I had a good time while playing, that is until it became increasingly repetitive. I cannot take this in games, unless the core game-play is amazing, which this is not. The environment and setting is phenomenal. The story is cliche but with this setting should have been OK. But after a couple hours in, you can predict what you will be doing hours down the line. As much as I wanted to, I could not continue playing through a buggy and less than fleshed out combat world. There is something here though for those who like to just blow stuff up. Go for it. Expand
  72. Apr 11, 2019
    6
    Home front: the revolution is a game filled with good ideas but poor execution. its not as bad as it was at launch and this is a 3 years later review so i didn't experience all those frame rate issues and massive amount of bugs every one talked about when this game first launched even if i did experience some.

    story: homefront always had a very good world but the personal story of Ethan
    Home front: the revolution is a game filled with good ideas but poor execution. its not as bad as it was at launch and this is a 3 years later review so i didn't experience all those frame rate issues and massive amount of bugs every one talked about when this game first launched even if i did experience some.

    story: homefront always had a very good world but the personal story of Ethan Brady is really dull i seen every plot twist coming , i seen every story beat since i started playing it and nothing really surprised me like it should have. homefront dose not have a world suited for the silent protagonist and Ethan really should have had a voice. the theme of the story is haveing your own voice, to stand up be your self fight for whats yours, good ole american patriotism and yet you have mo idea why brady is fighting . haveing a silent protagonist in a game like this was a terrible decision and a little ironic.
    story:2/10

    world building: This was an aspect of the first home front that i liked was its world , but the revolution with its open world and better world building it actually improves on the first one much to my surprise . it tells you exactly how the koreans became so powerful In a logical and political way and why they were even allowed to invade the united states in the first place. making the m4 assault rifle go from a sign if military force to a sign of resistance was a a nice little detail. all the tools and equipment the kpa have in this game add to the lore and its all helped by the open world design of the game. with alot of games going open world lately i think homefront was a good design choice given the nature of its world and story.
    world building: 8/10

    graphics: this game Looks for the most part excellent im sure how ever its mostly due to the use of the cry engine. the lighting impressed me the most. it dose have its own style almost with all the patriotic graffiti around and on your tools. where the kpa almost look like storm troopers high tech soldiers. textures were good but some animations felt stiff especially during the cut scenes ? i think because the studio didn't use mo cap for them and animated the cut scenes them selves ?. the graphics were good other wise but not amazing but technically impressive. i experinced very few visual bugs. and most of them minor
    graphics: 7/10

    gameplay: i enjoyed playing home front the revolution, the open world design and police system in this game make it really fun and functional to use hit and run tactics as i often did. or stealth witch i used much less often cause it was kinda difficult and didn't work all the time probably due to the stupid ai , a lot of my bugs i experienced were due to the moronic ai. the section where you have to escort a Goliath is made tedious dude to its awful ai. the guns all of them actually feel fun to shoot . yep all like 7 of the guns , seriously the lack of variety really hurt the game . You cant even pick up enemy weapons being a guerrilla fighter wouldn't it make sense that you would steal enemy weapons? the game play was a mixed bag . for everything i liked there was something i didn't like. the world was dense enough witch was fine by me but it was small enough you didnt need a bike and driveing the motor bikes felt slower than just running and doing parkour. i liked the parkour but it feels like a watered down far cry. and really could have flowed better. the urban setting would have made it perfect to focus more on the parkour aspect.
    gameplay: 6/10

    sound design: unremarkable. but none of the sounds really annoyed me or noticed any thing out of place or weird. the voice acting could have been much better but the main characters were good enough. its the ambient people yelling in the streets that sounded really awkward
    sound design: 5/10

    2+8+7+6+5=28
    28/5= 5.6/10

    Homefront the revolution could have been a good game. i think some of the game was a step forward for the series and a step back for some aspects. not as bad as every one makes it out to be , BUT still not great
    Expand
  73. Aug 10, 2019
    10
    I finished the game now, in 2019. And I just want to say that this is an amazing game! I don’t know how many bugs were in it at the time of its release, but now there are almost none. A couple of times I noticed graphic bugs that do not affect the gameplay. But what really annoyed me was the spawns of the enemies that were a little malfunctioning: they could appear out of nowhere, behindI finished the game now, in 2019. And I just want to say that this is an amazing game! I don’t know how many bugs were in it at the time of its release, but now there are almost none. A couple of times I noticed graphic bugs that do not affect the gameplay. But what really annoyed me was the spawns of the enemies that were a little malfunctioning: they could appear out of nowhere, behind you, a few meters from you. Sometimes it really made it difficult to play. Also a bit poor optimization.
    BUT! The game is amazing! It is rare to find at least a less tolerable plot in shooters. But here it's almost delightful. If you are a living person with feelings, you will experience both sadness and joy from the plot and events of the game.
    I also want to note good level design: you can pass the quest silently, killing enemies with a crossbow or a knife (and some levels can be completed without killing at all), or you can rushing through the entire territory and shooting everyone in your path, the game gives you the opportunity to embody different ways of walkthrough.
    I especially liked the DLCs. They narrate about the events after and before the revolution. Each consists of one quest, 100-150 minutes long (at the medium difficulty level). The last, and the best (IMHO), is Beyond the Walls. In it, you will go to look for the NATO envoy, who hid in a church in an abandoned village. The views and music are amazing! Probably because of this I fell in love with this DLC.
    So I recommend everyone who likes shooters and a good story to play this game.
    (A translator was used to write a review, sorry for any misunderstandings)
    Expand
  74. May 21, 2022
    8
    Homefront the revolution I have always liked just by the gameplay and where you are taking over I really liked that but I do agree with the issues with this game I just enjoyed this game
  75. Nov 2, 2019
    10
    Loved the game, i don't know why people are giving so much hate but for me it was a perfect game, good graphics, awesome twisting story, a nice small open world. its like a mix up of dying light physics and freedom fighter mechanics. I really think you should give it a try.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 48
  2. Negative: 12 out of 48
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 21, 2016
    65
    At its basis (which were copied from Ubisoft) Homefront is not a bad game, but total lack of innovation, ridiculous AI and myriad of lesser flaws make it hard to recommend to anyone but the most avid Far Cry fans. [07/2016, p.44]
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jul 7, 2016
    50
    If the original game was kind of low-budget and low-grade carbon copy of Call of Duty, then The Revolution – the bricolage of the same quality inspired by Far Cry in its worst forms. [Issue#210, p.72]
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 6, 2016
    60
    A competent enough shooter, but perhaps a touch too ambitious in its scope. Still, it's a massive improvement on the first Homefront. [Issue#252, p.62]